Do The guards do their jobs anymore?

123457»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

0O7 wrote: »
    your wrong dude... its not an offence to be intoxicated... only if its to such an extent your a danger to.... bla bla bla...

same as its not an offence to drink and drive... only if your over the limit (incaple of having proper control of the vehicle... bla bla bla) you can have 1 and its not illegal
    Those aren't the same at all?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 229 ✭✭0O7

Those aren't the same at all?

i dunno...i think they kinda are...

as in its not an offence to do it, but it is an offence to do it to :

(SEC4 POA) to such an extent to be a danger to yourself or others...

(Sec49 RTA) to such an extent that your incaple of having proper control of mpv in public place...

i know its not exactly the same but i was just giving him an example...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

your wrong dude... its not an offence to be intoxicated... only if its to such an extent your a danger to.... bla bla bla...

same as its not an offence to drink and drive... only if your over the limit (incaple of having proper control of the vehicle... bla bla bla) you can have 1 and its not illegal

i wenr up to a garda drink drive checkpoint one night, locked, pretending to have a car and passenger (as in rnning down the road in sync and making car noises rolling down pretend window pulling up pretend brake etc) they breath tested me i failed and they said we could go if i drove on the path.

so this law isn't as strictly adhered to as say the ones againt CRIMES

i dunno...i think they kinda are...

as in its not an offence to do it, but it is an offence to do it to :

(SEC4 POA) to such an extent to be a danger to yourself or others...

(Sec49 RTA) to such an extent that your incaple of having proper control of mpv in public place...

i know its not exactly the same but i was just giving him an example...
    But the road traffic act contains blood alcohol levels whereas the other is entirely subjective?

Na. Section 49(1) RTA 1961/06 has no specimen of Blood / urine / breath... its is "entirely subjective" too... Garda opinion... same as Sec4 4 POA

Fair enough. So where do the blood alcohol limits come in to it?

A person commits an offence of :

Sec 49 (1) RTA 1961/06 if a Garda (can prove to a judge) that the person was intoxicated to such an extent that he was incaple of having control of a MPV in a public place... WITHOUT taking a specimen of blood / urine... but by the manner of driving, speech slurred, unsteady on feet etc....

Sec49(2) RTA 1961/06 if the person is over the limit after a specimen of blood

Sec49(3) RTA 1961/06 if the person is over the limit after urine specimen

Sec49(4) RTA 1961/06 if the person is over the limit with breath specimen...

a na, i was only comparing it to somebody being drunk saying that its ok to drink, but not to an extent that your a danger.... etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭Geekness1234

Cop on OP,if they put a brick through your window that would be a different story,I honestly think your criticism of the Gardai is completely unfounded because
    You expect a force which has to cope with drugs,murder and rape to come running to your rescue because you "could be" assaulted.
    Seriously get over yourself.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Bosco boy

OP Ask the family of the 2 year old child rescued by gardai from a fire last night if the gardai do their job anymore, your whinge is pathetic in comparison!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭Feeona

Tigger wrote: »
    i wenr up to a garda drink drive checkpoint one night, locked, pretending to have a car and passenger (as in rnning down the road in sync and making car noises rolling down pretend window pulling up pretend brake etc) they breath tested me i failed and they said we could go if i drove on the path.

Brilliant on both counts :pac: I'd say they got a great kick out of ye!

Tigger wrote: »

so this law isn't as strictly adhered to as say the ones againt CRIMES

you have to be of "full mental capacity" to be liable of prosecution when commiting a crime / offence... by the sounds of that... your not :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 GULLION

Gary4279 wrote: »
    In my experience 99% of Gaurds do their job very well. The public have to remember that they're under resourced and its a very stressful job. Any short comings of the gaurds is mainly down to the lack of funding. Having said that, ive met a few right bell ends in blue.

had the same problem, called Guards, told nothing they could do as they had previously asked them to be quiet, Told to contact the Counciil's Environmental Officer,( pity they went home at 5 o clock, most inconsiderate of them, ) Knew of an old law (Given to me by a solicitor)," Behaviour likley to lead to a breach of the pease" that is to say if their behaviour led me to breach the peace they could be charged. unfortunately the law had been updated and it did not apply. Cop told me that they could not interfer in what was a domestic. Told them, " that's handy to know when I next beat the crap out of my wife" he was not amused, So there is domestic and domestic, or I hope for womens sake that it is not true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

GULLION wrote: »
    had the same problem, called Guards, told nothing they could do as they had previously asked them to be quiet, Told to contact the Counciil's Environmental Officer,( pity they went home at 5 o clock, most inconsiderate of them, ) Knew of an old law (Given to me by a solicitor)," Behaviour likley to lead to a breach of the pease" that is to say if their behaviour led me to breach the peace they could be charged. unfortunately the law had been updated and it did not apply. Cop told me that they could not interfer in what was a domestic. Told them, " that's handy to know when I next beat the crap out of my wife" he was not amused, So there is domestic and domestic, or I hope for womens sake that it is not true.

A little knowledge is a dangerous thing.