Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

90k a year and you can sit on your hole

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/call-for-welfare-pay-cap-as-couple-claim-90k-a-year-168808.html#ixzz1Z9BAlJUe

90k a year from the state :eek::eek: .makes you wonder whos the feckin eejits getting out there and slogging their asses off in jobs for a third of what these are getting sitting on their holes .

I can't believe that. I think I'd rather be poor but have my health though rather that take home €90K a year but have a disability and a child with special needs...

Your health is your wealth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Balderdash

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

I would like to know what disability he has and what special need the child has.
    That amount of money from social welfare is a disgrace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

I think this is at least the third thread on this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭hooradiation

Oh look, it's this thread again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Guill wrote: »

I thought previous stories had it placed in Donegal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

This thread has link. Thank you OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

Ah! Completely different so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

If I sat on a hole wouldn't I just fall into it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Oh look, it's this thread again.

It's not compulsary reading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 766 ✭✭✭mkdon05

This family I suspect have high medical related costs. They are claiming benefits that they are entitled to, as the state provides them.
    The family at the centre of this should not be highlighted any further as they are doing nothing wrong.
    Ireland needs to apply a cap on the amount of state benefits one household recieves, like England recently implemented.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭human repellent

ah what a country we live in, the land of the free

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭JustAddWater

Balderdash

Are you posting from the jacks again??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

No bother OP. I could fix you up with some brain damage or a couple of broken vertibrae for a small fee. Shure then you could sit on yer hole too. Would that suit you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

the Senator reporting the story is from Donegal

I think people just put two and two together and got 5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,982 ✭✭✭minikin

This family I suspect have high medical related costs.
    Medical card!

This is the bit I don't get: they're from Bosnia, not even a member of the E.U.
    How do we have any social obligation to them at all? Home you go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,157 ✭✭✭srsly78

They might have been accepted as refugees. That war is over a long time tho, so what does happen to refugees in this situation? They could go home, but are they forced to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭minotour

Aren't all those payments listed monthly payments rather than weekly? I certainly dont get CA weekly, if these guys do then i want some, gimme, gimme, gimme

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭lost marbles

sorry if i posted it again but i did browse the first few pages of AH and did,nt see it so thought it was fresh .
    anyways heres another TRUE CASE that i know of
    local family
    two adults
    three kids [well when i say kids they are in their twentys ]
    daughter has three kids for different dads [know where im coming from ;)]
    dad on disabilty ,[feck all wrong ] ,mother of the grandkids came up with this plan as to saying her nerves are shot and she cant take care of them .grandmother fostered the grandkids and gets payed .the whole family are on social .the daughter has a house around the corner payed for by the social thats used as sleeping, party house for herself and the other two kids .
    they fall out of taxis wednesday to sunday drunk as monkies .always buying and selling cars ect ,have a great life while the rest of us struggle to keep things afloat .
    now i did,nt do the maths on how much the social are paying this household per week but its a hell of alot more than they would get if they had to get off their arses and earn a living .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Your health is your wealth and no amount of social welfare would ever want me to be in this family's unfortunate situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

If true I might extend my services to them for free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Same stance as in the Doengal one: if the need it, fine. If they don't, prosecute. Specialist care if the condition is genuine is not cheap.

Interestingly, the newspaper never points out what conditions the kids are getting the money for... now why is that, I wonder?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,635 ✭✭✭xsiborg

if we're going to make a song and dance about this, can we also remind ourselves of the taoiseach's salary, which is more than that of even the British Prime Minister, David Cameron.

if we're going to talk about pure wastes of money for people that appear to us to do nothing, then Enda Kenny, and his predecessor, Brian Cowen, hell even Bertie Ahern, are prime examples of over-payments by the state!

i'd sooner see the salaries and allowances of our so-called political representatives under investigation and review than one single anecdotal social welfare case tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭..Brian..

Without knowing all the details of conditions and medical expenses (does the medical card cover the cost of home renovations for special needs? or things like wheel chairs or other necessary living aids?) its a bit premature to jump to conclusions but in all fairness, 90k a year seems a bit much alright!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

90k a year from the taxpayer's pockets and yet this thread is still full of apologists, sigh. Are you suggesting that there shouldn't be a welfare cap?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

A brutal and systematic cap on social welfare threads is definitely needed.

jester77 wrote: »
    Your health is your wealth and no amount of social welfare would ever want me to be in this family's unfortunate situation.

This is completely beside the point.
    No one is saying "would you swap your health for 90k"
    What they are saying is "should 90k of taxpayers money be given to a single (small) family?"
    My answer is no.
    If this man was able to work, is it likely he'd be earning the 140k needed to take home 90k? Even if himself and his wife were both working, would they be earning 140k? I can't imagine they would, so therefore they are considerably better off by virtue of the fact that they don't work. Despite all the bleeding heart bullshít these threads always attract, how does that make sense to anybody?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

xsiborg wrote: »
    if we're going to make a song and dance about this, can we also remind ourselves of the taoiseach's salary, which is more than that of even the British Prime Minister, David Cameron.

if we're going to talk about pure wastes of money for people that appear to us to do nothing, then Enda Kenny, and his predecessor, Brian Cowen, hell even Bertie Ahern, are prime examples of over-payments by the state!

i'd sooner see the salaries and allowances of our so-called political representatives under investigation and review than one single anecdotal social welfare case tbh.

One shouldnt exclude the other.

Kenny earning more than Cameron doesnt seem right.
    But that doesnt mean that 90.000 from social welfare is ok because Kenny earns more than Cameron.

