Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Racism - Mod Note on 1st Post - Read before posting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭carlcon

Is that statement from Liverpool for real?

Embarrassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

I really hope I have the pleasure of watching Evra suffer a horrific career ending injury because it would be incredibly satisfying, I would actually go out on the beer to celebrate.

Liverpool fans, lovely bunch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,972 ✭✭✭eigrod

Brilliant statement by LFC on this. Absolutely brilliant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

It is key to note that Patrice Evra himself in his written statement in this case said 'I don't think that Luis Suarez is racist'. The FA in their opening remarks accepted that Luis Suarez was not racist.

epic-jackie-chan-template.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭stumpypeeps

I cannot believe the statement Liverpool have just released. They are literally taking the FA head on. This could be interesting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

100% behind Suarez and the club on this matter.

WAT????

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,977 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

This could 'bind' the squad into an Us and Them mentality. He's available for another few matches and hopefully Bellamy and Maxi start banging them in and Stevie might be back aswell. Shelvey will no doubt get more game time aswell.
    If our defence continues as it's going we might get through it relatively unscathed.
    He will also come back raring for action. Also, I don't think we are losing anyone for the African Nation cup, whereas others are.
    That's all the positivity I can think of, gutted to be losing him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Iang87

release all the evidence and liverpool fans might shut up. The FA wont do that cos it wont suit their agenda.

Is anyone surprised on the grand scale of it. Its just absolutely ridiculous and fair play to liverpool for standing up to them. Take it further to clear his name completely

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,224 ✭✭✭barone

Liverpool Football Club is very surprised and disappointed with the decision of the Football Association Commission to find Luis Suarez guilty of the charges against him.

We look forward to the publication of the Commission's Judgment. We will study the detailed reasons of the Commission once they become available, but reserve our right to appeal or take any other course of action we feel appropriate with regards to this situation.

We find it extraordinary that Luis can be found guilty on the word of Patrice Evra alone when no-one else on the field of play - including Evra's own Manchester United teammates and all the match officials - heard the alleged conversation between the two players in a crowded Kop goalmouth while a corner kick was about to be taken.

The Club takes extremely seriously the fight against all forms of discrimination and has a long and successful track record in work relating to anti-racist activity and social inclusion. We remain committed to this ideal and equality for all, irrespective of a person's background.

LFC considers racism in any form to be unacceptable - without compromise. It is our strong held belief, having gone over the facts of the case, that Luis Suarez did not commit any racist act. It is also our opinion that the accusation by this particular player was not credible - certainly no more credible than his prior unfounded accusations.

It is key to note that Patrice Evra himself in his written statement in this case said 'I don't think that Luis Suarez is racist'. The FA in their opening remarks accepted that Luis Suarez was not racist.

Luis himself is of a mixed race family background as his grandfather was black. He has been personally involved since the 2010 World Cup in a charitable project which uses sport to encourage solidarity amongst people of different backgrounds with the central theme that the colour of a person's skin does not matter; they can all play together as a team.

He has played with black players and mixed with their families whilst with the Uruguay national side and was Captain at Ajax Amsterdam of a team with a proud multi-cultural profile, many of whom became good friends.

It seems incredible to us that a player of mixed heritage should be accused and found guilty in the way he has based on the evidence presented. We do not recognise the way in which Luis Suarez has been characterised.

It appears to us that the FA were determined to bring charges against Luis Suarez, even before interviewing him at the beginning of November. Nothing we have heard in the course of the hearing has changed our view that Luis Suarez is innocent of the charges brought against him and we will provide Luis with whatever support he now needs to clear his name.

We would also like to know when the FA intend to charge Patrice Evra with making abusive remarks to an opponent after he admitted himself in his evidence to insulting Luis Suarez in Spanish in the most objectionable of terms. Luis, to his credit, actually told the FA he had not heard the insult

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,210 ✭✭✭argosy2006

Very Strong words from LFC , Unbelievable
    The plot thickens !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

I really hope I have the pleasure of watching Evra suffer a horrific career ending injury because it would be incredibly satisfying, I would actually go out on the beer to celebrate.

Wow.

So I hear your a racist now father?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

zerks wrote: »
    WAT????

He said he fully supports using Racist insults and defends anyone who does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

That is one powerful statement by the club.

They really mean business.

I can see a long legal battle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

100% behind Suarez and the club on this matter.

your all an embarassment to your mammys in that case

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

I'm very proud of that statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Nick Szczepanik
    FA fine of £40k for Suarez is more than Fifa have fined entire countries after clear racist abuse by fans at international matches.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,748 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

I cannot believe the statement Liverpool have just released. They are literally taking the FA head on. This could be interesting!

I'm delighted with it myself, we have a reputation as being too nice and an easy target for the FA in particular.

This is too serious a smear against the club and Luis Suarez to be let go. We have to fight is as strongly as possible imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,284 ✭✭✭Glico Man

Well, from that statement it appears that we've a siege mentality at the club from here on out. Whether that will light a fire under the players or not is one thing, but the club, with that statement have shown that they're prepared to take on the FA. Should be interesting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,267 ✭✭✭✭manual_man

baz2009 wrote: »
    manual_man wrote: »
    Well the pc bandwagon has gone off its rocker. Seems you cant say anything these days. Soon we'll all be fitted with muzzels. Bet theyre delighted. Led by fear, bunch of pu*sys

The worst thing is that you're actually for fúcking real.

The worst thing is that most people are led by fear and are quick to label and judge. Let he who has not sinned cast the first stone. Stick that in your pipe and smoke it. Bunch o' hypocrites

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭Brain Stroking

Cop the fcuk on. Labelling someone a racist for something they said in the heat of the moment during a passionate derby game is complete nonsense. The world has gone completely and utterly mad

No. I am a far from pc person but racism pisses me off unbelievably. An easy rule in life is not to say racist things to other people of different race. It's quite simple. And whoever crosses that line should get no mercy.
    The PC issue and racism are different issues in my opinion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

zerks wrote: »
    WAT????

You heard me. I hope and expect the clubs lawyers to rip the FA and Evra a new one. Everyone knows Evra insulted Suarez and yet the FA did nothing. The double standards are disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭mormank

Terry is an England international, it will be interesting to see what he gets.

The FA will give him some carpet and a sweeping brush. Disgraceful result. Bannings had better start happening left right and centre so. But we all know they won't. Bring on the revolution! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

I'm off to visit RAWK for the night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,972 ✭✭✭eigrod

It's pretty clear from that statement that Liverpool were presented with no evidence during the enquiry, solely Evra's words.

If they labelled him a racist and dished out an 8 match suspension based on Evra's word only, then hopefully the club's lawyers will bury them in the courts on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,349 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Fuhrer wrote: »
    So...

Any of the people who spent the majority of this thread insulting Evra, calling him a liar and saying he deserved to be banned feeling like apologizing?

8278.2n850dh.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

The worst thing is that most people are led by fear and are quick to label and judge. Let he who has not sinned cast the first stone. Stick that in your pipe and smoke it. Bunch o' hypocrites

What?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

So Evra himself said Suarez isn't racist? :D

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

mayordenis wrote: »
    Who said it was a joke? You are literally making **** up here.

I'm not, the reaction of some fans on here is that they believe an 8 match ban for Suarez is ridiculous.

Fact is - proven guilty by the FA. Can't see how he's defensible really if this is the case. But every inch of proof will be overexamined by certain fans who won't let it go and just take the punishment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

kryogen wrote: »
    your all an embarassment to your mammys in that case
    Excuse me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

Ahhh nothing like a good controversy for certain folk to show their true colours .

Classy lads classy .

Mods take note