If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

New Garda Uniform being piloted in DMR?

• 13-10-2011 12:02AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭

Im a guard myself outside the pale and i heard an optimistic rumour that a colleague was in the CCJ and saw a few DMR guards wearing issued combats and polo tops as a pilot project before rollout.Any peeps on here have any information?thanks in advance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,358 ✭✭✭source

da_hambo wrote: »
    Im a guard myself outside the pale and i heard an optimistic rumour that a colleague was in the CCJ and saw a few DMR guards wearing issued combats and polo tops as a pilot project before rollout.Any peeps on here have any information?thanks in advance.

Probably Com-Pol, Dog Unit or RSU. They all have uniforms similar to that, Or could be someone on a mountain bike. I wouldn't be getting too excited about it, although I would love it if they gave us a proper tactical uniform.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭FGR

We surely would have heard it by now if that was the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Saw two guards on the Naas Road today with a car stopped,both of them were talking to the driver and they were both wearing a navy polo shirt with the Garda crest,navy combats and Garda baseball caps.

They were just in a bog standard Mondeo patrol car,wasn't dog unit or RSU/ERU or anything.Was surprised that they weren't wearing stab vests too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭Locust

Not sure about the polo shirts, but i saw a few of the traffic corps lads wearing official issue pants with pockets/combats...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭roundymac

When the guy was shot in Carrigaline a couple of months back I noticed a couple of guards in semi plain clothes, ie, casual slacks and garda polo shirts, looked odd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

They should just issue the cycle uniform to everyone. It's the closest there is to a proper frontline policing uniform.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭belacqua_

Call me a traditionalist, but I don't see why beat cops need to be dressed in a ramshackle, slovenly paramilitary-style (not in the local sense) uniform. Baseball caps? FFS.

Personally i think the current traditionalist uniform should be for courts. We're light years behind and need an upgrade. Its the practical side of it - the court pressed trousers just don't fare well on garden walls or with the array of stuff you're expected to carry on you.

belacqua_ wrote: »
    Call me a traditionalist, but I don't see why beat cops need to be dressed in a ramshackle, slovenly paramilitary-style (not in the local sense) uniform. Baseball caps? FFS.

Try wear it for eight hours on a hot day with your stab vest on. Or chasing a suspect, breaking up a fight or searching gardens etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭savagecabbages

Now I'm not an officer of the law (nor anything for that matter:P) but I think that police uniforms should convey some sense of formality and authority to the public. A uniform should command respect. Of course there must be a balance.

Personally I think the stab vests look terrible:
    StabVest.jpg

I'm guessing they were introduced in a rush as they dont really seem to fit in with the rest of the uniform, nor do they seem to take wear and tear very well. The GARDA lettering seems to be worn or faded on 90% of the ones I see.

More practical trousers for sure, and maybe a re-designed stab vest, but I'd certainly be anti baseball hats.
    Heres some food for thought:
    http://www.designdenhaag.eu/police-uniforms
    Some very similar to the current Garda setup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭savagecabbages

foreign wrote: »
    Try wear it for eight hours on a hot day with your stab vest on. Or chasing a suspect, breaking up a fight or searching gardens etc.

Must the hat be worn?
    The majority of Gardai in my area don't wear them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,450 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

Yup, most members won't wear them if they're only out of the car for a minute but if on the beat/checkpoint etc then it'll always be worn.

The current uniform is a pain in the backside.

-Stabvest is impractical, the tactical vests used by UK forces is much more practical as it has more pockets and holders for Asp, pepper spray, cuffs and so on. This also reduced the weight being carried on a utilty belt.

-Fleece is good

-trousers are impractical. Grand for court and office duties put useless for day to day policing such as running, jumping over Walls, etc. A goretex type trousers with pockets on the legs would be ideal.

- The mountainbike hi-vis is the way forward, far better and more comfortable.

-I don't mind the hat, think it looks more professional than a baseball cap and is more recognisable than a baseball cap in a crowded place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

I think the NYPD have the best uniform. They incorporate tradition(hat) with practicality(no tie, combat trousers).

I think the tie and pants should only be worn for court and office duties. Patrol uniform should be different with combat pants, hi vis jacket etc but no tie. Wearing the tie under the vest just feels and looks ridiculous. Not wearing the tie actually looks better when wearing stab vest imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

Are you able to buy your own stab vests and have the Garda patch put on the front? As long as the stab vest looks similar to the one they issue and isn't completely out of place I'd say it would be grand.
    Aren't police in America allowed buy their own type of gun once they reach a certain rank and it falls under a set size etc, or am I watching too many movies? :pac:

Not a chance would I buy my own stabvest with my own money!!
    Also, not a chance would you be covered if you were stabbed wearing an unofficial stab vest! They're uncomfortable, heavy and ugly but they're what we're stuck with!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭iceage

Christ. Peak Caps are a thing for the Parade ground not a bloody foot chase or a scuffle with a drunken twat on a Saturday night. Bin it or leave it in a locker, give em a baseball cap if HD must be worn, if not ditch it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

iceage wrote: »
    Christ. Peak Caps are a thing for the Parade ground not a bloody foot chase or a scuffle with a drunken twat on a Saturday night. Bin it or leave it in a locker, give em a baseball cap if HD must be worn, if not ditch it.

