Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[Diabetes] General Chat and Support Thread

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,089 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

CramCycle wrote: »
    More than I should, probably about a minimum of 320grams a day, that said I work between 12 and 18 hours a day and cycle almost everywhere (not so much over the past month after a knee issue but I am back on it this week). I did put on a few kilos since I stopped over the month but no more than that and I am still technically within the "normal" BMI limits, that said as a researcher, I think % body fat is far more important than BMI which can be misleading.

Doing a 200km cycle tomorrow and walking the DCM on Monday so that should help move it along quite nicely.

Think I'm getting though about 330+'ish a day, but if anything I could do with a few more. There are more carbs consumed before and during training if needed to get the BG level where I want it, but I'd not be counting them in the daily total. Gels/ Lucozade certainly don't count as food anyway.

Good luck with DCM on Monday, don't forget the clocks change on Sunday.

I just got my race number and chip through today for a marathon on the 6th November. Won't be a fast one because of the course profile, but hoping to get as close as I can to 3hrs to prove a point to myself.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,611 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

newmug wrote: »
    r does eating carbs induce the production of insulin?
    In a healthy person it does in a type 1 it can't and in a type 2 depending on what stage of preogression it might be inhibited, no n effective or you could be too insulin resistant.
    Either way, would you have to produce EXTRA insulin to deal with both the carbs you've just eaten, AND the ketones in your body? Or is the mere fact that insulin has entered your system enough to switch off the ketone production?
    Insulin promotes absorption of glucose into your cells, ergo lowering your blood glucose level, shutting off ketone production.
    And if eating carbs equates to the same result as insulin production, why do diabetics steer away from carbs?
    it doesn't

tbh wrote: »
    but if that were the case, only diabetics would get hangovers :) I think the symptoms you're getting is more likely due to the 12 pints than the blood sugars :)

+1 on that
    When you eat carbs, your body breaks them down into glucose, which gets passed into your bloodstream. Your body detects the rise in the amount of glucose in your bloodstream and that triggers the pancreas to produce insulin. Insulin is a hormone that allows the glucose pass into the cells where it's used as fuel. If you can't produce insulin, the glucose can never pass into the cells, so no matter how many cakes you eat, you'll basically "starve" to death.
    Correct, insulin activates insulin receptors which in turn start a signal cascade that activates the GLUT transporters, while a small amount of glucose can get into a cell without insulin present it is not enough for proper functioning over a prolonged period of time, high blood sugars indicate glucose is not being absorbed.
    If no insulin is passing into the cells, they produce glycogen, which says to your liver "hey, do something quickly, we're dying here". the liver then processes fatty acids into glucose (which of course is pointless, as it can never get to the cells, but the liver doesn't know that). The byproduct of this process are the ketones. If you take insulin, the glucose in your blood can get into the cells, so they stop producing glycogen, so the liver stops the process so no more ketones get produced, and eventually they get eliminated from the body. The body gets rid of them through aspiration and through urine/sweat - this is why, if you keep producing them, your body goes into overdrive trying to get rid of them and you can dehydrate, and / or hyperventilate.

Close, glycogen is a form of stored glucose found mainly in the liver (but also in small amounts in muscle tissue). In a normal person low blood sugars trigger Glucagon secretion from the pancreatic alpha cells that tells the liver to break down glycogen for energy but in these cases a person has insulin to help the glucose go into the cell. In Diabetics you get a dysregulation of this system (it fails completely in type 1 diabetics hence why we can hypo so easily and in type 2 diabetics due to the affects of consistent high blood sugars, high insulin levels and zinc in the early onset and pro inflammatory conditions as well as many other reasons (too long to go into in depth)). Ketones are formed from the break down of fatty acids through acetyl CoA. This process is triggered by high or low glucose levels alone (AFAIK but my mind is a bit sketchy on this as it could be through hormonal/neuronal signalling).
    Also, if I recall correctly, the ketones themselves are crystalline (I'm a bit vague on this if I'm being honest) so they can damage the cells while they are whizzing around.

They are crystalline in a dried state but water soluble, I think the damage is mainly caused by the shift in pH damaging the lining of blood vessels as it strips the lining of the arterial cell walls directly after the heart due its lowering in pH, also damages the vessels in the eye in such cases as well and other such issues.

