Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Racism - Mod Note on 1st Post - Read before posting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,137 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

That_Guy wrote: »
    Wow.

You need to take off the blinkers and realise that Kenny is far from perfect. He's a walking PR disaster for the club at the moment.

PR never won football matches, this whole thing has being blown way out of proportion.

very well placed timing. things change very quickly in business. Liverpool and Dalglish are tarnishing the good name of not only their club, but English football in general.

this could all have went away if he just apoligised, but he was too stubborn to do it and now the clubs reputation is in tatters.

dalglish will be remember as the clown who wore tshirts and spurted silly things to the media, not for the great player and manager he was 20 years ago.

if you think that the people who pump money into the club, are happy with this, you seriously are out of your tree.

He will always be a legend, liverpool fans arent as fickle as your normal football supporter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

niallo27 wrote: »
    PR never won football matches, this whole thing has being blown way out of proportion.

Are you serious?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Thats not what i am asking, im asking do people think he would still have reported it.

But who cares? It was still racist. And if someone told Evra they kicked him because he was black, I'm pretty sure he would report it yeah.

SantryRed wrote: »
    But who cares? It was still racist. And if someone told Evra they kicked him because he was black, I'm pretty sure he would report it yeah.

I though he replied to being called south amercian by saying "you are black"

very well placed timing. things change very quickly in business. Liverpool and Dalglish are tarnishing the good name of not only their club, but English football in general.

this could all have went away if he just apoligised, but he was too stubborn to do it and now the clubs reputation is in tatters.

dalglish will be remember as the clown who wore tshirts and spurted silly things to the media, not for the great player and manager he was 20 years ago.

if you think that the people who pump money into the club, are happy with this, you seriously are out of your tree.

Shameful post.

Let's forget all the work he did with the survivors of the Hillsbrough disaster, him and his wife. Your direct attack on Dalglish is so childish.

You've been shown up in here a a bitter bitter poster.

At least some of the utd lads have a bit of respect when posting. I thought that was the decent thing about this forum.

I can't stand utd but I'll have some respect and decent discussions with most of the lads in there.

You can't hide your bitterness in your posts, most of which are more suited to red Cafe or one of those idiotic forums with all the fanboys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Christ so now Liverpool and Dalglish are damaging the good name of English football in general. Suarez and Evra are now secondary in the thread, now we have the good name of all of English football hanging in the balance according to you, and we have another guy using the deaths of the 39 Juventus supporters and the deaths of 96 Liverpool supporters to argue a point about how Evra deserves an apology.

This thread has long stopped being about Suarez/Evra and Terry/Ferdinand. It is just a thread where people can get digs in against clubs or people they dislike be it Liverpool, Man Utd or whatever club related.

That_Guy wrote: »
    Are you serious?

Yes i am serious, there are a lot worse things going on on the football field, he called him black, if he called him a n*****r yes its very serious but he didnt, you can insult the **** out of peoples families, their background everything about them but mention someone is black and you are worse than a paedo it would seem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,246 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

On Kenny's statement about unknown facts and not wanting to get the club in trouble ,
    How would this happen if they had gone down the appeal route ,
    Surely this is what the appeal route is for .Where any new ,unused or extra evidence can be introduced ,Also because the club and player would be following the right and legal path under FA's own rules there could/would be no sanctions brought against the club .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,022 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

opr wrote: »
    How you can take them from the University of Manchester is also unbelievable in my eyes. Most likely they were completely unbiased but for the sake of looking completely neutral surely they could have taken experts from somewhere else ? I mean its as if they were deliberately trolling :pac:

Is that like the time Gerrard was caught on camera assaulting a DJ but got off scot free because the entire jury were Liverpudlians?

His friends who didnt even land a punch were then convicted :confused:

I would say that the Suarez ban is karma but considering his character i'm fairly sure he's also guilty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭clubberlang12

Thats not what i am asking, im asking do people think he would still have reported it.

Quite possibly Niall. If he had said it just the once, as Suarez maintains, then there is the possibility that both parties could have come together, be it after the game or in the following days, and aired both concerns. However, with Evra adamant Suarez said it a number of times, that scenario seems less likely.

