Do The guards do their jobs anymore?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

anewme wrote: »
    No, have they not the power to set the wheels in motion to get the order issued. Obviously not on one offence, but the OP states that the parties are quite frequent.

On citizens advice website, it actually mentions the exact scenario that the OP is experiencing. The wording below is taken from that exact site.

What is anti-social behaviour?

Anti-social behaviour occurs where a person causes or, in the circumstances is likely to cause, to one or more persons who are not of the same household as the person:
    • Harassment or
    • Significant or persistent alarm, distress, fear or intimidation or
    • Significant or persistent impairment of their use or enjoyment of their property.
    So, for example, if a neighbour is continuously playing loud music which was causing you annoyance and interfered with your peace and quiet this may amount to anti-social behaviour. Similarly, if large numbers of people are continuously gathering outside or near your property, or indeed your local supermarket, and their behaviour is causing you alarm, distress, fear or intimidation then this behaviour may amount to anti-social behaviour.
    The op said that he has never had an issue with the parties before. If the gardai were to initiate anti social behaviour proceedings against every loud party at the weekend everyone in ireland would have one at this stage.

You started another thread giving out about the gardai recently so your persistance here clearly shows you have some sort of chip on your shoulder

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

can you not just tell your neighbour that you will kick the b0llox out of him if he does it again?? Seems to work. Don't really see what you want the cops to do, they're(your neighbours)just being a pita, not much for the cops there. Why not- shave your head, lift a lot of weights, get a few tatoos and start your own biker gang. Once you have done this, you will be in a position to tell your neighbour whats what, and might even make enough like minded friends along the way to hold your own loud all-night parties.
    Glad to be of help, and if you need any more practical tips, don't be afraid to ask.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭anewme

You started another thread giving out about the gardai recently so your persistance here clearly shows you have some sort of chip on your shoulder

By the way, do you not even read the OP's posts before replying..... on the previous page he states that the parties are on almost every weekend......he does not seem to have a problem with them up to now for the main, but should log it in case it continues.

look, for those who cant seem to read the posts. my neighbours have some sort of party or something nearly every weekend. i never once said anything to them, even asked one weekend if they needed extra chairs.

No, I did not start a thread giving out about the Gardai, so get off your high horse here and now. I said I had an experience where A GARDA was unacceptably rude to me and asked if I was able to report the incident. That is totally different to the thread in hand and not relevant.

If you read my posts, you will see I advised the OP to speak to the Community Gardai and I have stated that some of my experiences with them have been excellent. So don't start trying to bully me.

Just because I agree that the OP's neighbours were out of order and he is within his rights to call the Gardai does not mean I have a chip on my shoulder about anything.

Just because you are self proclaimed King of your own Sofa do you run some kind of armchair Dictatorship here where your opinion is the only valid one or something?:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

For the benefit of the hopelessly ill-informed here : In the Republic of Ireland there is no such thing as an ASBO . They may be common as muck in Britain but depite the legislation existing here to allow for them the fact remains that not a single one has been granted by the courts.
    Apparently judges have ' issues ' with them - the Guards can do nothing , similarly in cases of noisy parties the Gardai have zero powers - all they can do is ask nicely but if a householder tells them to f**k off well thats what they have to do.

A government plan to greant such powers to the Gardai was withdrawn due to concerns about ' civil liberties '.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,000 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Am I the only one getting the opinion this thread is being trolled by a bunch of 17 year old ASBO kids trying to shake off last nights hangover from a raucous house party where they intimidated the neighbours ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Bosco boy

Tell me you occupation op and i'll tell you if your particular occupation does their job anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,700 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Answering the original question asked, I personally think its a shame that the Guards are such an emasculated body these days. They asked the people at the party to lower the noise, and they were just told no, so they just had to tuck their tails between their legs and slink away. What a joke.

I am well aware of the requirements of law and regulation, but toothless guards like this are the reason so many useless scumbags have no fear of the Irish police, and are happy to commit various crimes secure in the knowledge that the worst they will get is a slap on the wrist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭whatcartoget

Every housing estate has a loud teenage party at sometime. It just the norm. Close all you windows and try and relax. It's not the worlds biggest crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 emer25

CiaranC wrote: »
    What are you talking about three in the morning, your OP says you made your third call at midnight and that you made a call an hour previous to that, which is at 11pm and that you made yet another call previous to that - which we can surmise was an hour previous to that - 10pm. All for something that has NOTHING to do with the Garda.

Calling the police for a supervised party at 10pm on a Saturday night? You should be arrested for wasting police time.

the op said it went on all night, and the op didnt say it was supervised please read what the facts are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 emer25

CiaranC wrote: »
    Maybe you shouldnt have been calling the police on them at 10pm on a Saturday night like some curtain twiching busybody then.

and what would you have done about it,, stayed in doors while there was drunk teenage scum running around outside your house, you sound like such a man you are:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

My understanding of this is as follows:
    Op's neighbour was preparing for a party in their garden in the muddle of the day. They were making noise. The young child of the op was asleep so he went and asked them to keep it down. The owner of the house closed the door on him.

