90k a year and you can sit on your hole

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,490 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Why read them if it bothers you?

There are bloody tens of them every week - this story alone has three that I can see!
    The threads don't bother me, the same old content does though (including from me!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Why so quick to believe it's a scam and that the figures are correct - without actually finding out the full details?

Could it be because folks LIKE the idea of it being a scam so they can bitch and moan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭rsole1

You ****ing clown.

I can't believe that. I think I'd rather be poor but have my health though rather that take home €90K a year but have a disability and a child with special needs...

Your health is your wealth.

I agree with your sentiment but the disability allowance does not necessarily mean the chap has a disability, I know lads who are on disability benefit as they are alcholics, recovered/recovering drug addicts, certified nutters etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,651 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Dudess wrote: »
    Why so quick to believe it's a scam and that the figures are correct - without actually finding out the full details?

Could it be because folks LIKE the idea of it being a scam so they can bitch and moan?
    Exactly. I'm calling shenanigans on this story (for the third time today) until I can see proof that the "family" in the OP are entitled to the amounts that it's claimed they are receiving.

Then, and only then, will I light my torch and grab my pitchfork from the shed.

At the moment, I have a sneaking suspicion that this story was leaked by people in a government department who are shit scared that they are going to be personally hit by cuts in the budget. They saw they furore caused by a similar dubious story the other week (man in Tralee claims his kids are eating cardboard) and thought that they'd turn it on its head and get Joe Public to turn on the nasty (foreign) dole scroungers to deflect the attention from themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭LuckyCharms

This article is pure sensationalist drivel without the proper context. I do think their should be a review of the current social welfare system though as people do take advantage.

While this figure touted by the media may seem excessive, it is not stated anywhere why they qualify for it and until that happens, an informed judgement cannot be reached so its all opinions based on pure conjecture.

One question i would raise on this topic is : Would you trade your life for theirs? A family with 1 disabled child and a partner with a disability.

Nobody knows what type of problems this family has to deal with or why they get this level of support from the state but one thing i know is that i wouldn't trade my health or that of any member of my family for the sums being mentioned here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,903 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

If parents can't afford to keep children, don't keep having more. Easy. These people are both unemployed, and have six kids. Something not right there.
    And I'd be in the camp that Children's Allowance should be means-tested.

You say they are unemployed as if it was a choice...

he is on disability and she is his full-time carer

perhaps when they had their kids he was working full-time...who knows

you are the one who seems to making presumptions

btw I agree about the Child benefit

If those parents worked here for 10 years before having to claim, I'd not have a problem in them getting a hand from the state.
    But for people to claim having never given ANYTHING to the system they take from? No. Just no.

how do you know if they worked here or not...more presumption?
    Not really - It'd be nice to move somewhere else but quite frankly it's not within our financial situation right now. What would you have us do? If we have a choice (as you claim), I'm waiting to hear what else we could do.

Well I don't know all the details but in the current market I'd be surprised if you couldn't rent a place as cheaply in commuter towns in the greater dublin area

Riskymove wrote: »

You're making some presumptions yourself, the lady may well be the childs full time carer, not her husband's ;)

RoverJames wrote: »
    You're making some presumptions yourself, the lady may well be the childs full time carer, not her husband's ;)

fair enough, either way she is a full-time carer to someone, she does not appear to be 'sitting on her hole' or 'doing nothing'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

I don't blame the spongers, they are doing what they are entitled to do.

I blame the stupid system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,942 ✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

You say they are unemployed as if it was a choice...

As RoverJames pointed out, we don't know if one of the parents is a carer for the child, and not his/her partner. The facts aren't terribly forthcoming, truth be told.

I don't, which is why I used the magic word IF. If they worked here for several years and made a contribution, claiming is understandable. If they just showed up and received benefits, I've no time for that. We don't get it from other countries, so why do others get it from ours? Something is wrong when medical cards are given to welfare recipients, but everybody else gets hit hard with medical costs for doctors, prescriptions, etc.

Well I don't know all the details but in the current market I'd be surprised if you couldn't rent a place as cheaply in commuter towns in the greater dublin area

Absolutely, we'd love to... but then you have to factor in extra costs for travel - I already have to commute to the far side of the city, and my girlfriend cycles wherever she needs to go, or gets a bus if necessary.

As RoverJames pointed out, we don't know if one of the parents is a carer for the child, and not his/her partner. The facts aren't terribly forthcoming, truth be told.

I don't, which is why I used the magic word IF. If they worked here for several years and made a contribution, claiming is understandable. If they just showed up and received benefits, I've no time for that. We don't get it from other countries, so why do others get it from ours? Something is wrong when medical cards are given to welfare recipients, but everybody else gets hit hard with medical costs for doctors, prescriptions, etc.

but this all comes back to my original point

the issue here is about the system which gives so much to one family

people should be less focussed on the particular family (especially where they are from) and on the system

Frankly it doesn't matter what disability the husband has or who the wife is caring for

the problem is that they are both getting seperate payments (in addition to things like the child benefit) for essentially the same purpose (i.e. basic living standards for the family)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭JustAddWater

the problem is that they are both getting seperate payments (in addition to things like the child benefit) for essentially the same purpose (i.e. Luxurious living standards for the family)

Fixed your post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

No and it's none of my business - there should be a cap nonetheless. There should always be a cap on social welfare payments.

