The Euro 2012 bandwagon rolls into town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

orourkeda wrote: »
    People who go to no matches are entitled to zero tickets by this logic

So I have to fly back to Dublin every time there's a home international in order to be rewarded with the right to buy tickets for matches that are going to be a lot closer to me?

Bollocks!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Dotrel

Seachmall wrote: »
    What if they're saving up for the big game?

Not everybody can afford to go to more than one match.

Fans should not be defined by disposable income.

Well if they're that hard up they probably shouldn't go at all. Besides, from my experience most of the people who make the effort to go to all these godforsaken places during the qualifiers (and I don't count myself among them) aren't millionaires and do themselves have to scrimp and save to get there (and will have to do so again for the finals). I'd be very disappointed if even one of them missed a minute of the finals because some à la carte fan had got his ticket instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭nobby grande

Dotrel wrote: »
    In particular, priority should be to reward fans who go to the away qualifiers first. Only after that should home fans be considered.

This is exactly what is happening lads. I went to Tallinn and as such have first dibs on tikcets to Poland and Ukraine. I know people love to bash the FAI but they have thought of these issues and addressed them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Is there no loyalty point system for tickets?

Perhaps there is but not that i'm aware of.

There are block bookers and season ticket holders that will not get tickets.

There are people who do not block book or hold a season ticket that will.

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    So I have to fly back to Dublin every time there's a home international in order to be rewarded with the right to buy tickets for matches that are going to be a lot closer to me?

Bollocks!

So do you think its right that you should get a ticket ahead of people who do go to games here?

Thats the real bollocks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭smallerthanyou

bijapos wrote: »
    They refuse point blank to reduce the price, no matter who plays, so its €70 to see World Champions play, and €70 to see Andorra. €70 for any international is crazy money, let alone to see ireland play in the middle of a recession.

It's 45. Was reduced.... Cheaper for friendlys too. But please continue to rant.

This is exactly what is happening lads. I went to Tallinn and as such have first dibs on tikcets to Poland and Ukraine. I know people love to bash the FAI but they have thought of these issues and addressed them.

Fair enough then. As long as they are reqarding these fans first then thats fair enough

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Its a business!! Suck it up and get on with it!! Anyone willing to pay all that money to watch our brand of toxic football deserves it, the ones who miss out on tickets are the lucky ones!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

I liked the National team before it was cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭CucaFace

Bollocks!

I don't think it was directed at fans like you.

My own point of view is I know of already 2 guys who at best have a faint liking for the Irish football team over the last 10 years who are heading over and will be trying like everyone else to get tickets and with their connections probably get them. This is what gets to me.

And you can guarintee that there will be a lot more guys like this heading over and getting tickets at the expensive of those fans who have stuck with the team through the past years of under achievement.

They won't get them through the FAI but most Irish fans won't get them this way as we are only getting 6,000 tickets through the FAI, but they will be after the tickets through whatever other channels they are available.

Im going with or without a ticket for the games as the craic will be unbeliveable but it will piss me off to see guys going to the match, knowing they are nothing but bandwagon fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

Who cares, as long as it inevitably shows that football putsrugby and to an even greater extent, the GAA, into their place, that's all that matters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I never jump on the sports bandwagon and prefer to ignore them from the comfort of my own living-room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Well if they're that hard up they probably shouldn't go at all.
    Well that's crap.

Some (most?) people can only afford to go on holidays once a year, that doesn't mean they shouldn't go on holidays at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

So do you think its right that you should get a ticket ahead of people who do go to games here?

Thats the real bollocks

"Ahead of"...? Eh, no.

I am saying that I should have the same chance as them. As should everyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I'm glad Ireland are in Euro 2012 so I don;t have to support Spain now.

I love Messi of Spain though. He's my favourite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Pherekydes wrote: »
    Maybe they should have saved their money for the big matches?

If you buy a ticket to go to Croker or Lansdowne Road it entitles you to go to exactly one match, unless it's a special. If you want to go to more matches in other stadia buy more tickets. Simples.

But don't blame others for buying tickets ahead of you. It's first come, first served.

People who go to no matches are entitled to zero tickets by this logic

Your logic is arseways.

Seachmall wrote: »
    Well that's crap.
    Dya think?
    Some (most?) people can only afford to go on holidays once a year, that doesn't mean they shouldn't go on holidays at all.

