Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do The guards do their jobs anymore?

• 21-08-2011 8:39am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭

Hi All,

Not sure if this is right place for it, so please move if required.thanks.

Just wanted to ask if anyone feels the guards do thier jobs anymore? not a huge problem on my end, have very very ignorant neighbours who had a massive party last night for teenage son. had really loud music all night with microphones for them to shout into. then a load of the teens headed around the estate looking for someone, not sure who, but stopped outside my house and shouting thier heads off. told them to clear off and a few tried to fight, just laughed it off and two of the other lads pulled thier friends back.

rang the guards then about the party, said they would look into it. rang them again about an hour later and said the would look into it again, other neighbours also rang as was talking to them outside. rang again at around midnight, guards said they called up but the people didnt turn down the music. then said there was nothing they could do about it, nothing about the loud noise, the fact that 15-17 yr old were drinking, the fact they were running around the estate looking for fights.

just wanted to know if anyone else feels the guards dont really do much. you always see reports of how people have rang the gurads and there is nothing done about it.

thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭Gary4279

In my experience 99% of Gaurds do their job very well. The public have to remember that they're under resourced and its a very stressful job. Any short comings of the gaurds is mainly down to the lack of funding. Having said that, ive met a few right bell ends in blue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Fozzydog3

Did it occur to you that they were busy stopping crimes ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,593 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Gardai do their jobs, like all industries there will be on or two bad eggs and lazy shoites.

In relation to your own issue, God knows they may have had an more important issue to deal with than some youths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭Hunter Mahan

There is nothing they can do about noisy parties legally, and as a result you would have to imagine that the 'priority' given to such calls would be minimal.

What are you going to do today about the incident, other than moan?

Are you going to talk to your neighbours and lodge a complaint to the homeowner, residents committee (if you have one), and come Monday morning are you going to post a letter to the local council or dept of environment outlining the events and noise levels?

This country is full of spoon-fed, spoilt, moany brats, this country and it's inhabitants really need to grow a pair and take responsibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

The reason they didn't send in the eru straight away and get the dog unit in was probably that they were in fact busy doing their jobs.

Noise is a civil matter, not a criminal matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Forest Master

Maybe on a Saturday night they had more important things to be doing than looking into a non-violent, non-disruptive party? Probably thousands going on all around the country - drunk & noisy people, but not causing any significant disruption except to busy-bodies.
    I have an 11 month-old baby - and IMO, Friday & Saturday nights are fair game for parties - my neighbours have had a few - I've just dealt with it. They're entitled to entertain their friends & have some fun. Singstar until 4am can be irritating, but it's fair game. As long as it isn't a work-night or a constant issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

just wanted to know if anyone else feels the guards dont really do much.
    It's a shame that a whole profession has been dissed from your single experience of them. Especially when it wasn't much of a problem for you :/
    allibastor wrote: »
    not a huge problem on my end

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

All you sarcasm-captains seem to be ignoring the fact that teenagers were walking around spoiling for a fight. Assault is a criminal offence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

There is nothing they can do about noisy parties legally, and as a result you would have to imagine that the 'priority' given to such calls would be minimal.

What are you going to do today about the incident, other than moan?

Are you going to talk to your neighbours and lodge a complaint to the homeowner, residents committee (if you have one), and come Monday morning are you going to post a letter to the local council or dept of environment outlining the events and noise levels?

This country is full of spoon-fed, spoilt, moany brats, this country and it's inhabitants really need to grow a pair and take responsibility.

yes, i spoke to neighbours yesterday, before the party started as they were setting up and kept shouting itno the microphone, they just closed the door on me. my next door neighbour who is on the residence committee also had to call the guards as the lads jumped into thier back garden.

what do you mean by take responsibility? surely the responsible thing to do was to ring the guards instead of going out and leathering into a group of young lads.

also i know that a lot of guards are good at what they do, but a lot of times you are hearing more and more about thefts, etc that go un-answered or the like. i know the guards are very under resourced, like everything is at the moment, but is it not the right of a person to be able to access this resource and expect a bit of a result?

All you sarcasm-captains seem to be ignoring the fact that teenagers were walking around spoiling for a fight. Assault is a criminal offence

And you seem to be ignoring the fact that there was no fight. "O haigh Garda - yeah, there might be a fight happening soon - come quick!!" Yeah - top priority on the busiest night of the week...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

I have to say that they don't come more often than not when called, the vast majority are grand once you can actually get them to come out, but getting them there is the issue.

