Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Would you care if your friend told you they used escorts/prositutes

1234568»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

I wouldn't give a toss if my friend told me he availed of their services.If it was someone who was married then I would take offence to that and I wouldn't be long telling him that it was a di*k-move.

• Registered Users Posts: 221 ✭✭revell

alex73 wrote: »
    The Question men need to ask on Prostitution.

I see a lot of posts (i presume men) sayings its fine to use a prostitute. Consenting adults..

Questions you need to ask:-

1. If you had a daughter would you be fine with her being a prostitute? (most men say no to that one)

It is irrelevant indeed.

2. If the prostitute is not Irish, who paid for her to come to Ireland? Is the money going to her Pimp.

Am I forced to do the ****ty job of cleaning and get paid minimum wage because there is no other job I can get?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

I'mma stir up a bit of controversy here, hold on to yer butts everyone!

A prostitute is far better than a women who gets into a relationship with a guy just for his money or lifestyle.

A prostitute is upfront and honest about it from the start. There is no question whatsoever in anyone's mind about what's going on, she's explicitly and openly attempting to profit from her sexuality. No problem there IMO.

A gold digger, on the other hand, attempts to profit from her sexuality whilst simultaneously tricking the poor bloke into thinking she actually likes him.

Only essential difference there is that one is honest and the other is not.

Discuss.

*grabs popcorn and watches sh!tstorm commence* :D

+1 ...tis true!, which is why i think the Charlie Sheen approach is the way to go, just hire someone for sex...in the long term it's cheaper. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 221 ✭✭revell

I'mma stir up a bit of controversy here, hold on to yer butts everyone!

A prostitute is far better than a women who gets into a relationship with a guy just for his money or lifestyle.

A prostitute is upfront and honest about it from the start. There is no question whatsoever in anyone's mind about what's going on, she's explicitly and openly attempting to profit from her sexuality. No problem there IMO.

A gold digger, on the other hand, attempts to profit from her sexuality whilst simultaneously tricking the poor bloke into thinking she actually likes him.

Only essential difference there is that one is honest and the other is not.

Discuss.

*grabs popcorn and watches sh!tstorm commence* :D

Like your mindset;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

^ to add, it does depend on what you want from a woman, it's not always about sex...if you're into intimacy and a relationship then being with someone in thay way is great. The Charlie Sheen types are tired and jaded....been burned by women lots of times, but then they must look at themselves and realise they seem to attract those gold digging types.

So they resort to the cash for sex angle, which i'm OK with...but it's all fake in of itself and in the long term not fulfilling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 sexter

Sex is not always aspired to for the soul reason of lust. Often, someone who desires sex strongly enough to use an escort does so out of mixed up aspirations for intimacy and connection to a woman. Resulting in potentially damaging psychological effects. So I would not judge the individual as he is only harming himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Dermighty

Two people I know told me they slept with prostitutes, they're both weird guys.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,602 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

To add, I think its a little unfair that we have one topic calling people weird for using hookers but another saying you're weird if you are a virgin by a certain age. You wonder how someone born ugly or without self-confidence ever gets by in this world....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

To add, I think its a little unfair that we have one topic calling people weird for using hookers but another saying you're weird if you are a virgin by a certain age. You wonder how someone born ugly or without self-confidence ever gets by in this world....

Well obviously they should just remove themselves from society. No-one likes a freak. Suicide, emigration, life as a hermit...once these "people" aren't threatening the nice normal lives of others eh?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭Brid Hegarty

There was a fella at work recently who'd been using prostitutes. He was stupid enough to tell people about it and a few other female staff found out and were horrified. Funnily I found out about it from a female colleague that I kind of fancy and I pretended to be shocked... but only so in response her reaction. Why? Well because it's sort of my way of telling her that I'd never do that! Why? I can understand that they might be horrified if it were him that told them.

I'm not necessarily saying that it surprises me that people say that it's disgusting to go see a prostitute. I get that people don't want to think about it. But why the judgement? I am a bit puzzled as to what people are thinking when they frown upon it. Let's try break down the possible reasons.

Is it because it's with a stranger? Or is it because it's actually disgusting in the sense that you're having sex with someone who's most likely just had sex with someone else? I mean most people don't consider having a one night stand disgusting... even the ones that disapprove of it. So why is seeing a hooker disgusting? Assuming you get to witness the woman shower and brush her teeth first, and that you use a condom, then I don't consider it disgusting.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭85603

Largely because it devalues sex. Women dont like that at all. Undermines their power in society.

Substitute products lower market price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,265 ✭✭✭✭smurfjed

Wow, resurrecting a 10 year thread, I wonder how many of the original contributors are still posting.

:p I can not imagine what being in a relationship where "access to sex" becomes a commodity or a bargaining chip. I can not even imagine being a man who would even want to have sex with someone who is doing it for such a reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69,538 ✭✭✭✭L1011

I'd say the % of heterosexual men who have used a prostitute at least once is huge. Trips to Amsterdam or Prague in their late teens/early 20s mostly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,465 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

I'm thinking 90%.