But what he's suggesting is that his 'holiday' should be at the expense of some other guys 'holiday', purely because he was only willing/able to pay a lesser amount.

What I'm saying is that the people who've followed this team all over Europe for the past number of years (when it was neither wise, glamourous nor profitable) should get priority over some guy who only fancies getting a taste of action now that the team has hit at the big time.

Go on holiday if you want and try see the games if you can, but to even suggest that the fans who've followed this team to the extremities of Europe should be given equal or lesser priority for tickets because they could "afford" to go to away qualifying games is beyond stupidity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭Flincher

Its the same for every sport. The crowds at GAA League games are tiny compared to the championship.

Thomond Park will be packed on Sunday, yet there were only about 12 thousand there against Edinburgh. I'm lucky enough to have full membership of the Munster Supporters Club. I've never been asked to see if I can get tickets to a League game (bar Leinster), yet people who haven't gone to Thomond this year have been on the phone to me during the week looking for tickets to Sunday's game. Its something that drives me a bit mad because for years I struggled to get tickets to Heineken Cup games, despite going to the vast majority of the Celtic/Magners League ones.

I hope the FAI can try and ensure that people who try and go to as many games as possible get first access to tickets. I don't think anyone would have an issue with that...

Go on holiday if you want and try see the games if you can, but to even suggest that the fans who've followed this team to the extremities of Europe should be given equal or lesser priority for tickets because they could "afford" to go to away qualifying games is beyond stupidity.

Well they should be given equal priority. To suggest they should be given priority is beyond stupid and completely unfair. There are people who save up for a year or more to go to these matches and to claim they shouldn't receive the same chance is ****ing ridiculous.

Just because you attend more matches doesn't necessarily make you a better fan. It just means you have the money and time.
    some guy who only fancies getting a taste of action now that the team has hit at the big time.
    Well that I can sort of agree with, but the way you're suggesting it should be done restricts people by financial limitations and doesn't address if they're actually fans or are just going for the laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,242 ✭✭✭ceegee

As it stands people whi went to games do have a better chance of tickets, provided all other factors are equal (in terms of finances and corporate pull).
    Anyone who thinks only loyal supporters should get tickets and not corporate bandwagoners would do well to consider how much money these corporations pump into tournaments and FAs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

I've been the 3 home qualifers this year and one away qualifer as well as 1 friendly and I probably wont make it to Poland.

I'd love to go but wouldnt throw a hissy fit about anyone going that havent been to a game in years, bandwagon supporters are always making up the numbers and to be fair, theres an awful lot fo the country that support the team by buying shirts and the like and going out on match nights to a pub or the off license.

The whole country will benefit, well, those who choose to watch and support the team that is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

OP mad he didn't get a ticket?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,592 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

I am a genuine fan and always have been and I'll be shouting for Brian O'Driscoll and the boys in green next summer in Poland!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,746 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

I am a genuine fan and always have been and I'll be shouting for Brian O'Driscoll and the boys in green next summer in Poland!
    I don't think he should ever play for Eire again after the row with Jack Charlton in Japan!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Rumpybumpy

Soccer forum???

I don't think he should ever play for Eire again after the row with Jack Charlton in Japan!

Jesus get it right :rolleyes:

It was South Africa.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Benny_Cake

Haven't attended an Ireland match in years, but does anyone know where I can get a large inflatable rubber banana?:rolleyes:

Benny_Cake wrote: »
    Haven't attended an Ireland match in years, but does anyone know where I can get a large inflatable rubber banana?:rolleyes:

Try under your mum's bed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭acidskiffle

I was at every home qualifying match and remember trying to get some friends to go who wouldn't because they said they quality would be too poor. And I remember telling one mate that I was getting a jersey back at the start of the campaign and he said 'why would ya waste money on that?!' And they're all heading to Poland now!
    While it's great to see them get all the support they can get, it's a bit annoying when you see people who criticised them throughout the whole campaign jumping ship when they're doing well.

Jesus get it right :rolleyes:

It was South Africa.

Speaking of South Africa I always thought it was much too remote a location for the tournament. As such I'm glad the World Cup is back in Poland where it belongs. Hopefully after we play Spain, Italy and the other one we might get Brazil or Argentina in the repechage round.