The Euro 2012 bandwagon rolls into town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

I am really worried.

What if our 2 great soccer ambassadors Davy Keogh and Alan Hunter are left at home without tickets??

Poor gob ****es.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Benny_Cake wrote: »
    Haven't attended an Ireland match in years, but does anyone know where I can get a large inflatable rubber banana?:rolleyes:
    Seachmall wrote: »
    Try under your mum's bed.

I did titter at that. :D

In all fairness all my friends are heading over. There's about ten going and only three of them went to all the home qualifiers and some of the away games.

It'd be sh1te for the loyal supporters if there was only a small crowd. Its only going to be a bunch of pissed up paddies, singing stupid songs and falling around the place anyways.

I went to one away game and swore i'd never go again. Nothing worse then a watching a middle aged man, with a spray on Ireland jersey, crying about the 1916 Blood Sacrifice with a dog beside him eating his fresh vomit off the foot path.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

foxyboxer wrote: »
    It will be better watching the games in the Pub anyway.
    This is an excellent example of the Irish sporting public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,746 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Jesus get it right :rolleyes:

It was South Africa.
    Nope, Jack Charlton never managed South Africa, only Ireland. You must be mixing him up with Morgan Freeman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Sykk wrote: »
    OP mad he didn't get a ticket?

No. I'm not mad I didnt get a ticket.

I'm not working and cant go. Just querying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 jordo333

You could have bought tickets for all 3 games on the UEFA website all this week. Plenty of oppertunity for 'bandwagoners' and 'real' fans to get them. I think if you are a true fan you will get tickets. Anyway theres probably only about 2-3k 'die hard ireland fans' anyway so you need the fair weather fans to go along for support!

I am a complete 'bandwagoner' and not ashamed to say it and I will be over in Poland next June

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Rumpybumpy

As someone who doesnt bother with soccer during normal season Im not going to insult anyone by pretending to start following just cause its cool

Besides Ive always found following a team thats more Englands reserves then Irelands national team abit weird

Rumpybumpy wrote: »
    As someone who doesnt bother with soccer during normal season Im not going to insult anyone by pretending to start following just cause its cool

Besides Ive always found following a team thats more Englands reserves then Irelands national team abit weird

The majority are actually from Ireland as it turns out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Dotrel

You really don't follow football, do you? Ireland these days aren't even as good as England's reserves, but at least their nearly all Irish born these days.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Soccer forum???

Yes, their is a soccer forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,990 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

bijapos wrote: »
    I've been to plenty of Irish matches over the years, but the moment they started to charge €70 in to Lansdowne Road for every match no matter what the opposition was the time I told the FAI to finally fcuk off. They refuse point blank to reduce the price, no matter who plays, so its €70 to see World Champions play, and €70 to see Andorra. €70 for any international is crazy money, let alone to see ireland play in the middle of a recession.

I don't think the prices were that steep, now I actually target people who make this argument. I'm guessing you don't support a team in Ireland therefore you have no weekly expense supporting football, do you see people in England bitching that they have to play £40 for an International match along with probably holding a season ticket for the club they support, and probably travel to away matches. If there's a will there's a way!

I for one will be purchasing some Man Utd, Liverpool, Man City, etc... jerseys and will be supporting England in Poland.:D
    AgileMyth wrote: »

It's all about the craic and banter though AgileMyth, can't beat the big events! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

AgileMyth wrote: »

In what way? So I don't feel like dropping a grand to watch a group match infers that I care less?

Point is, you don't have to be there to enjoy it.

And I'd like to see Brazil do well in the Euros this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,990 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

orourkeda wrote: »
    The majority are actually from Ireland as it turns out.
    Dotrel wrote: »
    You really don't follow football, do you? Ireland these days aren't even as good as England's reserves, but at least their nearly all Irish born these days.

Keiren Westwood, Sean St Ledger, James McCarthy, Aidan McGeady, Leon Best, Simon Cox, Jon Walters!

Lets be fair.