Later that evening (pre 10 pm on a saturday) the people at the party were using some form of karaoke equipment and were making a lot of noise. Op called the gardai he called again at around 10pm.

A number of the party goers were then on the street outside his house and were making some noise (pre midnight on a Saturday) The op went out and asked them to keep it down. One or two (more than likely furled with drink) greeted this with aggression. However the op did not take the aggression seriously and "laughed it off" Friends of the aggressive youths calmed their friends down.

Police were called a third time (pre midnight) and told the op they asked them to turn it down(which is the limit of their power as no criminal offence had been committed)

In addition to this some youths climbed over the wall of another house and exited via a side gate. (whilst not known, maybe they were just getting a ball that had gone over.) no mention of criminal damage or attempt to gain entry to the home of the other neighbour.

Somehow the above has turned in to a load of scumbag underage drinkers roaming around an estate looking to start fights all night coupled with a do nothing police force??

It should also be pointed out that since it was mentioned that the neighbour had recently received leaving very results it is likely that a number of their friends were of legal drinking age.

At the end of the day a load of kids had a party before midnight on a weekend and some were drunk. Move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,540 ✭✭✭joseph brand

2 Garda saved a young girl from a burning house today in Mullingar.

Doesn't get much better than that. If you think the Garda are bad, try dealing with American cops who just shout you down all macho like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭emul8ter25

Doesn't get much better than that. If you think the Garda are bad, try dealing with American cops who just shout you down all macho like.

Never once had a problem with american cops in all the years I lived in the states. I was pulled over in my car a couple times and I spoke to them respectfully and they treated me in the same manner.

Are you speaking on first hand experience or just ignorant assumptions?

I have never once had a problem with the Garda here in Ireland. Like others have stated, they are often powerless which is a shame at times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭JustAddWater

emul8ter25 wrote: »
    Never once had a problem with american cops

This is how the cops roll :D: http://www.breakingnews.ie/entertainment/neighbours-call-the-cops-on-kim-k-517445.html
    Kim Kardashian's wedding reception was cut short after neighbours complained to the police.

The celebration following the reality star's nuptials with basketball player Kris Humphries in Montecito, California, on Saturday was set to last until 4am, but a fire marshal ordered the music to be turned off at midnight. `

A source told the New York Post newspaper: "Around midnight DJ Cassidy, who had been spinning for an hour, was ordered to shut down because the neighbours were complaining about the volume of the music. The neighbours didn’t come over, but they called the police.

"Kim took the news OK and seemed relaxed about it, but her sister Khloe was pretty upset."

The party continued without the music for a while longer, but most guests had left by around 1.30am on Sunday morning.

This is how the Garda roll http://www.indymedia.ie/article/82108?condense_comments=true&userlanguage=ga&save_prefs=true

I for one get upset when I hear they illegally break up legal protests.

And this comparison is not the best....
    Comparing the cops to the police across europe might be a bit better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

emul8ter25 wrote: »
    This is how the Garda roll http://www.indymedia.ie/article/82108?condense_comments=true&userlanguage=ga&save_prefs=true

I for one get upset when I hear they illegally break up legal protests

I get upset when people try to use Indymedia as a legitimate source. You might as well shovel **** onto the thread.

Seanbeag1 wrote: »
    I get upset when people try to use Indymedia as a legitimate source. You might as well shovel **** onto the thread.

regardless of the link I found in my 5 seconds on google, I still think its wrong when legal protests are broken up by the Garda illegally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭Feeona

Fair play to them. And you can be certain that gardaí have to face up to danger on a daily basis just by doing their duty. How many people are faced with something like that everyday in their jobs? Same goes for paramedics and firemen, fortunately for them though they don't have to defend their position in the public eye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭CorkMan

People can blare music all they want, and get drunk, go into peoples back gardens. Sure there was no violence, it's all only a bit of craic, the Gardaí have "real" situations to deal with.

Except when the victim next door starts a row because Mr Gardaí didn't do anything about it. Oh, the Gardaí are needed then, that was an assault. :rolleyes:

To those people, when I was up in Dublin for the 1st time in 2002, I asked a Gardaí where a side street was. (Forget the name) He walked me up a good bit of Gratton Street and pointed the proper street out for me. I'm sorry for wasting yer valuable tax money, plus on top of that a man could have got stabbed to death in those 20 seconds. I'm really sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭hanleyc2

My neighbors recently got broken into. They captured the break-in on CCTV including apparently very clear faces of the 2 guys who broke in.

Footage was given to the Gardai when they arrived to the house, the only thing further the neighbour heard from the Gardai was a follow up call with a number to call if they were in need of any counciling following the break in.

Would the Garda just not have the resources to follow this up, or is there not a lot that some CCTV footage can help them with?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

hanleyc2 wrote: »
    My neighbors recently got broken into. They captured the break-in on CCTV including apparently very clear faces of the 2 guys who broke in.

Footage was given to the Gardai when they arrived to the house, the only thing further the neighbour heard from the Gardai was a follow up call with a number to call if they were in need of any counciling following the break in.

