Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Euro 2012 bandwagon rolls into town.

• 12-12-2011 2:13pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭

I was chatting to my 2 brothers yesterday and they told me that they had got tickets to the Ireland v Croatia match. Neither had set foot in the Aviva for the qualifying campaign. They are by no means alone and there are hundreds of people who have now secured tickets that did not attend some or all qualifying games.

It also seems that this extends beyond soccer. It is a sight that can be seen during every GAA season when all ireland final days come around and practically every other high profile sporting occasion that graces our nation.

With Euro 2012 now on the horizon is it fair to ask if bandwagon jumping is unique to the Irish people or is it a universal phenomenon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Anything that gives the country a lift at the moment is a good thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I didn't know it was obligatory to go to every qualifying match before you were allowed go to the finals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

It's universal.....it's known as 'Le Bandwagon' in France for example!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Its probably not unique to the irish - any international team or club team that are succesfull will always have their share of bandwagon fans, especially near a final.

No one is going to jump on the bandwagin for a team that are utter shíte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

orourkeda wrote: »
    I was chatting to my 2 brothers yesterday and they told me that they had got tickets to the Ireland v Croatia match. Neither had set foot in the Aviva for the qualifying campaign. They are by no means alone and there are hundreds of people who have now secured tickets that did not attend some or all qualifying games.

It also seems that this extends beyond soccer. It is a sight that can be seen during every GAA season when all ireland final days come around and practically every other high profile sporting occasion that graces our nation.

With Euro 2012 now on the horizon is it fair to ask if bandwagon jumping is unique to the Irish people or is it a universal phenomenon?

Yep...unique to Ireland and to sport, would never see it happening in something like...music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭CucaFace

I have mates who in the past have basically said that the types of people who support the Irish football teams are nothing but knackers. Once the Rugby team started doing well they were all about a sport none had ever played or had any real interest in before.

But now we have qualified they are heading off to Poland and looking for tickets.

If i got some extra i wouldn't even tell them about them. Id prefer to find real fans and give them the tickets.

This is the **** that really annoys me.

It's mainly the same Rugby bandwagon fans who are now coming back to the football side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭Randy Anders

Yeah, how dare those bandwagon jumpers pay thousands of euro to go to Poland to see our national team play in a big competition

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Absolutely but thats not the point.

There are bound to be supporters who are due or deserve tickets who will miss out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Hipster.

If you buy the tickets you "deserve" to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

You sound like a football hipster.

Yeah, how dare those bandwagon jumpers pay thousands of euro to go to Poland to see our national team play in a big competition

Possibly at the expense of some fans who pay thousands of euro to go and see qualifying games at home and abroad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭Randy Anders

There are bound to be supporters who are due or deserve tickets who will miss out

So everybody who didn't attend the qualifiers should stay at home instead of going to support the team?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

It will be better watching the games in the Pub anyway.

Pherekydes wrote: »
    I didn't know it was obligatory to go to every qualifying match before you were allowed go to the finals.

Did I say that?

Shouldnt those fans that do have first access

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

No I wouldn't say its a uniquely Irish phenomenon, people are drawn to success and like to feel apart of it. It is a bit sickening though, I've mates who I drink with who would not even watch a ROI match on telly a year ago and now want to go Poland and Ukraine.

The same goes for the rugby, Back in the late 90s I remember been referred to as a 'posh snob' and a 'west brit' in school because I played and watched rugby. These same muppets today swan around in their Munster jerseys and well up with tears when Ireland's Call is played.

You're missing the point.

Chances are a lot of these band wagon fans will have some connection and will end up with match tickets, when a lot of fans who have actually stuck with the team through the bad years will be left without.

I've no problem with anyone heading out there but i do have a problem with real fans being left ticketless because a big number of Rugby bandwagon fans decide to change sports for a few weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Dotrel

It's not unique to the Irish but we definitely do it as extensively as anyone. For instance, n 1987 only 17,000 came to Lansdowne to watch Ireland play Brazil (such was the level of disinterest in the Irish national team). Two years later 49,000 came to watch Ireland v Malta (a sellout, unofficial reports reckon they could have sold twice that many tickets).

(Tell your friends to at least learn all the players names before they enter the stadium.)

Did I say that?

Shouldnt those fans that do have first access

Don't many clubs give members first access tickets?

I'm sure it happens in GAA, does it not happen in football or rugby too?

If not then there's not much else that can be done and people shouldn't be refused tickets because they don't qualify as fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Not unique to Ireland at all. I've come across it in other countries too.

The whole Irish bandwagon phenomenon was summed up for me a few years ago by a classmate. He was asking me what I was doing for the rugby match at the weekend. I told him I wouldn't be watching it as I have no interest whatsoever in rugby, Irish or otherwise. He said "come on, it's the only thing we have a chance of winning".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭hooradiation

If they were real fans they'd have got their tickets early.
    Bloody fair weather supporters the lot of them.....

