Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Racism - Mod Note on 1st Post - Read before posting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,642 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

eagle eye wrote: »
    Are you saying that somebody saying something awful about your wife/gf/family member is not as bad as a racial slur?

on a personal level, no.

but racism is a societal issue, and one that has been fought against for decades now.

while the insults about the family/loved ones are not savoury either, on a societal level, they're just not the same thing.

one is basically telling someone they are beneath you because of their race, and the other is just calling a loved one a "cúnt" or something. while both unsavoury, one has a deeper impact.

surely you see the difference on that level??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

Anton Ferdinand was apparently offending JT over his personal life and it would obviously be a sensitive issue to anybody.

If a black person riled someone up to extreme lengths, all i'm saying is that its not that unnatural for a racial slur to be said back in the heat of the moment.

Tbf, if you're going to cheat on your Wife with the partner of a friend and team mate, you've got to expect people to bring it up with you

Regarding reacting with a racist comment. I couldn't disagree more. It certainly is not natural to respond with a racial slur. Unless you're in the BNP of course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,032 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

SlickRic wrote: »
    but racism is a societal issue,

Isn't swearing/taboo/sexual references while children present a societal issue?

I hate the way one guy calling another guy something that is supposedly a racial slur on a football pitch that nobody else hears or picks up gets all this attention while other situations go a miss.

Its all down to the "it's just the way it is" attitude at the end of the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Anton Ferdinand was apparently offending JT over his personal life and it would obviously be a sensitive issue to anybody.

If a black person riled someone up to extreme lengths, all i'm saying is that its not that unnatural for a racial slur to be said back in the heat of the moment.

FFS.

I've seen serious retardation in this forum, but this tops it. This thread should be closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,032 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

SantryRed wrote: »
    FFS.

I've seen serious retardation in this forum, but this tops it. This thread should be closed.

Relax will you. It's an opinion someone has. Also I've used that "r" word you just used in work before and a woman that has a down syndrome kid was not too impressed with me... some people deem some things offensive, other don't. Doesn't make it right or wrong and the thread has not got out of hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭curry-muff

el dude wrote: »
    ****ing naggers the lot of ye.

SPWATJJ1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭uncleoswald

But Anton Ferdinand's comments would have been specific to John Terry. It's not like cheaters all around the world are going to get offended by it.

If you direct racial slurs at somebody, whether you intend it or not, you are slurring an entire race of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

But Anton Ferdinand's comments would have been specific to John Terry. It's not like cheaters all around the world are going to get offended by it.

If you direct racial slurs at somebody, whether you intend it or not, you are slurring an entire race of people.

If scumbags were a recognised race then I could see Terry being offended by it,but due to Terry's previous off field antics he leaves himself wide open to being wound up by opponents.
    Sledging in Cricket is a good example of abuse being handed out-but you never hear of it degenerating into racist taunts.
    If Terry couldn't take it and had to resort to calling Ferdinand a "Black Cunt" then he deserves everything he gets.My personal opinion of the man is that he is scum who uses his position in the England camp and his closeness to Abramovich to his advantage.Wonder how much they'll back him if he's found guilty?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,402 ✭✭✭emo72

big thread this. Ferdinand can say what he wants to terry, even personal offensive stuff about his family. If terry responds in the same way its okay? However if terry calls him a black charlie uniform november tango, then its a criminal offense? I'd say racism is rife on the pitch, some suck it up some don't. Only way to stamp it out is to mic up everyone. Good luck with that. One man's word against anothers, I hope evra has proof.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,867 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Blatter wrote: »
    Can you link me the interview?

Did he speak about any specific details of the Suarez/Evra case?

Here is the link

http://www.mirrorfootball.co.uk/news/Manchester-United-manager-Sir-Alex-Ferguson-shocked-by-racism-claims-as-he-celebrates-25-years-in-charge-at-Old-Trafford-article823585.html

And a picture that the mirror put with the article

Ac_ywgFCQAAv5B8.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

Ah, so he gave an interview about racism in general and didn't discuss the details of the Evra/Suarez case.

Nothing doing there, then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,867 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Blatter wrote: »
    Ah, so he gave an interview about racism in general and didn't discuss the details of the Evra/Suarez case.

Nothing doing there, then.

Should not have until after the investigation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,137 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Shouldn't Suarez be able to sue or something over that photo, it's a ****en disgrace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

niallo27 wrote: »
    Shouldn't Suarez be able to sue or something over that photo, it's a ****en disgrace.

