Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 11/12 - Mod Note 4153

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭Patsy fyre

Not trying to be smart or anything but the only way Andy Carroll will ever deliver is if he puts on a big red suit and grows a beard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

Patsy fyre wrote: »
    14 points behind us already fellez
    how does that make ye feel?

FFS. This is what gives us man utd fans a bad name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,094 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Reading back over my comments from last night and while I stand by them, they do seem a little too negative.

I'm chuffed that we are playing more attacking football. Genuinely chuffed. I'm also delighted to have Kenny back at the club and love his passion for all things Liverpool. Our defense, including Reina, have been a real bright-spark this season, particularly the signing of Enrique. He has been our best player this season. Skrtel should also get a mention as pretty much every area of his game has improved. I just cant see Carragher getting back in the team unless we suffer an injury.

Its fantastic to have Bellamy back at the club and he has been great too. Suarez is also another really great signing. He will score more goals if paired with a quality finished who is on the same wavelength. At the moment he is being asked to do too much and is also playing with different players every game (Bellamy, Kuyt, Carroll etc)

However, there are some real problems too.

*Our transfers, for the most part, have been very poor. Whether this is down to Kenny or Comolli, I dont know. But the fact is we have spent big on Carroll, Downing, Henderson and Adam - yet we still need a striker, wingers and a central midfielder. That tells you all you need to know about our signings, surely?

*Carroll is a major problem. We are crying out for a clinical centre forward to finish our chances and hes just not doing it. People can say hes not getting perfect service - but I would argue if he needs perfect service every time hes not good enough to be our main striker. If hes not going to be kind of player that will create scoring opportunitys for himself and others, than at the very least he needs to be super clinical, which he isnt. It still boggles the mind that we play quick tempo football with lots of movement, yet have bought a player that seems totally uncomfortable with that.

*Central midfield is a problem area also. Adam is good business at £8m, but as I said when he was signed, only if hes a squad player. Hes far too inconsistent and is often a liability. He will let opposition players go which concedes chances, he is often greedy instead of passing and he loses possession in vital areas. A good player to have in the squad, but not a first XI player.

*So many of our games follow the same blueprint. This worries me as we dont seem to be able to find a solution. We are just repeating our mistakes in every game.

This is where I see the team at the moment, which says alot about what I think of our big money signings.

X

X
    Suarez
    X

Lucas
    X

Enrique---Agger--Skrtel----Johnson

Reina

I haven't included Gerrard because of his injury problems. We simply cant rely on him, particularly not in the long run. Henderson has shown signs of improvement in recent weeks but he should be a squad player at the moment. Bellamy has problems with his knees and so can only be a squad player. And Downing does not deserve a place in the first XI on evidence so far. Even when he rarely beats his man he will often allow them to get a block in because he is just not quick enough. And his crossing has just not been up to much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,942 ✭✭✭RayCon

I hate to harp on about this but 2 goals from over 150 corners so far this season is a very poor return.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

PHB wrote: »
    Strikers missing chances shouldn't worry you. It's when strikers stop creating chances if when you should really start to worry. That's where Torres was, and is trying to get back to missing chances!

Carroll still gets in a lot of great positions, and at some point, it'll just click imo. 22, fantastic, fantastic lead the line striker, with very impressive arial ability and an eye for goal. Personally, I think it's good for him that Suarez is going to be out so long. Just put your faith in him, and in time, I think he'll deliver.

I agree with this view.

This was the case in yesterdays match and it was this view that prompted me to post last week that the Suarez ban could essentially be a blessing in disguise as it will give Carroll an extended run in the team - which is long overdue.

Tusky wrote: »
    This is where I see the team at the moment, which says alot about what I think of our big money signings.

X

X
    Suarez
    X

Lucas
    X

Reina

Oh look, who would have thought, we need wingers.. The perpetual state that we have been in for 12 years and, for me anyway, the single most influential shortcoming that separates us from United in that period.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

I agree with this view.

This was the case in yesterdays match and it was this view that prompted me to post last week that the Suarez ban could essentially be a blessing in disguise as it will give Carroll an extended run in the team - which is long overdue.

