If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

New Garda Uniform being piloted in DMR?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 450 ✭✭gigity gigity

The uniform should be neat, tidy and project a professional image. Combats, polo shirts and caps look terrible. Im from Northern Ireland, I'm not a peeler so I'm unsure of what each discipline can and cannot wear however when I see a peeler wearing described uniform I can't help but feel that they look like they could not give a damm what they appear like and took the lazy way out that day when choosing what to wear that day/night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,358 ✭✭✭source

The uniform should be neat, tidy and project a professional image. Combats, polo shirts and caps look terrible. Im from Northern Ireland, I'm not a peeler so I'm unsure of what each discipline can and cannot wear however when I see a peeler wearing described uniform I can't help but feel that they look like they could not give a damm what they appear like and took the lazy way out that day when choosing what to wear that day/night.

But isn't that the point of a uniform? So the peeler doesn't have to choose what to wear.........The shirt, tie and slacks are grand for those working in an office environment, but for those working on the street it is restrictive, uncomfortable and at times downright dangerous.

Also coupling operational equipment (stab vest and utility belt) with a uniform like I've described just looks downright daft and very unprofessional, If AGS had sprung for decent leather utility equipment then it might look okay. But the nylon stuff that is issued looks crap with the current uniform.

What members want is a dual uniform, keeping the current uniform for office work/court appearances and a proper operational uniform (cargo pants, open collar shirt/polo shirt, and decent boots and decent stab vest) for on the street.

The image portrayed by the uniform is not as important as the safety and comfort of the members wearing it. Having said that, if you look at the Italian police forces, the Carabineri look more professional and command more respect than the National Police. If you look at their uniforms the carabineri have a more militaristic uniform and the national police uniform looks a lot like ours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭savagecabbages

source wrote: »
    The image portrayed by the uniform is not as important as the safety and comfort of the members wearing it.

Quite correct, but I guess first of all, everyone should understand what exactly the image to be portrayed is, and work from there. I don't know what image the powers that be in AGS want put across to the public is, but I feel there is a general lack of respect for Gardai in this country, and certainly their safety going about their everyday job is compromised as result of this. A different uniform won't be the wonder cure for all of this I know, but it certainly is a factor.

One things for sure, I dont want the police force of this state going around dressed like a bunch of electricians:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

I have to say I think the Carabinieri uniform is probably the smartest Police uniform in Western Europe though it doesn't look terribly practical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,358 ✭✭✭source

Delancey wrote: »
    I have to say I think the Carabinieri uniform is probably the smartest Police uniform in Western Europe though it doesn't look terribly practical.

They have 2 operational uniforms, the tunic, slacks and man bag and the navy cargo pants, shirt and beret. Which is a very impressive uniform.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

source wrote: »
    They have 2 operational uniforms, the tunic, slacks and man bag and the navy cargo pants, shirt and beret. Which is a very impressive uniform.

Didn't know about the second uniform though thats not to say I haven't seen it at some point - Italy has a bewildering array of Police forces.

French CRS uniform looks very practical - combat trousers , blouson jackets and 'forage' caps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭vampire of kilmainham

there's a lot of different types of gear on issue in the gardai now

roundymac wrote: »
    When the guy was shot in Carrigaline a couple of months back I noticed a couple of guards in semi plain clothes, ie, casual slacks and garda polo shirts, looked odd.
    they would be armed detectives

MagicSean wrote: »
    They should just issue the cycle uniform to everyone. It's the closest there is to a proper frontline policing uniform.
    it would look tacky on a beat cop:eek:

Must the hat be worn?
    The majority of Gardai in my area don't wear them.
    beat cops have to wear a hat gardai in patrol cars dont but they carry them in the car anyway

police in americia have to carry the issue wepon a glock 9mm in most states now. Although most cops buy their own back up wepon as a spare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

French CRS uniform looks very practical - combat trousers , blouson jackets and 'forage' caps.

image003.jpg

Carabinieri dressed down
    Carabinieri%20at%20Kosovo%20(20feb07%202).jpg

Has anyone had the clip tie grabbed off them an seen it being carried victoriously down the street by some teenager?

could you imigine our uniform gardai with a gun belt strapped on packing a 44 magnum how ar ye well in in all the confusion i dont know wheather i fired 5 shots or 6 but seein as this is a 44 magnum the most powerful handgun in the world do ya feel lucky well do ya punk bangggggg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭belacqua_

They're a dedicated public order unit, though. That said, the newish regular Police Nationale uniforms introduced in 2006 aren't that unlike the CRS's uniforms, the main differences being the white shirt, baseball cap and lack of a gigantic CRS patch on their breast.

im_81.jpg

http://www.meuse.pref.gouv.fr/lettre/article.php?article=81

With the holster and nightstick on a leather belt, these uniforms look just about passable (the baseball cap looks absolutely terrible, they'd have been better with a soft kepi like the Gendarmerie Nationale), but without any of those accoutrements, as someone said above, they'd look like electricians or gas fitters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭Contra Proferentem

As mentioned some of the PSNI and NYPD uniforms convey professionality while still being practical. However, the tactical load-carrying stab vest are something which should be looked into.

How anyone manages to carry all that stuff on a duty belt is beyond me. Carrying a maglite, a radio, and a few pouches on a duty belt are uncomfortable enough for myself. I couldn't imagine it with additional pepper spray, a metal baton, and handcuffs and/or optional stuff like gloves, first aid kit, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭d3exile

I'm guessing they were introduced in a rush as they dont really seem to fit in with the rest of the uniform, nor do they seem to take wear and tear very well. The GARDA lettering seems to be worn or faded on 90% of the ones I see.