So what if the cap does not meet a family's genuine requirements? Tough **** now **** off?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    So what if the cap does not meet a family's genuine requirements? Tough **** now **** off?

well, what happens if someone is working and their income does not meet their requirments?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,791 ✭✭✭up for anything

dav3 wrote: »
    Why are people from the department of social welfare in Dublin leaking information to someone in Donegal?

The Child Benefit department is located in Letterkenny so it's probably someone from there leaking the information. A disgruntled civil servant. What next! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

well, what happens if someone is working and their income does not meet their requirments?

Requirements, as in a plasma screen TV and a third holiday; or requirements as in health?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Its a joke. Ollie Rehn woyuld have some chuckle to himself. 90 f**king grand a year.

Social welfare needs some going over. With an angle grinder too.

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Requirements, as in a plasma screen TV and a third holiday; or requirements as in health?

?

well 'genuine' requirments as you put it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Sooopie

Yeah, I mean, everyone knows Bosnians aren't people!

its a wonder they're here to sponge isn't it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

It would seem to me that people were more acceptable with this payment in yesterdays thread when it was thought to be an Irish family,
    today it's a foreign family and peoples views have changed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

hondasam wrote: »
    It would seem to me that people were more acceptable with this payment in yesterdays thread when it was thought to be an Irish family,
    today it's a foreign family and peoples views have changed.

People are probably wondering - how many people are coming into Ireland to make use of our social welfare system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/call-for-welfare-pay-cap-as-couple-claim-90k-a-year-168808.html#ixzz1Z9BAlJUe

90k a year from the state :eek::eek: .makes you wonder whos the feckin eejits getting out there and slogging their asses off in jobs for a third of what these are getting sitting on their holes .
    Blame Mary Robinson.

She opened the door to let the freeloaders into the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 903 ✭✭✭Herrick

"As well as receiving €90,000, they will not have to pay property tax or water charges. That is just wrong," he said.

I thought everyone had to pay these charges regardless of their income levels?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

"Immigants - I KNEW it was them!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,320 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

According to citizens advice the maximum you can get for Guardian pension is €164, accoirding the article this couple is getting €288.
    The Guardian's/Orphan's Pension payable under the Occupation Injuries Benefit Scheme is €164.80 in 2011.

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/social_welfare/social_welfare_payments/death_related_benefits/guardians_payments.html

The maximum you can get for a Carers allowance is €358, supposedly this couple in the article are earning €380. Not only that but to earn €358 you have to be over 66, if you are under 66 you earn €306.

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/social_welfare/social_welfare_payments/carers/carers_allowance.html

Disabiltiy allowance is set at a maximum of €188 a week if you are claim disability while your partner is claiming social welfare. Article claims the the father gets paid €322.

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/social_welfare/social_welfare_payments/disability_and_illness/disability_allowance.html

Now for Child Benefit; accoridng to citizens adivce again the payment for four children is €624 per month, according to news article these couple manage to get €288 per week, or €1,152 per month.

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/social_welfare/social_welfare_payments/social_welfare_payments_to_families_and_children/child_benefit.html

Would love to hear either the examiners take on this or Senator Jimmy Harte's.

Now for Child Benefit; accoridng to citizens adivce again the payment for four children is €624 per month, according to news article these couple manage to get €288 per week, or €1,152 per month.

in the case of twins/triplets the payments are increased

I thought they had 6 kids based on the mount but it is reported they have 4

its not clear if the child they are guardian for is included in the 4 or not

Dudess wrote: »
    "Immigants - I KNEW it was them!"

pfft, the term you are looking for is

"Dem Fordeigners"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,651 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

According to citizens advice the maximum you can get for Guardian pension is €164, accoirding the article this couple is getting €288.

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/social_welfare/social_welfare_payments/death_related_benefits/guardians_payments.html

The maximum you can get for a Carers allowance is €358, supposedly this couple in the article are earning €380. Not only that but to earn €358 you have to be over 66, if you are under 66 you earn €306.

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/social_welfare/social_welfare_payments/carers/carers_allowance.html

Disabiltiy allowance is set at a maximum of €188 a week if you are claim disability while your partner is claiming social welfare. Article claims the the father gets paid €322.

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/social_welfare/social_welfare_payments/disability_and_illness/disability_allowance.html

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/social_welfare/social_welfare_payments/social_welfare_payments_to_families_and_children/child_benefit.html

Would love to hear either the examiners take on this or Senator Jimmy Harte's.
    So would I.

But that's all inconsequential now; the whole point of the story has been fulfilled. Someone's trolled the whole country and all the plebs and Daily Mail types that are too fucking lazy to check up on the facts and take the bullshit at face value are up in arms at the immigrants and unemployed.

Job done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Musiconomist

minotour wrote: »
    Aren't all those payments listed monthly payments rather than weekly? I certainly dont get CA weekly, if these guys do then i want some, gimme, gimme, gimme

You dont have to be foreign to be greedy.