Public urination

• 06-10-2011 02:07PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,574 ✭✭✭

Yay or nay?

This came to mind today because I saw someone doing it and nobody gave a crap.

Let me explain. I live in the Czech Republic. I was walking home from work, along a fairly busy road through the city I live in. It wasn't in the city centre, it's more of a business park area. So I was walking a long the road and on the other side, I saw a car pull over in an entrance to a disused factory. He pulled over to the side of the road, got out and walked in maybe two metres. Then, he went for a piss. Now, it's a busy road but the speed limit can't be more than 50. There were dozens of cars going past, none of them slowed down or anything. Even a police car drove past when there was a break in the traffic. They MUST have been able to see the car pulled over with the guy standing in a bit with his hands in front of him, he wasn't hiding. They didn't give a ****.

This isn't the first time I've seen it here. In parks, there's always people popping off to quieter areas of the green to piss and come back. Again, noone bats an eyelid. When children need to go, they tend to go anywhere there's a drain nearby or in the square where a tree has been planted in the street. Kids even do it for crapping.

I've seen something similar in Spain, if kids need to go, they go pretty much anywhere. If adults need to go, they'll go in a bush or something.

Now, I'm not sure as to the law in Spain but I figure in the Czech Republic, if the police drive right past the guy and don't stop, then it can't be a serious offence.

I know back home, it is and in the States and in Brazil, you can get done for "indecent exposure" if you're caught.

So, my question is, what do you think? Should we be punished if there's no jacks nearby and we badly need to go? Or is it just filthy?

I'm somewhere in the middle. I think if you're desperate to go and there's no public jacks around, it shouldn't be a problem but I feel uncomfortable if people are just being lazy about it and going for it right in front of you. I don't see any harm in doing it in a bush or in a quiet corner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

Hate getting caught short.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Phoenix Park

Most girls think its sexy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

j'aime pissing en public, mais je suis francais

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,829 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Bushes/etc when no other options = okay.
    Scangers pissing up against pubs/shops/etc on a night out = not cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 764 ✭✭✭floutingmaxims

When ya gotta go ya gotta go! If theres a nearby bathroom i dont see why people cant hold on a bit longer and use that..otherwise its acceptable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

Its pretty fukcing disgusting to be honest, but with a system full of drink and no jacks in sight you have very little choice.

I seen these public street loos in London, they come out of the ground for the revellers at night and go back down during the day.

They really should be considered for templebar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Fecky the Ninth

From what I'v been told by my Czech friends, is that public urination is socially acceptable over there. It's no biggie like it is here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

You cant beat a good slash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭Peetrik

Depends on the circumstances as to wether its socially acceptable. There certainly should not be a law against it however.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

4leto wrote: »
    Its pretty fukcing disgusting to be honest, but with a system full of drink and no jacks in sight you have very little choice.

I seen these public street loos in London, they come out of the ground for the revellers at night and go back down during the day.

They really should be considered for templebar.

they'd be brilliant for hijacking a bunch of tourists walking along and coming out of one in a batman suit.

tourists walking down street: _________________
    toilet box rises up from ground
    batman exit's says "time to fight crime"
    runs down alleyway..
    comes back few min later to tourists still scratching their heads about how it works and why...
    "my work here is done for tonight!"
    *gets back in box*
    *box goes back into the ground*

hillarity :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Thing is, Galway (Eyre Square) is the only place in the country that I know of that has public toilets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

You see lads do it all the time but I've only ever seen a girl doing it once. On the side of the M50, jeans down and squatting in full view of passing cars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

Saila wrote: »
    they'd be brilliant for hijacking a bunch of tourists walking along and coming out of one in a batman suit.

tourists walking down street: _________________
    toilet box rises up from ground
    batman exit's says "time to fight crime"
    runs down alleyway..
    comes back few min later to tourists still scratching their heads about how it works and why...
    "my work here is done for tonight!"
    *gets back in box*
    *box goes back into the ground*

hillarity :pac:
    LOL

They are actually open public urinals, I used one, I am afraid they don't cater for the ladies. But I did see those types that come out of the ground as well. (somewhere)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,299 ✭✭✭sdanseo

It should be illegal. It's one of the many things that put me off being in Dublin city centre, our drink culture means the city turns into a river of puke and piss for 6 hours most days.