Surely there's a legitimate reason why after 11 months at the club he has yet to get an extended run in the team. Given the dire need for a striker, coupled with the obvious pressure Kenny must feel under to start his record signing, him not getting much of a look in can only down to him simply being very poor in training

tommyhaas wrote: »
    Surely there's a legitimate reason why after 11 months at the club he has yet to get an extended run in the team. Given the dire need for a striker, coupled with the obvious pressure Kenny must feel under to start his record signing, him not getting much of a look in can only down to him simply being very poor in training

Maybe there is - I don't know. Maybe it is Carroll's fault, maybe it is Kenny's fault?

What I do know though is that we paid 35m for him and in my opinion, we haven't given him a fair crack at it yet. We are going to have to roll that dice eventually and having our hand forced by any ban that Suarez gets is as good as time as any in my opinion (I appreciate that the ban might be somewhat prolonged now).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

tommyhaas wrote: »

As I mentioned previous if and when he gets his run in games when Suarez is out it will be the eye opener for lots of people thinking he is gonna turn into a "lead the line striker".

I have no clue where this idea , potential or ability people put in Carroll comes from ?

I'm starting to think Kenny already realised this .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

Maybe there is - I don't know. Maybe it is Carroll's fault, maybe it is Kenny's fault?

What I do know though is that we paid 35m for him and in my opinion, we haven't given him a fair crack at it yet. We are going to have to roll that dice eventually and having our hand forced by any ban that Suarez gets is as good as time as any in my opinion (I appreciate that the ban might be somewhat prolonged now).

I agree with you in a sense, but I can't help feel that there's a very good reason he hasn't had that run in the side. Similar in ways to my thoughts on Dani Pacheco

It may not happen though, if a new striker is brought in in January surely he'd start

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,445 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

I don't feel it's as bad as is being portrayed by some. We're creating a lot of chances and being prevented by a poor touch at the last or the wood work or an unbelievable save. The situation is being exasperated by some not-up-to-scratch performances compounding the situation and distracting from what has been a bit of poor fortune. It will click and we'll move on, I've no doubt. I still reckon we'll be challenging for top 4 this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

I don't feel it's as bad as is being portrayed by some. We're creating a lot of chances and being prevented by a poor touch at the last or the wood work or an unbelievable save. The situation is being exasperated by some not-up-to-scratch performances compounding the situation and distracting from what has been a bit of poor fortune. It will click and we'll move on, I've no doubt. I still reckon we'll be challenging for top 4 this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭mormank

flahavaj wrote: »
    If it was up to most of ye Owen Coyle or Avram Grant would be Liverpool manager if memory serves correctly.......

"If it was up to most of us we would have Owen Coyle or Avram Grant as Liverpool manager". Wait I think I need to say that again, let it really sink in, let the actual words this man has typed into his computer for the public to read as a representation of his thoughts and opinions just swirl around in your head for a moment. Say the words slowly in your head for effect if you like. "If it was up to most of us we would have Owen Coyle or Avram Grant as Liverpool Manager".

Wow! This is disingenuous to say the very least. Jog on mate! (and I never use the term jog on, but really feel its necessary here)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Back in Ireland after being home for a few days. Was at the game yesterday, and I was pretty disgusted by a few performances and well pleased with a few.

The back five were very good as a unit again yesterday with Johnson doing a lot of good work. Agger really seems to have taken to the role of the "leader" of the back four like a duck to water. Very calm organiser, and very quick to give a wink or a thumbs up to his fellow defenders when things work out.

From the remaining six starting players I think only Downing comes in outside of the average to poor rating. He made a lot of good runs yesterday, he put in a lot of good balls over the course of the game, and I think if Carroll was less lazy or had more game intelligence that Downing would hgave had a few assists to his name yesterday.

Adam was going between average at best and poor at worst yesterday. Very little seemed to work for him, and we suffered a lot in the centre because of that. Will give him credit for showing fight and for not hiding, but unless he has decent quality around him in midfield he is squad player material for me.

Henderson was even worse that Adam over the course of the game. He was pretty much a passenger, and offers very little in a CM pairing. He was awful in defensive terms with his running alongside players rather than putting in a challenge. His offensive game was only slightly better.

