Public urination

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,811 ✭✭✭Corvo

In fairness, there are worse things you could be doing. Who cares anyway? Its a bit of urination.

In Amsterdam, they have something similar in the streets, public urinals. Very handy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

LOL

I once came out of mc Donalds with a carton of orange and for some unknown drunken reason I decided to spit some orange out on to the ground in front of me. Off all the people to be standing behind the pillar out of direct view at the GPO just were I spit the orange was a Ban Garda sergeant.

So with splashed shoes she stepped out and I went into instant grovel and apology mode.

:DShe let me off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

4leto wrote: »
    :DShe let me off

Did you bone her?

smash wrote: »
    Did you bone her?

Would have loving to, I do remember her been a looker. But her colleague could barely contain himself from laughing, my mates, they were laughing.

It was a total accident and she knew that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,510 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

I live in Dublin city centre and one evening (about 7pm) I was walking home and there was a guy on my street, in full view of everyone having a piss and talking on his phone at the same time, something about some folder or something. Clearly it was a work call.

Seriously. He was talking to a colleague/boos while pissing in the street. On my road. Gross.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

no time for openly pissing anywhere - that's for scumbags. on the other hand...

after a b-day session a few years back i got fairly rat faced on whiskey and needed a piss desperately. i couldn't get any further away from an open pub in the part of town i was in (small country town) so i ducked down a very dark alley and took a piss behind a FULL skip. A squad car pulled into the alley (maybe they saw me and my mate drunkenly stumble in) and got out of the car to confront us. We zipped up immediately and walked back out from behind the bin saying ‘sorry, sorry be on our way guard’ sort of thing. He was very arrogant and aggressive and when I went to walk past he grabbed my arm, I pulled back and next thing I know I’m cuffed and on the way to the station. The f’uckers threw the book at me (I even asked leaving the station if I’d a second dick I didn’t know about; they’d charged me with urinating in public under 2 different acts!!). Now I’ve never been in trouble with the cops. The ‘resisting’ wasn’t that bad because I was so drunk I wouldn’t of been much of a danger and the piss took place in a dark alley against an otherwise filthy skip…and I was fined €1000!!!

That’s ONE…THOUSAND…EURO…not f’ucking yen. EUROS.

Priorities big time not in order with the cops in this country imo. In the few hours it took to take me the 20 miles to their station, get me booked, write my charge sheets etc etc etc how many people died of drunk driving, got beaten up, how many houses robbed around the area, how much drugs dealt. Ridiculous state of affairs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

Where ever you be let your piss go free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

after a b-day session a few years back i got fairly rat faced on whiskey and needed a piss desperately. i couldn't get any further away from an open pub in the part of town i was in (small country town) so i ducked down a very dark alley and took a piss behind a FULL skip. A squad car pulled into the alley (maybe they saw me and my mate drunkenly stumble in) and got out of the car to confront us. We zipped up immediately and walked back out from behind the bin saying ‘sorry, sorry be on our way guard’ sort of thing. He was very arrogant and aggressive and when I went to walk past he grabbed my arm, I pulled back and next thing I know I’m cuffed and on the way to the station. The f’uckers threw the book at me (I even asked leaving the station if I’d a second dick I didn’t know about; they’d charged me with urinating in public under 2 different acts!!). Now I’ve never been in trouble with the cops. The ‘resisting’ wasn’t that bad because I was so drunk I wouldn’t of been much of a danger and the piss took place in a dark alley against an otherwise filthy skip…and I was fined €1000!!!

Priorities big time not in order with the cops in this country imo. In the few hours it took to take me the 20 miles to their station, get me booked, write my charge sheets etc etc etc how many people died of drunk driving, got beaten up, how many houses robbed around the area, how much drugs dealt. Ridiculous state of affairs.

It was probably a slow news day for them and they needed something to do. Catching a real criminal would have been a much better idea, but no, that's too much hassle. Johnny Pisshead is easier to deal with.

Where ever you be let your piss go free.

But never against the breeze.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,321 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

sdeire wrote: »
    It should be illegal. It's one of the many things that put me off being in Dublin city centre, our drink culture means the city turns into a river of puke and piss for 6 hours most days.

