Man told he can stay in ghost estate home

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭donalg1

MagicSean wrote: »
    I know the country is in bad shape but I think it's a very poor reflection on us if we require people to live to basic human right standards.

He is on Social Welfare!!! I suppose being on Social Welfare means you should be entitled to a life of luxury then.

He has enough money each week for rent, heating, electricity, and food, tell me what else does he need after this to live?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

donalg1 wrote: »
    And he needs credit to receive calls now does he???????????????????:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Yes. If you dont top up they turn off your service.
    He is on Social Welfare!!! I suppose being on Social Welfare means you should be entitled to a life of luxury then.

He has enough money each week for rent, heating, electricity, and food, tell me what else does he need after this to live?

There is a lot between living in luxury and living on absolute basics. You try living a whole week without spending money on anything but those four items and then you tell me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

I know the country is in bad shape but I think it's a very poor reflection on us if we require people to live to basic human right standards.

Everyone should live in luxury? :rolleyes:

This is a bizarre attitude. I lived like that for years as a student, voluntarily. Since when does the world owe everyone a luxurious living? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

There is a lot between living in luxury and living on absolute basics. You try living a whole week without spending money on anything but those four items and then you tell me.

You know that 80% of the people in the world live like this all the time?

Everyone should live in luxury? :rolleyes:

This is a bizarre attitude. I lived like that for years as a student, voluntarily. Since when does the world owe everyone a luxurious living? :confused:

Again, there is a lot of stages between living on the bare minimum and luxury. So in all your years as a student you never had a social life?

Yes. If you dont top up they turn off your service.

I do live like that every week the only other thing i need is petrol money for my car to get to work which costs me €20 per week, which Mr. Tuohy doesnt need to worry about.

he can top up by €5 this week and then again in a few months, and sure he'll be grand then. My Dad went six months without topping up and he didnt have his service turned off.

You never bothered telling me what else outside these four things he needs in order to live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭Amzie

I can't believe thus guy is being applauded for squatting in this house! We all make our own path in life and he shouldn't be getting such a luxury handed up to him on a plate(regardless if he's going to pay rent) everyone else has to bend over backwards to get housing or getting a mortgage!!

He also has 7children with how many women...?? Can he not sort it out with one of them and scrounge of her instead of the tax payer!!

I do live like that every week the only other thing i need is petrol money for my car to get to work which costs me €20 per week, which Mr. Tuohy doesnt need to worry about.

So you have no television or internet service?
    he can top up by €5 this week and then again in a few months, and sure he'll be grand then. My Dad went six months without topping up and he didnt have his service turned off.

How would he arrange for job interviews seeing as how he would have no email or phone?
    You never bothered telling me what else outside these four things he needs in order to live.

To survive he needs those things. To actually live he needs more. A social life for one.

So you have no television or internet service?

How would he arrange for job interviews seeing as how he would have no email or phone?

To survive he needs those things. To actually live he needs more. A social life for one.

Yes i have tv and internet but i work all week to provide these things for myself.

He could walk into the place he is looking for a job and ask them for one, he has feet and a mouth, what did people do before phones and email?

A social life really, and you need money to have a social life now do you, so with no money you have no social life. Or by social life do you mean going to the pub with friends?

If he wants a social life he can call to his friends houses and socialise there or he can invite them round to his bedsit for a chat, now there you go Mr. Tuohy has a Social life so all is well in the world again.

Its funny but I never realised a social life was a necessity to live, and i certainly didnt think it was up to the government to pay for someones socialising?

Yes i have tv and internet but i work all week to provide these things for myself.

So, despite saying you live like that every week you actually live nothing like that.
    He could walk into the place he is looking for a job and ask them for one, he has feet and a mouth, what did people do before phones and email?

Have you tried getting a job recently? Most are only advertised online for one thing. And to know if you were successful you need to be contactable. Before phones and internet people used the postal service.
    A social life really, and you need money to have a social life now do you, so with no money you have no social life. Or by social life do you mean going to the pub with friends?

To have a social life you need to be able to pay for some activity and to be able to travel to get there.
    If he wants a social life he can call to his friends houses and socialise there or he can invite them round to his bedsit for a chat, now there you go Mr. Tuohy has a Social life so all is well in the world again.

Its funny but I never realised a social life was a necessity to live, and i certainly didnt think it was up to the government to pay for someones socialising?

A social life is required for a healthy life. Humans are social mammals.

So, despite saying you live like that every week you actually live nothing like that.

Have you tried getting a job recently? Most are only advertised online for one thing. And to know if you were successful you need to be contactable. Before phones and internet people used the postal service.

To have a social life you need to be able to pay for some activity and to be able to travel to get there.

A social life is required for a healthy life. Humans are social mammals.