I do believe, contrary to some posters, that Kenny has handled this very badly in the PR sense. I see no issue with him, or his players, supporting a person they feel is/was innocent .But there is a way to do this. I really feel Kenny has not grasped the severity of the issue at hand. I may get torn to shreds for saying this, but i think Kenny has approached this in a near medieval fashion. Unfortunately, racism is prevailent in modern society and indeed football. That does not mean it is acceptable. Kenny and LFC should have identified the possible outcome a case like this would have been seen in the public domain and should have taken more care in how they conducted themselves in the public eye. I really do think this "siege" mentality has exposed them in a worse light.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,649 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

unfortunately, because the powers that be at our club, have continued to give rival fans and the media all the ammunition they need.

again, i agree with supporting the player, i doubt anyone begrudges the club that, because any club would, but there are ways of doing it. and we have to accept that we've gone about it arseways.

this was not the issue to use to try and garner a siege mentality.

if we'd apologised for the misunderstanding, accepted the ban, and continued to work with the FA, Kick It Out Campaign, whoever, to try and educate people further on the nuances of racist issues etc, or even continue to fight our corner behind closed doors, we'd have come out of this with integrity somewhat intact. and we've had several opportunities to do something like this, or just shut up. we chose neither, and instead the club chose to use it to bite back.

not the time, and not the issue i'm afraid.

Kenny comes out of it, very unfortunately looking like a stubborn teenager. brandishing the t-shirts "fantastic", and Suarez's statement as "brilliant", was just mental.

i'm a very proud Liverpool supporter, always have been.

but i do wish more people would have the fúcking balls to call a spade a spade. it's been handled appallingly, and the club have given the FA and rival fans every reason to think that we deserve everything we're getting. even if the report has what we believe are discrepancies in it, and there's more to it than what's being told so far, there is absolutely nothing to be gained from taking the stance we've taking in the stubborn nature we've taken it. if there is more truth to be found, then it will come out eventually.

my anger is with out handling of it all, nothing else.

the club's reaction has garnered the vast majority of the vitriol, not necessarily the offence itself.

i'd like one person to explain to me how in the name of Christ we have handled this in any way well? i'm genuinely intrigued...

Quite possibly Niall. If he had said it just the once, as Suarez maintains, then there is the possibility that both parties could have come together, be it after the game or in the following days, and aired both concerns. However, with Evra adamant Suarez said it a number of times, that scenario seems less likely.

I do believe, contrary to some posters, that Kenny has handled this very badly in the PR sense. I see no issue with him, or his players, supporting a person they feel is/was innocent .But there is a way to do this. I really feel Kenny has not grasped the severity of the issue at hand. I may get torn to shreds for saying this, but i think Kenny has approached this in a near medieval fashion. Unfortunately, racism is prevailent in modern society and indeed football. That does not mean it is acceptable. Kenny and LFC should have identified the possible outcome a case like this would have been seen in the public domain and should have taken more care in how they conducted themselves in the public eye. I really do think this "siege" mentality has exposed them in a worse light.

I dont think it was possible to come together though after evra approached the ref after the game, there was no going back, he must have been raging after what he though he heard so i dont blame him for going to the ref.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭#15

daithijjj wrote: »
    And sure what would an Ivy League assistant professor know anyway, we have the 'expert' knowledge of the lads from the local polytechnic :pac:

Its a bit like asking a lad in the local garage to explain the intricacies of whats under the bonnet in Sebastien Vettel's motor. He will 'probably' have an idea.

It's not at all like that, considering that the University of Manchester is ranked higher than Brown in international comparisons. It is ten places higher in the QS rankings and is marginally ahead in the THES rankings. It is almost 30 places higher in the Shanghai rankings.

U of Manchester is a quality research institution, and trying to discredit the commission on that basis is completely misguided, at best, and downright ignorant at worst.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,246 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

He will always be a legend, liverpool fans arent as fickle as your normal football supporter.

Not just to Liverpool fans
    As a player the man is a legend ,a hell of a player ,one of the best I have ever seen ,

SlickRic wrote: »
    unfortunately, because the powers that be at our club, have continued to give rival fans and the media all the ammunition they need.

again, i agree with supporting the player, i doubt anyone begrudges the club that, because any club would, but there are ways of doing it. and we have to accept that we've gone about it arseways.

this was not the issue to use to try and garner a siege mentality.

if we'd apologised for the misunderstanding, accepted the ban, and continued to work with the FA, Kick It Out Campaign, whoever, to try and educate people further on the nuances of racist issues etc, or even continue to fight our corner behind closed doors, we'd have come out of this with integrity somewhat intact. and we've had several opportunities to do something like this, or just shut up. we chose neither, and instead the club chose to use it to bite back.

not the time, and not the issue i'm afraid.

