Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The "Today I did something to my car" thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,690 ✭✭✭✭vectra

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Cleaned the leaves and junk from the engine bay, cleaned the drainage channels, washed her and then went for drive up Sally`s gap.

http://img412.imageshack.us/img412/8647/wp000220v.jpg

LOL
    You should have taken it off the jacks before taking the pics..
    Like a 4x4 :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Hit 52k on mine since end of Jan. And it's been off the road about 4 weeks and I've been away another 5 of those too:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

y'all need to stop drivin round for women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

EPM wrote: »
    Hit 52k on mine since end of Jan. And it's been off the road about 4 weeks and I've been away another 5 of those too:pac:

I reckon if we just tax your fuel usage we'll be out of recession in no time :pac:

I'm dreading them ever bringing in motortax at the pump...

Is that km or miles?

Km! Cut it down now though because it's been too much up to now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

I did 8k kms in 7 days a few years ago. I was fcuked after it..

Km! Cut it down now though because it's been too much up to now.

In that case, if I keep going the same way I am, I won't be far off that after 11 months :P

Reckon if I had it for a straight 12 months 70k would be easily covered. Some weeks I do almost 3k but won't be doing that for the winter it's too dangerous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Are these all motorway miles? :confused:

Recently in the Bravo van put up 1400 kms (or 860 miles for people who still have miles in their speedo) on some of the countrys roughest, pot hole infested, bumpiest, flooded roads when we had the rain. What fun in a lowered car :rolleyes:

Ah I'm only a lightweight, usually putting just 550kms up per week...

dgt wrote: »

Recently in the Bravo van put up 1400 kms (or 860 miles for people who still have miles in their speedo) on some of the countrys roughest, pot hole infested, bumpiest, flooded roads when we had the rain. What fun in a lowered car :rolleyes:

Mine are 99% motorway and good national routes. Proved that long journeys are best for diesel's too. Had it dyno'd shortly after buying it and recently again and figure was up nicely too. Would like to test it after a week of town driving.

A fair amount of what I'd do would be motorway or close enough to, but I have to drive through tuam every now and again which is a nightmare on low profile 18s...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

Mine are 99% motorway and good national routes. Proved that long journeys are best for diesel's too. Had it dyno'd shortly after buying it and recently again and figure was up nicely too. Would like to test it after a week of town driving.

On the same dyno at the same temperature though?:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

Not being funny, but does anyone in here actually do anything of consequence to there car, other than actually drive it and put up mileage or clean it...

All I can see over the last few pages is -

- I drove my car today
    - my car hit x mileage today
    - I cleaned my car today

I do all of the above to my car every day!! :p

But speaking of which, the most recent list of things done to the car are -

- New thermostat
    - 2 rear shocks
    - rear anti-roll bar
    - replaced one Lambda, second on the way soon
    - new front bumper on in the next few days
    - refurb second set of wheels and get them on
    - TAX

So much for a prosperous new year eh.

Ah there's the difference, a lot of my miles until I get to the m3 are either on R roads or country roads. And even around blanch I have to be careful, theres a rut just at the ramp to the m3 from blanch, I dread it every time. 1st gear territory. Here it is infact, the A4 has just driven into it

http://maps.google.com/?ll=53.396797,-6.392884&spn=0.000006,0.005681&t=m&z=18&vpsrc=6&layer=c&cbll=53.396716,-6.393049&panoid=bEC0PdnaQDiY7TO-D16bEA&cbp=12,9.7,,0,32.21

Ah there's the difference, a lot of my miles until I get to the m3 are either on R roads or country roads. And even around blanch I have to be careful, theres a rut just at the ramp to the m3 from blanch, I dread it every time. 1st gear territory. Here it is infact, the A4 has just driven into it

http://maps.google.com/?ll=53.396797,-6.392884&spn=0.000006,0.005681&t=m&z=18&vpsrc=6&layer=c&cbll=53.396716,-6.393049&panoid=bEC0PdnaQDiY7TO-D16bEA&cbp=12,9.7,,0,32.21

More of the councils finest work, no doubt. And why can't they ever manage to make a manhole level with the rest of the ground

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Not being funny, but does anyone in here actually do anything of consequence to there car, other than actually drive it and put up mileage or clean it...

- I drove my car today
    - I cleaned my car today

- New thermostat
    - 2 rear shocks
    - rear anti-roll bar
    - TAX

ehhhhh.....just cos we dont do a full engine rebuild every other week is it?

- I drove my car today
    - I cleaned my car today

- New thermostat
    - 2 rear shocks
    - rear anti-roll bar
    - TAX

I built my daily hack from a bare shell last december, finishing it in time for march, checked every morning and no expense spared to replace consumables so I'm fairly confident that its mechanically sound ;)

what the feck is everyone trying to get cars ready for march for... that's 3 or 4 people in 2 days after saying it

Same dyno and I doubt there was much difference in temp too tbh.

- I drove my car today
    - I cleaned my car today

- New thermostat
    - 2 rear shocks
    - rear anti-roll bar
    - TAX

So what? Anyone can put a listed things they want to do to their car too:p

what the feck is everyone trying to get cars ready for march for... that's 3 or 4 people in 2 days after saying it

Well I was using a mixture of cars until I got this one up and running so was getting fed up... Took 3 months to complete in my spare time, just happened that march was when I got it up and running properly!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Our dyno so you can be guaranteed consistency, the weather station works well too :)

With EPM's mileage I'm not surprised it's crept up a tad, he keeps the DPF nice and clear

ehhhhh.....just cos we dont do a full engine rebuild every other week is it?
    So what? Anyone can put a listed things they want to do to their car too:p

It's kinda pointless updating everyone that you actually drive your car everyday is my point....If I was to update what I do with the car everyday sure it'd be crazy!

- I went to work
    - I went to the shop
    - I put up 10 km on the clock
    - I cleaned it
    - I made a phonecall while I was pulled over at the side of the road in it
    - on and on and on

We all do these things but is it really worth updating the whole world that your car is now clean.......

Oh forgot to mention, I MAY have a decat pipe to solve my problem of a second CAT on the way soon too....:(

It's kinda pointless updating everyone that you actually drive your car everyday is my point....If I was to update what I do with the car everyday sure it'd be crazy!

- I went to work
    - I went to the shop
    - I put up 10 km on the clock
    - I cleaned it
    - I made a phonecall while I was pulled over at the side of the road in it
    - on and on and on

We all do these things but is it really worth updating the whole world that your car is now clean.......

But the threads name is I did something. If it wasn't for the little updates this thread would've died off ages ago.

Oh did I mention I overtook a car in my car today too.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

Sure look at twitter, its a multi million dollar business based solely on people posting their most pointless, irrelevant daily activities....so this thread should have no problem staying on top.:D

Not too many people here would be interested in measuring tolerances on journals when rebuilding a bottom end or altering the timing to match their preferable driving style.

"I farted in my car and bought a new air freshener" sounds a lot more appealing to many :rolleyes: