If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Pimp My Knife

• Closed Accounts Posts: 506 ✭✭✭moby30

Yeah I can't see anyone being disappointed with their knives - it was excellent marketing though. Funny aswell my first choice was bog oak but was too slow. Maybe we will swap handles afterwards:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭Mauser 308

moby30 wrote: »
    Yeah I can't see anyone being disappointed with their knives - it was excellent marketing though. Funny aswell my first choice was bog oak but was too slow. Maybe we will swap handles afterwards:)
    Davy a twist to the comp, can we swap?

That was a joke:)
    sorry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭customrifle

Think its true about the custom bug. Be it knives or rifles. I placed an order with Davy fri for a "big brother" version of what will be my finished knife in this comp, with very slight variation:D. Herself was wondering bout the custom knives, and commenting on how "pretty" they were and what they cost. so i gave her same reply as when she asks what handful of ammo and bits from dealers costs........... 50 quid;)

moby30 wrote: »
    That was a joke:)
    sorry
    No bother, my bad.:D

Think its true about the custom bug. Be it knives or rifles. I placed an order with Davy fri for a "big brother" version of what will be my finished knife in this comp, with very slight variation:D. Herself was wondering bout the custom knives, and commenting on how "pretty" they were and what they cost. so i gave her same reply as when she asks what handful of ammo and bits from dealers costs........... 50 quid;)

that's my trick too:) bought a pajero last week for 100 euros would you believe then went into town for arthurs day and the whole night only cost me 30 euros- and when it comes to guns and ammo- sure it's all for nothin;)

Ya i dont think the ladies give us credit with how economical we can be when it comes to our sport............or the truth:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭Hibrion

Well, I couldn't hide the cost of my first Sealgaire from herself since she bought it for me for Christmas ;)

Hibrion....................teach us master:D ah in fairness herself is good that way she ll usually ask is there anything id really like for christmas...............one of these years im goin to get that 3 some ha ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 563 ✭✭✭davymoore

Every knife made in this competiton will be made to the best of my ability. The same care and attention will be given to each step of every build of every knife and every knife will come as standard with my lifetime garuantee. If for any reason you are not happy with the finished knives then simply send them back for a refund.

I have tried to introduce some strange and exotic timbers to the competition. I don't believe anyone got lumbered (pardon the pun) with anything the slightest bit inferior. In some cases you may not have gotten exactly what you wanted but everyone made a choice to either select a material or ignore it.

I hope you think it's been a fair process. I don't think it would be wise to change the rules near the end of the competition.

I hope that the competition has been helpfull so far in giving you a better understanding of how the custom knife business works and that it helps to make informed choices if you ever decide to order a commissioned piece which of course I hope you all do someday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭Hibrion

I'm pretty lucky alright :)

Sometimes, she even listens to me talk about guns and knives :O haha

Good luck with that three some. Just think how many knives and guns that would be worth though ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

Hibrion wrote: »
    I'm pretty lucky alright :)

Sometimes, she even listens to me talk about guns and knives :O haha

Good luck with that three some. Just think how many knives and guns that would be worth though ;)

Ah now you can buy loads more knives & guns & feel slightly guilty for extravegant spending.
    However if the misses says no, & you want a threesome you need to go to a whole different place & spend a fair ball of cash whiles your at it :D

Back on topic I think we all knew what we signed up for up front. There are things I'd like also but I won't grind an axe as I know what was agreed first day. What I would say would be very useful & I'm unsure would it be allowed but if Davy could list out things that we could change after the competition, corbys, sheath,timber, lanyard etc before collection of the knives at our own cost. Price to do so would be useful also....

Thoroughly enjoyable competition. ;)

Lads to be clear

Even if the rules did allow for it, I simply don't have enough of any materials to allow everyone to now switch to say Buckeye for a handle or Leather Braid for a lanyard material or what ever other permutations might come up.

I put "Up For Grabs" everything hat I had available in the workshop at the time.

The idea was to design the best knife based on the materials available. Everyone would end up with a one off hand made custom knife at a seriously discounted price.

If someone wants a bespoke piece with say, desert ironwood handles with mosaic pins etc. I'd be more than happy to oblige but not as part of this competition. I would have to order these materials in.

Back on topic I think we all knew what we signed up for up front. There are things I'd like also but I won't grind an axe as I know what was agreed first day. What I would say would be very useful & I'm unsure would it be allowed but if Davy could list out things that we could change after the competition, corbys, sheath,timber, lanyard etc before collection of the knives at our own cost. Price to do so would be useful also....

Was pretty much saying the same Davy.
    Be good if post comp options were available to lads at their own time delay & expense...

This was touched on earlier but ......... How about a Swap day?

A 24 hr period whereby everyone can swap parts with one another prior to the actual build . Would this be a runner? I think it would still fall within the spirit of the competition ... and it could be good craic anyway

Was pretty much saying the same Davy.
    Be good if post comp options were available to lads at their own time delay & expense...

To be fair it would be cost preclusive to take a €200 knife, tear it assunder, dump €25-30 worth of material in the bin just to replace it with similar materials and then pay for the labour involved. Having said that if someone wanted that option later I'd be happy to oblige.

#|USER NAME|DEP|L/R|Handle|Liners|Sheath|Fittings|Lanyard|Stitching
    1|moby30|Paid|Right|J - Buckeye Maple|Red/Black|Black|Loveless|Leather|Red
    2|customrifle|Paid|Right|E - Quilted Maple|White|Brown|Corbys-SS|PC-D-Camo|White
    3|skippey|Paid|Right|C - Walnut|Red|Brown|Corbys-CP|PC-Red|Red
    4|EPointer=Birdss|Paid|Right|A - Spalted Teak|Green|Black|Loveless|PC-M-Camo|Green
    5|Mauser 308|Paid|Right|Q - BogOak|White/Green|Brown|Corbys-SS|PC-M-Camo|
    6|dwighet|Paid|Right|B - BogOak|Black|Black|Corbys-B|Leather|Brown
    7|belowaverageiq|Paid|Left|M - Box Elder Burl|Green/Black|Black|Corbys-SS|PC-M-Camo|
    8|Bibio|Paid|Right|L - Spalted Teak|Red/Black|Brown|Corbys-B|PC-M-Camo|
    9|riflehunter77|Paid|Right|D - Black Pauya|Brick|Brown|Corbys-B|PC-D-Camo|
    10|Dupont|Paid|Right|G - Cocobola|Blue|Brown|Corbys-Al|PC-Black|
    11|.220 Swift|Paid|Right|F - Box Elder Burl|White/Red|Brown|Corbys-SS|PC-Red|
    12|underthethumb|Paid|Right|R - Striped Ebony|Grey/Black|Black|Corbys-SS|PC-Black|Black
    13|650gs|Paid|Right|N - Jarah Burl|White|Brown|Corbys-Al|PC-D-Camo|Brown
    14|garveyjg|Paid|Right|I - Ambonya|Green|Brown|Corbys-SS|None|
    15|baldyshane|Paid|Right|T - Black Walnut|Brick|Brown|Corbys-Al|PC-H-Orange|
    |RESERVES||||||||
    *|demonloop||||||||
    *|Vegeta||||||||
    *|Macadam||||||||

This is the current state of play

Thanks Lads

Davy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭skippey

A good few here seem to have fairly similar taste in what we would like in the options given by Davy such as bog oak and leather ect, which we would probably have chosen on a one to one visit with him
    What this comp has given us is a totally unique knife to each of us here with some fab materials that I for one would never have thought of if I was choosing by myself
    Pluse the crack of trying to get in first for some material (moby:D bog oak:D:D:D) and the anticipation of what was coming next was unreal
    All I can say is thank god I'm a slow typer as I was going for TIGER WOOD :D:D:D
    I really just can't wait for the finished article
    Cheers Davy

davymoore wrote: »
    This was touched on earlier but ......... How about a Swap day?

A 24 hr period whereby everyone can swap parts with one another prior to the actual build . Would this be a runner? I think it would still fall within the spirit of the competition ... and it could be good craic anyway
    Moby30 - You know you want Bog oak:D;)

Right Lads

Choose a thread colour for your sheath

thread2.jpg

• Black
    • Brown
    • White
    • Red
    • Green
    Username : Option as usual

Decisions are final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

Dwighet-Brown

moby30 red

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭underthetumb

Underthetumb-black

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭skippey

Skippey red

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭650gs

650gs brown

Mauser 308 wrote: »
    Moby30 - You know you want Bog oak:D;)

Hmmm? Just thinking Mauser that bog oak might go well with my other choices:)

EPointer green

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭bibio

Bibio red

I hope I don't regret this but............ Customrifle White ( hopefully it ll look ok with the White liners)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭BELOWaverageIQ

Belowaverageiq : Green