I'd be in favour of having a few well-maintained public facilities installed and bump up the penalty for anyone not bothered to use them. Not to mention that in Dublin at least, there are 24-hour McDonalds and the like all over the place.

If you're caught short and there is genuinely nowhere around, then that's slightly more acceptable but it's very rare that you'll see it as being a problem anywhere that isn't in walking distance (for a sober person) of a toilet. Being drunk, to me, is not an excuse for a failure to control your bladder. If you need to piss all over the street because you're locked, then you need to stop drinking. End of fúcking story.

So what happens if you cant afford the chips or burger, usually the jacks is for customers only, pubs can be a bit funny about this too if you just pop in to use the jacks.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

pubs can be a bit funny about this too if you just pop in to use the jacks.

I once went into a pub to use the jacks. Having my slash when the barman came in, grabbed me and tossed me out. Barely had me mickey put away before I hit the street. Wasn't drunk or making an arse of myself, guess he just had nothing better to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Yay or nay?

This came to mind today because I saw someone doing it and nobody gave a crap.

Let me explain. I live in the Czech Republic. I was walking home from work, along a fairly busy road through the city I live in. It wasn't in the city centre, it's more of a business park area. So I was walking a long the road and on the other side, I saw a car pull over in an entrance to a disused factory. He pulled over to the side of the road, got out and walked in maybe two metres. Then, he went for a piss. Now, it's a busy road but the speed limit can't be more than 50. There were dozens of cars going past, none of them slowed down or anything. Even a police car drove past when there was a break in the traffic. They MUST have been able to see the car pulled over with the guy standing in a bit with his hands in front of him, he wasn't hiding. They didn't give a ****.

This isn't the first time I've seen it here. In parks, there's always people popping off to quieter areas of the green to piss and come back. Again, noone bats an eyelid. When children need to go, they tend to go anywhere there's a drain nearby or in the square where a tree has been planted in the street. Kids even do it for crapping.

I've seen something similar in Spain, if kids need to go, they go pretty much anywhere. If adults need to go, they'll go in a bush or something.

Now, I'm not sure as to the law in Spain but I figure in the Czech Republic, if the police drive right past the guy and don't stop, then it can't be a serious offence.

I know back home, it is and in the States and in Brazil, you can get done for "indecent exposure" if you're caught.

So, my question is, what do you think? Should we be punished if there's no jacks nearby and we badly need to go? Or is it just filthy?

I'm somewhere in the middle. I think if you're desperate to go and there's no public jacks around, it shouldn't be a problem but I feel uncomfortable if people are just being lazy about it and going for it right in front of you. I don't see any harm in doing it in a bush or in a quiet corner.

The Czech republic is very liberal. The general concensus is, if what you do does not affect other people then there is no harm.

I bet the guy was pissing out onto the road, and not up against the wall right? Seen that a few times too.

Where in the Czech Republic are you? I'm in Brno.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,057 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

Twice I've seen a shocker, first time many years ago in Nenagh when a car pulls up and the father grabs the kid out of the car and pulls his pants down to let him whizz on the side of the road in full view of all the passers by.

But by far the worst was a few weeks ago when I saw what appeared to be two people of a central European ethnic minority background standing at the side of a very busy road. The man was dancing back and forth with his coat trying to shield his companion from onlookers as she half squatted up against a wall with an almighty case of the runs. The image still haunts my dreams :eek:

Tabnabs wrote: »

But by far the worst was a few weeks ago when I saw what appeared to be two people of a central European ethnic minority background standing at the side of a very busy road. The man was dancing back and forth with his coat trying to shield his companion from onlookers as she half squatted up against a wall with an almighty case of the runs. The image still haunts my dreams :eek:

You want to keep a tin of Bisto handy for those emergencies.

I love stories like that that end with why don't they "go and fight real crime"

Like its OK for me to break the law, I'm me, but do all the other real criminals that break the law. But you were doing a criminal act.

