WeightWatchers & "How Many ProPoints?" Thread MkII

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭m'lady

Made a big pot of lentil soup yesterday. Really nice and so so filling. I had a bowl before my dinner just now,and couldn't eat half my dinner. I'll definitely be making this regularly, and filling up! So easy to make too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,427 ✭✭✭Lady Lainy

I asked my leader and she didnt even give me any tips very disappointed..

we have a wedding next Monday and i am dreading it! has anyone here had the misery of a whole days eating and drinking to put up with?

Bit the bullet and just go for WI on normal day. you know it'll be a false gain from all the rich wedding food and drink still being in your system. make you lash buckets of water into ya the days before the wedding....to ensure your body is completely comfortably hydrated so alcohol wont dehydrate you too much.

Its a wedding, an occasion you can hardly avoid. My wi is this saturday...but i'm going out friday night for college reunion after the summer with all the girls...and i'm going to let loose and enjoy my self like crazy! But i'm being extra careful today and tomorrow in what i eat and drink!

Its the every day choices that count.....one day isn't going to ruin our efforts totally....yeah it might throw us off the wagon for 24hrs....

Just make sure your fridge is well stocked up for the next day with lots of fruit and veg and healthy snacks. for hangover munchies!

This winter I'm going to try and live with ww....not live for ww!

I think this winter I have alot of positive things to look forward to...i'm happier in my self....with how im progressing moving forward in life!

Driving, Finishing College, South Africa, Dog Shows, making new friends, mixing with new people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,014 ✭✭✭Monife

m'lady wrote: »
    Made a big pot of lentil soup yesterday. Really nice and so so filling. I had a bowl before my dinner just now,and couldn't eat half my dinner. I'll definitely be making this regularly, and filling up! So easy to make too!

Hope I don't sound like an eejit, but what are lentils like? And what are they like in a soup? Whenever I hear "filling" I feel like trying it... but I am quite fussy when it comes to random vegetables etc Would you mind posting the recipe?

On another note, just back from my first walk in about 4 weeks and for the first time in months, feel great for doing it. During the summer it was such a drag, too warm and I made every excuse under the sun not to go. Today it was even a bit drizzly but it didnt phase me at all, something clicked inside me that has made me determined again :) hopefully. So even though I was knackered when I got back from my walk, I felt great and really glad I went out :D

Edit: Oh and when I came back from my walk, I was hungry and was thinking of what could I nibble before dinner and usually it would be crisps or a curly wurly but grapes just appealed to me so much, so I had grapes :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭AnnaGram85

Went to my first meeting yesterday.

My stats:
    Female, I'm 25, weighed in at a whopping 14st 2.5! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 PharmNS

I'm trying the Maggi So Juicy seasoning for chicken tonight on the recommendation of people on here. Hoping it will be as yummy as reported!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭lisa_celtic

I think I will just go Tuesday... and if i gain i know i will just have to work hard to justify the eating and drinking just really don't want a gain as im 0.5lb from my 5% I am going to do my best to stay on vodka and diet coke! any one know what a captain morgans would cost me pp wise?

i always gave captain morgans 3pp. all the spirits of standard pub measure are 3pp, malibu, vodka, bacardi, dark rum,

go one step better and vodka + 7up free, so you wont be overdosing on caffine, which can dehydrate you aswell. I get really bloated from diet coke diet 7up/7up Free seems to sit alot better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

AnnaGram85 wrote: »
    Went to my first meeting yesterday.

My stats:
    Female, I'm 25, weighed in at a whopping 14st 2.5! :(

Best of luck with WW. Everyone here is really friendly and helpful. Just say to yourself, this is the last time I will ever be this weight!

Went to my first spin class tonight, almost died!! But I feel like I got a really good workout so hopefully that will reflect on the scales! Going away to Loudres on pilgrimage next week so I will miss my weigh in this week but I hope I'll have good news when I get back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭Niamh94

It's been ages since I posted here, I spose I'll have to admit to being a serial lurker! Don't know WHAT's going on the last week or two. I was away in London the weekend before last so last Friday I was up 0.5. I was a bit peeved coz I thought it'd be out of my system by then and I was really good for the rest of the week :( next WI tomorrow now and a sneaky midweek WI has me up another 0.75! And I know I've been good this week, tracked and weighed like a demon! I'm hoping beyond hope I at least sts tomorrow morning, I'll be really disheartened if I don't! :( ok sorry, rant over, well done on all the great losses here! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 PharmNS

Major fail for the Maggi seasoning 
    Thought it was soooooo salty and had an artificial taste. So disappointed! Back to just grilling on the George Foreman for us!

