Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Stone Roses - Live in 2012

• 15-10-2011 10:28am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,572 ✭✭✭

Ok what do we all think about this press call for next week ...Live dates for the original line-up in 2012 , good idea or not ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

Fingers crossed for full reunion!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭SilverScreen

I don't think it's a good idea. The Stone Roses are one band that I wish would never reform and ruin their legacy, and there's too many bands doing that these days. As much as I'd love to see them live and have my mind blown by them, I'd rather wish for time travel to be invented so I could transport back to 1989 and see them in their original glory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Zero1986 wrote: »
    and there's too many bands doing that these days.

Feckin' Steps, yeah?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭SilverScreen

Mr E wrote: »
    Feckin' Steps, yeah?
    Feckin Steps and The Venga Boys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Battleflag

Is it another bluff? I would kill to see the Stone Roses live, was too young to have known who they were when they were together. Maybe past their heyday but would definitely buy a ticket!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

Ian Brown's vocals are terrible live these days.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

seachto7 wrote: »

Weren't they always though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭indiewindy

Weren't they always though?

terrible live but great on record

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

This is absolute bull**** just like it was last year, the year before, the year before that and so on and so forth.

Rubbish. Close thread, or else wait, then close thread.

(ill enjoy eating my hat if im wrong)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

nm wrote: »
    This is absolute bull**** just like it was last year, the year before, the year before that and so on and so forth.

Rubbish. Close thread, or else wait, then close thread.

(ill enjoy eating my hat if im wrong)

Hope it's a small and tasteful hat.Because you are wrong.Tuesday it will be announced.The Roses are going on the road.No hint of a new record though.And Reni is in.9T is a hint rather than a denial.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

As long as I get to see Reni play the drums live it's okay by me!

Hope it's a small and tasteful hat.Because you are wrong.Tuesday it will be announced.The Roses are going on the road.No hint of a new record though.And Reni is in.9T is a hint rather than a denial.

No memory of posting that, I'll be happy to be wrong in this instance though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,834 ✭✭✭Welease

Brown was always a dire singer live.. :)

Was lucky enough to see them in small venues before they got big, and they were amazing (around 88/89). Seeing them in the The Hague in Liverpool still ranks as the best gig I was ever at (still have my ticket.. 2.50 entrance fee). However, I never felt their music or intensity translated well to the bigger venues.. Alexander Palace was good, but Spike Island was absolutely dire.. one of the worst gigs I was ever at.

If they reformed, they would likely play at the larger venues.. I kinda wish they leave it where it was years ago and don't reform.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,032 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

If they reform I wouldn't go see them live. Just imagine the amount of scumbags who would off their faces more so than the usual gig. Plus Ian is a sh!te singer live and can't sing the notes he hits on record.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

Mmm saw them in Feile 95 and the magic was fading fast by then. Not sure if this is a good idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,834 ✭✭✭Welease

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭mosstin

Welease wrote: »

This just won't work. I sometimes wish they'd split just after releasing Fools Gold. Watching their slow and inevitable demise thereafter was sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭generalmental

Really dont know how i feel about this, one of the greatest bands ever but like others ave said Browns voice is shocking these days.

never got to ssee them live either but fee i would be drawn to the gig. why lads why

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭handsomecake

Tickets will be fools gold dust

• Closed Accounts Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Tubsandtiles

I wasn't even born when these guys were around but the last few years I have become a huge fan, even Noel Gallagher went on record saying the Spike Island gig was attrcoious. Like other posters said I get the feeling Browns voice is more suited to a small venue rather than a Slane approach stlye venues. Hearing Mani's bass live must be breathtaking :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭osnola ibax

No point to this, bunch of 50 year olds trying to cash in, would still try to get a ticket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭Ouravit

BROWN

"We are going to rule the world again. It's happening."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭Fidge13

everyone knows they're going to be rubbish if they reform, but every single gig will sell out no problem.

Great albums but I'd hate to see them come back and embarrass themselves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Looks like its happening, I still won't believe it til I hear it from John Squire though, he always seemed to be the one holding it up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Android 666

What I really don't understand is the 'They're going to be truly awful, where can I get a ticket?' mentality. If you think it's a terrible idea, don't buy a ticket for it. Simples. Don't support such an obviously money-grabbing comeback tour. They were terrible at Feile in 1995, they'll be even worse now…

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

Well if the Roses don't reform I'll still be seeing Mani live with Primal Scream in December.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

I cant fúcking wait for this. I will have no problem camping out to get tickets for this(no way am i relying on the internet for this)

To the people who say Ian B is shocking live, this is a few months ago and i would have no problem listening to this for 2 hours

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭Nevermind_

never got to see them live the first time around was a bit too young. But I would definitely buy a ticket to see them now. not expecting them to sound as good as in their prime but would love to see them all the same!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭Ouravit

Have faith in The Roses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

the stone roses should come back to ireland and save the debacle that is slane and ****ing rock it out in 2012.

i have to see this band :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Tubsandtiles

ricero wrote: »
    the stone roses should come back to ireland and save the debacle that is slane and ****ing rock it out in 2012.

i have to see this band :D
    Not a chance they would headline Slane or sell it out (thats the whole mentality of a promoter) ticket sales :( We can wish, Rolling Stones, Stone Roses, Red Hot Chilli Peppers ? please :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭Table Top Joe

Eh am i the only one who has taken notice of the fact that the source of all these rumours and articles is....The Sun??? im firmly in the i hope im wrong but i dont think i am camp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭mosstin

Ouravit wrote: »
    Have faith in The Roses.