So everybody who didn't attend the qualifiers should stay at home instead of going to support the team?

I didnt say that either. Once the supporters that turn up for qualifiers are taken care of then the remaining tickets should be placed on general sale.

The priority should be to reward people who attend qualifying games

Possibly at the expense of some fans who pay thousands of euro to go and see qualifying games at home and abroad.

Maybe they should have saved their money for the big matches?

If you buy a ticket to go to Croker or Lansdowne Road it entitles you to go to exactly one match, unless it's a special. If you want to go to more matches in other stadia buy more tickets. Simples.

But don't blame others for buying tickets ahead of you. It's first come, first served.

I didnt say that either. Once the supporters that turn up for qualifiers are taken care of then the remaining tickets should be placed on general sale.

The priority should be to reward people who attend qualifying games

In particular, priority should be to reward fans who go to the away qualifiers first. Only after that should home fans be considered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

This is my issue. Most of us haven't a hope in getting tickets, my only chance is the FAI draw for the people who block book tickets. Already I have people asking me to apply for them on their behalf. I can't help but think, "I don't recall you ever going to a match previous to qualifying..."

Anyway, if I get tickets out of this draw and I can go to Poland then I'll be keeping them for myself. If I can't go then I'll be giving them to someone who I feel genuinely deserves them. Sounds snobby I know, but I don't spend hundreds a year on football tickets to hand them over to a fairweather.

Dotrel wrote: »
    In particular, priority should be to reward fans who go to the away qualifiers first. Only after that should home fans be considered.

What if they're saving up for the big game?

Not everybody can afford to go to more than one match.

Fans should not be defined by disposable income.

If you buy a ticket to go to Croker or Lansdowne Road it entitles you to go to exactly one match, unless it's a special. If you want to go to more matches in other stadia buy more tickets. Simples.

But don't blame others for buying tickets ahead of you. It's first come, first served.

I'm not going. It doesnt affect me.

My point was that it shouldnt be first come first served. There should be some form of reward or respect for loyalty.

Not because some wanker decides to come out of the woodwork once every 10 years.

The FAI will then wonder why they have a half empty stadium when the world cup quaifiers come around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

I've been to plenty of Irish matches over the years, but the moment they started to charge €70 in to Lansdowne Road for every match no matter what the opposition was the time I told the FAI to finally fcuk off. They refuse point blank to reduce the price, no matter who plays, so its €70 to see World Champions play, and €70 to see Andorra. €70 for any international is crazy money, let alone to see ireland play in the middle of a recession.

The stupidity of this is reflected in the attendances, but they will refuse to do anything about it for fear of losing face. It should be interesting to seee exactly who the Official Euro 2012 packages can be bought through and what connections they have with the FAI and John "€450,000 p.a" Delaney.

Sorry but although the FAI has been run like sh1te for decades, the present crowd have driven me away completley and I'm more than happy to do my shouting in the pub.

(rant over). :mad:

People who go to no matches are entitled to zero tickets by this logic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Is there no loyalty point system for tickets?

bijapos wrote: »
    I've been to plenty of Irish matches over the years, but the moment they started to charge €70 in to Lansdowne Road for every match no matter what the opposition was the time I told the FAI to finally fcuk off. They refuse point blank to reduce the price, no matter who plays, so its €70 to see World Champions play, and €70 to see Andorra. €70 for any international is crazy money, let alone to see ireland play in the middle of a recession.

The stupidity of this is reflected in the attendances, but they will refuse to do anything about it for fear of losing face. It should be interesting to seee exactly who the Official Euro 2012 packages can be bought through and what connections they have with the FAI and John "€450,000 p.a" Delaney.

Sorry but although the FAI has been run like sh1te for decades, the present crowd have driven me away completley and I'm more than happy to do my shouting in the pub.

(rant over). :mad:

Who's excusing the FAI ticket prices?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

So I have to fly back to Dublin every time there's a home international in order to be rewarded with the right to buy tickets for matches that are going to be a lot closer to me?

Bollocks!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Seachmall wrote: »
    What if they're saving up for the big game?

Not everybody can afford to go to more than one match.

Fans should not be defined by disposable income.

Well if they're that hard up they probably shouldn't go at all. Besides, from my experience most of the people who make the effort to go to all these godforsaken places during the qualifiers (and I don't count myself among them) aren't millionaires and do themselves have to scrimp and save to get there (and will have to do so again for the finals). I'd be very disappointed if even one of them missed a minute of the finals because some à la carte fan had got his ticket instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭nobby grande

This is exactly what is happening lads. I went to Tallinn and as such have first dibs on tikcets to Poland and Ukraine. I know people love to bash the FAI but they have thought of these issues and addressed them.

Is there no loyalty point system for tickets?

Perhaps there is but not that i'm aware of.

There are block bookers and season ticket holders that will not get tickets.

There are people who do not block book or hold a season ticket that will.