Maxi was not good either as a whole, but the simple fact that he scored a goal probably made him our most effective player in the midfield/forward positions.

Suarez was pretty average by his standards. He still worked hard and kept trying to make things happen, but he looked like a player who was stuggling to lower the level of his play to try and get on the same wavelength as some of his teammates rather than a top class player that others try to match.

Carroll was pretty poor yesterday. Some might say that he was not awful, and that he tried at times, but I think that when he puts in a somewhat average poerformance many praise him simply because an average performance looks better than some of the poor performances he has put in. Same thing applies to Henderson and Downing at times imho. When we had the ball in wide positions and tried to get the ball into the box, Carroll tends to stand static and wait for the ball rather than make runs into the box to get on the end of crosses. Most be very frustrating for anyone in the team as they know they need to hit a perfect cross otherwise the man who has been lauded for his aerial ability won't come looking for the ball.

Gerrard getting game time yesterday was a bonus, he added a spark to the team (along with Bellamy), and I could not help but think that three subs should have been brought on earlier in the game rather than two late subs.

Spotted this a page or so back from Tusky
    Tusky wrote: »

X

X
    Suarez
    X

Lucas
    X

Reina

And I have to sday that it pretty much hits the nail on the head with regards to the positions where we seem week, and the players that should be starters from what we currently have. Pretty damning on the £100m + worth of attacking players the club have bought over the last two windows, and with the exception of Suarez I think that all the other new attackers are pretty much squad level players at present. Maybe some will grow into better players with time, but right now a few of them look no better than a raw reserve player thrust into the starting XI for the first time.

Am also getting tired of the home crowds. The crowd really needs to take a leaf from the book of our travelling support. Granted there was plenty on the pitch to be not happy about, but the bitching about the players/Manager should be kept for the pubs after the game or for the online forums afterwards. Of course crowds need some sign of life from the players to get them going, but I feel that the noise levels at Anfield (save for a handful of league games and big cup games) have gotten even worse this season again, which is saying something given how drastically the noise levels have dropped there over the past 10-15 years.

In terms of the bigger picture, there have certainly been improvements. Last season after 19 games we had 25 points, right now after 18 games we have 31 points and if we beat Newcastle then we will have 34 points from 19 games. We are three points off of fourth place, and certainly have a chance of getting a CL slot if we can reinforce in January and/or starting scoring.

Kenny I think is currently doing the job that the Journeyman should have done when he came in, and that is to steady the ship to such a degree that there is a good platform for the next manager to come in and kick on from. Journeyman's appointment effectively knocked that steadying process back a full season imho. That is not to say that Kenny should be exempt from criticism though as his use of subs and some of his tactics have been puzzling at times, and many of his transfers still have serious question marks over them.

On a rumour front, two of my mates who are stewards said that Luuk de Jong was a guest at the game yesterday, and that a player from the French league is rumoured to be a guest for the next game.

The most outlandish thing I heard yesterday was Jose to Liverpool in the summer.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Jose was on BBC Radio 4 yesterday and said he would definitely return to the EPL for his next job, however I reckon its Manchester Utd he had in mind!

As for Eden Hazard visiting next week, well lets not get our hopes up, you'll probably find he is the guest of Joe Cole!

mike65 wrote: »
    Jose was on BBC Radio 4 yesterday and said he would definitely return to the EPL for his next job, however I reckon its Manchester Utd he had in mind!

As for Eden Hazard visiting next week, well lets not get our hopes up, you'll probably find he is the guest of Joe Cole!

Hazard? Nope what I was told was that they thought it was a CM/DM from the French league that was the rumoured guest for this Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,299 ✭✭✭slingerz

Liverpool were starting from scratch a little over 12 months ago when FSG too over and have had 2 transfer windows since. Sure they have spent sizeable sums to secure the players they wanted but that is up to them.

What liverpool have lacked is Lucas to anchor the midfield but another driving force presence ala Parker/Modric/Giggs/Jones/Yaya/Wilshire/Fabregas etc. Gerrard's injury has been sorely missed despite the numerous begrudgers who will not admit that.