Based on what? How they pissed and snorted it all away?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭k.p.h

**** yeah ... I just got a text to say this is apparently happening, not from the greatest source or anything but I must admit I am extreemly excited.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭Van Occupanther

Melion wrote: »
    I cant fúcking wait for this. I will have no problem camping out to get tickets for this(no way am i relying on the internet for this)

To the people who say Ian B is shocking live, this is a few months ago and i would have no problem listening to this for 2 hours

Much as I loved this band, this has bad idea written all over it. Brown sounds like a drunk singing at a party in this clip. I was at Feile and thought it was a good show. It was only when I heard the set later on radio that I realised what an awful singer Brown was- very difficult to hear his voice during the show as everyone was singing every word. I remember Robbie played in a heavier, more rock style than Reni which didn't really suit the early stuff so I'd be tempted to go to hear Reni, Mani and Squire play together. Good luck to them, whether I go or not will depend on ticket price and timing. Wonder if they'll be stuck on the Oxegen bill or standalone show.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Much as I loved this band, this has bad idea written all over it. Brown sounds like a drunk singing at a party in this clip. I was at Feile and thought it was a good show. It was only when I heard the set later on radio that I realised what an awful singer Brown was- very difficult to hear his voice during the show as everyone was singing every word. I remember Robbie played in a heavier, more rock style than Reni which didn't really suit the early stuff so I'd be tempted to go to hear Reni, Mani and Squire play together. Good luck to them, whether I go or not will depend on ticket price and timing. Wonder if they'll be stuck on the Oxegen bill or standalone show.

See, thats the thing that some people dont realise. It doesnt matter how good/bad Ians voice is because you wont even hear him anyway.

Is there anywhere online to watch the press conference?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

seachto7 wrote: »

His vocals were always rubbish. There's a version of i wanna be adored from 1985 on youtube, where he sounds awful.

I saw them in 1995 in Cork and he was all over the shop. Hearing John Squire play though was fooking amazing!

I was expecting the Smiths to reform quicker than this lot.

John Squire would be the main attraction for me here, even though Brown has stage presence, his voice is a load of bollox.

Edit: Please jesus, i hope they dont play in the kip that is Slane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭me-skywalker

Dont worry about Brown, every single song will be sung LOUD be every member of the audience, you wont hear him regardles if he sounded like a wailing cat or pavarotti!

Is there any good twitter accounts to follow for this live minute by minute?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 328 ✭✭thefly

If they reform I wouldn't go see them live. Just imagine the amount of scumbags who would off their faces more so than the usual gig. Plus Ian is a sh!te singer live and can't sing the notes he hits on record.

Fine then, don't go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,594 ✭✭✭jaykay74

Dont worry about Brown, every single song will be sung LOUD be every member of the audience, you wont hear him regardles if he sounded like a wailing cat or pavarotti!

Is there any good twitter accounts to follow for this live minute by minute?

This one seems likely to have info as it happens.

http://twitter.com/#!/gordonsmart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭but1er

roses supported by noel gallagher

marley park summers day in 2012

full of 20 years odds on the cans in a field :)

i can dream yeah?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

but1er wrote: »
    roses supported by noel gallagher

marley park summers day in 2012

full of 20 years odds on the cans in a field :)

i can dream yeah?
    Yea Marley park or mahalide castle with eiter Noel gallagher or beady eye and kasabian supporting

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 15,578 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

Manchester band The Stone Roses will announce they have re-formed today, and sources tell eFestivals that they will appear at V Festival and the revived Phoenix festival next year.

We believe that the driver for the band reforming is a desire to record a new album as well as the chance to play live.

Our sources tell us the band will be playing V Festival 2012, which will take place at Hylands Park, Chelmsford, Essex and Weston Park, Staffordshire over the weekend of Saturday 18th & Sunday 19th August.

Our sources also say that they will also play the Phoenix Festival although Phoenix Festival organisers have denied it.

Phoenix was set up in 1993 by Vince Power when he was part of the Mean Fiddler Group, and cancelled in 1998. The festival previously happened at Long Marston Airfield at Stratford-upon-Avon. eFestivals believes Phoenix Festival will happen sometime in August next year.

The Madchester scene pioneers who included Ian Brown, Mani, and guitarist John Squire, split in 1996 after a terrible performance at Reading Festival without guitarist Squire who had already quit the band.

Singer Ian Brown went on to become a solo star, bass player Mani joined Primal Scream, Squire charted with his band The Seahorses before pursuing an art career, and drummer Reni has been semi-retired since the split 15 years ago.

Our sources say that they will announce The Stone Roses reunion for a full tour next June. There's rumours floating around that this will include gigs at Manchester's Heaton Park. We'll bring you full details of what's announced later today, once we have them.

Confirmed

Heaton Park in Manchester on 29 and 30 June 2012.

Followed by a world tour.

According to the guardian - http://www.guardian.co.uk/music/2011/oct/18/stone-roses-reunion-comeback-gigs?newsfeed=true

Would love to be playing in Slane next year!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,594 ✭✭✭jaykay74

Hmm... Wonder if details of the World Tour will break before tickets for the Manchester shows go on sale this Friday. Would be a lot easier for me to get to a nordic gig.

I can imagine the information flow will be quick and sharp, in order to latch onto the hype machine and media frenzy this will produce. Gig dates, album release dates, interviews with every jock and hack in the country quoting the same cliched 'love overcame hate' motto's and Mani just checkin his online balance every 5mins to reassure himself it was worth it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

It's not a real reunion without Cressa. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,572 ✭✭✭DominoDub

The band that drinks together stays together:D

phpx6kk3A_thumb_StoneRosesPressConferenceNMECMA181011.gallery.jpg

http://www.thestoneroses.org/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭wonderboysam

**** yeaaa!!!!!!!!!