I do live like that every week, you see i pay the essentials like accommodation, food electricity and heating then after that if i have something left i use it for tv and internet which i can get as i have a job, yet you think Mr. Tuohy should have this also and you think the social welfare office should pay for him to have these luxuries.

You dont need to be able to pay for an activity to have a social life as meeting someone in a park for arguments sake and chatting to them hardly costs anything now does it?????????? Seriously you are deluded Sean. You think he should be entitled to anything above the basics and you think the government should pay for this too???

What planet are you living on that you think its acceptable to expect a government to pay for someones social life??????????????????

If i lost my job tomorrow can i call into social welfare and ask them for more than the 188 because i want to go to the pub this weekend to socialise. Hardly please dont be so ridiculous and get yourself into the real world and bring Tuohy with ya.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭Reamer Fanny

This thread gets funnier by the minute

I do live like that every week, you see i pay the essentials like accommodation, food electricity and heating then after that if i have something left i use it for tv and internet which i can get as i have a job, yet you think Mr. Tuohy should have this also and you think the social welfare office should pay for him to have these luxuries.

Christ. You don't live like that at all. You have all the luxuries. you have no idea what it would be like to live on the breadline.
    You dont need to be able to pay for an activity to have a social life as meeting someone in a park for arguments sake and chatting to them hardly costs anything now does it?????????? Seriously you are deluded Sean. You think he should be entitled to anything above the basics and you think the government should pay for this too???

What planet are you living on that you think its acceptable to expect a government to pay for someones social life??????????????????

If i lost my job tomorrow can i call into social welfare and ask them for more than the 188 because i want to go to the pub this weekend to socialise. Hardly please dont be so ridiculous and get yourself into the real world and bring Tuohy with ya.

I don't recall saying the government should pay for someones social life or for them to live in luxury. My point was that a person cannot live properly on €188 per week with basic utilities. You have proved me right over and over with your personal examples. Mr Touhy would not be able to afford to rent somewhere and live in it on his disability alone, even if you exclude the possibility of paying for a social life. He would have to claim rent allowance at the least. As it stands he is using a government owned unoccupied property and drawing only his disability payment to live on and tax payers are better off as a result. I've yet to be told who is actually losing out in this scenario.

I think it is you who has to get into the real world. I encounter people living in poverty every day in my job. People living on the breadline through no fault of their own. I've seen the desperation it brings. I find it sickening that there are some people out there who are actually better off in prison. Then when someone comes along with an idea to try and help himself and get out of the gutter without harming anyone else there are people like you who think he should be thrown back because you don't like seeing someone get soemthing for nothing. The word begrudger is thrown around a lot on these forums but you, sir, define it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Sooopie

Christ. You don't live like that at all. You have all the luxuries. you have no idea what it would be like to live on the breadline.

I don't recall saying the government should pay for someones social life or for them to live in luxury. My point was that a person cannot live properly on €188 per week with basic utilities. You have proved me right over and over with your personal examples. Mr Touhy would not be able to afford to rent somewhere and live in it on his disability alone, even if you exclude the possibility of paying for a social life. He would have to claim rent allowance at the least. As it stands he is using a government owned unoccupied property and drawing only his disability payment to live on and tax payers are better off as a result. I've yet to be told who is actually losing out in this scenario.

I think it is you who has to get into the real world. I encounter people living in poverty every day in my job. People living on the breadline through no fault of their own. I've seen the desperation it brings. I find it sickening that there are some people out there who are actually better off in prison. Then when someone comes along with an idea to try and help himself and get out of the gutter without harming anyone else there are people like you who think he should be thrown back because you don't like seeing someone get soemthing for nothing. The word begrudger is thrown around a lot on these forums but you, sir, define it.

he did indeed help himself

to a 3 bed gaff.

My point is a person can live on 188 euro a week I have broken it down for you into simple suns which you still don't understand. You think he shouldn't have to pay rent because if he does he won't have any money left for a social life which is the most ridiculous thing I have ever heard in my life.

Can I not pay my mortgage this month so I can go out with my friends.

Difference between you and I is I put things like accommodation and food ahead of a social life. Why should the government payfor him to have a social life?

My point is a person can live on 188 euro a week I have broken it down for you into simple suns which you still don't understand. You think he shouldn't have to pay rent because if he does he won't have any money left for a social life which is the most ridiculous thing I have ever heard in my life.

Difference between you and I is I put things like accommodation and food ahead of a social life. Why should the government payfor him to have a social life?

You didn't prove it with sums. 90 for rent. 25 for heat/electricity. 50 for food. That leaves €23 for everything else. Lets assume he also wants to clean himself and his house. Maybe even take a bus for a job interview. €23 wouldn't do very much for you in a week.