I think Downing, Henderson, Adam, Carroll, Enrique, Suarez, Bellamy, Coates have been decent signings by Kenny and FSG. Sure the squad could do with a Nani or a Silva or a Bale or a Mata, what squad couldnt. Sure the squad could use a Hernandez or a Dzecko or the bench to spring to grab a goal. These signings will take time and I'm sure Kenny and co are working on attracting the right player to join the squad.

We've all talked that the squad now looks a lot healtier than it did this time last year. Even still Kuyt and Maxi, despite his great goalscoring run, will most likely be sent on their way in the summer. Carragher is another who seems set for pasture and even Stevie G and Bellamy can see the end of the runway.

What if Liverpool go out and secure Kess's dreams in January? Hazard joins M'Vila and Cavani in posing for pictures with Kenny under the 'This Is Anfield' sign. The additions of Downing, Carroll, Henderson, Adam will no longer be roundly attacked. Finally maybe some fans will understand that they were signed as part of the bigger picture rather than as the answer to all life's ills

Kirby wrote: »
    I seem to say this every week to my Liverpool friends but how Downing is still being played on the wrong wing when it clearly isn't working is beyond me. Any manager worth his salt wouldn't keep persisting with it.

Want to player on the wing opposite his strong foot so he can cut inside? It won't work but fine. Do it. But drop downing because it doesn't work with him. Try somebody else.

Oh, and that "We've spent peanuts" lark is ridiculous. "We've wasted loads!" would be more apt.

It's all relative tho, I think both statements are apt. Oh and as for thinly veiled dig at Kenny, plenty of managers have "persisted" with tactics that haven't given instant success, to say otherwise is just you trying to belittle our manager and is also disingenuous. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

That wasn't thinly veiled. Doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results. Notice the way AVB dropped the high line? Because they were conceding. Notice the way AVB dropped Torres for several months? Thats because he wasn't scoring. He'll only get in now because drogba's off to the African cup of nations.

If some new kid who most don't rate can see the errors of his ways.....why can't an experienced manager do the same? He should drop downing or play him in his correct position.

And as I already posted I know he's not alone. I already profferred Redknapp as another example of a manager with blind spots with wingers when he shoves Modric or VanDer Vart out wide when lennon or bale are out. Kenny is not alone in his persistent errors but he shouldn't be excused from them just because of his history.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,580 Mod ✭✭✭✭spockety

Why have clubs like Spurs and United spent less yet at minimum consolidated their league position, then Arsenal who have spent a considerable amount less, haven't dropped as badly as we have.

Because football is nowhere near as black and white and predictable as message board contributors on forums all over the Internet would like it to be.

The amount of energy expended and wasted on fruitless comparisons, statistics, and financial analysis really is astonishing.

People go on about the money wrecking football, but really as a supporter Internet forums put more of a wrecking ball to the experience than anything else. It's incredible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

slingerz wrote: »
    What if Liverpool go out and secure Kess's dreams in January? Hazard joins M'Vila and Cavani in posing for pictures with Kenny under the 'This Is Anfield' sign. The additions of Downing, Carroll, Henderson,Adam will no longer be needed
    FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Kess73 wrote: »
    Hazard? Nope what I was told was that they thought it was a CM/DM from the French league that was the rumoured guest for this Friday.

Yann M'Vila too much to hope for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

slingerz wrote: »
    Liverpool were starting from scratch a little over 12 months ago when FSG too over and have had 2 transfer windows since. Sure they have spent sizeable sums to secure the players they wanted but that is up to them.

What liverpool have lacked is Lucas to anchor the midfield but another driving force presence ala Parker/Modric/Giggs/Jones/Yaya/Wilshire/Fabregas etc. Gerrard's injury has been sorely missed despite the numerous begrudgers who will not admit that.

I think Downing, Henderson, Adam, Carroll, Enrique, Suarez, Bellamy, Coates have been decent signings by Kenny and FSG. Sure the squad could do with a Nani or a Silva or a Bale or a Mata, what squad couldnt. Sure the squad could use a Hernandez or a Dzecko or the bench to spring to grab a goal. These signings will take time and I'm sure Kenny and co are working on attracting the right player to join the squad.

We've all talked that the squad now looks a lot healtier than it did this time last year. Even still Kuyt and Maxi, despite his great goalscoring run, will most likely be sent on their way in the summer. Carragher is another who seems set for pasture and even Stevie G and Bellamy can see the end of the runway.