Don't forget your tie either.

Looking at Customs on the news, Combat trousers, Polo Shirts, Fleeces, Basebal caps with a sleeveless flourescent vest.

http://tv3.ie/article.php?article_id=63623&locID=1.2.&pagename=home

Cork300_68220.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,885 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Civil Defence have been issued with baseball caps which have a removable hard shell lining.
    We're calling them 'bump hats', the idea for us is some head protection when entering a hazard filled scene, but I reckon they could stand up to a glass bottle being smashed on them.

This too shall pass.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 843 ✭✭✭maygitchell

cocoshovel wrote: »
    Are you able to buy your own stab vests and have the Garda patch put on the front? As long as the stab vest looks similar to the one they issue and isn't completely out of place I'd say it would be grand.
    Aren't police in America allowed buy their own type of gun once they reach a certain rank and it falls under a set size etc, or am I watching too many movies? :pac:

No i think they can, sure didnt Dirty Harold have a magnum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,635 ✭✭✭TylerIE

cocoshovel wrote: »

The protection plates from the vests could be used in some other vests - so all you would need is about e100 for a carrier - but the carrier then would not be "Uniform". You would end up with a situation similar to what Civil Defence had years ago - way too many different variations of outerwear.

This could be avoided by placing the armour in a covert carrier, worn under the shirt, but (regardless of policy on same) that means that you cant take your armour on and off easily - which I believe is a common complaint in the UK (its very hot and heavy and can be quite uncomfortable), therefore isnt an option either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭iceage

Lets leave it to the people who are in charge shall we. They know best don't they? CD and the gardai mentioned in the same thread gives me the willies and will only end in a trainwreck of a thread :p

Seriously??):eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

In that case the British ' Bobby ' helmet must be the greatest pain in the arse - looks hopelessly impractical. Don't think any Scottish forces use them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

New uniforms. Ha! We have two cars sitting in the yard that can only be use for emergencies. In order to save mileage on them. Ha ha. Its a disgrace. Whilst people whinge that the Gardai don't show up to their houses in timely fashion. Shameful stuff. /rant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Biggles1980

Locust wrote: »
    Not sure about the polo shirts, but i saw a few of the traffic corps lads wearing official issue pants with pockets/combats...

The Road Transport Unit wear combats and polo shirts. The rest of the Traffic Corps have the ordinary uniform, except when on the bike obviously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 TommyBehan12

sqlhjs.jpg

Why don't we look at the uniform of the Airport Police in Dublin, My cousin is APFS in Cork and he told me that in Dublin they changed over from the Blue shirt and tie a while ago following a study they done into modern policing uniforms as well looking at how the Brits are equipping their officers.

My cousin recently visited Dublin Airport on a course and he told me the new uniform maintains the traditional peak cap but the new uniform includes a Stab vest, High Viz equipment carrier (This replaces the duty belt and the carrier vest holds an Airport Officers: Baton,Rigid Handcuffs,Leg restraints,Radio,Hatch gloves,first aid kit,notebook/fixed penalty notices) I don't think they carry Pepper spray.

My cousin was told they've recently ordered a heap of Vievu cameras also for the Dublin guys! There attached to high viz vests. Anyone ever hear about these? They look the business :) be great for evidence in court!

http://www.danieltechnologies.ie/vievu-pvr-le2-law-enforcement.html

The operational uniform as he called it is based on the layering system and the shirt is a Tactical Uniform shirt made of wicking material which looks like cycling shirt, the trousers are 5.11 combat pants, the boots are Matterhorn combat boots and they also have a black fleece with battenburg stripe across the chest same as the one commonly seen with UK police forces, The patrol jackets is a bomber jacket made by SIEON and is also breathable.

Im a reserve member in Cork and I know i'd love a uniform like the one the Joeys have! Seems to be well taught out and designed around the police officer and their requirements.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Airport_Police_(Ireland)#Facilities_and_Equipment

2s12eko.jpg

As seen above the uniform stands out above the crowd and make an officer presence known and also present a professional image i think.

Maybe its just me but i loathe high viz stab vests... Sometimes you want to be seen and sometimes you dont! I would however be in favour of a stab vest thats more comfortable and a few more pockets...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭audidiesel

we just got a new bunch of uniforms to us in the last month. sadly it was the same as before. those vard shirts are just useless. the collars disintigrate after one wash. im still using my old churchhill supply from before they switched 3 odd years ago

i cant see them changing the uniform now, especially if they have just sent out more of the same.

at this stage id settle for them removing the need for a tie on operational duties.

ive said it before, even the an post uniforms are a lot more suited to policing than the garda ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Vard shirts are ridiculous, thankfully some of mine are churchill!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

eroo wrote: »
    Vard shirts are ridiculous, thankfully some of mine are churchill!!
    Oooooooooooh Yes.