Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Post here every time you get something new!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,328 ✭✭✭Pyongyang

pdbhp wrote: »
    Good god that step down must have its own postcode :pac::pac:

If you're in the North County Dublin area and regularly notice your lights dimming and the TV flickering around 7-10pm on the weekend or odd weekday night that's me plugging in a console.

...either that or Brian Cowen just sat down for his dinner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭pdbhp

Pyongyang wrote: »
    Cheers for the game ID, much appreciated. Agreed, they're probably text heavy RPG's but ho-hum, they'll do as fillers to test. I've actually not done much Wonderswan research yet. All I really want is Judgement Silversword!

€100 is the cheapest I've seen JSS in about 2 years so you'll have to save some dollar first.

There's also this little shmuppy Run=Dim return to earth. This can be gotten cheap enough but doesn't turn up too often.

Link incase vid doesn't work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

im curious why would people use an step-down conv if an psu on the console is external.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,417 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

im curious why would people use an step-down conv if an psu on the console is external.

You'd be suprised how many people don't realize you can just swap out the PSU. It doesn't seem to be common knowledge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭Sparks43

Just got myself a piece of history

A Boxed Philips Videopac :D:D:D:D

So Pretty, joysticks feel great ,console is shiny like new

566795Philips-G7000.jpg

Shame it doesn't work :eek:

Really dont care im just going to look at it till the day i die

In before some smartass says Boulder Dash wasnt released on it :pac:

o1s1n wrote: »
    You'd be suprised how many people don't realize you can just swap out the PSU. It doesn't seem to be common knowledge.

True but I'm awkward. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Relikk

Is yours a Doujindance RGB'd console with mods?

T'is indeed.
    I've said it in other posts I've made and stand by my words, invest very wisely in a step down. Buy the best you can afford, saves you crying over a melted machine later and your investment dribbling away over your living room floor and down the toilet.

Aye, I've read about cheap and crap step downs, hence why I'm asking. :D

Cheers to everyone for the replies.

Relikk wrote: »
    T'is indeed.

Quick! Where's o1s1n!!!!!!!!!!!!!???

WARNING!
    A HUGE CHORTLE, CHORTLE IS APPROACHING FAST!

Quick! Where's o1s1n!!!!!!!!!!!!!???

WARNING!
    A HUGE CHORTLE, CHORTLE IS APPROACHING FAST!

Warning large text approaching!!!:pac::pac::pac:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 5,400 Mod ✭✭✭✭Optimus Prime

Got all this stuff today, MegaCd needs a clean but works 100%. even got a bonus copy of Gameboy bob the builder in the bag for some reason. Win! ;)

I need to stop buying Nes' though, i only bought this because the box was in great condition!

IMG_9275.jpg

IMG_9278.jpg

IMG_9280.jpg

IMG_9281.jpg

IMG_9282.jpg

IMG_9283.jpg

Master of the Universe

True but I'm awkward. :D

I used step downs for years (still do for my internal PSU systems), but most other stuff I've just bought an EU PSU. If you're worried about frying your system via a step down then this is by far the safest option.

I still think the oddest one is that the Super Famicom works with an EU Megadrive 1 power supply. It looks so wrong.

€3 offered for the NES

And a bag of Skips.

....and a bottle of Cidona.

Jesus Christ @keithgeo, that World Wrestling cover art is a bit 'Cho Aniki' isn't it? :eek:

Even Cho Aniki is embarassed at that!!:pac::pac:

But not Retr0 :P

Master of the Universe

The Mega CD 1 is still as sexy as it was the day it was released. Of all console add ons ever made, I've never seen one enhance the look of a console so much.

Looks to be in lovely condition keithgeo, you lucky ****er! NES box is insanely nice too.

pdbhp wrote: »
    Even Cho Aniki is embarassed at that!!:pac::pac:

But not Retr0 :P

Possibly. But keithgeo has gotten himself a copy of Gradius CIB. That's truly glorious. Good work Mr. Geo.

The box is a bit battered but feck it. NES works, flashing on and off, new 72pin and region free and it will be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭SnakePlissken

keithgeo wrote: »
    The box is a bit battered but feck it. NES works, flashing on and off, new 72pin and region free and it will be grand.

Very nice, where did you pick up that collection of 8-bit goodness if you don't mind me asking?

3 of the games off ebay and the rest and nes off adverts. got the mega cd off adverts too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭valleyoftheunos

€3 offered for the NES

And a bag of Skips.

....and a bottle of Cidona.

€3 for a NES, a bag of a skips and bottle cidona might be a little optimistic.

That NES boxart is awesome, why don't we get anything like that anymore? the World Wrestling one makes me feel funny though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,912 ✭✭✭Steve X2

Sparks43 wrote: »
    Just got myself a piece of history

A Boxed Philips Videopac :D:D:D:D

So Pretty, joysticks feel great ,console is shiny like new

566795Philips-G7000.jpg

Shame it doesn't work :eek:

Really dont care im just going to look at it till the day i die

In before some smartass says Boulder Dash wasnt released on it :pac:

Did you by chance pick that up in the Rage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭Sparks43

Steve SI wrote: »
    Did you by chance pick that up in the Rage?

Yep and i smelled the insides of it :pac:

Think it might be fixable so i am going to try

Did you get an output when you tested it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Keithgeo - Slayer of Nes regions

Just arrived on my desk, at long last!

Darius Burst [PSP, NTSC-J, BNIB, SG-OCD]

evbfM.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,912 ✭✭✭Steve X2

Sparks43 wrote: »
    Yep and i smelled the insides of it :pac:

Think it might be fixable so i am going to try

Did you get an output when you tested it?

I couldn't get any picture out of it. I was able to tune in a black screen from it but that was it.
    No games would load and I had a few from different sources. You might be luckier :)

I was surprised that they stuck it back on the shelf the day after I returned it. I was going to say something but I've sort of given up on the RAGE so I just drop in from time to time and pick up something if it catches my eye. When i see things at mad prices I just ignore it, they're not going to change.

EnterNow wrote: »
    Keithgeo - Slayer of Nes regions

haha all thanks to your guide! ive done loads at this stage, i must have bought and sold about 15 nes in the last year, i buy em, fix em and release them back into the wild. im thinking about putting my initials on them somewhere in case they turn up again in another 20years!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Mr.Saturn

Resident Evil (Gamecube), which was a random present from someone who found it in a charity shop. I also got my hands on King of Fighters XI (PS2), which I'm enjoying, no surprises there, really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭Mr Vengeance

Mr.Saturn wrote: »
    Resident Evil (Gamecube), which was a random present from someone who found it in a charity shop. I also got my hands on King of Fighters XI (PS2), which I'm enjoying, no surprises there, really.

Two incredible games. REmake is still stunning to look at after, what, nearly a decade now? Plays very well too. Has to be the second best Resi ever after 4.

KoF XI is the best King of Fighters games ever made in my opinion. Its beautiful to look at with loads of lovely backgrounds, a great line-up of characters, loads of moves and a very deep gameplay system. Dream cancelling successfully is extremely satisfying. The controls are also great. The only drawback in the terrible final boss who does stuff that just doesn't sit well in a fighter. Cheap as chips he is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Mr.Saturn

The only drawback in the terrible final boss who does stuff that just doesn't sit well in a fighter. Cheap as chips he is!

I used to charge SNK with that a lot. I find a masochistic desire takes over, one that has you anticipative as to how broken the Big Bad manages to be.
    Mind you, I've never had to feed coins into an MVS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

Recieved this morning, it smells of leather.

DSCF4168.jpg