Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Public urination

• 06-10-2011 1:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,336 ✭✭✭

Yay or nay?

This came to mind today because I saw someone doing it and nobody gave a crap.

Let me explain. I live in the Czech Republic. I was walking home from work, along a fairly busy road through the city I live in. It wasn't in the city centre, it's more of a business park area. So I was walking a long the road and on the other side, I saw a car pull over in an entrance to a disused factory. He pulled over to the side of the road, got out and walked in maybe two metres. Then, he went for a piss. Now, it's a busy road but the speed limit can't be more than 50. There were dozens of cars going past, none of them slowed down or anything. Even a police car drove past when there was a break in the traffic. They MUST have been able to see the car pulled over with the guy standing in a bit with his hands in front of him, he wasn't hiding. They didn't give a ****.

This isn't the first time I've seen it here. In parks, there's always people popping off to quieter areas of the green to piss and come back. Again, noone bats an eyelid. When children need to go, they tend to go anywhere there's a drain nearby or in the square where a tree has been planted in the street. Kids even do it for crapping.

I've seen something similar in Spain, if kids need to go, they go pretty much anywhere. If adults need to go, they'll go in a bush or something.

Now, I'm not sure as to the law in Spain but I figure in the Czech Republic, if the police drive right past the guy and don't stop, then it can't be a serious offence.

I know back home, it is and in the States and in Brazil, you can get done for "indecent exposure" if you're caught.

So, my question is, what do you think? Should we be punished if there's no jacks nearby and we badly need to go? Or is it just filthy?

I'm somewhere in the middle. I think if you're desperate to go and there's no public jacks around, it shouldn't be a problem but I feel uncomfortable if people are just being lazy about it and going for it right in front of you. I don't see any harm in doing it in a bush or in a quiet corner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

Hate getting caught short.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Phoenix Park

Most girls think its sexy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

j'aime pissing en public, mais je suis francais

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,385 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Bushes/etc when no other options = okay.
    Scangers pissing up against pubs/shops/etc on a night out = not cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 764 ✭✭✭floutingmaxims

When ya gotta go ya gotta go! If theres a nearby bathroom i dont see why people cant hold on a bit longer and use that..otherwise its acceptable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

Its pretty fukcing disgusting to be honest, but with a system full of drink and no jacks in sight you have very little choice.

I seen these public street loos in London, they come out of the ground for the revellers at night and go back down during the day.

They really should be considered for templebar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Fecky the Ninth

From what I'v been told by my Czech friends, is that public urination is socially acceptable over there. It's no biggie like it is here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

You cant beat a good slash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Peetrik

Depends on the circumstances as to wether its socially acceptable. There certainly should not be a law against it however.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

4leto wrote: »
    Its pretty fukcing disgusting to be honest, but with a system full of drink and no jacks in sight you have very little choice.

I seen these public street loos in London, they come out of the ground for the revellers at night and go back down during the day.

They really should be considered for templebar.

they'd be brilliant for hijacking a bunch of tourists walking along and coming out of one in a batman suit.

tourists walking down street: _________________
    toilet box rises up from ground
    batman exit's says "time to fight crime"
    runs down alleyway..
    comes back few min later to tourists still scratching their heads about how it works and why...
    "my work here is done for tonight!"
    *gets back in box*
    *box goes back into the ground*

hillarity :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Thing is, Galway (Eyre Square) is the only place in the country that I know of that has public toilets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

You see lads do it all the time but I've only ever seen a girl doing it once. On the side of the M50, jeans down and squatting in full view of passing cars.

Saila wrote: »
    they'd be brilliant for hijacking a bunch of tourists walking along and coming out of one in a batman suit.

tourists walking down street: _________________
    toilet box rises up from ground
    batman exit's says "time to fight crime"
    runs down alleyway..
    comes back few min later to tourists still scratching their heads about how it works and why...
    "my work here is done for tonight!"
    *gets back in box*
    *box goes back into the ground*

hillarity :pac:
    LOL

They are actually open public urinals, I used one, I am afraid they don't cater for the ladies. But I did see those types that come out of the ground as well. (somewhere)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

It should be illegal. It's one of the many things that put me off being in Dublin city centre, our drink culture means the city turns into a river of puke and piss for 6 hours most days.

I'd be in favour of having a few well-maintained public facilities installed and bump up the penalty for anyone not bothered to use them. Not to mention that in Dublin at least, there are 24-hour McDonalds and the like all over the place.