Lady Lainy wrote: »
    i always gave captain morgans 3pp. all the spirits of standard pub measure are 3pp, malibu, vodka, bacardi, dark rum,

go one step better and vodka + 7up free, so you wont be overdosing on caffine, which can dehydrate you aswell. I get really bloated from diet coke diet 7up/7up Free seems to sit alot better.

Ya i like vodka and 7up free... captain morgan and diet club orange 3pp super splits nom nom nom...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

PharmNS wrote: »
    Major fail for the Maggi seasoning 
    Thought it was soooooo salty and had an artificial taste. So disappointed! Back to just grilling on the George Foreman for us!

Yep, have to agree, don't really get all the fuss!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Shoe Lover

Back to WW tonight after 6 weeks - have 6.5lbs on :( But it was to be expected. I've had a lot of change in the last few weeks and haven't been happy so reached for my old crutch! Anyway, onwards and downwards, am now doing ww with a friend so hoping we will motivate each other :D Best of luck to all :D

Monife wrote: »
    Hope I don't sound like an eejit, but what are lentils like? And what are they like in a soup? Whenever I hear "filling" I feel like trying it... but I am quite fussy when it comes to random vegetables etc Would you mind posting the recipe?

Hey Monife
    Ya don't sound silly at all, I only tried them for first time in Summer..and I'm a vegetarian!!

They are actually nice, when blended in the soup they kinda taste like potato.. and I can't believe how filling they are!

This it Just a rough recipe, it will give you quite a big pot,so maybe half the ingredients for first time in case you don't like it.

Chop an onion and fry in pot with spray oil for a minute or two.

In mean time wash about 300g of lentils. Add about 2.5-3 pints of water to onions with 2 vegetable , stock cubes, add lentils season with salt-and-pepper. Allow it to boil for about ten minutes. Then simmer for a half hour or so. Half was through it simmering,I added a half teaspoon of chilli powder to give it some bite.

When you have allowed it to simmer, then blend it with hand blender.

Hope ya enjoy ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭agrif06

m'lady wrote: »

Hey Monife
    Ya don't sound silly at all, I only tried them for first time in Summer..and I'm a vegetarian!!

They are actually nice, when blended in the soup they kinda taste like potato.. and I can't believe how filling they are!

This it Just a rough recipe, it will give you quite a big pot,so maybe half the ingredients for first time in case you don't like it.

Chop an onion and fry in pot with spray oil for a minute or two.

In mean time wash about 300g of lentils. Add about 2.5-3 pints of water to onions with 2 vegetable , stock cubes, add lentils season with salt-and-pepper. Allow it to boil for about ten minutes. Then simmer for a half hour or so. Half was through it simmering,I added a half teaspoon of chilli powder to give it some bite.

When you have allowed it to simmer, then blend it with hand blender.

Hope ya enjoy ;)

Make sure you point them according to the lentils you use - they tend to vary but are approximately 4pp for 50g (dried)

Sorry I didn't put in pp for soup, thanks agri..
    It's bit difficult to point exactly, but I point it at 2 pp per small bowl ;) I could be bit off,its an estimation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 kavanajd

The weekend is upon us and I have some questions regarding the dreaded take away!
    I have looked in my eat out book, and have tried to point dominos pizza. For a regular crust, medium cheese pizza, one slice is 4pp.
    Does anyone know for sure what the points are if this medium pizza was done with an extra thin base and low fat cheese? Im assumming the points would then be about 3pp per slice?
    It also says that a garlic pizza bread is 7.... I find it hard to believe that the whole thing is 7, anyhow I'm going to believe the book!!! A personal pizza is the same size as a garlic pizza bread, so I'm guessing if I got a personal cheese pizza it would be approx. 8pp?
    Finally I can add any no point veg to this to make it a bit more filling, ie. peppers, onion, fresh tomato, mushrooms....all for no pp. So when I look at the pp for a slice of veg pizza why is it 5 or 6?!!

kavanajd wrote: »
    The weekend is upon us and I have some questions regarding the dreaded take away!
    I have looked in my eat out book, and have tried to point dominos pizza. For a regular crust, medium cheese pizza, one slice is 4pp.
    Does anyone know for sure what the points are if this medium pizza was done with an extra thin base and low fat cheese? Im assumming the points would then be about 3pp per slice?
    It also says that a garlic pizza bread is 7.... I find it hard to believe that the whole thing is 7, anyhow I'm going to believe the book!!! A personal pizza is the same size as a garlic pizza bread, so I'm guessing if I got a personal cheese pizza it would be approx. 8pp?
    Finally I can add any no point veg to this to make it a bit more filling, ie. peppers, onion, fresh tomato, mushrooms....all for no pp. So when I look at the pp for a slice of veg pizza why is it 5 or 6?!!

