If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Jürgen Stark: Abandon the Croke Park Agreement, cut welfare

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

ChRoMe wrote: »
    Pity you dont share the same compassion for your fellow Irish citizens.

He had a point Monty (even if he made it harshly)- we are creating a poverty trap. So when (if) the state manages to pay off its loans what kind of society will be left? The divide between rich and poor is growing ever wider. What we are seeing is the will to cut funds and services to the poor but not to tackle the wealthy.

I think many of us here who are enjoying the largess of the SW system would feel less like disposable burdens on the state and more like we are all in this together if these on the top of the dung heap experienced some genuine financial cuts - I am referring specifically to those paid out of the public coffers - not a token few grand (which usually amount to someone on SW's yearly income) from what was a vastly inflated salary to bring it down to down to a hugely inflated salary.

Take a tenner off me - but take 10,000 of the basic TD's income. Although I bet my tenner is worth more to me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,554 ✭✭✭RedXIV

Living in London would make it a bit of a **** commute tbh.

Move back, problem solved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭ChRoMe

RedXIV wrote: »
    Move back, problem solved

Yeah, no thanks, I'm happy with the decision I made. The views being expressed on this thread compound that decision.

Ah but here we have the crux of the matter. You're not willing to move back. Thats fair enough, your choice and all that but you can't complain about "no jobs anywhere?!!??!?" and then say "oh i meant within a reasonable commute to my current abode as otherwise it'd be a bit of hassle"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭sarumite

Just because you dont agree with my points, does not mean they are not being made.
    It's possible to disagree with someones comments and not resort to insulting posts. I doubt you would say in real life some of the things you have said on this thread....well, at least I hope you wouldn't.

Ah but here we have the crux of the matter. You're not willing to move back. Thats fair enough, your choice and all that but you can't complain about "no jobs anywhere?!!??!?" and then say "oh i meant within a reasonable commute to my current abode as otherwise it'd be a bit of hassle"

I wasnt speaking on my behalf just the near half million on the dole that obviously dont share the same view that there are jobs to be had.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    He had a point Monty - we are creating a poverty trap.
    I disagree. I think we created the poverty trap decades ago when we made 'doler' a viable career choice. Now we have generations of a doler underclass who know nothing about work, and think all their 'entitlements' come from the dole fairy.
    So when (if) the state manages to pay off its loans what kind of society will be left? The divide between rich and poor is growing ever wider. What we are seeing is the will to cut funds and services to the poor but not to tackle the wealthy.
    How should the wealthy be 'tackled'? :confused:
    The divide between rich and poor is growing (if it's growing at all) only because the wealthy are getting wealthier faster than the poor are getting wealthy. Compare the lifestyle of someone on the dole with a middle-class person in the 1930s. What do you see?

And what is the alternative to the state paying back the debts that Fianna Failure left us?
    I think many of us here who are enjoying the largess of the SW system would feel less like disposable burdens on the state and more like we are all in this together if these on the top of the dung heap experienced some genuine financial cuts - I am referring specifically to those paid out of the public coffers - not a token few grand (which usually amount to someone on SW's yearly income) from what was a vastly inflated salary to bring it down to down to a hugely inflated salary.
    I totally agree.
    Take a tenner off me - but take 10,000 of the basic TD's income. Although I bet my tenner is worth more to me...
    Yes, I agree completely. It should be done.

sarumite wrote: »
    It's possible to disagree with someones comments and not resort to insulting posts. I doubt you would say in real life some of the things you have said on this thread....well, at least I hope you wouldn't.

I'd never post anything that I would not say to your face. Pointing out someone's hypocrisy is not insulting them, however having their flaws demonstrated might have the same emotional effect to them. If I was insulting someone I'd call them a c|_|nt

Start transferring part of their wealth and distribute it to the rest of society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,019 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,289 ✭✭✭tfitzgerald

I wasnt speaking on my behalf just the near half million on the dole that obviously dont share the same view that there are jobs to be had.

Let's kill this before it gets started there ar NO jobs out there at the moment as for cutting welfare their seems to be an illusion at the moment that if you are on welfare your loaded well that's a joke and anyone that believes that is a fool if the want to save money the government should start with themselves and there expense accounts and get rid of the Seanad straight away
    G

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.

There is a huge distance between not wanting to be rich and wanting to pay your basic bills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭Flex

Start transferring part of their wealth and distribute it to the rest of society.

