Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Racism - Mod Note on 1st Post - Read before posting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

CSF wrote: »
    Cannot understand the Suarez sympathy. He has been banned for racist abuse (or something similar if not quite that) by people with alot more information than us on what happened.

This.

Not a chance I'd have sympathy for a United player if the same charges were proven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,148 ✭✭✭flanzer

Oh Stevie G, please come back soon and be better than ever

I can see Liverpool assembling a team of top lawyers for this appeal though...watch this space

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭grohlisagod

If he said it, he deserves the ban. 8 games is a bit severe but the FA want to make a point. I just want consistency. If Terry doesn't get a similar ban then I'll be f*cking pissed off.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,210 ✭✭✭argosy2006

Terry is an England international, it will be interesting to see what he gets.

FA not even investigating this are they ?????????
    Non issue for fa?
    Cops are on it though,,,, Why not FA ???????????????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Fine should be larger or non-existent, imo. £40,000 isn't going to hit his wallet hard at all.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,866 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I'm interested in reading their findings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 840 ✭✭✭micks

THFC wrote: »
    Great news, delighted for the lad. He knew well what he was saying when he said it and how Evra would take it. Equally happy I don't have to put up with his blatant cheating over the Christmas.

sorry to disappoint ya

Liverpool have 14 days from the point when they receive the FA's written reasons for their decision to lodge an appeal, with the ban not beginning until this date has passed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭Sappy404

xtal191 wrote: »
    Will be interesting to see what happens Terry now

Nothing. He's not up on an FA charge, it's a police investigation with insufficient evidence as the plaintiff is a member of the public AFAIK, not anyone involved.

Incredible when you look at the two incidents side by side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

City in the PL is on the 3rd, he has 14 days to appeal, that brings it to then, all depends on how long the appeal is.

Would be better if it covered the 2 Carling Cup and the FA Cup match. Would leave 5 PL games or 4 if the FA Cup comes up before its up.

Stoke and Spurs (H)

Bolton and Wolves (A)

If there's another round of the cup he could be back for United at Old Trafford on the 11/02, :D

I assume the FA aren't even that dumb.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,210 ✭✭✭argosy2006

If he said it, he deserves the ban. 8 games is a bit severe but the FA want to make a point. I just want consistency. If Terry doesn't get a similar ban then I'll be f*cking pissed off.

Are FA INVESTIGATING TERRY?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭ilovelamp2000

argosy2006 wrote: »
    Non issue for fa?

Because the FA cannot investigate until the police have finished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

tommyhaas wrote: »
    That's a daft argument. I agree Terry's should be longer on the basis that (if true) Suarez was using a term which is deemed acceptable in his culture, and was oblivious to its implications, while Terry was fully aware

But to suggest though that the sentence should be influenced by the strength of the evidence as oppose to the circumstances of the case is daft IMO. Your guilty or your not guilty, but you can't go giving out varying ban depending upon how sure you are of someone's guilt

Maybe not in the eyes of the law but I don't see why not. Cannot see how the FA can look at the Suarez case and deem him 100% guilty of intentionally racially abusing Evra. The lad himself even admitted to saying "something his teammates call him" but completely denies using it in an insulting or derogatory manner. Its too arbitrary a scenario for the FA to label someones character with the racist tag and to hand out a fine/ban in this manner.

Terry on the other hand is caught rotten in this scenario.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

argosy2006 wrote: »
    Non issue for fa?
    The FA have to wait until the Police finish their investigation, then they will investigate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭El Inho

ah well...maybe he'll cop on abit. still class player etc etc etc.

now if anything good can come from this it's big andy coppin the hell on and stepping up...

just think of it like this...he has to play now...he has to perform...

fingers crossed

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭Brain Stroking

Suarez is lying. This admission shows he was being racist and is now adopting the "cultural differences" escape. Unfortunately for Suarez that doesnt really add up. He has shown his ignorance.

And even if the reasoning given isnt complete sh1te, where is the common decency to apologise for the misunderstanding? At the very least he has offended someone and should apologise for his ignorance.