What if Liverpool go out and secure Kess's dreams in January? Hazard joins M'Vila and Cavani in posing for pictures with Kenny under the 'This Is Anfield' sign. The additions of Downing, Carroll, Henderson, Adam will no longer be roundly attacked. Finally maybe some fans will understand that they were signed as part of the bigger picture rather than as the answer to all life's ills

That's exactly the kind of player you want to sign. However, I think people vastly over-estimate the PL attraction to some players. Hazard or Cavani won't be signing for anyone in the PL. Cavani will probably stay at Napoli and Hazard looks as if he will end up at Real Madrid.

M'Vila would be better suited coming to likes of us. A team where he will actually start. I can't see Liverpool playing two defensive midfielders when that would mean putting Suarez up front on his own with Gerrard behind him. I don't think that would be a team with many goals in it. M'Vila is not as a good as Lucas at the moment. Also if two defensive midfielders are going to be played you would need far better production from your wingers. I think with a signing like that you would need to buy two wingers/AMF's in the Man City style to accommodate them in the team.

What you need now is a striker. Everybody knows that. Scoring is a massive problem, which is obvious. You have the spine of a good team: Reina, Agger, Lucas, Suarez and Enrique is an excellent attacking left back too. However, I don't quite think Adam, Downing, Johnson, Carroll etc. are good enough to propel you back fighting for a title. However, I know this is a transition phase for Liverpool. Henderson could be a good player, but he won't be if he carries on playing on the wing. He could be good, but he isn't playing well right now. Some of those players would ideally end up as back-ups, and if you are honest they just aren't good enough at a level where you are trying to get back to Champions League standard.

I agree with you that a lot of these signings will take time. But there are some signings that need to be made to keep you in touch with those CL places. While they might take time, great strides need to be made soon, otherwise the good signings that have been made could end up moving on.

Honestly, I can't see Liverpool finishing 4th with this team minus Lucas. But, if a striker is signed I would think you will be right up there at the end of the year. You're a couple of transfers away from being where you want to be. Chelsea look rattled and if Arsenal lose RVP they are in big trouble. This is really the time to start making good moves in the transfer market.

Knex. wrote: »
    Yann M'Vila too much to hope for?

Him or Moussa Sissoko were the two first names into my head.:D

One of the stewards said he was hoping, if true, that it was Capoue, Sissoko's teammate at Toulouse.

Guess folk will have to see if anyone gets spotted in the directors box come Friday. Am still trying to find out if what was said about the guest yesterday is true, although the lads were positive that Luuk de Jong was a guest during the game yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,299 ✭✭✭slingerz

Le King wrote: »
    That's exactly the kind of player you want to sign. However, I think people vastly over-estimate the PL attraction to some players. Hazard or Cavani won't be signing for anyone in the PL. Cavani will probably stay at Napoli and Hazard looks as if he will end up at Real Madrid.

M'Vila would be better suited coming to likes of us. A team where he will actually start. I can't see Liverpool playing two defensive midfielders when that would mean putting Suarez up front on his own with Gerrard behind him. I don't think that would be a team with many goals in it. M'Vila is not as a good as Lucas at the moment. Also if two defensive midfielders are going to be played you would need far better production from your wingers. I think with a signing like that you would need to buy two wingers/AMF's in the Man City style to accommodate them in the team.

What you need now is a striker. Everybody knows that. Scoring is a massive problem, which is obvious. You have the spine of a good team: Reina, Agger, Lucas, Suarez and Enrique is an excellent attacking left back too. However, I don't quite think Adam, Downing, Johnson, Carroll etc. are good enough to propel you back fighting for a title. However, I know this is a transition phase for Liverpool. Henderson could be a good player, but he won't be if he carries on playing on the wing. He could be good, but he isn't playing well right now. Some of those players would ideally end up as back-ups, and if you are honest they just aren't good enough at a level where you are trying to get back to Champions League standard.

I agree with you that a lot of these signings will take time. But there are some signings that need to be made to keep you in touch with those CL places. While they might take time, great strides need to be made soon, otherwise the good signings that have been made could end up moving on.