If you're caught short and there is genuinely nowhere around, then that's slightly more acceptable but it's very rare that you'll see it as being a problem anywhere that isn't in walking distance (for a sober person) of a toilet. Being drunk, to me, is not an excuse for a failure to control your bladder. If you need to piss all over the street because you're locked, then you need to stop drinking. End of fúcking story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

After leaving pubs and clubs in Cork, if I cant hold on theres a few pay toilets around that cost 20cent and I'll just use them unless I'm too far away to hold on and I'll try be as discreet as possible and go down a lane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Last Paddys Day, I saw a drunken "lady" almost comatose from drink (or something) lying on Dame St. in Dublin - jeans and knickers around ankles, pishing for Ireland. This was in the afternoon. Still, national holiday and all.

Did you take a photo and submit it to the TV3 weather guy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

If you do a log you should bring it home or bury it or failing that fling it over a wall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

foxyboxer wrote: »

Ozzy Osbourne once pissed against The Alamo...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

its not something that should be accepted as commonplace, but at the end of the day it's a natural function of the body and if you really have to go and there arent any public toilets, then your only other option is to piss yourself. which is still urinating in public, and a hell of a lot worse than running to a discreet corner or bush somewhere, let's be honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,336 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

sdeire wrote: »
    If you need to piss all over the street because you're locked, then you need to stop drinking. End of fúcking story.
    But if you drink any amount of liquid, you're going to need the jacks. I know people don't go to a pub and drink ten pints of water in one sitting but the fact is, it's not the alcohol that makes you piss, it's the sheer volume of liquid you're taking in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 Shakeyspears

Got arrested for it before. Not that I was in public. I was thrown out of a pub (underage at the time) and ran round the back for a whizz. It's a rural town so I was effectively pissing into an empty field but a Guard followed me round the back.

Then interupted mid-stream and asked me to come over to his car when I was finished. He was fairly understandable about it....Not worth the hassle but if I'm not doing it on the street surely there should be some leniency. I was providing a public service; fertilizing that patch of greenery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

Biodegradeable. Mother Earth loves it.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

Part dire necessity and a bit of the provocation industry encoded everywhere in clothes and advertising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,336 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Thanks for reminding me, Shakeyspears.

I was arrested for it in Finland before. I was very drunk, stumbled out of a night club and onto the green patch between the lanes of the street. Just as I opened my fly, a police van pulled up and threw me in the back. I only got let off because my friend said something along the lines of "he's just a stupid, drunken tourist". I love that guy.

I have also been stopped about to do it in Bray before. I was down on the seafront where the houses are. I was on the path and leaned up against the street-side of the wall. The guards pulled up beside me and gave a typical smart-arse question: "Would you like it if someone did that in your garden?" They let me go, luckily. In fairness, he had a valid point; I wouldn't want anyone pissing in my garden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

If you do it into a drain, or so it flows into a drain, I don't really see the problem.

It's a bit gross of course but I don't think that justifies a law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭krissovo

If your stuck you are stuck and Ireland has nearly zero facilities so where else is there to go?

These are the pop up toilets they have in the UK, used the ones Reading a few times when court short after a few beers.

http://cdn.uberreview.com/wp-content/uploads/high-tech-urinal-urilift.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Phoenix Park

If you're stuck...just piss your pants. Far more dignified. Wet yourself, walk home. You're offending no one but your washing machine. This weeing up against some random wall is for the birds. All my trousers are dark/brown just in case, so i don't even waste time having to think about what trousers to buy. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

When you've gotta go you gotta go... You shouldn't be penalised for taking a slash. You also shouldn't be a fool about it. Try to be descreet, don't piss where people walk or on property... Common sense really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,710 ✭✭✭Corvo

In fairness, there are worse things you could be doing. Who cares anyway? Its a bit of urination.

In Amsterdam, they have something similar in the streets, public urinals. Very handy.

LOL

I once came out of mc Donalds with a carton of orange and for some unknown drunken reason I decided to spit some orange out on to the ground in front of me. Off all the people to be standing behind the pillar out of direct view at the GPO just were I spit the orange was a Ban Garda sergeant.

So with splashed shoes she stepped out and I went into instant grovel and apology mode.

:DShe let me off

Did you bone her?

smash wrote: »
    Did you bone her?

Would have loving to, I do remember her been a looker. But her colleague could barely contain himself from laughing, my mates, they were laughing.

It was a total accident and she knew that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

I live in Dublin city centre and one evening (about 7pm) I was walking home and there was a guy on my street, in full view of everyone having a piss and talking on his phone at the same time, something about some folder or something. Clearly it was a work call.

