If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Pimp My Knife

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 563 ✭✭✭davymoore

#|USER NAME|DEP|L/R|Handle|Liners
    1|moby30|Paid|Right|J - Buckeye Maple|
    2|customrifle|Paid|Right|E - Quilted Maple|
    3|skippey|Paid|Right|C - Walnut|
    4|EPointer=Birdss|Paid|Right|A - Spalted Teak|
    5|Mauser 308|Paid|Right|Q - BogOak|
    6|dwighet|Paid|Right|B - BogOak|
    7|belowaverageiq|Paid|Left|M - Box Elder Burl|
    8|Bibio|Paid|Right|L - Spalted Teak|
    9|riflehunter77|Paid|Right|D - Black Pauya|
    10|Dupont|Paid|Right|G - Cocobola|
    11|.220 Swift|Paid|Right|F - Box Elder|
    12|underthethumb|Paid|Right|R - Striped Ebony|
    13|650gs|Paid|Right|N - Jarah Burl|
    14|garveyjg|Paid|Right|I - Ambonya|
    15|baldyshane|Paid|Right|T - Black Walnut|
    |RESERVES||||
    *|demonloop||||
    *|Vegeta||||
    *|Macadam||||

This is the current state of play

Thanks Lads

Davy

Last lot tomorrow !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭baldyshane

Really sorrry I missed yesterday and todays choices some lovely stuff there. It seems I am holding up the whole process.
    That said I am going to wait for tomorrows before I make my final decision;);)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭BELOWaverageIQ

A really diverse selection of timbers, fair play Davy.
    Personally I'm delighted with the one I landed, can't wait to see them progress but if for some strange reason I happen to win the comp please please please name it something other than my user name :p

Ok and the final selection is....

vwx.jpg

V - Buffalo Horn
    W - Black Canvas Micarta
    X - Paracord Wrap (various colours)

Something other than timbers to round things out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭skippey

buffalo looks lovely thats a hard choice to choose between whats left baldy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

I would love that horn....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

dwighet wrote: »
    I would love that horn....

:o

Right so I better decide. Today choices were interesting but I think I would like to keep with a timber handle so here goes

baldyshane - T- Black walnut

Cheers Davy can't wait to see what comes next

Right Lads thats step 2 complete,

I hope ye enjoyed the choices and that everyone got what they wanted. I tried to put as strange and diverse a range of possibilities as I could given the limitations of what was actually in the workshop at the time.

I'd like to point out something at this point ....

Timber is a natural material, It's a beautiful material and what makes it beautiful in most cases is the figuring in the timber. This figuring is due to grains, knots, twists and cracking in the timber itself. However the very things that make the timber beautiful are what may come accross as flaws in some cases.

As I work the timber I may expose a knot or a crack, Perhaps a worm hole or a void may become visible. In most cases I will be able to fill or repair these natural flaws but it's not always possible. I happen to think that this is an exciting thing and it gives your knife that "One Off"ness that you don't get with a factory built knife.

But just be aware of this

Davy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 506 ✭✭✭moby30

thanks davy i always found that you can make a piece even more interesting by highlighting flaws like this-i do a lot of turning and do a bit of carving and i always love filling in splits and knots in the wood with solder-tricky enough to do and being honest doesnt always work out but when it does its spectacular. dont think any of us can complain with whats been offered so far-cant wait to see whats coming next.

Next Step

Choose Your Liner Material

pimp-2.jpg

The liner material is the RED material in the photo above.

It serves 2 functions. The first function is purely one of aesthetics (it looks good) and it works as a nice contrast between the timber handle and the steel blade. The second function is as a moisture barrier. Timber handles absorb moisture over time and this moisture can have an affect on your blade material. The micarta liner helps to inhibit this process (A customer recently called it a DPC / Damp Proof Course :D) although it can't be 100% succesfull.

So have a think about it for a bit and I will make some colour options available later.

Davy

liners.jpg

Choices as follows

Blue
    Green
    White
    Grey
    Black
    Brick
    Red

You may choose up to 2 colours (Handy for club colours etc.)

If you wish you may opt for None

State the colour/s you wish to choose as follows Username - Colour

e.g davymoore - Blue

If you would like to have 2 colours then state which colour you would like next to the timber first in your selection

Example :

liners2.jpg

In this case the RED is next to the timber handle and the Green is next to the Steel Blade

So in order to select this opton

Username - Red / Green

Davy

As with all options there is no reversing ...... All Decisions Are Final!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 garveyjg

garveyjg - green,,,, thanks Davy:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 506 ✭✭✭moby30

moby30 red / black

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭customrifle

customrifle white

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

Dwighet- Black

#|USER NAME|DEP|L/R|Handle|Liners
    1|moby30|Paid|Right|J - Buckeye Maple|Red/Black
    2|customrifle|Paid|Right|E - Quilted Maple|White
    3|skippey|Paid|Right|C - Walnut|Red
    4|EPointer=Birdss|Paid|Right|A - Spalted Teak|Green
    5|Mauser 308|Paid|Right|Q - BogOak|White/Green
    6|dwighet|Paid|Right|B - BogOak|Black
    7|belowaverageiq|Paid|Left|M - Box Elder Burl|Green/Black
    8|Bibio|Paid|Right|L - Spalted Teak|Red/Black
    9|riflehunter77|Paid|Right|D - Black Pauya|Brick
    10|Dupont|Paid|Right|G - Cocobola|Blue
    11|.220 Swift|Paid|Right|F - Box Elder Burl|White/Red
    12|underthethumb|Paid|Right|R - Striped Ebony|Grey/Black
    13|650gs|Paid|Right|N - Jarah Burl|White
    14|garveyjg|Paid|Right|I - Ambonya|Green
    15|baldyshane|Paid|Right|T - Black Walnut|Brick
    |RESERVES||||
    *|demonloop||||
    *|Vegeta||||
    *|Macadam||||

This is the current state of play

Thanks Lads

Davy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭BELOWaverageIQ

BelowaverageIQ - Green / Black

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭demonloop

That brick liner is gonna look great against some of the woods IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭riflehunter77

Riflehunter77 brick

Epointer=Birdss green

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭650gs

650gs- white

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭skippey

Skippey - red

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭bibio

Bibio Red Black

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Dupont

dupont blue

Baldyshane -Brick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭underthetumb

underthtumb-grey/black

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 .220 swift

.220 swift white/red (up the rebels!!!!) like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭Mauser 308

Mauser308 white/green

Mauser 308 wrote: »
    Mauser308 white/green

Good limerick colours there Mauser :D