I have pissed in a public place, but I am well aware it is against the law and to be honest it is a disgusting anti social thing to do, but sometimes I had to, so I roled a dice, if I did get caught and fined, I would just put my hands up and say well I was caught.

I sympathise but fairplay to the guard is what I say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,321 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Tabnabs wrote: »
    Twice I've seen a shocker, first time many years ago in Nenagh when a car pulls up and the father grabs the kid out of the car and pulls his pants down to let him whizz on the side of the road in full view of all the passers by.

Reminds me of the scene from Catherine Lynchs Working Girls: Singin Bernie Walsh.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,811 ✭✭✭Corvo

Like its OK for me to break the law, I'm me, but do all the other real criminals that break the law. But you were doing a criminal act.

I have pissed in a public place, but I am well aware it is against the law and to be honest it is a disgusting anti social thing to do, but sometimes I had to, so I roled a dice, if I did get caught and fined, I would just put my hands up and say well I was caught.

What a load of shyte.

You criticise the poster for saying "go catch the real criminals" then hyprocritically say that its a disgusting act while admitting you have done it.

Fair play to the guard? Yeah right, just because the big burly eejit has nothing better to do than grab a lad thats pissing. Templemore would be proud...

In fairness, the two lads did everything reasonably possible to get out of the public eye. Much better than watering the plants in full view of the public. IMO, the Garda should have given a warning, summarised the law and then told them to leave the area.
    Also, there was no need to manhandle the man.

What a load of shyte.

You criticise the poster for saying "go catch the real criminals" then hyprocritically say that its a disgusting act while admitting you have done it.

Fair play to the guard? Yeah right, just because the big burly eejit has nothing better to do than grab a lad thats pissing. Templemore would be proud...

But I acknowledged I knew I was doing a criminal act and if caught I know there will be consequences and I am not then going to moan about the guards doing their job.

And who are these "real criminals" speeders, drunken drivers, litterers, fly tippers, anyone who breaks the law is a "real criminal".

Mickey H wrote: »
    In fairness, the two lads did everything reasonably possible to get out of the public eye. Much better than watering the plants in full view of the public. IMO, the Garda should have given a warning, summarised the law and then told them to leave the area.
    Also, there was no need to manhandle the man.

I agree with that, but not the rest. There is to much of this minor lawlessness in this country. It is starting to bug me, see scumbag thread I suppose.

You are not allowed to piss in public
    1 Its a lewd act
    2 its disgusting and stinks an area, (go into templebar and smell the place)
    3 There is a disease risk from it and any open sewerage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Aishae

Was in Wexford. Spotted a public loo and went there. Afterward I rejoin the group 'jaysus that was the cleanest loo I've ever seen' the thing completely washes the whole unit after you leave. My aunt actually went for a nose.

I'd only been talking about public peeing the other week. I was saying many parts of town smell rank first thing in the morning. It's gross. If you're dying to go you're dying to go but WHY in a shop doorway or something? Plenty of feckin trees in Dublin here n there. Or go for a wee before you leave the pub

Aishae wrote: »
    Was in Wexford. Spotted a public loo and went there. Afterward I rejoin the group 'jaysus that was the cleanest loo I've ever seen' the thing completely washes the whole unit after you leave. My aunt actually went for a nose.

I'd only been talking about public peeing the other week. I was saying many parts of town smell rank first thing in the morning. It's gross. If you're dying to go you're dying to go but WHY in a shop doorway or something? Plenty of feckin trees in Dublin here n there. Or go for a wee before you leave the pub

Or in any of the fast food joints and there are loads of them.

It wouldn't surprise me if there was a cholera or typhoid outbreak originating from Templebar (sarcasm)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Mr Freeze

Nearly every guy has taken a pee in the great outdoors!

Walking home from a night out, and being badly in need of a pee, who hasn't jumped into a bush, or over a wall, or down an alley and quickly pee.

Obviously taking the a wiz in someones letterbox or doorway instead is completely unacceptable.

Walking home one night, there was a girl (who also lives in my estate who I'd know to see hello to), walking ahead of me, and she upped the shirt and squatted down outside someones house for a pee, it was dark so I pretended not to see her and kept walking past. That aint on, plenty of places that coulda been done without peeing near someones door.