Both cases (ministers salaries and social welfare) should be looked at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,982 ✭✭✭minikin

..Brian.. wrote: »
    Without knowing all the details of conditions and medical expenses (does the medical card cover the cost of home renovations for special needs? or things like wheel chairs or other necessary living aids?) its a bit premature to jump to conclusions but in all fairness, 90k a year seems a bit much alright!

in a word: yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Sooopie

minikin wrote: »
    Medical card!

This is the bit I don't get: they're from Bosnia, not even a member of the E.U.
    How do we have any social obligation to them at all? Home you go.

Are you serious, fcuking BOSNIA & they're getting 90K a year?

Thats a fcuking JOKE, no wonder this country is in the ****ter & all you bleeding heart liberals can jog right on before you get on yer soap boxes :mad::mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

Jesus i did'nt see as many threads started when these high ranking civil servent gangsters got away with huge golden handshakes and pensions. Oh sorry i forgot i'm on boards nevermind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

Jesus i did'nt see as many threads started when these high ranking civil servent gangsters got away with huge golden handshakes and pensions. Oh sorry i forgot i'm on boards nevermind.

You didn't? There were loads of them.

Riskymove wrote: »
    the Senator reporting the story is from Donegal

I think people just put two and two together and got 5

Not really, it's more that the previous thread had no link and a jumble of info.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,565 ✭✭✭Dymo

..Brian.. wrote: »

Yes the council will build extensions on to houses, pay for rent in a new house while this is been done and pay for the furniture movers to move their goods to and from the house. If a person has a disability like a bad back:rolleyes: they will do all this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

90k a year from the taxpayer's pockets and yet this thread is still full of apologists, sigh. Are you suggesting that there shouldn't be a welfare cap?

Are you suggesting that you know exactly what the medical conditions are and how much they costs?? because if you are please state...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭hooradiation

Sooopie wrote: »
    Are you serious, fcuking BOSNIA & they're getting 90K a year?

Thats a fcuking JOKE, no wonder this country is in the ****ter & all you bleeding heart liberals can jog right on before you get on yer soap boxes :mad::mad::mad:

Yeah, I mean, everyone knows Bosnians aren't people!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Are you suggesting that you know exactly what the medical conditions are and how much they costs?? because if you are please state...

No and it's none of my business - there should be a cap nonetheless. There should always be a cap on social welfare payments.

From having a scan of that article, why are they counting children's allowance as social welfare? And is the payment for a child taken in a fostering allowance?

Is Jimmy going mad primarily because they're bozzies? Or even disbaled bozzies? Or even disabled fostering bozzies?

We need to be told.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

stovelid wrote: »
    A brutal and systematic cap on social welfare threads is definitely needed.

Even though I'm like a fly around a heap of shyte with these threads, I agree.
    CAP THESE FCKIN THREADS!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Yet another example of why I think we need to cut the social welfare once and for all!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭draiochtanois

No and it's none of my business - there should be a cap nonetheless. There should always be a cap on social welfare payments.

Exactly. I don't care if it's Stephen Hawking's and family - nobody should be getting 90k off the dole, nobody. I heard someone mention that's the equivalent of earning 140k -roughly 4 years average industrial wage!
    It's fúcking mental is what it is!

Yet another example of why I think we need to cut the social welfare once and for all!!

Sorry...but in a previous thread after a decent back and forth conversation it transpired that this isn't what you wanted at all.

So why repeat it again if you don't mean it?

Maybe because as a universal payment, every family in the country gets it regardless of whether they work or not?

So perhaps people fulminating about it that receive it themselves is a little fucking dumb would you say?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭johnners2981

gambiaman wrote: »
    Even though I'm like a fly around a heap of shyte with these threads, I agree.
    CAP THESE FCKIN THREADS!

Why read them if it bothers you?

Did Jimmy ever take this gratuity payment on top of his salary I wonder?

http://www.oceanfm.ie/article/Two-North-West-Senators-among-13-representatives-to-share-in-450000-windfall-/

Would the work involved to get a once-off gratuity payment like that amount to "sitting on one's arse" I wonder?

Obviously I could be wrong and he probably gave it back in keeping with his trenchant sensationalist publicity raking views about wasting public money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭lost marbles

stovelid wrote: »
    From having a scan of that article, why are they counting children's allowance as social welfare? And is the payment for a child taken in a fostering allowance?

Is Jimmy going mad primarily because they're bozzies? Or even disbaled bozzies? Or even disabled fostering bozzies?

We need to be told.
    "jimmy" isnt going mad at any of your suggestions given "jimmy" is mad at the way the system can be exploited [ok i dont know the real situtation in the case in the op ] .but for some family to get 90k a year wether or not their case needs it is just plain stupid .
    the system is what "jimmy is mad about .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

I've been unemployed previously and I had to make do on about €200 a week. I couldn't bring myself to claim all the little extras as all i wanted to do was work again and get off the damned dole as soon as possible.

It's absolutely ****ing SICKENING that these people can earn more than FOUR times what I currently earn, and they don't have to do a thing. Why bother working 40+ hours a week at all?

Same with the tax system - workers get our bollocks taxed off all the time. The harder we work, the more we earn; but in reality, it mostly gets taxed anyways so what's the point?

I genuinely fear for the future of our country when there's so little incentive to work, and so much incentive to scam off the system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭Spudmonkey

Both myself and my girlfriend work full time and our combined gross wage doesn't come within an asses roar of 90k. Madness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Sorry...but in a previous thread after a decent back and forth conversation it transpired that this isn't what you wanted at all.

So why repeat it again if you don't mean it?

Edit: A lot of elements of the social welfare need to be eliminated once and for all!

(These include most welfare/grants that aren't related to funding those on the lower end of the stick with health problems/ailments)