I'd be in favour of having a few well-maintained public facilities installed and bump up the penalty for anyone not bothered to use them. Not to mention that in Dublin at least, there are 24-hour McDonalds and the like all over the place.

If you're caught short and there is genuinely nowhere around, then that's slightly more acceptable but it's very rare that you'll see it as being a problem anywhere that isn't in walking distance (for a sober person) of a toilet. Being drunk, to me, is not an excuse for a failure to control your bladder. If you need to piss all over the street because you're locked, then you need to stop drinking. End of fúcking story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

After leaving pubs and clubs in Cork, if I cant hold on theres a few pay toilets around that cost 20cent and I'll just use them unless I'm too far away to hold on and I'll try be as discreet as possible and go down a lane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Last Paddys Day, I saw a drunken "lady" almost comatose from drink (or something) lying on Dame St. in Dublin - jeans and knickers around ankles, pishing for Ireland. This was in the afternoon. Still, national holiday and all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

Last Paddys Day, I saw a drunken "lady" almost comatose from drink (or something) lying on Dame St. in Dublin - jeans and knickers around ankles, pishing for Ireland. This was in the afternoon. Still, national holiday and all.
    Did you take a photo and submit it to the TV3 weather guy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

If you do a log you should bring it home or bury it or failing that fling it over a wall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

foxyboxer wrote: »

Ozzy Osbourne once pissed against The Alamo...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

its not something that should be accepted as commonplace, but at the end of the day it's a natural function of the body and if you really have to go and there arent any public toilets, then your only other option is to piss yourself. which is still urinating in public, and a hell of a lot worse than running to a discreet corner or bush somewhere, let's be honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,574 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

sdeire wrote: »
    If you need to piss all over the street because you're locked, then you need to stop drinking. End of fúcking story.
    But if you drink any amount of liquid, you're going to need the jacks. I know people don't go to a pub and drink ten pints of water in one sitting but the fact is, it's not the alcohol that makes you piss, it's the sheer volume of liquid you're taking in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 Shakeyspears

Got arrested for it before. Not that I was in public. I was thrown out of a pub (underage at the time) and ran round the back for a whizz. It's a rural town so I was effectively pissing into an empty field but a Guard followed me round the back.

Then interupted mid-stream and asked me to come over to his car when I was finished. He was fairly understandable about it....Not worth the hassle but if I'm not doing it on the street surely there should be some leniency. I was providing a public service; fertilizing that patch of greenery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

Biodegradeable. Mother Earth loves it.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

Part dire necessity and a bit of the provocation industry encoded everywhere in clothes and advertising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,574 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Thanks for reminding me, Shakeyspears.

I was arrested for it in Finland before. I was very drunk, stumbled out of a night club and onto the green patch between the lanes of the street. Just as I opened my fly, a police van pulled up and threw me in the back. I only got let off because my friend said something along the lines of "he's just a stupid, drunken tourist". I love that guy.

I have also been stopped about to do it in Bray before. I was down on the seafront where the houses are. I was on the path and leaned up against the street-side of the wall. The guards pulled up beside me and gave a typical smart-arse question: "Would you like it if someone did that in your garden?" They let me go, luckily. In fairness, he had a valid point; I wouldn't want anyone pissing in my garden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

If you do it into a drain, or so it flows into a drain, I don't really see the problem.

It's a bit gross of course but I don't think that justifies a law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,260 ✭✭✭krissovo

If your stuck you are stuck and Ireland has nearly zero facilities so where else is there to go?

These are the pop up toilets they have in the UK, used the ones Reading a few times when court short after a few beers.

http://cdn.uberreview.com/wp-content/uploads/high-tech-urinal-urilift.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Phoenix Park

If you're stuck...just piss your pants. Far more dignified. Wet yourself, walk home. You're offending no one but your washing machine. This weeing up against some random wall is for the birds. All my trousers are dark/brown just in case, so i don't even waste time having to think about what trousers to buy. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

When you've gotta go you gotta go... You shouldn't be penalised for taking a slash. You also shouldn't be a fool about it. Try to be descreet, don't piss where people walk or on property... Common sense really.