Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Racism - Mod Note on 1st Post - Read before posting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Isn't all this talk of chocolate a bit, you know, racist?

nestlemilkybarmed.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

SO!!!!!

Still no video!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

please point out where he denied saying anything

To say you're clutching at straws would be a massive understatement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

nestlemilkybarmed.jpg

Fun fact. My nickname in school was The Milky Bar Kid.

Thread is still in a never ending spiral of the same arguments over and over I see. Amazing.

That's cause we're still waiting for the clear evidence Evra has assured us exists Flah!!!!

The suspense is so exciting!!!!!!

Mr Alan wrote: »
    That's cause we're still waiting for the clear evidence Evra has assured us exists Flah!!!!

The suspense is so exciting!!!!!!

You're really vastly overstating the importance of those quotes he made (ones that may have lost an awful lot in translation in French btw) when he was still probably upset and angry. In fact its been the basis for the entire argument you have been making with monotonous repetitiveness for nigh on 72 hours now, when in reality I severely doubt they'll be given even a second thought in the official investigation.

Well those quotes officially leave him open to a clear cut case of libel. So if the FA choose to ignore them, I hope Suarez pursues him through the courts in which case Evra would be in even more serious trouble.

Or maybe he was actually racially abused, have you ever even for one second countenanced that your beloved Luis Suarez actually did it?

I will also tella lot if Suarez doesn't pursue him through the courts etc - I know I would if I knew I was innocent.

You do raise an interesting point though - if he was indeed fabricating the whole thing it would seem extraordinary to say with such certainty that it would be picked up on camera wouldn't it, knowing all along they couldn't possibly be???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

flahavaj wrote: »
    Or maybe he was actually racially abused, have you ever even for one second countenanced that your beloved Luis Suarez actually did it?

I will also tella lot if Suarez doesn't pursue him through the courts etc - I know I would if I knew I was innocent.

You do raise an interesting point though - if he was indeed fabricating the whole thing it would seem extraordinary to say with such certainty that it would be picked up on camera wouldn't it, knowing all along they couldn't possibly be???

A point that I raised earlier, that Mr Alan has failed to give a convincing explanation for.

The fact Evra said there is evidense on camera, hours after the game, would be bizarre if he was indeed fabricating the racist claims in the first place.

Not if Evra is just a looney toon!

Flah, my point is that even if Suarez did racially abuse him, by Evra saying what he did in the forum he did, it means that the burden of proof is on him to proof what he said was true. If he couldn't do that, as I said, it's open & shut. He'd lose.

Stating it would be picked up on camera is no more extraordinary than inventing the claim in the first place to be honest. Or even just saying it with such certainty without being sure.

But we all know Evra is crazy (as is Suarez), it's one of the reasons Utd fans love him.

Not if Evra is just a looney toon!

Have ye any better answer then this convenient and predictable stock response?

Flah, my point is that even if Suarez did racially abuse him, by Evra saying what he did in the forum he did, it means that the burden of proof is on him to proof what he said was true. If he couldn't do that, as I said, it's open & shut. He'd lose.

Stating it would be picked up on camera is no more extraordinary than inventing the claim in the first place to be honest.

If he's lying though, surely bringing up the cameras ties himself completely into a corner? Now Paddy may indeed be mad as a hatter but that would surely be a sensationally stupid thing to do?

Flah, why would Mike Phelan & a couple of other Utd heads make false allegations against the Chelsea fella? It happens. There could be an abundance of reasons why.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

Its not the first time Evra has made these sort of accusations :pac:

Its Evra that needs to start proving things, not me!

He made the accusations, said he had the proof on video. Time to put up or apologise!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭firemansam4

I have to laugh at all the United fans on here giving out about Liverpool fans or "you lot" as ye keep saying, that we keep lying all the time about Evra making the whole thing up when there is as many of you saying that Evra is defanatly telling the truth which in turn cleary means Suarez is lying.

I'm not going to say Evra is lying or telling the truth as I simply just dont know for sure. I will say though that him coming out and saying he has proof and then if it turns out he has none wasn't a good way to go about the situation and reflects worse on him.

The worse thing about the whole situation is that I really cant see any proof ever comming out to confirm or deny anything

If he's lying though, surely bringing up the cameras ties himself completely into a corner? Now Paddy may indeed be mad as a hatter but that would surely be a sensationally stupid thing to do?

Maybe, but with every hour that goes by it looks more & more like that is what he has done.

Flah, why would Mike Phelan & a couple of other Utd heads make false allegations against the Chelsea fella? It happens. There could be an abundance of reasons why.

How do you know the accusations that Mike Phelan and the other United staff made were false? Has it not already been explained to you that just because someone if found not guilty, does not mean they committed the crime in the first place, or do we need to do it all again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭#15

tommyhaas wrote: »
    Its not the first time Evra has made these sort of accusations :pac:

457-stick-computer-typing-blood-ang.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

He made the accusations, said he had the proof on video. Time to put up or apologise!

Apologise? What like ''Sorry, I thought I was racially abused on camera, but I now realise it was off camera''?

Why? What would that achieve?

Personally, I reckon that either Evra is lying, or he has exaggerated the extent of his claims which is why they have not been confirmed by either camera or anyone else

You could say in the Chesea case that they had the motive of trying to justify Evra losing the head.