Gordon wrote: »
    It's a shame that a whole profession has been dissed from your single experience of them. Especially when it wasn't much of a problem for you :/

also, its not the whole profession i am dissing, i dodnt say " jesus the guards are completly useless lot who could not find tits at a strip club" i just asked if people feel that they do perform tasks. i know the guards have a bigger picture of killings, drugs, human trafficing etc to deal with. i am not that niave to think that they are completly useless. and didnt say that. and the party wasnt the problem, it was the lads looking around to fight with people. i dont mind parties but when you have 2 small children and they are shouting all night its a bit much

My read of it was that they "tried to fight" but their other friends stopped it.

Assault might be a criminal offence but there was no assault according to the op

also, its not the whole profession i am dissing,
    thread title: Do the guards do their jobs anymore?

My read of it was that they "tried to fight" but their other friends stopped it.

Assault might be a criminal offence but there was no assault according to the op

the only reason there was no fight was because i laughed it off. the friends only pulled the other guys back after i told them to, one guy had tried to square up to me and threated my partner. if i not laughed it off there would have been a fight, but some of the lads did have a bit of common decency to be fair to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭Hunter Mahan

You have to take responsibility now by following it through and deal with this civil matter yourself, by contacting the dept of environment and local council. This could go someway to preventing the same thing happening again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭teol

Noise Complaints have nothing got to do with the gardaí
    Making a complaint
    You should approach the person or business causing the noise and explain that it is a nuisance and try to come to a mutually acceptable solution. If this does not work, your local authority has the same power as individuals to bring noise complaints to the District Court. In addition, local authorities have similar powers to the Environmental Protection Agency in relation to premises, processes and works other than those that require licensing under the Environmental Protection Agency Act. The Environmental Protection Agency can require the person or body to take specific measures to prevent or limit noise. Anyone required to take such specific measures by the Environmental Protection Agency must do so or face prosecution.

If you wish to make a complaint to the District Court, you are not required to be represented by a solicitor, however, you may engage the assistance of a solicitor to help prepare your noise complaint and present this in court. You should consult with the Clerk of your local District Court about an appointment for the hearing of your case and refer precisely to the law relating to your case (Section 108 of the Environmental Protection Agency Act 1992 and the Environmental Protection Agency Act 1992 (Noise) Regulations 1994 (SI No. 179 of 1994).

The appointment for the hearing of your case must be at least 7 days later than the date on which you inform the person responsible for the noise nuisance that you will be taking your case to court. You must use a Environmental Protection Agency Act 1992 - noise form of notice to inform the person or business that you will be taking them to court. It is important that you use this form of notice only and that you complete it fully and accurately.

The District Court will call both parties together and listens to both sides of the case. If the court finds in your favour, it can order the person or body to limit the noise, reduce the level of noise or stop the noise completely. Any Orders made by the court must be complied with.

Penalties for breach of law

The maximum fine for conviction on breach of noise regulations is €3,000 or 12 months in prison or both.

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/environment/environmental_protection/noise_regulations.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Got there just before me :-)

Hi Teol,

thanks for that. but who do you contact at three in the morning when this is a persistant problem, if the person is not willing to alter thier attitude. and again, the noise wasnt the most problematic thing, it was the lads going around looking for trouble.

thread title: Do the guards do their jobs anymore?

would you like it if i put a really long thread topic on the page instead. it wasnt a general bashing saying something like, got the guards are useless all the time, or something like that. maybe it was not the best title. but someone not doing there job could also mean not doing all of the job.

A general overview is that under Irish law, you are entitled to bring complaints about specific neighbourhood noise to the District Court

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭teol

Hi Teol,

thanks for that. but who do you contact at three in the morning when this is a persistant problem, if the person is not willing to alter thier attitude. and again, the noise wasnt the most problematic thing, it was the lads going around looking for trouble.

Here is advice from Dublin City Council.

http://www.dublincity.ie/WaterWasteEnvironment/AirQualityMonitoringandNoiseControl/NoisePollution/Pages/NoisyNeighbourComplaint.aspx

would you like it if i put a really long thread topic on the page instead. it wasnt a general bashing saying something like, got the guards are useless all the time, or something like that. maybe it was not the best title. but someone not doing there job could also mean not doing all of the job.