Honestly, I can't see Liverpool finishing 4th with this team minus Lucas. But, if a striker is signed I would think you will be right up there at the end of the year. You're a couple of transfers away from being where you want to be. Chelsea look rattled and if Arsenal lose RVP they are in big trouble. This is really the time to start making good moves in the transfer market.

I was only offering those players as examples not at the missing pieces to the jigsaw although they are good players in their own right.

Too many posters on here are too quick to dismiss the likes of Adam, Henderson, Downing and Carroll probably due to their lack of flair. it is strange that those calling for Adam to be dropped or Henderson/Downing for that matter go strangely quiet when they have good games for the club.

It is quite apparent that those fans that appear when things go poorly and a moreso on the WUM rather than supporting their team.

mike65 wrote: »
    That's the worst sort of reaction tbh. 4 points might as well be 40 given the way the team are playing in the attacking half of the pitch. Newcastle will not loose and may well win on Friday. How many will Utd knock past Rovers on Saturday? I guess we can just be thankful Chelsea are pretty clueless in attack as well, that may change. Will Liverpool?

I dunno Mike, I have a feeling about the Newky game. I think they will come at us from the start and this may suit us. It could turn out as a 2-2 or even 3-3 draw in the end but I see us scoring a few against them. Demba Ba worries me tho. :(
    I think the most worrying thing about our form is that most teams in the league now believe they can come to Anfield and realistically get something from the game, and rightly so obviously, and then of course this in itself makes the task harder. Plenty of teams lie down now when they go to Old Trafford or City of Manchester stadium or whatever the heck they call it these days. Utd don't even need defenders anymore these days to keep clean sheets it seems. :rolleyes:

That wasn't thinly veiled. Doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results. Notice the way AVB dropped the high line? Because they were conceding. Notice the way AVB dropped Torres for several months? Thats because he wasn't scoring. He'll only get in now because drogba's off to the African cup of nations.

If some new kid who most don't rate can see the errors of his ways.....why can't an experienced manager do the same? He should drop downing or play him in his correct position.

And as I already posted I know he's not alone. I already profferred Redknapp as another example of a manager with blind spots with wingers when he shoves Modric or VanDer Vart out wide when lennon or bale are out. Kenny is not alone in his persistent errors but he shouldn't be excused from them just because of his history.

I'm not about to get into a pissing contest with you where I show you examples of where really good managers have in fact persisted with things when they are not working and you do the opposite. You said, I'll paraphrase slightly, "any manager worth his salt wouldn't keep persisting with something that he knew was wrong". That statement is incorrect. Simple as. Nothing you say from here on out will change that fact I'm afraid. And I for one believe you said it merely to take a dig at Kenny, now that part is up for discussion I'll admit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭ilovelamp2000

I seem to say this every week to my Liverpool friends but how Downing is still being played on the wrong wing when it clearly isn't working is beyond me. Any manager worth his salt wouldn't keep persisting with it.

Can anyone tell Kirby what wing Downing mainly played on for Villa ?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,944 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Jesus, alot of knee jerk reactions here!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

daithijjj wrote: »
    Go start a protest?

What PHB said was 100% correct. People are not happy because Carroll hasnt worked out so far, thats the only issue here.

Newcastle turned down a 30 mil bid for Carroll earlier in the day, they played Abramovich's cheque book, and so did LFC. Again, Carrolls form is the only issue here. LFC had already decided that they would not stand in the way of players who do not want to play for the club and it has happened since with Meireles.

As far as i can see, people should have their issue (if they have one) with whose decision it was to buy Carroll. That decision was Kenny's, so........is it time to change the manager?.

Newcastle played our cheque book. It really has nothing to do with Chelsea. Do people really think if we said that we wouldn't pay £35m for Carroll Chelsea would have said "oh well then we won't buy Torres". Of course not. The owners peddled the £15m+ carroll line so they hoped wouldn't look like complete mugs when trying to negoiate transfers down the line and so us as fans wouldn't think they were mental and think badly of them.

I have issues with Carrol, Kenny, comili and the owners over the whole situation. A mnager shouldn't be changed because of one terrible buy but I do feel that final say over transfers should possibly be changed or else add in a 3rd opinion.