Kenny comes out of it, very unfortunately looking like a stubborn teenager. brandishing the t-shirts "fantastic", and Suarez's statement as "brilliant", was just mental.

i'm a very proud Liverpool supporter, always have been.

but i do wish more people would have the fúcking balls to call a spade a spade. it's been handled appallingly, and the club have given the FA and rival fans every reason to think that we deserve everything we're getting. even if the report has what we believe are discrepancies in it, and there's more to it than what's being told so far, there is absolutely nothing to be gained from taking the stance we've taking in the stubborn nature we've taken it. if there is more truth to be found, then it will come out eventually.

my anger is with out handling of it all, nothing else.

i'd like one person to explain to me how in the name of Christ we have handled this in any way well? i'm genuinely intrigued...

Its not being portrayed as a misunderstanding though, if it was im sure this would have being handled much differently. The back page of papers had racist posted across them. I feel as if Suarez apologies he is admitting he is a racist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭ilovelamp2000

I wonder would this have all blown over if evra had realised that Suarez did not call him a n*****r. Would he have gone to the ref.

Evra knew Suarez wasn't calling him a n*****r.

He told the ref during the game he'd been called black. Evra reported to Ferguson after the game that he'd been called n****r, which the referee brought to Dalglish and Comolli's attention. They denied it, because it didn't happen.

And I still think that's the argument that Dalglish is taking up, unfortunately Suarez's response - no i just said he was black which he said at the time to Comolli and Kuyt, and then his subsequent changing of that story is what has him done.

Its not being portrayed as a misunderstanding though, if it was im sure this would have being handled much differently. The back page of papers had racist posted across them. I feel as if Suarez apologies he is admitting he is a racist.

well what he said was racist and Evra didn't misunderstand that.

Evra knew Suarez wasn't calling him a n*****r.

He told the ref during the game he'd been called black. Evra reported to Ferguson after the game that he'd been called n****r, which the referee brought to Dalglish and Comolli's attention. They denied it, because it didn't happen.

And I still think that's the argument that Dalglish is taking up, unfortunately Suarez's response - no i just said he was black which he said at the time to Comolli and Kuyt, and then his subsequent changing of that story is what has him done.

So evra changed his story after the game, i didnt pick this up from the report, thats quiet serious isnt it, why isnt more being made of this.

Because it doesn't change the fact that Suarez abused him. He's still guilty.

It just shows Evra is a jumped up little prick. But we knew that already. He's not so much changing his story as overstating it to his manager.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

things suarez should have done
    1 not had an arguement with a blackman
    2 not called him black ****** negrito doesnt matter what it was
    3 took the chance to apologise and settle it early
    4 pleaded guiltyto a lesser charge
    5 not gave interviews in uraguay saying it was all ok
    6 took his punishment and accepted it

things kenny should have done
    1 had enquiry into incident as soon as he found out about it
    2 made suarez do above notes
    3 stopped the t shirt campaign instaed giving no comment pending internal enquiry
    4 accepted the punishment and made suarez apologise
    5 send suarez on a token/real anti racism course

this would have saved liverpool a lot of embarrasment and made them more respected club for having class
    other things kenny should have done were probably
    1 not sign downing henderson adam
    im just joking i dont wanna talk about his signings keep to racism

Because it doesn't change the fact that Suarez abused him. He's still guilty.

It jumps shows Evra is a jumped up little prick. But we knew that already.

Yes but Suarezs evidence was said to be not credible because of his conflicting stories, yet evra is guilty of the exact same thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭clubberlang12

Sorry Niall,

I actually quoted the wrong post of your's. I was meant to quote the post where you asked whether he would still have reported it if he had known that the word doesn't translate to what he thought it had.

Apologies, as that would have made my first paragraph make no sense at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

I highlighted the inconsistancies in this post .

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=76271288&postcount=5662

It was debated and replied to by many on this thread .
    The answers seem to be (which I still find uncomfortable) is that Evra even spitting fire with rage only said "Niggger" once to Fergie after the game .

No one else heard it and all written statements in foreign language got translated and "presumed " upon which could have totally changed the outcome .

OK i still have not got any real explanation on why all statements from UTD never use the word "negro" , "niggger etc , and every single one of them use the specific word "black" .