Do you know what percentage of the states total revenue from income tax is paid by the top 3 or 4% of earners??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,364 ✭✭✭ei.sdraob

Marx called, he wants his failed ideology back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭sarumite

I'd never post anything that I would not say to your face. Pointing out someone's hypocrisy is not insulting them, however having their flaws demonstrated might have the same emotional effect to them. If I was insulting someone I'd call them a c|_|nt

I would rather you just called me that, than celebrate a post showing gleeful delight at the prospect of people losing their jobs and ending up on SW. For the record, you can dance your heart out as I am one of those on SW while agreeing with the broad principles of this thread.

sarumite wrote: »
    I would rather you just called me that, than celebrate a post showing gleeful delight at the prospect of people losing their jobs and ending up on SW. For the record, you can dance your heart out as I am one of those on SW while agreeing with the broad principles of this thread.

Thats a syndrome commonly referred to as "temporarily embarrassed millionaires".

I'm not celebrating anyone losing their job, quite the opposite. In fact myself and a handful of other posters appear to be the only people here arguing on behalf of people on social welfare. All most posts have been centred around the desire for people on social welfare not to be attacked as is being suggested by the majority here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,644 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

if the want to save money the government should start with themselves and there expense accounts and get rid of the Seanad straight away

The Seanad costs €25 million a year. The Department of Social Protection costs about €14 billion a year. So a 1% cut in the Department's budget has more than 5 times the effect of getting rid of the Seanad completely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 ALBUR182

Hello, I've read this post with fascination for the last hour, and while I see a modicum of sense in opinions from both sides being displayed on this thread, my opinion woud be that I, as a middle class earner who as a single man with no dependants, and who loses €1600 PM through taxes, can AFFORD to lose more money through higher taxation. I see no other option for the government.

But what I see as a fair thing to do, would be to take an average 3% off every earner, pensioner, and unemployed person in Ireland in the forthcoming budget. That would mean a loss of €5.60 PW for the unemployed, a loss of €8 PW for pensioners, a loss of around €100 PM for the middle earners, and high earners of €100,000 would lose a minimum of €200 PM.

But getting back to the 'No Jobs' scenario, I don't believe that for a second. one need only take a look at the different jobs websites online to see the variety of skilled, semi skilled and unskilled jobs that are available, if the people of Ireland wanted to do them.

The people of Ireland who are unemployed and who have no dependants and who are on the dole 'for the lifestye' which doesn't include the OP i might add, should have jobs offered to them (an example would be the FAS incentivised jobs, which get people back on the ladder working in an unskilled or semi skilled environment, while earning a nice wedge more than the dole) , which they must take or lose their benefits.

I earn a good wage as I kept at a job through thick and thin in the retail sector, although I had a decent degree in computing, and in time I was rewarded to a level which I can proudly call myself middle class. In the sector where I work, there is always positions for people who want to come in at the bottom and move up the ladder.

Its only an opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,283 ✭✭✭✭Scofflaw

Thats a syndrome commonly referred to as "temporarily embarrassed millionaires".

I'm not celebrating anyone losing their job, quite the opposite. In fact myself and a handful of other posters appear to be the only people here arguing on behalf of people on social welfare. All most posts have been centred around the desire for people on social welfare not to be attacked as is being suggested by the majority here.

Actually, your posts have centred around being rude to anyone espousing that view. 3-day ban for inflammatory posts and general failure to engage with the arguments being given rather than just being rude to the people giving them.

moderately,
    Scofflaw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭mlumley

You could do what the Americans do, tax them on world wide assets, no excape then, and no need to cause a bank run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

I get where you're coming from but it can be very easily poked holes in when you say something similar like "we won't pay money for food for 2 years and then use the savings to buy a farm". Yes after 2 years you'll probably have plenty of food etc, but are you going to survive the 2 years without food?

But that is what the SW is, I will pay you until you get work. I am looking for work, I am actively seeking employment since my son was a year old (I planned on going back to college after a year, when that failed I went looking for work)
    Its great that he is educating himself, I fully endorse that. But on the same token, my dad got a degree while holding down a full time job with 3 kids in the house. Took him 10 years but he did it. And we never had to claim social welfare. If you get desperate, surely working full time and studying part-time makes more sense?