There's a story to that... Supposedly the MET had an order placed for vests but pulled out when the preferred supplier dropped their prices last minute... This left supplier #1 with a huge surplus of cumbersome, side entry, ill-fitting vest panels in stock... In steps Mr Garda HQ with a cheap as chips offer, chuck in a couple of blue vest covers that don't last 3/4 washes and bob's your teapot- stab vests for Gardaí!!!!

Would definitely prefer the vests some UK forces have, with front entry, a pouch and changeable hi viz covers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,291 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Saw two Gardaí coming out of a hotel today in the full ceremonial type uniform that used to be the norm on the street, have to say it looks well but can't possibly be that practical.

From a purely appearances point of view, as a layperson, I like the current uniform except the Hi-vis. Not because the hi-vis is particuarly bad, but because it's too long and guards tend to wear the belt outside it which while a better idea than wearing it inside (can't get to anything plus looks much worse) looks scruffy - the belt looks empty and is never straight, just makes Guards wearing it look untidy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭FGR

The uniform was never designed with the belt in mind. The only exception to this would be the terrible attempt at the loops on the bomber and bicycle jackets where they're far too low.

If they placed loops on the jackets then it would allow for the belt to be carried in a much more practical manner. Plus it would stop it from going all over the place if running after someone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭redsurfer

so how can we get it changed, or am I just being silly :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

redsurfer wrote: »

I hope if the powers-that-be ever reach the stage where they can comfortaby say they have the monies to invest in new uniforms for everyone,

someone might put a few words of encouragement in their ears and assist in diverting more monies into CPD; recruitment & other resources like vehicles instead.

Just my thoughts :)

kerry4sam wrote: »
    redsurfer wrote: »

I hope if the powers-that-be ever reach the stage where they can comfortaby say they have the monies to invest in new uniforms for everyone,

someone might put a few words of encouragement in their ears and assist in diverting more monies into CPD; recruitment & other resources like vehicles instead.

Just my thoughts :)

Our GRA rep in the DMR SC was looking for suggestions cos apparently they were looking at making a proposal to the top, but that was at the beginning of the monetary troubles and it's only gotten worse since so i'd say the idea's been shelved...

I'd say the GRA are the people to voice suggestions tho, if and when the time comes

d3exile wrote: »
    Our GRA rep in the DMR SC was looking for suggestions cos apparently they were looking at making a proposal to the top, but that was at the beginning of the monetary troubles and it's only gotten worse since so i'd say the idea's been shelved...

I'd say the GRA are the people to voice suggestions tho, if and when the time comes

yeah the GRA are great at voicing suggestions alright :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

In fairness, AGS would be lucky to get any extra money in the next few years. There was very little done with the force throughout the boom years, despite the fact we were one of the wealthiest nations in the world. Stab vests and radios which have been in use in the UK for over 10 years are still relatively new here. New uniforms are a long way off!!

kerry4sam wrote: »
    yeah the GRA are great at voicing suggestions alright :)

Point taken! :)

d3exile wrote: »
    Point taken! :)

thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭pah

New uniforms introduced recently

http://www.thisisleicestershire.co.uk/black-line-ndash-police-new-look/story-13611007-detail/story.html

I heard somewhere that a lot of uk police had dropped the tie with stab vest due to injuries from airbag deployment driving the metal clip up into the throat !!

Cant remember where, ggoles not helping me.

IMO new uniforms wont come even when we do have the money until someone who sits in the commisioners chair gives a sh1t about operational policing.

Things like gps or smartphones in vehicles as well as vehicles fit for purpose wont happen even if we ever have the money until the dinosaurs stop gettting into the office. Hpefully the tech savvy age that weve had for the last 10 years will have the cojones to make the changes when they get to the top (that should be in about twenty years then :rolleyes:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

The money argument is bull. It would not cost that much for a new fleet, sat navs, ANPR and new uniforms. The amount of money that is spent on vehicle repairs at the moment is crazy, not to mention sick pay and injury pay. The operational efficiencies these things would bring about over a few years would more than make up for the initial outlay, both financially and otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

Our uniform is reviewed every three years and guess what.....next year is the next review. Cost factor shouldnt come into it. If AGS used their head they wouldnt buy so much uniform as they do already. IE - new issue was out last month or so......I didnt need any new shirts or a new hat.....or new ties.......

If they played it right they should just allow members so many credits in January, at which time you could order uniform you may need for the coming year. IE shirt is 2 credits where as a jackets and fleese is 10 credits etc.

In regards a new uniform, members on the ground need to speak up. Management can sit back and say the stab vests are a huge sucess and everyone loves them....why?? Because not one member (myself included) has never put it on paper to say they are crap.

Combats, polo ****s, proper stab vests (that include a high vis cover or covert one). Keep that hat (baseball caps are terrible unless on a specalised unit) and keep the uniform shirt and tie for court and all indoor duties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭pah

Hooch wrote: »
    ......I didnt need any new shirts or a new hat.....or new ties.......

not one member (myself included) has never put it on paper to say they are crap.

Agreed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭redsurfer

i was thinking of putting something on paper but thought better off it as i am a reserve and it would be better coming from a full member, and i cant really go to the GRA :p

in the private sector if i was to submit a letter outlining my health and safety worry's about my uniform to my employer and how impractical it is and something was to happen to me due to the problems i have out lined my employer would be liable and due to legal responsibly have to change the uniform and make it fit for purpose. seen this possibly maybe someone in management may just start to become forward thinking and do something:rolleyes:

or am i just use to the private sector and things moving in a logical way