Irrelevant of marital/relationship status

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,796 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

why would 90% of men need to use a prostitute ?

dating / sex apps have been around for a good number of years now, the majority of men are in relationships or can procure sex by conventional means without handling over xxx euros to some individual ....

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 10,413 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jim2007

So in your opinion what sustains the prostitutes and escorts in Ireland? The tourists?

Don’t know, pretty sure it’s not 90% of men though.

Are prostitutes considered ‘desirable’ women ?

I think to answer your post I would just question the word "need".

Let me use an analogy.

Most of us in Ireland have a load of TV stations to watch. Some of us also have bought into extra things like SKY. And after that maybe also "netflix" or "amazon".

Now with all that content - many people love the feeling of getting up and going out to the cinema.

So imagine you asked them "why would anyone NEED a cinema"?

The answer is: They don't. No one needs to go the cinema. It is a rip off and a waste of money in most cases. The fact however is they want to go the cinema. And for many reasons too.

i disagree.

Netflix generally doesn’t have new releases... going to the cinema is a social occasion, it’s not the same as being at home watching Netflix...or close..

Heheheh I think my analogy failed because the reasons you gave to "disagree" did not actually touch anything I said :)

Let me give you the same reply I did above but without the analogy.

Many men do not "need" to go to a sex worker. They however "want" to go to one because - for whatever reason - they have identified something in that experience that they do not get in what you and I might consider a "normal" experience.

The point is - it is not about "need". They do not "need" to go to a sex worker. In fact some people who go to sex workers have a relatively healthy sex life at home - but they "want" to go to a sex worker all the same.

The whole point of me talking too much? The word "need" I feel is going to confuse you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Frrrrrrrrrrrieeennnnnd

My mate has used them. I don't shag him so jealousy isn't an issue

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,170 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

If you reckon it's even close to 90% then I must have a strange set of male friends and aquaintances. I can think of only one who hired a hooker and that was a drunken one off on an exotic holiday and after he felt a tad icky about it. We suggested she was the one in need of more pity as there wasn't enough dettol in the world after him... 😁 Speaking for myself I'd rather shove marbles up my left nostril than pay some woman to shag me. If all I want is a release I can sort myself out a lot cheaper. Jaysus I sound like a Jewish Cavan man with a Scottish ma. 😂 Maybe I'm too polarised in such things. I view sex as release and/or intimacy, preferably with something of the latter involved. Hell even a strip club is my idea of purgatory.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Your comment was treading a fine line until the strip club bit at the end.

Then you crossed it

Sorry, I have no other choice.

Man card revoked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,145 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Strip clubs are just glorified prick teasing. I'd rather pay for an erotic massage.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,170 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Don't get the strip club thing at all. Paying to ogle disinterested women gyrating around in the half light. Like Mr V said glorified prick teasing and there's not much teasing going on, at least for me. If you're going for a rub and tug at least you're getting something out of it.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,202 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I’ve always thought of it as the other way round tbh - they’re both prick teasing, but the strip tease is just more up front about it, whereas the ‘erotic massage’ is made out like it’s some transcendental experience and “how dare you get a boner?”, when it’s practically inevitable 😂

EDIT: Just to clarify on the striptease thing, I’d only ever see it as entertainment, would’ve never got a boner unless it was a lap dance, and even then we’re both aware it’s acting, and they’re being paid to entertain.

Post edited by One eyed Jack on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,145 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

The erotic massage is more like prick 'pleasing' 🤣 But yeah not quite the transcendental experience described in the brochure. Getting a boner in a strip club is a tad awkward when you inadvertently make eye contact with your mate across the table.

• Registered Users Posts: 26 Manky O Toole

I regularly see escorts and I won't tell anyone, not even my closest friends. It would be nice if we grew up us a country and lost this weird puritan attitude to sex work.

I mean, we're soooooo liberal now with gay marriage and abortion etc. So let's just accept some men want to pay for sex.

This. Sex is the ultimate power women hold over men. So of course feminists hate the idea of ugly losers like me having sex with model-tier women.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Jesus, I can't think of anything more soul destroying than drinking in a strip club surrounded by desperate mostly dead on the inside women tiredly gyrating to lads who probably haven't washed in weeks.

Wouldn't have a problem with a friend telling me he went with a prostitute, not that I'd particularly want to know, as long as it was a woman doing it for herself and not a situation where said woman was trafficked and you are therefore supporting a criminal element. Some men just crave some kind of intimacy they simply can't get elsewhere.

By the same measure I'd take a fairly dim view of men going to places like Thailand and essentially taking advantage of poorer women who work as 'guides' for a certain tourist clientele. Used to be FB friends years ago with a lad (I won't call him a man) who posted pics of his trip to Thailand with such a lady as she drove him around with him in the passenger seat...with her child in the back seat of her car. Swift unfriend and block.

Tbf the club scene you describe dosen't sound any less depressing that normal night clubs I went to as student.

As for Thailand etc you have to remember there's thousands upon thousands of women who rely on prostitution to survive (apparently 11% of the Thai economy ) so take that away and all those women will be starving on the streets.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Yeah, they are doing it almost exclusively to survive but that makes it even more disgusting, it's the very definition of taking advantage and it's as morally dubious are frequenting trafficked women.