Fair dues to your dad, I hope he is doing well at his career:)

He is looking for evening work too, but again as I said, we live far from town and all transport ceases at 11-12 pm so it limits anything either of us can get, especially a good bit away from the city, or any towns. Also Veterinary is not a degree than cannot be made part-time, he left here at 8 this morning, he was home at 4 since today is the first day back, and tomorrow he is studying from 8-5 so that means he will leave here at 7 and arrive home at all hours because he will have to study too and these modules are extremely difficult (this is the most academic year) it is a degree that requires all college breaks and weekends as part of your learning too.

He is not in receipt of welfare and I am seeking employment so we are not just lazying around the system either (thank God)

I disagree. I think we created the poverty trap decades ago when we made 'doler' a viable career choice. Now we have generations of a doler underclass who know nothing about work, and think all their 'entitlements' come from the dole fairy.

Agree - But we also created an elite class who believe they are 'entitled' to 'earn' huge salaries paid from the public purse.

Close the tax loopholes. Stop bringing in short-sighted tax initiatives and schemes like the SSIA. Much of the building boom was fed by tax incentives aimed at developers - how many of those properties are in NAMA? All US citizens are liable for federal tax regardless of country of residence - why not all Irish citizens? Move your money abroad - but give up your citizenship.

Take the artist's exemption - great idea. I knows loads of artists who genuinely are struggling and need a tax break. But it's currently 40,000 year! 40,000 a year tax free! Why not 20,000? That's still twice the dole.
    The divide between rich and poor is growing (if it's growing at all) only because the wealthy are getting wealthier faster than the poor are getting wealthy. Compare the lifestyle of someone on the dole with a middle-class person in the 1930s. What do you see?

- in the 1930s the country had come out of nearly two decades of war, was bankrupt, was servicing a debt to the UK until FF came to power, saw a flood of 'old' money transferred to the UK after independence and it was the height of the Great Depression. So for comparison purposes the 1930s don't really work. It also did not pay public servants of any level the kind of wages McCarthy was getting. Although maybe the seeds were sown then - didn't Dev say no man is worth more the £1,000 a year and proceed to pay himself £1,500.

What I did see during the Celtic Tiger was children being educated in portacabins, a health service already under severe pressure while millions were wasted on payrole systems, electronic voting machines and other wastes of money. Rather than make genuine improvements in our national services - government decided to award everyone in the country more money - with themselves and their advisors on exponentially more. Most of those responsible for this fiasco have escaped with no equatable financial burden being placed on them whatsoever.
    And what is the alternative to the state paying back the debts that Fianna Failure left us?

We have no choice but to pay - however, the method of raising the funds at the moment is to primarily target those who have very little and those who are just managing while those those who have a lot cannot be touched due to 'contractual' reasons, or they will take there money elsewhere or for what ever other reason is trotted out.
    ALL must share equally. We are not seeing that. We are seeing the existence of a protected elite. This wealthy elite simply did not exist in Ireland in the 1930s - or if it did - it was not publicly funded.

Current government policy - which is in effect no different from the previous government's policy is compounding the divide between the haves and the have-nots while creating an intermediate category of the haves-for-nows.

The State did not invest in the country when we thought we had money - instead government engaged in window dressing vanity projects and flinging money around like snuff at a wake. Already education and health care were creaking - top heavy with administrators and overpaid professors and consultants. Free fees for all undergrads while in real terms cutting university funding.

Current government policy is compounding those mistakes, while there is a growing 'Us Vs Them' tendency (the employed Vs the Unemployed, private Vs public sector) that is very worrying. Our society is starting to crumble - which is what the UNCTD report warns re:austerity measures) while we bicker amongst ourselves and those that caused this mess continue to be insulated from the repercussions.

While we argue amongst ourselves, who is watching those in control?

You'd think we'd have worked out about Divide and Conquer as a tactic by now...

We are a country - not an economy. Is your whole family life based around your income/expenditure or is there more to it? There is more to a society then the economy - there is quality of life for all citizens. There should also be the will of the government to ensure all citizens are treated equally - not show such blatant favouritism. Assuming you have kids - do you favour one over the others? If Johnny and Mary were caught slogging apples. Johnny's pocket money is stopped to pay for the apples but Mary gets to keep 90% of hers?

wolfpawnat wrote: »
    But that is what the SW is, I will pay you until you get work. I am looking for work, I am actively seeking employment since my son was a year old (I planned on going back to college after a year, when that failed I went looking for work)

Good stuff, fair dues :)

Fair dues to your dad, I hope he is doing well at his career:)

Currently unemployed :P but thats because he retired from Na Gardaí and wants a tech-y job.