When clearly at the time of the game and afterwards Evra was convinced that the direct translation of what he heard (negro) was niggger???

FA :
    Quote:
    Mr Evra's evidence was that, in response to his question "Why did you kick me?", Mr
    Suarez replied "Porque tu eres negro". Mr Evra said that at the time Mr Suarez made that
    comment, he (Mr Evra) understood it to mean "Because you are a ******". He now says
    that he believes the words used by Mr Suarez mean "Because you are black". We shall
    consider further below Mr Evra's understanding of the Spanish word "negro".
    Evra to the Marriner (ref):
    Quote:
    Mr Evra's evidence was that while he was walking towards the referee he said "ref, ref, he
    just called me a ****ing black". He said that he did not know whether the referee heard his
    comment. The referee said something like "Calm down, Patrice, the game has been
    brilliant, stop the pushing between you and Suarez, the game is going well
    is it niggger or black he understands negro to be ?
    also the ref never heard this to confirm ?

Evra to Marriner again when been booked :
    Quote:
    The evidence of Mr Marriner about this incident was as follows. In the 65th minute of the
    game, he had to issue a caution to Mr Evra after he saw him push Mr Kuyt in the chest
    following a coming together. Mr Evra was clearly upset and mentioned that he was being
    called "black". Mr Marriner did not hear whether Mr Evra said who was calling him
    "black" and he did not understand what Mr Evra was referring to at the time. Mr Evra
    made no other comment to the referee.
    again Evra is it niggger or black you understand to be called ?
    amazing that the ref again never heard Evras claim

Evra to Giggs :
    Quote:
    Mr Evra added that after booking him, the referee spoke to Ryan Giggs. Mr Giggs
    then asked Mr Evra what was wrong and Mr Evra told him that he had been called black.
    Mr Giggs told Mr Evra to calm down and not get sent off
    OK Patrice is it niggger or black you understood to be called cause we now have inconstancy in your statements !!!

Giggs evidence of the conversation:
    Quote:
    Mr Giggs said to Mr Evra "what's happened?". Mr Evra
    replied "he called me black". Mr Giggs assumed that Mr Evra was speaking about Mr
    Kuyt since he had just been booked for some kind of tussle with Mr Kuyt. Mr Giggs said
    to Mr Evra "did the ref hear it?", to which Mr Evra replied "I don't think so". Mr Giggs
    then told Mr Evra to calm down and not get himself sent off.
    Again for someone who believed he was called niggger ??
    also very convenient that Giggs statement clearly asks about the ref hearing .

Four written statements sought by the FA from four UTD players who heard what Evra was uspset about in the dressing room:
    Quote:
    We received evidence from four of Mr Evra's team-mates about what happened
    immediately after the game. They were Valencia, Hernandez, Nani and Anderson. Their
    evidence was given in the form of written witness statements.
    Valancia:
    Quote:
    Valencia said this:
    "I cannot remember exactly the words Evra used but he said that Suarez had said
    that he wouldn't speak to him because he was black. I think the words Evra used
    were words similar to "Negro, no hablas conmigo"."
    Hernandez:
    Quote:
    "Although I was stood with the medical staff, I could clearly hear Evra as he was
    speaking loudly. He said that during the game, Suarez said to him words similar to
    "No voy a platicar contigo porque eres negro".
    I understood from what Evra said that Suarez had been racially abusive towards him
    and that he had told Evra that he would not speak to him because he was black."
    Nani:
    Quote:
    "I cannot remember exactly what Evra said but he was complaining that Suarez had
    said something racist towards him. He said that Suarez had said that he wouldn't
    talk to him because he was black. When he said this in English I think he used the
    word "******" but in Spanish/Portuguese he used the word "negro" or "preto", I
    cannot remember exactly which.
    Evra was also angry that Suarez had not been booked for saying what he did. Evra
    said something like, "This is a joke. How is it possible that the referee does nothing
    when he knows what happened?" Evra said that he had told the referee what Suarez
    said to him."
    Anderson:
    Quote:
    "I cannot remember all the exact words Evra used but he told us that Suarez had said
    to him on the pitch that he wouldn't speak to Evra because he was black. I think he
    used words similar to "no hablo con negro"."
    So to summarise :
    Evra believed he was called a niggger yet no statement be it written or verbal ever states the word niggger ?

The written statements are way to close for my comfort and appear to me to be harmonised .