Eh, the thread title doesn't have to be long-winded - just more accurate. Like: "Guards ignore my noise complaint".

as said, wasnt so much the noise as it was lads going around looking for a fight, shouting outside houses, jumping into back gardens etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

And you seem to be ignoring the fact that there was no fight. "O haigh Garda - yeah, there might be a fight happening soon - come quick!!" Yeah - top priority on the busiest night of the week...

Oh right so the guards shoudl wait until someone is unconcsiocus/dead/needing stitches before they intervene.

eh...how about NO !! Any threat to violence should be taken seriously and treated little to no tolerance imho

Maybe the thread title could have been better,but after you read the post it clearly explains the problem the op is having, whats with all the nit picking at this hour of the morning.:confused::P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Singstar until 4am can be irritating, but it's fair game. As long as it isn't a work-night or a constant issue.

Define a worknight ? Lots of people work Sundays or nights.

People should have respect; there is no sense or logic in having music so loud that it is heard next door.

Unless it's the one possible exception of apartments or semi-detached boxes that were built without proper planning laws where a dripping tap could be heard next door, there is simply no need for being that inconsiderate at ANY time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Easy to be critical at times, but i'd hate to imagine how bad things would be if we didn't have them.

galwayrush wrote: »
    Easy to be critical at times, but i'd hate to imagine how bad things would be if we didn't have them.

im not saying that they are complete rubbish, but at the same time it could be better. same as the health service.

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Define a worknight ? Lots of people work Sundays or nights.

People should have respect; there is no sense or logic in having music so loud that it is heard next door.

Unless it's the one possible exception of apartments or semi-detached boxes that were built without proper planning laws where a dripping tap could be heard next door, there is simply no need for being that inconsiderate at ANY time.

thats the point. these same people have functions nearly every week that are loud enough. i never had a problem with it. its when there is zero consideration that it is a problem. dont have loads of 15-17 yr old full of drink running around an estate at night un supervised.

also, its not the whole profession i am dissing
    Yes it is.

Yes it is.

very helpful post. you must have used alot of energy thinking that one up

So OP - I presume you've gone to talk to the parent's of the child whose birthday party it was?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭slavetothegrind

so, some posters on here when sujected to drunken youths threatening them would think to themselves

" oh the youthful rapscallions, pshaw! not worth bothering the keepers of the peace with! i can live with this and so can my small terrified children."

right.

So OP - I presume you've gone to talk to the parent's of the child whose birthday party it was?

first thing i did yesterday. they were testing the equipment out by yelling into the microphone. i introduced myself, where i lived, and asked nicely if they could just stop yelling as my 1yr old was having a nap. lady just said, " we are setting up for tonight" and closed the door in my face.

so, some posters on here when sujected to drunken youths hammering on their door and threatening them would think to themselves

That never happened to the OP. Read his post again before you start exaggerating.

very helpful post. you must have used alot of energy thinking that one up
    No need to insult me dude, you are dissing the whole Gard population, no matter how much you say you aren't. You are dissing all Gards because of one incident, one incident.
    im not saying that they are complete rubbish, but at the same time it could be better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭slavetothegrind

That never happened to the OP. Read his post again before you start exaggerating.

you are correct, and i apologise for my error

No need to insult me dude, you are dissing the whole Gard population, no matter how much you say you aren't. You are dissing all Gards because of one incident, one incident.

well try and put up something helpful then. i have never said all guards are useless or anything like that. it was just the thread name, which i cant change. you would swear i had a big sweeping attack on the guards calling all names under the sun. jesus i am not so egotistical to think all criminal proceeding around the country should be stopped just to deal with my complaint. i just asked if they should be doing the job a small bit better. i know it didnt happen, but what if one of the lads died from drink last night? or what if they went out and kicked a lad to death? small crimes may well lead to big ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Is this every weekend or just an one off?

They may have been celebrating the LC results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,920 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

In my opinion,too many of them do not do their jobs.People on this site seem to have a rose tinted view of our boys in blue.
    I have worked with the gardai on a professional level and I can tell you too many of them are incompotent and shouldn't be in their jobs.
    Too many are overweight.
    Too many see the job as the safe,permanent,pensionable option and have no real interest or aptitude for the job.
    Too many just do not want to know and I have witnessed guards actively avoid and walk away from trouble.
    The OP has a legitimate complaint.Granted there seems to be little a guard can do about noise under existing legislation however the gardai have discretion in this area and if there are teenagers roaming around,trespassing and spiling for a fight and pissed then YES the gardai can and should do something.Otherwise what happens in these situations is that people like the OP do get involved and someone ends up getting stabbed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,928 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

bad copz bad copz...
    whatyaguna do when they come for you
    bad copz bad copz...