He is looking for evening work too, but again as I said, we live far from town and all transport ceases at 11-12 pm so it limits anything either of us can get, especially a good bit away from the city, or any towns. Also Veterinary is not a degree than cannot be made part-time, he left here at 8 this morning, he was home at 4 since today is the first day back, and tomorrow he is studying from 8-5 so that means he will leave here at 7 and arrive home at all hours because he will have to study too and these modules are extremely difficult (this is the most academic year) it is a degree that requires all college breaks and weekends as part of your learning too.

He is not in receipt of welfare and I am seeking employment so we are not just lazying around the system either (thank God)

Aye, i know, its a tough life, my mam works with vets day, day out. And I agree, once he's qualified, you'll probably pay 10 times over what you've claimed. I think thats great and I wish ye all the best with it.

My only concern is that maybe you'll sacrifice a bit TOO much to get there. You'll have to forgive me now but I noticed earlier you said you had mold on your walls with a 1yr old in the house. I had a similar problem recently and had to get it sorted because I'd be worried about long term effects. I've got a set of career goals I'd love to achieve but when I found out I was going to be a dad, I pushed them to one side and just focused on being a provider. Now I'm doing what I can in my spare time to get back on track but I won't leave my full time job to do it because first and foremost, I need to care for me kids (another coming in 3 weeks!). Its not a decision I'm ecstatic about but I'm content knowing I'm doing what I can

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭galway2007

hope you feel better after you rant and hate to put a damper on you but you should read this
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0912/ecb2-business.html

Why is that fair? And how do you propose it be done?

Edit: Oh, you've been banned. Never mind so.

No - I WANT A JOB. I want to be allowed to pursue the profession I trained hard and long for. I cannot because our austerity measures include cutting the jobs of front-line staff in the public services - no matter what government says.

I am complaining at the portrayal of people like me as 'spongers' by some commentators here and the utter lack of compassion or understanding shown to those who despite having done the right thing - find themselves at the mercy of the SW system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Or we could learn the lessons of history and see what actually worked the last time there was a massive global recession - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New_Deal

But sure we all know FDR was a well know leftie...oh hang on. No he wasn't.

We have around 1/2 million adults dependent on SW in this country - most of them as a direct result of the financial melt-down caused by government mis-management of the economy, little or no regulation of the financial sector and unsustainable speculation on property.

These are 1/2 a million people who do not have a disposable cent as it is but are about to be hit by fuel charges imposed by utility companies who can squander 900 per chair and pay senior staff outrageous salaries.

These are 1/2 a million people who are struggling to eat never mind keep a roof over their heads - and if they have dependent children must find thousands of euro a year to fund our so-called free education but are being told by the overpaid mandarins in Leinster House (elected and unelected) that we are all in this together and must all take a hit. A 15% cut in 10,000 P.A is a Vastly different proposition to a 10% cut from 100,000 a year. And this from people who can claim expenses just for showing up at their place of work.

But lets all buy Irish, lets get the retail sector going, lets cut VAT in the hospitality sector, lets have 2 years scrappage scheme to aid the Japanese, French, Germany motor industries.

1/2 a million people in this country have no choice in what they buy - they buy the cheapest they can get. They cannot afford to eat out. They cannot afford to put petrol in the car.

Every week there is another example of how those who were tasked with running the state are still riding the gravy train into a plush and comfortable retirement, while those who gambled on property developement can still get salaries of up to 200,000 a year from our money.

Latest one :

Read more: http://www.examiner.ie/ireland/hse-reformer-receives-1m-since-retiring-167207.html#ixzz1Xjnnl2Ay

But hey - the country is broke so lets hit those who already have nothing. Let's ignore the UNCTD Report on why austerity measures are a very bad idea. Let's ignore the lessons of history which show that investment in employment, regualtion of financial sector, accountability and protection of the vulnurable actually work to kick start an economy.

Lets all heed the advise of a banker having a hissy fit instead...

I should say I have no problem with either Child benefit or Old Age Pension being means tested - in fact, I think they should be. My own mother has a medical Health Card while also having full private insurance - she has never even claimed the card as simply doesn't need it. I know people who put the Child benefit straight into a saving account and others who need it to pay utility bills so their children can be kept warm.