Seriously. He was talking to a colleague/boos while pissing in the street. On my road. Gross.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

no time for openly pissing anywhere - that's for scumbags. on the other hand...

after a b-day session a few years back i got fairly rat faced on whiskey and needed a piss desperately. i couldn't get any further away from an open pub in the part of town i was in (small country town) so i ducked down a very dark alley and took a piss behind a FULL skip. A squad car pulled into the alley (maybe they saw me and my mate drunkenly stumble in) and got out of the car to confront us. We zipped up immediately and walked back out from behind the bin saying ‘sorry, sorry be on our way guard’ sort of thing. He was very arrogant and aggressive and when I went to walk past he grabbed my arm, I pulled back and next thing I know I’m cuffed and on the way to the station. The f’uckers threw the book at me (I even asked leaving the station if I’d a second dick I didn’t know about; they’d charged me with urinating in public under 2 different acts!!). Now I’ve never been in trouble with the cops. The ‘resisting’ wasn’t that bad because I was so drunk I wouldn’t of been much of a danger and the piss took place in a dark alley against an otherwise filthy skip…and I was fined €1000!!!

That’s ONE…THOUSAND…EURO…not f’ucking yen. EUROS.

Priorities big time not in order with the cops in this country imo. In the few hours it took to take me the 20 miles to their station, get me booked, write my charge sheets etc etc etc how many people died of drunk driving, got beaten up, how many houses robbed around the area, how much drugs dealt. Ridiculous state of affairs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

Where ever you be let your piss go free.

after a b-day session a few years back i got fairly rat faced on whiskey and needed a piss desperately. i couldn't get any further away from an open pub in the part of town i was in (small country town) so i ducked down a very dark alley and took a piss behind a FULL skip. A squad car pulled into the alley (maybe they saw me and my mate drunkenly stumble in) and got out of the car to confront us. We zipped up immediately and walked back out from behind the bin saying ‘sorry, sorry be on our way guard’ sort of thing. He was very arrogant and aggressive and when I went to walk past he grabbed my arm, I pulled back and next thing I know I’m cuffed and on the way to the station. The f’uckers threw the book at me (I even asked leaving the station if I’d a second dick I didn’t know about; they’d charged me with urinating in public under 2 different acts!!). Now I’ve never been in trouble with the cops. The ‘resisting’ wasn’t that bad because I was so drunk I wouldn’t of been much of a danger and the piss took place in a dark alley against an otherwise filthy skip…and I was fined €1000!!!

Priorities big time not in order with the cops in this country imo. In the few hours it took to take me the 20 miles to their station, get me booked, write my charge sheets etc etc etc how many people died of drunk driving, got beaten up, how many houses robbed around the area, how much drugs dealt. Ridiculous state of affairs.

It was probably a slow news day for them and they needed something to do. Catching a real criminal would have been a much better idea, but no, that's too much hassle. Johnny Pisshead is easier to deal with.

Where ever you be let your piss go free.

But never against the breeze.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

sdeire wrote: »
    It should be illegal. It's one of the many things that put me off being in Dublin city centre, our drink culture means the city turns into a river of puke and piss for 6 hours most days.

I'd be in favour of having a few well-maintained public facilities installed and bump up the penalty for anyone not bothered to use them. Not to mention that in Dublin at least, there are 24-hour McDonalds and the like all over the place.

If you're caught short and there is genuinely nowhere around, then that's slightly more acceptable but it's very rare that you'll see it as being a problem anywhere that isn't in walking distance (for a sober person) of a toilet. Being drunk, to me, is not an excuse for a failure to control your bladder. If you need to piss all over the street because you're locked, then you need to stop drinking. End of fúcking story.

So what happens if you cant afford the chips or burger, usually the jacks is for customers only, pubs can be a bit funny about this too if you just pop in to use the jacks.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

pubs can be a bit funny about this too if you just pop in to use the jacks.

I once went into a pub to use the jacks. Having my slash when the barman came in, grabbed me and tossed me out. Barely had me mickey put away before I hit the street. Wasn't drunk or making an arse of myself, guess he just had nothing better to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Yay or nay?

This came to mind today because I saw someone doing it and nobody gave a crap.

Let me explain. I live in the Czech Republic. I was walking home from work, along a fairly busy road through the city I live in. It wasn't in the city centre, it's more of a business park area. So I was walking a long the road and on the other side, I saw a car pull over in an entrance to a disused factory. He pulled over to the side of the road, got out and walked in maybe two metres. Then, he went for a piss. Now, it's a busy road but the speed limit can't be more than 50. There were dozens of cars going past, none of them slowed down or anything. Even a police car drove past when there was a break in the traffic. They MUST have been able to see the car pulled over with the guy standing in a bit with his hands in front of him, he wasn't hiding. They didn't give a ****.