Liverpool and Dalglish have a fair bit to be sheepish about in all this.

The above was described by one poster as a "garbage post" and they got thanked 7 times. Sweet vindication :D
    Would be nice if Liverpool issued an apology to Evra for all this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

Sappy404 wrote: »
    Nothing. He's not up on an FA charge, it's a police investigation with insufficient evidence as the plaintiff is a member of the public AFAIK, not anyone involved.

Incredible when you look at the two incidents side by side.

You better be taking the piss !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,634 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

proper order.can't understand people having sympaty for Suarez,I don't care who he plays for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭Sappy404

I think the fact that he admitted what he said and because of the context his ban was less than what it could have been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭CSF

baz2009 wrote: »
    Fine should be larger or non-existent, imo. £40,000 isn't going to hit his wallet hard at all.
    Punishment can't be different based on earnings. You can't fine Suarez 100 grand for something and then fine some Norwich fringe player 40 if he does it. Suarez has gotten a fair sentence imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭Liam90

Hes been found guilty, so they must have proof and seen exactly what he said. Anyone know what it was that suarez said?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,349 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

baz2009 wrote: »

It does seem quite small when it's compared with the match suspension period but I think it's fair overall. Although it will be reduced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭carlcon

mixednuts wrote: »
    [/B]

That's the sort of ignorance that will see him driven out of the country .
    Small minded attitude which can not see past his own team colours not matter if it destroys a persons career.

Bravo.

If team colours have a factor here, it's the Liverpool fans are who being swayed by their perceived allegiance to their players.

They guy did wrong. If anything, I'm surprised it's only 8 games.

Racism is racism, whether the person doing it plays for Liverpool, United, or the local school team.

The fact that Suarez has a bad rep for cheating in the world cup, diving, or whatever, is irrelevant... and no FA committee member would be swayed by that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

Lets not forget the charge hanging over him for the Fulham incident

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭stumpypeeps

THFC wrote: »
    I'm not we don't, but we have no one even close to Suarez, and even if we did I wouldn't defend him.

Will you defend Harry Redknapp from the millions he's accumulated from bungs and tax evasion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭ilovelamp2000

Liam90 wrote: »
    Hes been found guilty, so they must have proof and seen exactly what he said. Anyone know what it was that suarez said?

According to some news reports he admitted to calling Evra "negro" others claim "negrito".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

It will be interesting to see what happens with JT on the back of this.

For this or any future verdict to have any meaning then if he (JT) is found guilty then he must get as much nay more of a sanction as there would be no ambiguity with language barriers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

micks wrote: »
    sorry to disappoint ya

lol even happier. Now he'll definitely miss the Spurs game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

5starpool wrote: »
    Thought I'd crosspost this from the Liverpool thread.

14 days from now is the date of the league match with Man City, so I'd guess that he would be eligible for that if there is an appeal? Based on that, the matches that would be missed would be (assuming we get through the FA Cup 3rd round)

6 Jan 2012 Oldham H 20:00
    11 Jan 2012 Manchester City A 19:45
    14 Jan 2012 Stoke City H 15:00
    21 Jan 2012 Bolton A 17:30
    25 Jan 2012 Manchester City H 19:45
    28 Jan 2012 FA Cup 4th Round
    31 Jan 2012 Wolves A 20:00
    6 Feb 2012 Tottenham H 20:00

First game back?

11 Feb 2012 Man United A 12:45
    From a Liverpool point-of-view, I think the best thing to do would be to limit the damage. Accept the decision, no appeal, start the ban tomorrow, and then he can be back for the 2nd leg of the Carling Cup

Gutted with the decision, seems overly harsh but if they maintain it for other incidents then I won't complain. Suarez was a fool, is being rightly punished, let's get it over with and get on with things as quickly as possible

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,447 ✭✭✭richymcdermott

8 matches would ya ever **** off :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Will you defend Harry Redknapp from the millions he's accumulated from bungs and tax evasion?

No, not one bit if he's found guilty by people with a lot more info than we have.