Would the Garda just not have the resources to follow this up, or is there not a lot that some CCTV footage can help them with?

All that can be done is circulate the footage around the country to other Gardaí and maybe put it on crimeline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭RustyNut

Seanbeag1 wrote: »
    All that can be done is circulate the footage around the country to other Gardaí and maybe put it on crimeline.

Or could you put stills up on the net with no reference to what they might have done.

Do you know this man type of thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 435 ✭✭tweedledee

Ahh ole Ireland,as usual,20 years behind the rest of Europe with regard to legislation and enforcement.
    The Gardai cant get stuck in anymore as the "civil liberties" crowd cry fowl for every little thing.Law breakers have a lot of rights these days.
    Look at England to see what happens when the police are too PC and afraid to get stuck in for fear of complaint or legal action.
    Australia and New Zealand have solid laws and policing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

tweedledee wrote: »
    law breakers have a lot of rights these days.
    the chap in waterford was breaking the law for pissing in public but he did not deserve to get the bejaysus beat out of him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 435 ✭✭tweedledee

True I agree with you,but that was a rare event that went to court,assaulting a criminal is wrong and the jury sorted it.
    Do you know how many SCUMBAGS the police deal with everyday????Thousands of scum who don't give a damn about themselves let alone any of their victims!!These scum give the Gardai an awful time day in day out and nothing said but when a few gardai give a bloke a lil kicking its a national outrage!!
    Criminals of all sorts are having a field day in Ireland because they know they can get away with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

The guards are on a work to rule. They are not happy with the pension levy or the fact that many senior guards retired before it came in. Their main objective is to do the minimum amount of policing in a passive aggressive manner. They hope that one day in the near future, the Garda Commissioner gets a phone call from Shatter offering them big pay rises in return for them doing the job that they should be doing all along. As for now, they are useless, and they are letting so much stuff go that it is getting out of hand. It's the opposite of zero tolerance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

Ally Dick wrote: »
    The guards are on a work to rule. They are not happy with the pension levy or the fact that many senior guards retired before it came in. Their main objective is to do the minimum amount of policing in a passive aggressive manner. They hope that one day in the near future, the Garda Commissioner gets a phone call from Shatter offering them big pay rises in return for them doing the job that they should be doing all along. As for now, they are useless, and they are letting so much stuff go that it is getting out of hand. It's the opposite of zero tolerance
    its going to get worse in 2012-
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/public-sector-faces-exodus-as-staff-try-to-avoid-cuts-2848021.html
    THE public sector is expected to be hit by an exodus of an estimated 7,000 staff as workers plan to retire before cuts to their pensions are introduced in February.
    More than 1,500 gardai are expected to take early retirement, while another 1,000 teachers are expected to follow suit. The health and social welfare sectors are also expected to be heavily depleted by retiring staff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭hanleyc2

RustyNut wrote: »
    Or could you put stills up on the net with no reference to what they might have done.

Do you know this man type of thing.

Do the detective work and take the law into their own hands. Nice :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

I had this same problem before at 2am in the morning so I knocked at their door and said the noise is too loud and i can't sleep so is there any chance I can join the party and they said absolutely. so I had a great time that night with free beer givin to me, problem solved. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 229 ✭✭0O7

anewme wrote: »
    ehhhhh......you should get your facts right. I think you will find that actually it is an offence.

Section 4 of the Criminal Justice (Public Order) Act 1994 deals with the offence of being intoxicated (that is, drunk) in a public place. While the maximum fine for being intoxicated in a public place in Ireland is €500, the section gives the Gardai the power to seize the intoxicating substance (normally, the alcohol) where they suspect that an offence of being intoxicated in a public place is being committed.

OP, if you think it will be an issue in the future, you should speak to your neighbours and approach the local seargent/Community Garda together. At least then, if it turns out to be more than a once off, your concerns will be noted.

Whilst I would not complain if it were a once off party, I would certainly complain if there were people going around the estate and making threats of wanting to fight. Even once is too much for that messing in my opinion.

Young lads have a tendancy not to be able to control themselves with drink and there are numerous cases of teenagers being stabbed, died from hitting their heads on the pavements in messy fights, etc. Either they will stab someone or they will square up to the wrong person and get decked. Stupid incidents like this start out of nothing and happen in an instant and should always be prevented. Anyone on this thread who cannot see the danger in such messing would want to cop on. How many times has it happened in this country. I also see nothing wrong with a person wanting their children to sleep at night, or indeed enjoy their Saturday night without worrying who is outside shouting, fighting or messing in their back garden.

Perhaps if some parents took more of an interest in their children's behaviour ("they are all out of step except my Johnny"), then the Gardai would not have to waste their time and resources on this sort of thing.

your wrong dude... its not an offence to be intoxicated... only if its to such an extent your a danger to.... bla bla bla...

same as its not an offence to drink and drive... only if your over the limit (incaple of having proper control of the vehicle... bla bla bla) you can have 1 and its not illegal