Man told he can stay in ghost estate home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭ThinkAboutIt

LOL. You couldnt have made up a better story to troll Boards.ie!

Now we are 25 pages! RABBLE RABBLE RABBLE RABBLE RABBLE. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,490 ✭✭✭Fluorescence

donalg1 wrote: »
    They can't get these houses habitable as there is no money to do this renting them out to people on the housing list isn't the solution either as money collected by local authorities under the differential rent scheme is less than what they spend on maintenance meaning social housing makes a loss and needs to be subsidised from other areas in the local authority mainly the commercial rates. So taking on more houses means bigger losses and therefore means higher charges and rates have to be paid by the tax payer

We might aswell pay 200 property tax in janusry to help lads like tuohy live in a nice new 3 bed

We're already paying dole money to loads of laid off construction workers, right? If the State were to employ them instead (not necessarily for a whole lot more than the dole) to fix up the houses, the cost wouldn't necessarily need to be huge, thus wouldn't filter down to the tax payer all that much.

The finished houses can then be used for social housing or put on the market for private renters, which probably wouldn't earn much money (if any) but mightn't lose a whole lot either. Plus more people will be housed - which is a plus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

Yep, that's how we roll here in Ireland.

Person A: Start producing kids at 17, develope a drug problem and dont work. The state provides you with free money due to your resulting depression. Then you take a vacant house, squat there, spend thousands of state money doing it up and then get to keep the house for free.

Person B: Lives life with some level of cop on. Stays within the law. Works every hour God sends. State takes almost half your wages in order to pay for Person A's lifestyle choices.

Sickening. These retarded stone age savages should be napalmed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭pete_mcs

There is a man living next to my grandmother who has squatted in a house for years. He has had it repaired by the council on 3 seperate occasions for damage he has caused himself. The 1st two times he burned all the skirting boards and doors in his house because he drank all his dole. The last time he broke all the windows in "his" house in a drucken rage. His family was moved into new housing while all this repairs were being done, now some are squatting in "his" second house. He has never worked a day in his life, never paid a tax, his family spend their days in the local pubs drinking our taxes. How can a modern society operate with such unfairness?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Sooopie

pete_mcs wrote: »
    There is a man living next to my grandmother who has squatted in a house for years. He has had it repaired by the council on 3 seperate occasions for damage he has caused himself. The 1st two times he burned all the skirting boards and doors in his house because he drank all his dole. The last time he broke all the windows in "his" house in a drucken rage. His family was moved into new housing while all this repairs were being done, now some are squatting in "his" second house. He has never worked a day in his life, never paid a tax, his family spend their days in the local pubs drinking our taxes. How can a modern society operate with such unfairness?

Careful, you'll be called bitter and a begrudger for not thinking this lad is amazing and enterprising

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭Freddie59

Because as long as

a) there are people willing to support and defend these actions ('fair play to him" "I compliment him" etc)

and

b) a society that tolerates it and does not enforce the law

then nothing will change. It is a complete and utter farce. The Government should hang their heads in shame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Sooopie wrote: »
    Careful, you'll be called bitter and a begrudger for not thinking this lad is amazing and enterprising

I think it's very sad that you can't see the difference between the two situations.
    Freddie59 wrote: »
    Because as long as

a) there are people willing to support and defend these actions ('fair play to him" "I compliment him" etc)

and

b) a society that tolerates it and does not enforce the law

then nothing will change. It is a complete and utter farce. The Government should hang their heads in shame.

The law has been enforced. He was prosecuted and found innocent. You want new laws.

MagicSean wrote: »
    Christ. You don't live like that at all. You have all the luxuries. you have no idea what it would be like to live on the breadline.

Who are YOU to comment on 'the breadline'? Do you even know what it is? It has been proven - several times over - that those living on handouts (free money etc) from the state are in many instances better off than those working and paying the taxes which keep this mob in the lifestyles to which they have become accustomed.

As one who has reared three children (now adults) both my wife and I have paid through the teeth for EVERYTHING all of our lives. And we wouldn't have it any other way.

We had three kids under the age of five and money in those early days was in very short supply. Years ago, I had to visit the doctor. I met a guy who i knew was working and signing whilst there. I paid the surgey fee. He was covered by the medical card.I paid for the prescription. He was covered by the medical card. We were screwed for the week. He was earning 50% more than I was by working and signing. And was entitled to untold allowances.

This was 25 years ago. And nothing has changed. It is truly bewildering and sickening to see people on here complimenting the actions of the squatter, while at the same time not realising that it is THEY who are paying for his lifestyle.

And we think we are a highly-educated nation? I think not.

Get a grip before it is too late people.

The law has been enforced. He was prosecuted and found innocent. You want new laws.

Yes. Immediately. Or the very fabric of this society will unravel.

We had three kids under the age of five and money in those early days was in very short supply. Years ago, I had to visit the doctor. I met a guy who i knew was working and signing whilst there. I paid the surgey fee. He was covered by the medical card.I paid for the prescription. He was covered by the medical card. We were screwed for the week. He was earning 50% more than I was by working and signing. And was entitled to untold allowances.

If he was working and signing why didn't you report him?

Who are YOU to comment on 'the breadline'? Do you even know what it is? It has been proven - several times over - that those living on handouts (free money etc) from the state are in many instances better off than those working and paying the taxes which keep this mob in the lifestyles to which they have become accustomed.

As one who has reared three children (now adults) both my wife and I have paid through the teeth for EVERYTHING all of our lives. And we wouldn't have it any other way.

This was 25 years ago. And nothing has changed. It is truly bewildering and sickening to see people on here complimenting the actions of the squatter, while at the same time not realising that it is THEY who are paying for his lifestyle.