But in this case, the allegation came out of the blue and there's no thuggush behaviour to excuse or justify, and the accuser follows it up by appearing certain that the abuse will be caught on camera. These to me are extraordinary and inexplicable actions to take if the entire thing is indeed fabricated. It makes no sense at all.

Also excusing any behaviour by shruggung your sholders and saying "it happens" isn't good enough. I coud just as easily reduce my side of the argument down to saying "racism, sure it happens, ergo, it happened here too."

Oh and another thing that hasn't been mentioned about the Stamford Bridge incident where United staff claimed that Evra was racially abused.

It has been established that Evra claimed he did not hear the racist abuse.

But if Mike Phelan and United staff did, surely it would have been ever so easy for Evra to claim he also heard racist abuse towards himself if he was indeed capable of such malicious lies, no?

Just a thought.

Blatter wrote: »
    Oh and another thing that hasn't been mentioned about the Stamford Bridge incident where United staff claimed that Evra was racially abused.

It has been established that Evra claimed he did not hear the racist abuse.

But if Mike Phelan and United staff did, surely it would have been ever so easy for Evra to claim he also heard racist abuse towards himself if he was indeed capable of such malicious lies, no?

Just a thought.

Indeed. To me he comes out of that incident as the good guy tbh! When it would have been easy and suited his case not to do so, he went and told the truth anyway. So in fact he has previous hostory of honesty in such cases not of telling lies!!!! We should be thanking all the Liverpool fans for posting such a nice example of his good character!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Of course if you wanted to fabricate it you could say all of these things safe in the knowledge that even if there was no evidence produced by any of the multiples cameras or microphones about the place, you could say that they had not picked it up. Of course he could watch it quite easily and say at which point these ten cases of alleged racial abuse occurred and the cameras/players etc who were nearby could confirm or deny it quite easily.

Now is the time to put up or shut up, surely is fairly easy to back up his claims, as he will have known when these events allegedly occurred, or of course back down but then he would leave himself open to all manner of claims about his honesty etc (which are already circulating anyway with every day that passes with no evidence presenting itself).

Of course if you wanted to fabricate it you could say all of these things safe in the knowledge that even if there was no evidence produced by any of the multiples cameras or microphones about the place, you could say that they had not picked it up. Of course he could watch it quite easily and say at which point these ten cases of alleged racial abuse occurred and the cameras/players etc who were nearby could confirm or deny it quite easily.

And what also could be done is Suarez could be asked to tell the FA exactly what he said to Evra that made him so irate on the field of play. That'd be fairly helpful too wouldn't it? If as you say the cameras should have picked up the alleged racism then they should also pick up these non-racist slurs that agitated Paddy so badly???? And if as you say there should be witnesses to the racism then someone must have heard these non-racist slurs too?

Or do cameras and witnesses only work when they suit your pro-Liverpool agenda?:rolleyes:
    Now is the time to put up or shut up, surely is fairly easy to back up his claims, as he will have known when these events allegedly occurred, or of course back down but then he would leave himself open to all manner of claims about his honesty etc (which are already circulating anyway with every day that passes with no evidence presenting itself).

He's clearly not backing down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

I presume this is being investigated by the FA at this stage so one would assume they are asking him these questions and gathering evidence. I see no reason why Evra should publically state when and where at this stage. His initial response does not mean he has to tell the media everything.

In fairness lads he could've come out during both the Finnan & Chelsea incidents and quashed the racist accusations straight away. He didn't.

And Flah, perhaps Suarez slatted his wife? His kids? His mother? Said France were ****e? Said Evra breath smelt like ****? And then Evra thought, 'I'll show this little buck toothed upstart'!

Truth is we can only go on what has been said & 50% of what Evra said about the matter appears to either to be a lie or a very very stupid mistake. That's good reason in my mind to have very very serious question marks over the reliability of the other 50%

And what also could be done is Suarez could be asked to tell the FA exactly what he said to Evra that made him so irate on the field of play. That'd be fairly helpful too wouldn't it? If as you say the cameras should have picked up the alleged racism then they should also pick up these non-racist slurs that agitated Paddy so badly???? Ad if there should be witnesses to teh racism then someone muct have heard these non-racist slurs too?

Or do cameras and witnesses only work when they suit your pro-Liverpool agenda?:rolleyes:

He's clearly not backing down.
    Apart from getting the run around for the previous hour?

In fairness lads he could've come out during both the Finnan & Chelsea incidents and quashed the racist accusations straight away. He didn't.

And Flah, perhaps Suarez slatted his wife? His kids? His mother? Said France were ****e? Said Evra breath smelt like ****? And then Evra thought, 'I'll show this little buck toothed upstart'!

Truth is we can only go on what has been said & 50% of what Evra said about the matter appears to either to be a lie or a very very stupid mistake. That's good reason in my mind to have very very serious question marks over the reliability of the other 50%

You have been absolutely adamant from day one that the cameras would have caught Suarez making racist taunts at Evra, Al.

Should there not equally be evidence of him jeering his wife or nationality then if thats your explanation? Its the same cameras looking at teh same players on the same pitch, only now the nature of the abuse suits your agenda........