The OP has a legitimate complaint.Granted there seems to be little a guard can do about noise under existing legislation however the gardai have discretion in this area and if there are teenagers roaming around,trespassing and spiling for a fight and pissed then YES the gardai can and should do something.Otherwise what happens in these situations is that people like the OP do get involved and someone ends up getting stabbed.

100% agree with this

Is this every weekend or just an one off?

They may have been celebrating the LC results.

hi,
    As i said above, most weekends they have smaller things, friends and such, which are a bit noisy, but i dont mind those as everyone has them. the LC party they had on wednesday was loud, but was grand because its the LC.

the one last night was a birthday, very very loud and had lads running around looking for fights, etc. it was a once off to be this bad, but they would have some noise most weekends. again i dont so much mind noise, as long as some consideration is there. hell my next door neighbour had to get her husband back from night work because two lads climbed into her back garden and then could not get out so ran over the side gate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,062 ✭✭✭✭anewme

The mission of the Gardai is "Working with Communities to Protect and Serve."

It states on their website some of their functions include.....
    "working with communities to prevent anti-social behaviour"

Is keeping people awake all hours, fighting around the Estate and squaring up to people, lurking in gardens, etc. not covered under that description? It is where I live.

I posted a thread recently about a negative experience I had with a Garda. People automatically assumed that it was me who was in the wrong, it just could not have been the Garda :confused:

I really dont think it is up to the OP to knock at the door of the "parents of the child whose birthday party it was". You hear stories of people going to confront anti-social neighbours or gangs of kids and getting attacked and often stabbed to death. Safety first. Also it is up to the parents of the child whose birthday party it was to ensure their child and guests are behaving themselves, not the OP:rolleyes:

OP, your title is disrespectful to any hard working member of the Gardai of whom there are many, but your complaint is legitimate and I am sure one many people experience.

Instead of ranting about the OP - has anyone come up with a solution?

If you have a Residents Association, could you not ask them to approach your local Community Garda? Especially if the neighbours on your road have the same issues. The Community Garda may approach the neighbour in question and try and smooth things over. They are usually excellent and have the right manner so they get their point accross without rubbing people up the wrong way. Works in a lot of cases and is still seen as "having a word" without taking it too serious. Could nip it all in the bud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭JENNYWREN19

the gards are regarded as a bit of a joke around here because they always go for the soft option on arrests traffic offenses and a bit of lightweight scrapping in the town centre on Saturdays. They pick up people who give them little trouble beyond a bit of lip, but the violent troublemakers always seem to dodge arrest and are left to roam the streets, luckily it's a small town and most locals know who to avoid. On a personal level, chatting and dealing with paperwork down at the station most of them here are lovely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Go to your local station and speak to the highest ranked officier on duty and lodge an official complaint.

Under age drinking, drunk and disorderly, disturbance of the peace are criminal matters.

anewme wrote: »
    Is keeping people awake all hours, fighting around the Estate and squaring up to people, lurking in gardens, etc. not covered under that description? It is where I live.

:rolleyes: More exaggerating... There was no fighting - and where did you even get "lurking" from? Why can't you just make your point using the facts that the OP provided? Is your point only valid when you use hyperbole? :confused:

well try and put up something helpful then.
    In fairness, you weren't asking for something helpful, you were asking if other people thought the same as you do - that gards aren't doing their job.
    i have never said all guards are useless or anything like that. it was just the thread name, which i cant change.
    I still beg to differ, my previous post has a quote from you implying all Gards, and referring to the Gardai as 'it', which again implies all Gards. But I won't keep going on about it.
    i just asked if they should be doing the job a small bit better.
    Who? All Gards, some Gards, or more to the point - the Gards in your area - should they have done more for your particular situation? Yeah, personally I would like to have had more Gardai interaction if I was in your shoes that night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,062 ✭✭✭✭anewme

the only reason there was no fight was because i laughed it off. the friends only pulled the other guys back after i told them to, one guy had tried to square up to me and threated my partner. if i not laughed it off there would have been a fight, but some of the lads did have a bit of common decency to be fair to them.

Thats fighting round the estate.......squaring up to people and threatening them....pulling people back.......