It's the way they are!! The redtop rags are scum of the highest order! Not once have i seen a picture in those yokes of Terry calling Ferdinand a black c*nt

Trilla wrote: »
    Although I despise racism, I agree with a lot of what eagle eye said.

I revert back to my post when every single game in the UK and here in the LOI there is chants with colour language in it, with kids in stadium witnessing fans behaviour and listening to these chants and nothing is said about it. Sometimes missiles go a miss and a lot of the times nothing is done about it. Cheating on the pitch costing clubs and countries millions and nothing is done about it.

Some low life insults a race by opening his mouth whether intentionally or not and there is uproar! Furthermore its impossible to police and distingush a lot of these remarks as to whether they are in fact racist or not. Language, context and even tone comes into play.

Discrimination of a race or creed is one thing but calling a player a name on the pitch... sticks and stones comes to mind!

Its wrong but I don't see how its getting so much attention in comparison to other situations. If it was a case that a player, team or a section of fans came out and targeted a group/race/creed then its a serious issue...but is making a sly dirty remark during a game worth all this when cheating goes on the field every game and fans sing songs containing words such as shíte, cúnt, boll0x and fúck on a regular basis?

C*nts, prIcks, w@nkers, gingers etc were never made to sit at the back of a bus, they were never refused education.. They were never dragged to death tied to the back of a van. People have opinions about people. But you can't change the colour of your skin (No MJ jokes allowed)

eagle eye wrote: »
    If he was doing it as gamesmanship for the purposes of aiding to win a football game then I don't have a problem with it as long as he explains himself afterwords and shakes hands with Anton. And if Anton done that other stuff then the same goes for him. If they don't sort it out between them afterwards and the person really believes what they were saying then we have a problem.

Sweet Jesus!! Racially abusing a player is not allowed! And quite frankly, the fact you know a black person does not in any way give you higher authority to call a black stranger a n!gger. The fact that you can say you know a black person just doesn't cut it.

I've seen posts from you before regarding black people and they're a bit disturbing!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

The irony here could be the FA ignoring cultural and linguistic habits of another nation and continent to charge a newly-arrived player here with racial abuse. I have no doubt now that Suarez is going to be made an example of by the FA.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭Brain Stroking

The irony here could be the FA ignoring cultural and linguistic habits of another nation and continent to charge a newly-arrived player here with racial abuse. I have no doubt now that Suarez is going to be made an example of by the FA.

Liverpool didnt find Suarez under a rock outside Montevideo. They bought him from Ajax where he had around 3 and a half seasons living in the multicultural hotbed that is Holland.
    He knew what he was saying was offensive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

Liverpool didnt find Suarez under a rock outside Montevideo. They bought him from Ajax where he had around 3 and a half seasons living in the multicultural hotbed that is Holland.
    He knew what he was saying was offensive
    You have no way of knowing that tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

DOC09UNAM wrote: »
    You have no way of knowing that tbh.

And really that's where we are at. Evra obviously thought it was racist, Suarez is going to say it isn't. It'll come down to who the FA believes or they might just say they can't prove anything.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Fergie should keep his mouth shut tbh and let the FA deal with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Did he reference directly? In work haven't seen any quotes or anything from him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

DOC09UNAM wrote: »
    Did he reference directly? In work haven't seen any quotes or anything from him?
    He said United have kept quiet as the FA asked and Liverpool have been drip-feeding information over the last few weeks.
    Typical Fergie on the wind-up.

The big question is can the FA prove beyond reasonable doubt that Suarez used the term is used in an offensive way, I don't think they can.

cambo2008 wrote: »
    He said United have kept quiet .

That was the ironic part :D

The big question is can the FA prove beyond reasonable doubt that Suarez used the term is used in an offensive way, I don't think they can.

You have no way of knowing that.

There might be plenty of evidence we havent seen or heard.

On the other hand there might be none at all.

And round we go...

You have no way of knowing that.

There might be plenty of evidence we havent seen or heard.

On the other hand there might be none at all.

And round we go...

There might be some evidence yes, plenty i doubt.
    If we are going by the evidence that is public i think its impossible to convict Suarez.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

That's what dagleish and co should have done.

There might be some evidence yes, plenty i doubt.
    If we are going by the evidence that is public i think its impossible to convict Suarez.

Unless you or anyone in here knows someone in the FA willing to give out details and evidence in the case, it's impossible to know what evidence is available to the FA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

thumbnail.aspx?q=1364362593089&id=29cd830a53268a89168b8200a8c01f8c