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    So I have to fly back to Dublin every time there's a home international in order to be rewarded with the right to buy tickets for matches that are going to be a lot closer to me?

Bollocks!

So do you think its right that you should get a ticket ahead of people who do go to games here?

Thats the real bollocks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭smallerthanyou

bijapos wrote: »
    They refuse point blank to reduce the price, no matter who plays, so its €70 to see World Champions play, and €70 to see Andorra. €70 for any international is crazy money, let alone to see ireland play in the middle of a recession.

It's 45. Was reduced.... Cheaper for friendlys too. But please continue to rant.

This is exactly what is happening lads. I went to Tallinn and as such have first dibs on tikcets to Poland and Ukraine. I know people love to bash the FAI but they have thought of these issues and addressed them.

Fair enough then. As long as they are reqarding these fans first then thats fair enough

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Its a business!! Suck it up and get on with it!! Anyone willing to pay all that money to watch our brand of toxic football deserves it, the ones who miss out on tickets are the lucky ones!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

I liked the National team before it was cool.

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »

Bollocks!

I don't think it was directed at fans like you.

My own point of view is I know of already 2 guys who at best have a faint liking for the Irish football team over the last 10 years who are heading over and will be trying like everyone else to get tickets and with their connections probably get them. This is what gets to me.

And you can guarintee that there will be a lot more guys like this heading over and getting tickets at the expensive of those fans who have stuck with the team through the past years of under achievement.

They won't get them through the FAI but most Irish fans won't get them this way as we are only getting 6,000 tickets through the FAI, but they will be after the tickets through whatever other channels they are available.

Im going with or without a ticket for the games as the craic will be unbeliveable but it will piss me off to see guys going to the match, knowing they are nothing but bandwagon fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

Who cares, as long as it inevitably shows that football putsrugby and to an even greater extent, the GAA, into their place, that's all that matters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,226 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I never jump on the sports bandwagon and prefer to ignore them from the comfort of my own living-room.

Well if they're that hard up they probably shouldn't go at all.
    Well that's crap.

Some (most?) people can only afford to go on holidays once a year, that doesn't mean they shouldn't go on holidays at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

So do you think its right that you should get a ticket ahead of people who do go to games here?

Thats the real bollocks

"Ahead of"...? Eh, no.

I am saying that I should have the same chance as them. As should everyone else.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I'm glad Ireland are in Euro 2012 so I don;t have to support Spain now.

I love Messi of Spain though. He's my favourite.

Your logic is arseways.

Seachmall wrote: »
    Well that's crap.
    Dya think?
    Some (most?) people can only afford to go on holidays once a year, that doesn't mean they shouldn't go on holidays at all.

But what he's suggesting is that his 'holiday' should be at the expense of some other guys 'holiday', purely because he was only willing/able to pay a lesser amount.

What I'm saying is that the people who've followed this team all over Europe for the past number of years (when it was neither wise, glamourous nor profitable) should get priority over some guy who only fancies getting a taste of action now that the team has hit at the big time.

Go on holiday if you want and try see the games if you can, but to even suggest that the fans who've followed this team to the extremities of Europe should be given equal or lesser priority for tickets because they could "afford" to go to away qualifying games is beyond stupidity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭Flincher

Its the same for every sport. The crowds at GAA League games are tiny compared to the championship.

Thomond Park will be packed on Sunday, yet there were only about 12 thousand there against Edinburgh. I'm lucky enough to have full membership of the Munster Supporters Club. I've never been asked to see if I can get tickets to a League game (bar Leinster), yet people who haven't gone to Thomond this year have been on the phone to me during the week looking for tickets to Sunday's game. Its something that drives me a bit mad because for years I struggled to get tickets to Heineken Cup games, despite going to the vast majority of the Celtic/Magners League ones.

I hope the FAI can try and ensure that people who try and go to as many games as possible get first access to tickets. I don't think anyone would have an issue with that...

Go on holiday if you want and try see the games if you can, but to even suggest that the fans who've followed this team to the extremities of Europe should be given equal or lesser priority for tickets because they could "afford" to go to away qualifying games is beyond stupidity.

Well they should be given equal priority. To suggest they should be given priority is beyond stupid and completely unfair. There are people who save up for a year or more to go to these matches and to claim they shouldn't receive the same chance is ****ing ridiculous.

Just because you attend more matches doesn't necessarily make you a better fan. It just means you have the money and time.
    some guy who only fancies getting a taste of action now that the team has hit at the big time.
    Well that I can sort of agree with, but the way you're suggesting it should be done restricts people by financial limitations and doesn't address if they're actually fans or are just going for the laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭ceegee

As it stands people whi went to games do have a better chance of tickets, provided all other factors are equal (in terms of finances and corporate pull).
    Anyone who thinks only loyal supporters should get tickets and not corporate bandwagoners would do well to consider how much money these corporations pump into tournaments and FAs.