There is obviously alot more going on and only some of this touches on my area of research so apologies for any errors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

glycogen / Glucagon

sorry! got those mixed up. thanks for the post CC, really interesting

• Registered Users Posts: 13 dwyershane

Hi Everyone,

Just a quick question regarding VHI cover. I recently changed to a new job where one of the perks is VHI health insurance. Iv been attending public diabetic clinics in Limerick. Im currently in the process of moving to the diabetic clinic in Tallaght (more suitable with the new job). How can i make the most of this VHI cover? Does VHI cover private clinics, courses? The VHI rep wont be visiting the company until after christmas, so it would be good to get any feedback before I meet the rep. I no I can ring the helpline, but it would be really great to hear other peoples experience. Many thanks in advance for any help

dwyershane wrote: »
    Hi Everyone,

Just a quick question regarding VHI cover. I recently changed to a new job where one of the perks is VHI health insurance. Iv been attending public diabetic clinics in Limerick. Im currently in the process of moving to the diabetic clinic in Tallaght (more suitable with the new job). How can i make the most of this VHI cover? Does VHI cover private clinics, courses? The VHI rep wont be visiting the company until after christmas, so it would be good to get any feedback before I meet the rep. I no I can ring the helpline, but it would be really great to hear other peoples experience. Many thanks in advance for any help

so - it depends what type of cover you have really. However, if you're brand new to the VHI, you may have to wait a period of time before your diabetes is covered as it'll be a pre-existing condition - I'm afraid I think that time period is five years.
    Once you are covered, you get money back for consultants visits. For example, my consultant is 150 a visit, and I get 100 of that back. Blood tests and diabetic nurse services (which I think add up to about another 90) are not covered. FWIW, when you do make a claim, it's very straightforward and the money gets paid straight into your bank account. hope that helps.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,089 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

I never paid for anything diabetes related. Consultants/ hospital visits/ prescriptions/ diabetic nurse/ dietitian/ etc.

robinph wrote: »

I never paid for anything diabetes related. Consultants/ hospital visits/ prescriptions/ diabetic nurse/ dietitian/ etc.

sorry - that's if you go private.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭Hal Emmerich

tbh wrote: »
    your care team
    What's this about????

My Father was diagnosed Type 2 few Months back, Doc gave him Prescription for Glucophage and sent him on his way.....

not sure what the story is with type 2 Hal, but I'd imagine he should be getting six-monthly reviews

What's this about????

My Father was diagnosed Type 2 few Months back, Doc gave him Prescription for Glucophage and sent him on his way.....

Your doctor should have recommended him to a Diabetes clinic for at the very least a full once over, normally the GP will give you a list of places, ask which one suits and write a referral letter (or send one) and they will contact you with an appointment. How did he diagnose him? did he do a fasting GTT or blood samples? Go back to your GP and ask for a referral ASAP, your GP is probably good at his job, a diabetes day care team will be better (more specialised) and notice any errors/changes that need to be attended, arrange eye checks, chiropody etc.

I'd have to ask him but I'm near sure it was picked up with a Fasting Cholesterol Blood Test.....so pure chance really I think.

GP is an idiot, it's not the first time he has done this either, I've been trying to get Da to change GPs for a long time, maybe he will this time.

Is every 6 months the norm to go to a Clinic? Do they send out the Appointments themselves every time? He should have been to see them twice at this stage if it is....-_-

• Registered Users Posts: 13,391 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Can't say anything about that article as it has no references, I'll look around though.

That says a lot in itself though.

Can a finger prick reading of 27 cause a Blackout?

Yes. Normal range is 3 - 10. 27 is huge. Test for ketones.

• Registered Users Posts: 499 ✭✭graflynn

What's this about????

Some GP's are knowledgeable enough on the managment of Type 2 diabetes and this GP may share that opinion.

Regardless of who is managing your Dad's overall diabetes care he should be getting an annual foot screen by a podiatrist and an annual eye screen from an optitian - these are usually covered by the public health care system but it depends on what services are available in your area. He is also entitled to access to the community dietitian.

GP should send a referral to all of these services.

robinph wrote: »
    Think I'm getting though about 330+'ish a day, but if anything I could do with a few more. There are more carbs consumed before and during training if needed to get the BG level where I want it, but I'd not be counting them in the daily total. Gels/ Lucozade certainly don't count as food anyway.

I don't count anything I eat while out on the bike or that is taken during excercise.
    Good luck with DCM on Monday, don't forget the clocks change on Sunday.

Had to call it and say no, my knees have been giving me trouble over the last while, I thought I could pull out a half marathon and walk the rest but they said no to anything on the day (got a 200km cycle in on the Saturday though).
    I just got my race number and chip through today for a marathon on the 6th November. Won't be a fast one because of the course profile, but hoping to get as close as I can to 3hrs to prove a point to myself.

Are you doing the NYC? My former running partner done it last year, loved it, fair play if you are or is there one closer to home?