4 star pizza have Ni on there website, use that as a guide. veggie pizza's usually put on extra cheese and sweet corn.

Domino's Pizza and Four Star Pizza all have the nutritional information of their food on their website so you can work out exactly how many PP is in what you are having with your calculator. I would imagine a personal pizza to be between 10-14PP. But you should point it yourself.

Edit: Lainy beat me to it :D

Domino's Pizza and Four Star Pizza all have the nutritional information of their food on their website so you can work out exactly how many PP is in what you are having with your calculator. I would imagine a personal pizza to be between 10-14PP. But you should point it yourself.

Edit: Lainy beat me to it :D

I think every fast food place should be made NI on a website! and have it available on demand on the premises!

Thanks everyone, that's really helpful, I wouldn't even have thought of checking there website for NI. Now I know i can't be delusional about my 8pp personal pizza :D

if you get plain cheese personal pizza and then put your own toppings at home on it and wack it under grill for few seconds....

peppers, onions, wafer ham, pineapple, herbs, chives, oooooh feck u got me wanting pizza now!

I'm heading out tonight I know points are going to go waaaaay out the window!

I'm having two Tesco Quarter pounders for 5pp each before going out tonight, high protein dinner cos i dont want to be bloated and full of carbs before going out. Just wondering whats the healthiers option for burger bun...clearly not having burger bun would be the healthiest...I just pointed large seeded buns from Lidl that were in the freezer...thank god i did...7pp EACH....the bun is worse than the burger!

EDIT

Irish Pride Bunster Seed Buns 6 Pack 4pp each :D MUCH BETTER! :D:D:D

Really trying to live properly and normally on ww this time! I was always trying to make my life suit ww...and failing horribly! Lashing the water into me today! compensate for all the booze tonight. Its a sneackers party :) runners only! no heals...whcih means oooooooh yeah i'll be up dancing tonight! No dancing in my socks tonight! :p

if you get plain cheese personal pizza and then put your own toppings at home on it and wack it under grill for few seconds....

peppers, onions, wafer ham, pineapple, herbs, chives, oooooh feck u got me wanting pizza now!

I'm heading out tonight I know points are going to go waaaaay out the window!

I'm having two Tesco Quarter pounders for 5pp each before going out tonight, high protein dinner cos i dont want to be bloated and full of carbs before going out. Just wondering whats the healthiers option for burger bun...clearly not having burger bun would be the healthiest...I just pointed large seeded buns from Lidl that were in the freezer...thank god i did...7pp EACH....the bun is worse than the burger!

Could you have the burgers with some salad and mayo? Or use lettuce leaves as burger buns. Other than that, I think the tesco bundys are 4PP (open to correction) but then you would be having carbs.

ah yeah i know its some carbs...but its better than big plate of pasta, rice, spuds :P

Okay, so college on monday, the college canteen is run by spar, they do sandwiches made to order, chips, curry, panini's, wedges, the usual stuff, as well as coffee machine, chocolate bar counter...its essentionally a spar shop set up in the food hall

I have no idea what my time table is like, but i do know its a 3 day week. would it be okay to have a sandwich with thick slice brown bread three times a week? that really is the healthiest thing i can get. I go for brown bread, unfortunately its full fat may or full fat butter...salad, then chicken beef or ham,

Lainy, i would just have 1 slice of bread per burger, so its an extra 2pp for each burger. you will be nice and full after that and a salad.

I just checked the NI for dominos....:mad: talking about a medium chees pizza, per slice:

Normal crust fat is 4.8g
    extra this crust fat is 7.1g

HOW?!

Both are 4pp. Also pointed a regular crust with low fat cheese, thats still 4pp too. Very annoyed thinking I have spent the last few years, getting extra thin base low fat cheese, looking at my BF milling his amazing looking looking greasy, chunky pizza, and for what?!!!!!!!

