The Stone Roses - Live in 2012

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,197 ✭✭✭osnola ibax

Phoenix Park, July 5th, Awesome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭RubyK

OH's christmas pressie sorted, fingers crossed :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,518 ✭✭✭mosstin

Phoenix Park, July 5th, Awesome

Fascinating. You're genuinely excited about this? Good luck to you. The whole thing with its €70 ticket prices and stilted press conferences just seems all ****ing wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

mosstin wrote: »
    Fascinating. You're genuinely excited about this? Good luck to you. The whole thing with its €70 ticket prices and stilted press conferences just seems all ****ing wrong.

Don't go so....

ItsAWindUp wrote: »
    Don't go so....

I'm not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭oldscoil

I hope the Phoeno have sorted their sh1t out since the last "outdoor" gig I was at there.
    Pixies in 2004.

Sound was awful, truly truly awful.
    (I actually felt a bit sorry for the Thrills, it was a chance to get back in the game, but was more like another nail in the coffin.)

Took ages to get a pint. Ageeeesssssssssssss! :mad:

The food was “pre-millennium”, hockey-puck burgers, tomato sauce, bun. €6.

One of only two gigs I have left early.

The only blame that doesn’t lie at the feet of the organisers was the RHCP’s pisz poor performance.
    Shame cos it was after By The Way, their last decent album.:(

Organisers, listen up!!! Get that sound right Folks, especially for Mr. Brown!!!!

Ps, lets look at the positives, it ain't Poxygen, it ain't Slane, it ain't Punchestown.

Hope the touts don't snap 'em up.

No doubt they'll make their dollars somehow (the fcukin scumbags)
    http://www.e4hats.com/_e/gdept/01/Bucket_Hats_Regular_.htm?gclid=CM2VycKhjq0CFQEf4QodZlEwlQ

Not gonna go meself, but hope it’s a cracker for all you good Boards Peeps!
    Peace. :)

oldscoil wrote: »
    I hope the Phoeno have sorted their sh1t out since the last "outdoor" gig I was at there.
    Pixies in 2004.

Sound was awful, truly truly awful.
    (I actually felt a bit sorry for the Thrills, it was a chance to get back in the game, but was more like another nail in the coffin.)

Took ages to get a pint. Ageeeesssssssssssss! :mad:

The food was “pre-millennium”, hockey-puck burgers, tomato sauce, bun. €6.

One of only two gigs I have left early.

The only blame that doesn’t lie at the feet of the organisers was the RHCP’s pisz poor performance.
    Shame cos it was after By The Way, their last decent album.:(

Organisers, listen up!!! Get that sound right Folks, especially for Mr. Brown!!!!

Ps, lets look at the positives, it ain't Poxygen, it ain't Slane, it ain't Punchestown.

Hope the touts don't snap 'em up.

No doubt they'll make their dollars somehow (the fcukin scumbags)
    http://www.e4hats.com/_e/gdept/01/Bucket_Hats_Regular_.htm?gclid=CM2VycKhjq0CFQEf4QodZlEwlQ

Not gonna go meself, but hope it’s a cracker for all you good Boards Peeps!
    Peace. :)

This will involve not plugging in the mic.

If you have no interest in the gig why do you continue to post in the thread?:confused:

ItsAWindUp wrote: »
    If you have no interest in the gig why do you continue to post in the thread?:confused:

OP asked the question if The Stone Roses live was a good idea or not. I think it's a bad idea which is why I'm posting here. If you don't agree with my posts, I can live with that. Clearly you can't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭St.Spodo

OP asked the question if The Stone Roses live was a good idea or not. I think it's a bad idea which is why I'm posting here. If you don't agree with my posts, I can live with that. Clearly you can't.

Yep, you've made your point twice now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Some people think the gig is a good idea. Some people don't.

Back on topic without the sniping please folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭Bella mamma

I don't know what to think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Got tickets :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Got mine, and in my haste and excitement managed to buy the damn album again. Ah well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,639 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Got my tickets :D

When I heard they were reforming, I thought long and hard about going to the gig. I've seen other bands who have reformed and there's something shameful about clearly doing it for the money (pixies etc).

The fact is that the Stone Roses were cut short by that sh*tty record company and who knows where they'd be at if that had not happened.

I seen them in 95, minus Reni and it was a spine-tingling experince!

The begrudgers will say that it may taint the legacy of the band.. maybe it will but I doubt it. Brown has gone on to do some stand up stuff, still is sub-zero cool, Mani has kept going with Primal Scream, Squire and Reni are two of my favourite musicians of all time.

In my opinion, it will be worth the money to see the full line up, and to hear Reni lash out "fools gold" live.

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

I feel sick with excitement. I couldnt make it to their last gigs in Ireland coz was pregnant with my eldest and then couldnt afford to go to Feile and they are my favourite band of all time so was heartbroken when they split.

When my hubby and I split up, She Bangs The Drum became my anthem and got me through it.

Saw Ian a few times including in the Phoenix Park where he played some Roses stuff but the whole band together will be magic.

Got my ticket. Happy fecking days.

This is the one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

Lads d'ya think its gonna sell out, its a massive venue.

Got my fella two tickets this morning, he only rang me to say his brother got them for him.

Shíte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭Rainbow_brite

Got my tickets! Can't wait... blasting the tunes out of my car all day!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,002 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

Got my tickets today and I can't wait! :D

I never thought that this would ever happen.

Roll on July!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

No ticket swapping/selling here please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Got my tickets! Can't wait... blasting the tunes out of my car all day!:D

Haha i did the exact same today. I'd say people thought i was a right weirdo bouncing on my seat singing at the top of my lungs :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

saa wrote: »
    Lads d'ya think its gonna sell out, its a massive venue.

Got my fella two tickets this morning, he only rang me to say his brother got them for him.

Shíte.

it may be but there was only 35-40,000 tickets...even though it can hold close to 100,000

got my 2 anyway :cool: they are really a backup to my heaton park manchester tickets which I got on ebay for about €300. the irish gig is a bit of an insurance policy incase I get fcuked by the ebayer guy :(

irish gig will be the icing on the cake for me, its all about the friday 29th june in Manchester :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 DDDDDeannnnn

Can't wait,reckon I was four when they split so for obvious reasons never seen them live.Got my ticket for Phoenix Park and FIB,it will be a Roses themed summer me thinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭willowthewisp

Any confirmation on Capacity and/or support bands?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,002 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

I don't know about the support acts but there's a capacity of 45,000.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 youwontseeme

cant wait...it'll be a great day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Explosions in the Sky

I really want to see them here live but I've got no friends who are fans :mad: hoping they might play Glastonbury 2013 but I can't see them doing anything after this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭Table Top Joe

Just go on your own! i go to gigs on my own all the time if no one wants to go with me,God only knows how long this will last,go while you can,im going with a few friends.....but im planning on leaving them to move to the front on my own! the f***ers will only talk through it anyway!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭LH Pathe

everlast75 wrote: »
    Brown has gone on to do some stand up stuff, still is sub-zero cool

i dunno, appears a bit chavvy since i stood on stage w/ em at their last performance. at 17 - keeping mani's ex company at 1:17.

scrawny n malnourished at that point. last act of weekend! but eh; that was 16 yr ago! prime-time far as his cool went.. to an impressionable lad in transition.

cant make this show; far too right-of-field for my tastes now ;- still, the video has gothic vibes. shirt does..