Its not really an Irish team as it only represents 26 counties in Ireland

We really never gave a toss about tge team given we were rolling in money but never bothered building a national stadium, having the lads play and train on a pitch not designed for soccer

Historically most of its most popular players were English men who used their Irish great grannies uncles brothers ancestors to play international football

Most of its players jumo over to England first chance they get to play for English clubs who pay them huge money, which is reason the national team is sh*te

And during tournaments we go under title 'Republic of Ireland'
    Sounds like a title of a former Serbian warzone

Lets not kid ourselves more give a sh*t about English premiership teams then the Irish side

Yakult wrote: »
    Soccer forum???

Yes, their is a soccer forum.

Yes, you need learn grammer and spelling

You tell him!

We're goin to da bleedin Yoooou-roooooowwws.

Lets be fair.

We really never gave a toss about tge team given we were rolling in money but never bothered building a national stadium, having the lads play and train on a pitch not designed for soccer

Historically most of its most popular players were English men who used their Irish great grannies uncles brothers ancestors to play international football

Most of its players jumo over to England first chance they get to play for English clubs who pay them huge money, which is reason the national team is sh*te

Lets not kid ourselves more give a sh*t about English premiership teams then the Irish side

How does playing club football in England make our national team poor. Players from all over the world play in england.

The national have used the rules to their advantage in selecting non irish players. Jack Charlton would never have qualified for a world cup otherwise

Again, Soccer forum??????

Lets be fair.

Ah you're not even trying now :( You can troll better than that.

Lets be fair.
    K

How does playing club football in England make our national team poor. Players from all over the world play in england.

The national have used the rules to their advantage in selecting non irish players. Jack Charlton would never have qualified for a world cup otherwise

Hmm Manchester United paying you millions regardless if you win or lose
    Witg which come lots of sex with big breasted women and flash women

Play for half arsed Irish who pay you nothing

Who would you give more commitment to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭SHOVELLER

Explain that please.

Players will commit to whatever club is paying them.

Anyway back on topic. The FAI have, in fairness, looked after those who have travelled in this campaign. But then again that does not prove you're a real fan by going on an away bender every couple of months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Benny_Cake

Hmm Manchester United paying you millions regardless if you win or lose
    Witg which come lots of sex with big breasted women and flash women

Who would you give more commitment to?

So how does that differ from, say, Brazil? The majority of the Brazilian national team play their football in Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Fuzzball is the ghey. I would rather watch paint dry then watch 90 minutes of diving.

However, I will pull on a green jersey and head to the pub with my mates and pretend I get it and I will genuinely cheer on my country men as they represent us on an European level. . Am I a band wagoner?.

Fuzzball is the ghey. I would rather watch paint dry then watch 90 minutes of diving.

As opposed to rugby where you have big muscle bound men, 'rucking' the hell out of each other.

All rugby is missing is baby oil and dildos! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

As opposed to rugby where you have big muscle bound men, 'rucking' the hell out of each other.

All rugby is missing is baby oil and dildos! :pac:

Reported for off topic nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

I'm not going. It doesnt affect me.

My point was that it shouldnt be first come first served. There should be some form of reward or respect for loyalty.

Not because some wanker decides to come out of the woodwork once every 10 years.

The FAI will then wonder why they have a half empty stadium when the world cup quaifiers come around

It's possible to watch most matches on television these days. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭podgemonster

Some people can't go to match but can still be just as hard core fans and those sitting in the stands cheering on the lads. Tickets aren't cheap, travel isnt cheap and Dublin isnt the center of the Universe either. 2 years ago I have moved to Dublin and since then I have lost count of how many games iv been too but before that I would have taken me half a day to get to a game from West Cork on top of the cost of ticket, a hotel, food & drink.

A die hard fan could easily be a farmer cursing the ref while the radio blars in his tractor, or it could be a Dad with his kids shouting at the telly. Or a group of lads in a old pub on the aran islands watching intently. We are in a major tournament and if people who havnt been to a match before wana come, let them come, let the irish descend on Poland like a flood of green. Its a party and everyone should be invited.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,331 ✭✭✭RichieC

Of course orourkeda is right, there's nothing as loathsome and despicable as scum sunny day fans.

to the gas chambers, I say!