If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Pimp My Knife

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 563 ✭✭✭davymoore

#|USER NAME|DEP|L/R|Handle|Option
    1|moby30|Paid|Right||
    2|customrifle|Paid|Right|E - Quilted Maple|
    3|skippey|Paid|Right||
    4|EPointer=Birdss|Paid|Right|A - Spalted Teak|
    5|Mauser 308|Paid|Right||
    6|dwighet|Paid|Right|B - BogOak|
    7|belowaverageiq|Paid|Left||
    8|Bibio|Paid|Right||
    9|riflehunter77|Paid|Right|D - Black Pauya|
    10|Dupont|Paid|Right|G - Cocobola|
    11|.220 Swift|Paid|Right|F - Box Elder|
    12|underthethumb|Paid|Right||
    13|650gs|Paid|Right||
    14|garveyjg|Paid|Right|I - Ambonya|
    15|baldyshane|Paid|Right||
    |RESERVES||||
    *|demonloop||||
    *|Vegeta||||
    *|Macadam||||

This is the current state of play

Thanks Lads

Davy

Note: C - Walnut is still available,,, But plenty more to come

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭sikastag

Have to say this is really fantastic. Really enjoying it, find myself checking in just to see the choices up for grabs etc. Im sure the chosen 15 are excited about their projects. Fair dues to ya Davy, you'll be a busy man. Gutted I missed this as I was away when it kicked off. Maybe sometime in the future when monies are more abundant i might get in touch about a custom knife.

Goodluck to davy and lads involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭riflehunter77

davymoore wrote: »
    No walk off a long pier,, but my day finishes at a certain time too

I don't mind dealing with replies, PMs, requests, emails etc but there has to be a limit on the time spent both on the project and on the computer.
    I prefer to be in the Workshop actually doing work. I have commisions that need to be worked on. Ask any of the lads who have ordered a commission knife it takes lots of emails to finalize a project Then like everyone else I have to put some time away for the family life.

The various steps we are taking in this project are the exact same steps I take on each commission we are only at step 2 :D

All that said....The next couple of days will be at 5:30 ish

I'll do my best to accomodate everyone but that might not be possible

Hope ye understand

Davy

No bother Davy I know were you are coming from. You have a busy few months ahead of you. Cant wait to see the end result for all 15 knives :eek::D. Its a fantastic project and I cant wait to see it evolve over the coming months.

RH 77

ggi.jpg

G - Cocobola CLAIMED - Dupont
    H - Beefwood
    I - Ambonya CLAIMED - garveyjg

Happy Hunting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 garveyjg

garveyj I - Ambonya

• Closed Accounts Posts: 506 ✭✭✭moby30

Moby30 I ambonia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Dupont

dupont
    g
    cocabola

Ah s##t. Well done Garvey. Let's see what ye have tomorrow Davy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Dupont

i must say davy them is some great timbers,the colours of some of them and the grain,this competition is hotting up:D

Dupont wrote: »
    i must say davy them is some great timbers,the colours of some of them and the grain,this competition is hotting up:D

Thanks Dupont

Just to let you guys know, The blocks of timber you are looking at in the pics are approx 5" (125mm) Long and 1 1/2" (38mm) wide. So the grains and figuring are as you can expect to see in the finished handle. It really is top quality stuff

Davy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

moby30 wrote: »
    Moby30 I ambonia

3 for 3.
    I'm sorry lad but I can't help laughing. :D
    I honestly hope there's something special waiting for you. Contrary to my competitive nature!;)

Thanks Epointer. In fairness I'd be pi###ng myself laughin if it was any of the others:) nearly bounced the phone off the wall when I saw garveyjg bet me to it today:) it's a good laugh though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

Ah fair funny. Bet ya you'll find something decent.
    Craic of it sure

I'm surprised the Beefwood hasn't been snapped up by now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Was thinking the same thing. It's stunning, but then again davy the quality of all those materials has really left me speechless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 garveyjg

Ah s##t. Well done Garvey. Let's see what ye have tomorrow Davy.

Sorry moby30, but i loved the grain of that timber!. Great selection so far Davy! you now what they say Moby30 the best things comes too those who wait. You never know what tomorrow brings, Good luck:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭underthetumb

i hope your right garvy, i am beginning to panick a bit i must admit, keep missing out, my own fault as i have not been near a computer at the relevant times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭demonloop

Beefwood and the walnut the best two so far IMO, both still available :confused:

Same here Davy its a fine bit of timber really unique looking.

Thanks Epointer. In fairness I'd be pi###ng myself laughin if it was any of the others:) nearly bounced the phone off the wall when I saw garveyjg bet me to it today:) it's a good laugh though

Ah jayzus moby will you pull your finger out eah :D:D cant believe you missed out again. Keep the auld head up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭macadam

Really enjoying read through this nearly glad now i didnt get in it brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

All of the timber selections are going to look class once Davy has done his magic.....No one will be dissapointed.

The pics of the timber dont do them justice at all until you see the finished product...

Just google the name of the timber and hit images....then you will see how they will look once sanded and polished....

Example.... look at I (ambonya)
    ggi.jpg
    Now look at it all polished up
    Blood%20Amboyna%20004.JPG
    NICE HEY

Hi Lads

Just wanted to let ye know that the CPM154 Steel arrived today.

Long evenings ahead !

Bloody cu$tom$ stung me too.

steel.jpg

Davy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭Hibrion

Customs are on to everyone now. I got stung for a few bits from the state recently. There even have the cheek to ask for a "government handling charge" now!

Hibrion wrote: »
    Customs are on to everyone now. I got stung for a few bits from the state recently. There even have the cheek to ask for a "government handling charge" now!

Hey Hib
    I sent you a PM there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭lb1981

some nice looking wood there

And up for grabs today are the following choices ....

lll.jpg

J - Buckeye Maple Claimed : Moby30
    K - Quilted Sepacle
    L - Spalted Teak Claimed : Bibio

Happy Hunting

Davy

moby30 j buckeye maple

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭BELOWaverageIQ

Belowaverageiq J - Buckeye Maple

Fek ya Moby haha