This isn't the first time I've seen it here. In parks, there's always people popping off to quieter areas of the green to piss and come back. Again, noone bats an eyelid. When children need to go, they tend to go anywhere there's a drain nearby or in the square where a tree has been planted in the street. Kids even do it for crapping.

I've seen something similar in Spain, if kids need to go, they go pretty much anywhere. If adults need to go, they'll go in a bush or something.

Now, I'm not sure as to the law in Spain but I figure in the Czech Republic, if the police drive right past the guy and don't stop, then it can't be a serious offence.

I know back home, it is and in the States and in Brazil, you can get done for "indecent exposure" if you're caught.

So, my question is, what do you think? Should we be punished if there's no jacks nearby and we badly need to go? Or is it just filthy?

I'm somewhere in the middle. I think if you're desperate to go and there's no public jacks around, it shouldn't be a problem but I feel uncomfortable if people are just being lazy about it and going for it right in front of you. I don't see any harm in doing it in a bush or in a quiet corner.

The Czech republic is very liberal. The general concensus is, if what you do does not affect other people then there is no harm.

I bet the guy was pissing out onto the road, and not up against the wall right? Seen that a few times too.

Where in the Czech Republic are you? I'm in Brno.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

Twice I've seen a shocker, first time many years ago in Nenagh when a car pulls up and the father grabs the kid out of the car and pulls his pants down to let him whizz on the side of the road in full view of all the passers by.

But by far the worst was a few weeks ago when I saw what appeared to be two people of a central European ethnic minority background standing at the side of a very busy road. The man was dancing back and forth with his coat trying to shield his companion from onlookers as she half squatted up against a wall with an almighty case of the runs. The image still haunts my dreams :eek:

Tabnabs wrote: »

But by far the worst was a few weeks ago when I saw what appeared to be two people of a central European ethnic minority background standing at the side of a very busy road. The man was dancing back and forth with his coat trying to shield his companion from onlookers as she half squatted up against a wall with an almighty case of the runs. The image still haunts my dreams :eek:

You want to keep a tin of Bisto handy for those emergencies.

I love stories like that that end with why don't they "go and fight real crime"

Like its OK for me to break the law, I'm me, but do all the other real criminals that break the law. But you were doing a criminal act.

I have pissed in a public place, but I am well aware it is against the law and to be honest it is a disgusting anti social thing to do, but sometimes I had to, so I roled a dice, if I did get caught and fined, I would just put my hands up and say well I was caught.

I sympathise but fairplay to the guard is what I say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Tabnabs wrote: »
    Twice I've seen a shocker, first time many years ago in Nenagh when a car pulls up and the father grabs the kid out of the car and pulls his pants down to let him whizz on the side of the road in full view of all the passers by.

Reminds me of the scene from Catherine Lynchs Working Girls: Singin Bernie Walsh.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,710 ✭✭✭Corvo

Like its OK for me to break the law, I'm me, but do all the other real criminals that break the law. But you were doing a criminal act.

I have pissed in a public place, but I am well aware it is against the law and to be honest it is a disgusting anti social thing to do, but sometimes I had to, so I roled a dice, if I did get caught and fined, I would just put my hands up and say well I was caught.

What a load of shyte.

You criticise the poster for saying "go catch the real criminals" then hyprocritically say that its a disgusting act while admitting you have done it.

Fair play to the guard? Yeah right, just because the big burly eejit has nothing better to do than grab a lad thats pissing. Templemore would be proud...

In fairness, the two lads did everything reasonably possible to get out of the public eye. Much better than watering the plants in full view of the public. IMO, the Garda should have given a warning, summarised the law and then told them to leave the area.
    Also, there was no need to manhandle the man.

What a load of shyte.

You criticise the poster for saying "go catch the real criminals" then hyprocritically say that its a disgusting act while admitting you have done it.

Fair play to the guard? Yeah right, just because the big burly eejit has nothing better to do than grab a lad thats pissing. Templemore would be proud...

But I acknowledged I knew I was doing a criminal act and if caught I know there will be consequences and I am not then going to moan about the guards doing their job.

And who are these "real criminals" speeders, drunken drivers, litterers, fly tippers, anyone who breaks the law is a "real criminal".

Mickey H wrote: »
    In fairness, the two lads did everything reasonably possible to get out of the public eye. Much better than watering the plants in full view of the public. IMO, the Garda should have given a warning, summarised the law and then told them to leave the area.
    Also, there was no need to manhandle the man.

I agree with that, but not the rest. There is to much of this minor lawlessness in this country. It is starting to bug me, see scumbag thread I suppose.

You are not allowed to piss in public
    1 Its a lewd act
    2 its disgusting and stinks an area, (go into templebar and smell the place)
    3 There is a disease risk from it and any open sewerage