Irish society is deeply divided and historically the vulnerable have been not only left unprotected by the institutions of the state - but often specifically targeted while an elite gorge themselves at the trough of public monies. At least when it was the Anglo-Irish Ascendancy we could all 'blame' Britain - WHO DO WE BLAME NOW?

Well said Bannasidhe, well said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭HellFireClub

galway2007 wrote: »
    hope you feel better after you rant and hate to put a damper on you but you should read this
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0912/ecb2-business.html

Of course Gilmore is annoyed, what else would you expect a former union official to be?!? This is a guy who is used to eyeing up what ever cream that might exist within a business and then threatening non-cooperation with management unless his members get the cream that they believe that they are due.

It is a serious mistake to allow any person who has a history of trade unionism, next nor near current public monetary policy.

I am complaining at the portrayal of people like me as 'spongers' by some commentators here and the utter lack of compassion or understanding shown to those who despite having done the right thing - find themselves at the mercy of the SW system.
    I don't think anynody - anybody - would portray the likes of you and Wolf as spongers. The spongers are the people who have never worked, or those who work and claim the dole at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,125 ✭✭✭RichardAnd

Agree - But we also created an elite class who believe they are 'entitled' to 'earn' huge salaries paid from the public purse.

Close the tax loopholes. Stop bringing in short-sighted tax initiatives and schemes like the SSIA. Much of the building boom was fed by tax incentives aimed at developers - now many of those properties are in NAMA? All US citizens are liable for federal tax regardless of country of residence - why not all Irish citizens? Move your money abroad - but give up your citizenship.

Take the artist's exemption - great idea. I knows loads of artists who genuinely are struggling and need a tax break. But it's currently 40,000 year! 40,000 a year tax free! Why not 20,000? That's still twice the dole.

- in the 1930s the country had come out of nearly two decades of war, was bankrupt, was servicing a debt to the UK until FF came to power, saw a flood of 'old' money transferred to the UK after independence and it was the height of the Great Depression. So for comparison purposes the 1930s don't really work. It also did not pay public servants of any level the kind of wages McCarthy was getting. Although maybe the seeds were sown then - didn't Dev say no man is worth more the £1,000 a year and proceed to pay himself £1,500.

What I did see during the Celtic Tiger was children being educated in portacabins, a health service already under severe pressure while millions were wasted on payrole systems, electronic voting machines and other wastes of money. Rather than make genuine improvements in our national services - government decided to award everyone in the country more money - with themselves and their advisors on exponentially more. Most of those responsible for this fiasco have escaped with no equatable financial burden being placed on them whatsoever.

We have no choice but to pay - however, the method of raising the funds at the moment is to primarily target those who have very little and those who are just managing while those those who have a lot cannot be touched due to 'contractual' reasons, or they will take there money elsewhere or for what ever other reason is trotted out.
    ALL must share equally. We are not seeing that. We are seeing the existence of a protected elite. This wealthy elite simply did not exist in Ireland in the 1930s - or if it did - it was not publicly funded.

Current government policy - which is in effect no different from the previous government's policy is compounding the divide between the haves and the have-nots while creating an intermediate category of the haves-for-nows.

The State did not invest in the country when we thought we had money - instead government engaged in window dressing vanity projects and flinging money around like snuff at a wake. Already education and health care were creaking - top heavy with administrators and overpaid professors and consultants. Free fees for all undergrads while in real terms cutting university funding.

Current government policy is compounding those mistakes, while there is a growing 'Us Vs Them' tendency (the employed Vs the Unemployed, private Vs public sector) that is very worrying. Our society is starting to crumble - which is what the UNCTD report warns re:austerity measures) while we bicker amongst ourselves and those that caused this mess continue to be insulated from the repercussions.

While we argue amongst ourselves, who is watching those in control?

You'd think we'd have worked out about Divide and Conquer as a tactic by now...

We are a country - not an economy. Is your whole family life based around your income/expenditure or is there more to it? There is more to a society then the economy - there is quality of life for all citizens. There should also be the will of the government to ensure all citizens are treated equally - not show such blatant favouritism. Assuming you have kids - do you favour one over the others? If it Johnny and Mary were caught slogging apples. Johnny's pocket money is stopped to pay for the apples but Mary's get's to keep 90% of hers?

My compliments on a very fine post.