Strange that Evra spoke in a foreign tongue in the dressing room , which suits the statements ?

How did Marriner not hear Evra saying " he just called me black" ?
    Fair enough when walking towards him , but when he was standing there getting booked .

Again i am not disputing the word, meaning or translation of "negro". I am questioning a sequence of events and statements that dont sit comfortably with me .

Yes but Suarezs evidence was said to be not credible because of his conflicting stories, yet evra is guilty of the exact same thing.

It's not really the same, Evra's evidence isn't perfect by any means. But it is partially corroborated by Comolli and Kuyt, as well as the TV evidence.

Suarez changed his evidence which was initially the same as Evra, Kuyt and Comolli's to something else which has no supporting evidence.

mixednuts wrote: »
    I highlighted the inconsistancies in this post .

It was debated and replied to by many ont this thread .
    The answers seem to be (which I still find uncomfortable) is that Evra even spitting fire with rage only said "Niggger" once to Fergie after the game .

No one else heard it and all written statements in foreign language got translated and "presumed " upon which could have totally changed the outcome .

Sorry about that man, i'm still a bit behind. Evra is not coming out of this the best either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

Oh by the way ....
    If John Terry does get charged by the FA he is only facing a two match ban and a 10k fine .

Using the Suarez case as a precedent and the mitigating factors of that .
    He was only heard/seen saying a offensive word once .

so the media pokes you with a stick, you give them more ammo?

sorry, not buying it.

and the notion that Suarez apologising is admitting he is a racist is a fallacy too. if he made a statement saying something along the lines of...
    "in my country, we use this in every day speak. it's dropped into conversations all the time, but i understand how someone could find that offensive in an English context, and in the context of a heated derby. i apologise to Evra for the misunderstanding, and if he was hurt by it, and i will try to cater better to the culture i am plying my trade in."

"while i don't fully agree with the course of action that has been taken because of the mitigating cultural differences outlined in the case; out of respect for the ongoing campaign against racism, and as a sign of respect to my club, it's fans, and my rivals, i will sit out this ban. i appreciate the support that has been shown to me by my club, friends, family and fans at this time, and I can't wait to get back playing again and starting to once again repay the faith that has been shown in me."

"Racism is not something i tolerate, and again, while i may be used to those phrasings at home in Uruguay, i recognise it hasn't translated well"

"I will do whatever I can to support the Kick It Out Campaign, a campaign that is doing tremendous work to try and stamp out this horrible issue"

Luis Suarez

...it'd be far more beneficial.

now while he would be maybe swallowing his pride somewhat, what a better way to handle it, eh?!

and that took me 5 minutes to come up with. the club hates racism, still stands by the player, and the player is regretful of a mistake and comes across as a humble, likeable human being.

it's not rocket science.

SlickRic wrote: »
    so the media pokes you with a stick, you give them more ammo?

sorry, not buying it.

and the notion that Suarez apologising is admitting he is a racist is a fallacy too. if he made a statement saying something along the lines of...

...it'd be far more beneficial.

now while he would be maybe swallowing his pride somewhat, what a better way to handle it, eh?!

and that took me 5 minutes to come up with. the club hates racism, still stands by the player, and the player is regretful of a mistake and comes across as a humble, likeable human being.

it's not rocket science.

Would people accept it was just a misunderstanding though, my point is it is not being portrayed as one. 8 match ban for a misunderstanding seems very harsh. This whole thing is a disaster though, i wont disagree there.

Would people accept it was just a misunderstanding though, my point is it is not being portrayed as one.

some people wouldn't, but i think a lot more people would be inclined to understand his point of view than they are at the moment with his and the club's refusal to budge, as well as making whispers that there's more to this case than is being let on.

if he can't let on, then Kenny should have just shut up and let it come out eventually if there is anything. i hope there is, as there will at least then be a modicum of justification for some of the antics.
    8 match ban for a misunderstanding seems very harsh.

yeah, if it was a misunderstanding, which the FA didn't buy because of Suarez's inconsistencies in his testimony.

also, i've covered the fact the club and Suarez deem the punishment harsh in my fake statement. they can still fight it behind closed doors while putting on a dignified face.

sometimes you just have swallow the pride and admit mistakes were made, be it in ignorance or whatever, and move on. you can't fight every battle, and this is not a battle, on such a sensitive issue, that we should've chosen to make such a stubborn stance on. it was never going to come across well.