And we think we are a highly-educated nation? I think not.

Get a grip before it is too late people.

Like I said, I encounter poverty all the time in work and see the effect it has. And it has not been proven that people are better off on welfare. In fact it was the opposite that was in the news recently.

I'm sorry that you are still so upset by the guy from 25 years ago who earned more than you by defrauding the dole. I don't really see how it is relevant to the story in question though.

You mentioned that we are paying for his lifestyle. He gets only a disability allowance. If he wasn't squatting in an abandoned house he would be getting rent allowance too. So he is actually saving us money.
    Yes. Immediately. Or the very fabric of this society will unravel.

I doubt that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

Again, there is a lot of stages between living on the bare minimum and luxury. So in all your years as a student you never had a social life?

I did - a very cheap one that I funded for myself. They taxpayer never bought me a beer. 10 quid for a night out once a week*, a few quid for a few cups of coffee out other days, and zero for meeting friends at their places.

*not much, I realise, but it's what I could afford.

Like I said, I encounter poverty all the time in work and see the effect it has. And it has not been proven that people are better off on welfare. In fact it was the opposite that was in the news recently.

I'm sorry that you are still so upset by the guy from 25 years ago who earned more than you by defrauding the dole. I don't really see how it is relevant to the story in question though.

You mentioned that we are paying for his lifestyle. He gets only a disability allowance. If he wasn't squatting in an abandoned house he would be getting rent allowance too. So he is actually saving us money.

I doubt that.

:rolleyes: god love him, hope he's managing ok on it

its not as if he has bills like the rest of us is it?

us, in the real world, working, paying our taxes to support the likes of this scrounger.

I did - a very cheap one that I funded for myself. They taxpayer never bought me a beer.

Really? You never availed of free fees then? Paid for everything yourself? Well done.

There's nobody that can say they have gotten nothing back from the government coffers.

:rolleyes: god love him, hope he's managing ok on it

its not as if he has bills like the rest of us is it?

us, in the real world, working, paying our taxes to support the likes of this scrounger.

Well yes he does have bills. Everything but rent.

Really? You never availed of free fees then? Paid for everything yourself? Well done.

There's nobody that can say they have gotten nothing back from the government coffers.

I doubt anyone is saying that. But most of us are actually contributing handsomely to those coffers, while others only ever take. Guess which category Mr. "I'd love to pay rent allowance" Disability Payment Former Drug Addict Father Of Seven is?

Well yes he does have bills. Everything but rent.

what bills are these?

I doubt anyone is saying that. But most of us are actually contributing handsomely to those coffers, while others only ever take. Guess which category Mr. "I'd love to pay rent allowance" Disability Payment Former Drug Addict Father Of Seven is?

And how much did you contribute before you claimed four years of college fees? Very little i'll bet. Doesn't make you a scrounger though does it?

what bills are these?

We've done this already. Electricity, heat, food, insurance, medicine.

And how much did you contribute before you claimed four years of college fees? Very little i'll bet. Doesn't make you a scrounger though does it?

don't know how you can throw that at him when you've spent the day declaring your admiration for an ex junkie squatter with 7 kids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

some people need welfare to survive. No one in my family would have gone to collage without a grant and when money was scarce when I was a child we used to have to go collect fire wood of the ditch. It is easy to give out when ye never had to live at the very bottom and no one is better off on social.

I didn't claim four years of college fees at all, if you want to be pedantic. Suffice it to say that the hundreds of thousands of euros I've paid in tax since then puts me well in credit.

Do you think this guy is going to come off disability and suddenly earn sufficient money that he'll be back in credit? :D And pigs will fly...

LOL

what insurance pay tell would a squatter have to pay?

medicine, you can be damn sure he had the medical card for that

heat - he's probs getting an allowance for that also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭IrishEyes19

A couple I'm friends with have two kids, and have both lost their jobs in the last two years. Didn't see any judge rushing to their defense to save them. joke of a country. Protect the dishonest, crucify the hard working:rolleyes:

Insurance of what? Medicine? Wouldn't he have a medical card?

A couple I'm friends with have two kids, and have both lost their jobs in the last two years. Didn't see any judge rushing to their defense to save them. joke of a country. Protect the dishonest, crucify the hard working:rolleyes:

These are the people who are getting less - the genuine cases - so that the lifetime spongers can get more. There's only so much cake to go around, and the more that goes to spongers the more we have to tax the working and less we have to spend on the genuine people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

what about food that's not cheap when you only get social

Cheap food is cheap. You can't eat caviar every day.

anyone have a rough idea how much you get a week on disability?

don't know how you can throw that at him when you've spent the day declaring your admiration for an ex junkie squatter with 7 kids

I don't admire him. I just don't see the harm in what he is doing. And nobody has yet shown he is doing any harm.
    I didn't claim four years of college fees at all, if you want to be pedantic. Suffice it to say that the hundreds of thousands of euros I've paid in tax since then puts me well in credit.

Do you think this guy is going to come off disability and suddenly earn sufficient money that he'll be back in credit? :D And pigs will fly...

You may have paid them back but at the time you were in the minus but were happy to take the handout. You could just as easily have been unemployed for the rest of your life. Depression is quite treatable and there's no reason why he won't have a job in the future.
    LOL

what insurance pay tell would a squatter have to pay?

medicine, you can be damn sure he had the medical card for that

heat - he's probs getting an allowance for that also

Maybe he does have a medical card. Maybe he also has a car. Who knows?
    A couple I'm friends with have two kids, and have both lost their jobs in the last two years. Didn't see any judge rushing to their defense to save them. joke of a country.

What were they prosecuted for?

Medical, car, house, life? Who knows? i was just asked to list bills he might have.