Driving to work one morning last year, passing through a town, there was a guy standing on a path, flute in hand, peeing out on the road, not a care in the world and loads of traffic going past.

In short, I think if you gotta go, you gotta go, but you should at least do it out of sight and not where its gonna stink up someones door way or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,299 ✭✭✭sdanseo

But if you drink any amount of liquid, you're going to need the jacks. I know people don't go to a pub and drink ten pints of water in one sitting but the fact is, it's not the alcohol that makes you piss, it's the sheer volume of liquid you're taking in.

When you're sober, you can usually find a toilet. Plus, you're not drinking ten pints of water or coke or whatever. My experience of drunk people (I don't partake myself) is that when they decide they need to piss, it's immediately, and god forbid anyone who complains.

God I hate drink, drunkeness and everything else that goes with it! :mad:

Being from the county taking a piss outside is quite a regular occurrence if your working outside or if you have a big crowd at the house and toilets are full etc. Also I spend a few summers on building sites and dont think one of them had a toilet so its a non-issue to me.

Obviously you cannot stop in the middle of a busy street etc for a piss though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭irishejit

I agree with that, but not the rest. There is to much of this minor lawlessness in this country. It is starting to bug me, see scumbag thread I suppose.

1 Its a lewd act

Fraid not. Urine is sterile

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

1 Its a lewd act

lets say youre bursting for a wee, and there's nowhere to go. you look, and cant find anywhere. your options are a) find somewhere out of the way to go, or b) piss your pants. both are urinating in public, but only one doesnt have you walking around in public with pissy trousers. which is more hygenic?

sdeire wrote: »
    When you're sober, you can usually find a toilet. Plus, you're not drinking ten pints of water or coke or whatever. My experience of drunk people (I don't partake myself) is that when they decide they need to piss, it's immediately, and god forbid anyone who complains.

God I hate drink, drunkeness and everything else that goes with it! :mad:

I put a thanks there, but hypocritically I am a drinker, but I like to think I am not a bad arsehole anti social drinker, I try not to cause anyone any trouble.

But you are right this country has a serious drink related problems. And pissing in public is one of its minor ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭Archeron

Was a time many years ago, I was on the way home from a night out in Dublin, and was walking towards the northside to get a taxi. Wasn’t that drunk, but halfway through temple bar, it hit, and I HAD to have a piss or else I would have blown up. I tried to get into a few different pubs, but they were so jammed, I couldn’t even get in the door. I thought I’d try and hold it, and walked down one of the lanes that leads to the quays.
    When I walked down the lane, I got the bang of piss in the laneway, and thought one more puddle couldnt hurt, so unzipped and let loose, far away from any doorways, and into a pile of weeds.
    All was fine and dandy until a few days later, I got a copy of one of the daily papers, and on page 5 was this big story about how binge drinking was totally out of control, and alcohol emergency rooms were being considered in the city. And what is underneath except a quarter page picture of ME having a piss in a laneway.
    Some fecker had snuck up and taken a pic of me from behind, then used it to portray me as an alcoholic, a symbol of everything that is wrong with the youth of today.
    I wouldn’t mind, but I wasn’t even that bloody drunk, it was just there there was absolutely nowhere to go. At least it didnt show my face though.

(I kept that cut out from the paper to show my grandchildren what can happen when you break the law)

Its something I would never ever do, but the ONE bloody time, is the time you end up in the papers.

Helix wrote: »
    lets say youre bursting for a wee, and there's nowhere to go. you look, and cant find anywhere. your options are a) find somewhere out of the way to go, or b) piss your pants. both are urinating in public, but only one doesnt have you walking around in public with pissy trousers. which is more hygenic?

I already stated I would piss in some bush, but I have acknowledged if I was caught I know there are circumstances.

As for urine been sterile it is and it isn't Urine directly from the bladder is normally sterile. However, on its passage from the bladder to the outside world, urine becomes contaminated by bacteria normally present in the lower urethra and external genitalia plus it acts as a base for any existing bacteria to grow on as in a wet urine sodden pavement.