You spend 23 euro a week on cleaning products? I think your getting ripped off. His electricity will be a lot less than 100 a month aswell probably be half that so that brings his disposable income up to 35 which he can use to get bus to all the job interviews he goes to
    So I kinda did prove it with sums I askedyou what else he needed money for and you said socialising!!!! Still laughing at that too btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,490 ✭✭✭Fluorescence

I'm in two minds about this. First and foremost I believe the man in question was absolutely wrong to just go around a ghost estate looking for an "unlocked" dormant house. It doesn't matter that he used his free time and dole money to make the place habitable - it's still tantamount to theft. His depression can't be that debilitating if he's able to fix up a house all by himself (and some amount of work probably went into that - the state some of those abandoned houses is shocking) so he's well able to work. That he gets disability benefit is an insult to those who actually do suffer from severe depression - those people who can hardly get out of bed in the morning let alone fix a fucking house up. This dude is a top-class chancer who's never worked an honest day's work in his life (even back when jobs were plentiful) and clearly has no intention of getting employed. Not while the tax payer will now give him rent allowance on top of his current dole to give to the owner of the home he stole. Ya know, so he can feel better about his theft.

On the other hand, this story goes to show exactly what the state should be doing - getting these abandoned houses habitable (unemployment problem in construction industry solved) and renting them out to people on the housing list. It's so obvious. It's such a waste for property to lie about unused while we have a homelessness problem. That doesn't make it ok for chancers like the guy in this story to just take whatever they want though.

You spend 23 euro a week on cleaning products? I think your getting ripped off. His electricity will be a lot less than 100 a month aswell probably be half that so that brings his disposable income up to 35 which he can use to get bus to all the job interviews he goes to
    So I kinda did prove it with sums I askedyou what else he needed money for and you said socialising!!!! Still laughing at that too btw.

You're the one who suggested €50 a week for electricity. I'm glad you can laugh. I think it's sad that a person should be expected to sit alone at home all week with nothing to do just because you think it would be a travesty for him to spend some money on a non-essential. Your sums only work because you keep changing the numbers to suit your argument.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

Hate to interupt you two but...... :)

Do his children stay with him at the weekends? Yes, I know the biggest baby is 20 odd but wouldn't he have to feed the ones under 16?

And if he has custody at weekends then living in a bedsit reminds with of the story of the woman who lived in a shoe!

I'll rent him a 3 bed semi for 100 per week. Rent allowance not accepted ;) oh, and the house is in Leitrim.

I'm in two minds about this. First and foremost I believe the man in question was absolutely wrong to just go around a ghost estate looking for an "unlocked" dormant house. It doesn't matter that he used his free time and dole money to make the place habitable - it's still tantamount to theft. His depression can't be that debilitating if he's able to fix up a house all by himself (and some amount of work probably went into that - the state some of those abandoned houses is shocking) so he's well able to work. That he gets disability benefit is an insult to those who actually do suffer from severe depression - those people who can hardly get out of bed in the morning let alone fix a fucking house up. This dude is a top-class chancer who's never worked an honest day's work in his life (even back when jobs were plentiful) and clearly has no intention of getting employed. Not while the tax payer will now give him rent allowance on top of his current dole to give to the owner of the home he stole. Ya know, so he can feel better about his theft.

On the other hand, this story goes to show exactly what the state should be doing - getting these abandoned houses habitable (unemployment problem in construction industry solved) and renting them out to people on the housing list. It's so obvious. It's such a waste for property to lie about unused while we have a homelessness problem. That doesn't make it ok for chancers like the guy in this story to just take whatever they want though.

They can't get these houses habitable as there is no money to do this renting them out to people on the housing list isn't the solution either as money collected by local authorities under the differential rent scheme is less than what they spend on maintenance meaning social housing makes a loss and needs to be subsidised from other areas in the local authority mainly the commercial rates. So taking on more houses means bigger losses and therefore means higher charges and rates have to be paid by the tax payer

We might aswell pay 200 property tax in janusry to help lads like tuohy live in a nice new 3 bed

You're the one who suggested €50 a week for electricity. I'm glad you can laugh. I think it's sad that a person should be expected to sit alone at home all week with nothing to do just because you think it would be a travesty for him to spend some money on a non-essential. Your sums only work because you keep changing the numbers to suit your argument.

I actually said 50 for food but you read whatever.

I said 50 and was over pricing it to satisfy you. No body said he is expected to sit at home on his own all week if he wants to go visit friends he can can't he?

Yeah I guess he could steal a car.

Or he could walk why does he need a car???????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Sooopie

Sorry. I didn't know his friends lived nearby.

He livesin tullamore everyone is nearby. And if he is too lazy to walk he can get a bus or they can come to him or maybe social welfare should buy him a car pay his insurance tax nct and petrol so he can socialise

He's from Mountmellick though isn't he?

Church hill TULLAMORE Sean is where he is living