That sucks about having to miss out on Dublin. :(
    Are you doing the NYC? My former running partner done it last year, loved it, fair play if you are or is there one closer to home?
    Not NYC, found a small one a bit closer to home that was still available to sign up for after I had to drop out of Amsterdam. It's a kind of off-road course though I think and appears to have a bit of a git of a hill around the 21mile mark. Winning time last year was 2:47 though with only 4 people I think going sub3, so put my foot down and I could make the podium*. :pac:

I need to do another marathon before London next year to prove to myself that last years Dublin was not a fluke and also that I have got a better idea on how to work the pump for long distance racing. Then I am hoping to be able to motivate myself for doing a real good effort in training for London.

I do now have a half marathon time that can get me New York entry for next year.

*Not going to happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,197 ✭✭✭elvis jones

I just signed up for Connemarathon, time now to work on my diet and what give me the best output for long runs.

• Registered Users Posts: 154 ✭✭teacosy

I'd have to ask him but I'm near sure it was picked up with a Fasting Cholesterol Blood Test.....so pure chance really I think.

GP is an idiot, it's not the first time he has done this either, I've been trying to get Da to change GPs for a long time, maybe he will this time.

Is every 6 months the norm to go to a Clinic? Do they send out the Appointments themselves every time? He should have been to see them twice at this stage if it is....-_-

You should encourage your father to do one of the structured education programmes for people with diabetes - such as Xpert. xpert is a 6 week course run in most parts of the country. No referral necessary. It's free and run by dietitians in the community who have been trained to deliver the course. - more info here;
    http://www.indi.ie/docs/1479_X-PERT_Flyer_for_Pt_recruitment_and_infoJun2010.pdf

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 7,458 Mod ✭✭✭✭CathyMoran

I had a bad low blood sugar at the weekend - I had a back tooth out a few days before and was limited with what I could eat so I had a high GI dinner - bad idea. I fitted in the middle of the night - my husband was unable to stop me from hitting my hand and I was in A&E with a suspected fracture - luckily it was just badly bruised but it has been painful changing my daughter's nappy :(

Well I didn't make the podium in todays marathon, although I was in the 3rd placed group for quite a bit of the way. I ended up finishing in 8th place in 3:05:34, longer boring post about the race here.

Anyway, there were a couple of issues with me trying to keep the BG levels right in combination with eating loads of carbs the day before. It's tricky when a plate of food put infront of you in a restaurant does not come with a "nutritional information" label stuck to the bottom of the plate. So a less than ideal preparation with high BG and dehydration going on the night before the marathon and therefore limited sleep.

I got it sorted though and without the pump it would not have been so successful. successful.

• Registered Users Posts: 414 ✭✭ElBarco

Has anyone else heard about supply issues for the bayer contour strips? I was looking for some at the weekend and my pharmacy say they have no idea when they'll be in again - some issue further up the supply chain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭eilo1

ElBarco wrote: »
    Has anyone else heard about supply issues for the bayer contour strips? I was looking for some at the weekend and my pharmacy say they have no idea when they'll be in again - some issue further up the supply chain.

I ordered some last week but havnt collected yet. Ill ask when I collect them this week!!

• Registered Users Posts: 499 ✭✭graflynn

November 14th was chosen by the International Diabetes Federation because it also happens to mark the birthday of Frederick Banting who, along with Charles Best, first conceived the idea which led to the discovery of insulin in 1922.

Anyone with insulin dependent diabetes knows how important these two chaps are and I personally owe my life to them.

On this day I take a minute to remember all those who have left this world because of diabetes, I think of those who seem like they will leave this world because of diabetes but hope that the numbers are decreasing and I think of all of us who struggle every day but stay positive and keep up the determination that we can turn diabetes into a managable pet who will reward us when we take care of it.

That was a bit corny but so is "Live long and prosper" to all the people with diabetes :rolleyes:

just to let ye know - there's a good facebook group for diabetics in Ireland at:

http://www.facebook.com/groups/39741400937/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭eilo1

Jaysus thb its all a bit tense in there!!! lol

Never rattle to parents brigade!

• Registered Users Posts: 414 ✭✭ElBarco

eilo1 wrote: »
    Jaysus thb its all a bit tense in there!!! lol

Never rattle to parents brigade!

Reading through it I can't help but realise that the fact we have moderators all over boards is only a good thing.

You'll never miss the report post button until it's gone...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,197 ✭✭✭elvis jones

I see its been announced that anyone with a long term illness card will have free GP visits from March 2012............:)

About time too.

• Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Went to the pharmacy today and was told there is a worldwide shortage of Apidra, anyone else affected by it?

Its kinda scary!!