Also a personal cheese pizza is 14pp, and the garlic bread is 7pp for only HALF OF IT!!! They don't tell you that in the book!!! That makes the teeny slice of garlic bread 3.5pp and a slice of pizza 4pp.... I suppose it's basically just all as bad as each other!

Chinese it is tonight!!!

I have no idea what my time table is like, but i do know its a 3 day week. would it be okay to have a sandwich with thick slice brown bread three times a week? that really is the healthiest thing i can get. I go for brown bread, unfortunately its full fat may or full fat butter...salad, then chicken beef or ham,

If it's like a normal spar they should have wraps too? Or salad boxes?

You can choose a salad box, whatever meat you fancy and salad, then bring your own normal sliced bread in tinfoil everyday, and make up your own sand? It would save on wasting points on thick bread.

What I do everyday is make up my own lil sandwich lunch box, so a slice of premium ham, a laughing cow triangle, some sliced up onion, tomato, cucumber, peppers and some lettuce leaves. I do that the night before and leave it in the fridge then following morning I bring two fresh slices of bread wrapped up in tinfoil and make my sambo up fresh when Im college later that day. That way I can't go over and it's never more than 6-7pp for a sambo.

If it's like a normal spar they should have wraps too? Or salad boxes?

You can choose a salad box, whatever meat you fancy and salad, then bring your own normal sliced bread in tinfoil everyday, and make up your own sand? It would save on wasting points on thick bread.

What I do everyday is make up my own lil sandwich lunch box, so a slice of premium ham, a laughing cow triangle, some sliced up onion, tomato, cucumber, peppers and some lettuce leaves. I do that the night before and leave it in the fridge then following morning I bring two fresh slices of bread wrapped up in tinfoil and make my sambo up fresh when Im college later that day. That way I can't go over and it's never more than 6-7pp for a sambo.

wraps can be waaay higher than bread in pp...surprisingly....the salad boxes they did last year were like 5 euro! and pathetic...and would no way fill me up in wet cold snow day.

what kinda lunch box have you got...got a link, i havent been able to find anything like that....with the lil compartments. I dont want to have to bring the whole kitchen with me just to make a sandwhich :P i always found when i made sandwich and put it in lunch box...by the time i got to it....its fallen apart...and if i want to wrap it in foil, i'd have to make it fresh in the morning....and i really dont have time...my breakfast smoothie and read brek is going to take long enough to make and eat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭MaggieMay2

ah yeah i know its some carbs...but its better than big plate of pasta, rice, spuds :P

Okay, so college on monday, the college canteen is run by spar, they do sandwiches made to order, chips, curry, panini's, wedges, the usual stuff, as well as coffee machine, chocolate bar counter...its essentionally a spar shop set up in the food hall

Can you bring in your own lunch. As in the salads you make at home that you were getting into with some of your quiche and stuff. Or is it not cool to bring lunch with you to college :o I haven't been that many years out of college and already I sound like my mam!!!

I bring lunch with me to work every day now at this stage, maybe go out on a Friday as I just find it so much easier not to have the stress of thinking about it all. I know the pp of whats in my lunchbox, usually a yoghurt and piece of fruit. But like I said that suits me Lainey.....

I would imagine the bread they use in the Spar shops would be 6pp for the 2 slices (I would imagine the wraps they use are large ones so 5-6pp aswell), then load up on opp salad in it

so far the lunch box with compartments and make the sandwich fresh my self at lunch time sounds like the best idea :D

I've started getting into red peppers! grill them on george forman, then chop them up and throw them into omelette or salad....much nicer than raw!

So i'd have gherkins, grilled red peppers sliced into strips, lettuce, cherry tomatoes, cucumber, red onion, grilled chicken breast (4pp) 2 slices of brown sliced pan(5pp) I have a mini cooler bag for lunch boxes to keep things fresh as possible. and travel cutlery, and can of diet 7up or water.

would prob only need 1/2 a large chicken breast to make a decent sandwich :) so call it 2 - 3pp to air on the side of caution.

I bring my own lunch to work every day.

Apple for the 10am break

Sandwich (2ww whole meal @2pp each) no butter, just a tiny smudge of sweet chilli sauce. slice of premium ham, tomato (bring it whole and chop it up so its nice and fresh) lettuce, Peppers..

Not only is it great pp wise but its saving me the 7euro i used to spend 5 days a week!