Do The guards do their jobs anymore?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

Well any dealings Ive had with them(car tax,passports ect.) I found most of them to a sound bunch.Are you a guard?

No. Just annoys me that people always post about their one bad experience but never stop to think about their good experiences prior to it.

Same in all walks of life i suppose

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

House parties cannot be stopped by the Gardaí. A persons home is protected by the Constitution and there is currently no legislation allowing Gardaí to deal with noise complaint. If you don't like it then you should lobby your local politicians for legislative change to allow Gardaí to act in cases like this. If it is an ongoing problem you have to do something about it yourself by taking them to court

There is no offence of simply being intoxicated in a public place.

If a person threatened you then you can make a statement about it and look for them to be prosecuted for it.

What's all this bull**** about getting free rolls?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Sounds like someone didnt get invited and was jelly. I dont see why the gardai were called its just a bit of crack on a weekend.
    Unless its every night of the week just close your doors and windows and mind your own business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭mackeire

allibastor wrote: »
    Hi All,

Not sure if this is right place for it, so please move if required.thanks.

Just wanted to ask if anyone feels the guards do thier jobs anymore? not a huge problem on my end, have very very ignorant neighbours who had a massive party last night for teenage son. had really loud music all night with microphones for them to shout into. then a load of the teens headed around the estate looking for someone, not sure who, but stopped outside my house and shouting thier heads off. told them to clear off and a few tried to fight, just laughed it off and two of the other lads pulled thier friends back.

rang the guards then about the party, said they would look into it. rang them again about an hour later and said the would look into it again, other neighbours also rang as was talking to them outside. rang again at around midnight, guards said they called up but the people didnt turn down the music. then said there was nothing they could do about it, nothing about the loud noise, the fact that 15-17 yr old were drinking, the fact they were running around the estate looking for fights.

just wanted to know if anyone else feels the guards dont really do much. you always see reports of how people have rang the gurads and there is nothing done about it.

thanks.

Are you having a laugh??
    You rang the gaurds at least 3 times before MIDNIGHT!!

I would hate to be your neighbour!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Hi All,

Not sure if this is right place for it, so please move if required.thanks.

Just wanted to ask if anyone feels the guards do thier jobs anymore? not a huge problem on my end, have very very ignorant neighbours who had a massive party last night for teenage son. had really loud music all night with microphones for them to shout into. then a load of the teens headed around the estate looking for someone, not sure who, but stopped outside my house and shouting thier heads off. told them to clear off and a few tried to fight, just laughed it off and two of the other lads pulled thier friends back.

rang the guards then about the party, said they would look into it. rang them again about an hour later and said the would look into it again, other neighbours also rang as was talking to them outside. rang again at around midnight, guards said they called up but the people didnt turn down the music. then said there was nothing they could do about it, nothing about the loud noise, the fact that 15-17 yr old were drinking, the fact they were running around the estate looking for fights.

just wanted to know if anyone else feels the guards dont really do much. you always see reports of how people have rang the gurads and there is nothing done about it.

thanks.

The Gardai are very busy and severely under resourced.

As you said it was a saturday night, probably the busiest time for 999 (Emergency calls)

A friday night working as a Garda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Last year I was involved in a minor collision with another car and the guards were called.The investigating ban garda agreed at the scene that the other party was at fault and this was agreed by the other driver.The bangarda asked us both to call to the station later to make a statement.
    When I called to make my statement the bangarda greeted me with"Oh,Ive been speaking with my colleagues and we agreed it was 50/50" .
    When I politely reminded her of her initial comments and your mans admission she completly denied it and started coming down heavy.
    She "advised" me to drop it and sort out my own repairs.Now either the other party got a few strings pulled or that bitch couldnt be arsed doing her job.
    WTF?
    nyway ,its my only negative experience of the local gardai.

It's a minor collision, civil matter between you and the other driver.
    What did you want her to do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

hondasam wrote: »
    It's a minor collision, civil matter between you and the other driver.
    What did you want her to do?
    I think you missed my point.She said I was in the right initially then completly backtracked .

she is not in a position to say who is right or wrong,perhaps this was pointed out to her by a senior officer.

Perhaps she made the wrong call at the time but she made me out to be a liar when it was her mistake.It left a bad taste and my opinion of the guards took a nosedive at the time but sure tis in the past.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

If you cant work it out with the other driver you go to your insurance company and they do it for you.

The Gardai are only there to make sure everybody is licensed and insured and that no offences took place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Gardaí don't decide who is right or wrong in a minor accident,

As said, her sergeant probably corrected her on this and told her not to do it again
    Now either the other party got a few strings pulled or that bitch couldnt be arsed doing her job.

It's neither

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭emul8ter25

CiaranC wrote: »

Its not illegal to be a junkie standing around. Jesus such a bunch of whingebags on this forum.

No, but dealing and buying in plain site is, and I see it on a daily basis. Its funny the Guards seem not to.

I find it appalling and embarrassing that its so prominently on display in the main tourism areas of Dublin.

Why are you so defensive about it, have a few junkies in your family do ya?

Perhaps she made the wrong call at the time but she made me out to be a liar when it was her mistake.It left a bad taste and my opinion of the guards took a nosedive at the time but sure tis in the past.

I understand why you would not have a high opinion of her but not all guards are the same. It was a minor collision, It was always going to be between you, the other driver or the insurance companies. What she said made no difference.

what was the outcome? did the other driver pay?

Chief--- wrote: »
    If you cant work it out with the other driver you go to your insurance company and they do it for you.

The Gardai are only there to make sure everybody is licensed and insured and that no offences took place.
    Unfortunately ,it happened in front of the garda station at busy junction at rush hour,thats why she got involved.Also she told yer man at the time he would most likely have a dangerous driving charge.All forgotten later that evening.Hmmmm.

Hi All,

rang the guards then about the party, said they would look into it. rang them again about an hour later and said the would look into it again, other neighbours also rang as was talking to them outside. rang again at around midnight, guards said they called up but the people didnt turn down the music.

Exactly what time did you start ringing the guards at because by the looks of it you started ringing at about 9pm? That is completely ridiculous! You knew they wouldn't come so why keep ringing? You can make a complaint about noise pollution to your council but please don't waste garda time with matters like this in future unless they are doing criminal damage to your property. I've really ****.ty neighbours who love to stay up late making noise and who are always taking my parking space. I'm not gonna ring the gardai about it though :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭irelandspurs

Just petrol bomb the house that would work

Or tattoo their childrens necks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭al28283

OP is right. This thread really annoyed me so I called the gardai and they did nothing about it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Seanbeag1 wrote: »
    There is no offence of simply being intoxicated in a public place.

ehhhhh......you should get your facts right. I think you will find that actually it is an offence.

Section 4 of the Criminal Justice (Public Order) Act 1994 deals with the offence of being intoxicated (that is, drunk) in a public place. While the maximum fine for being intoxicated in a public place in Ireland is €500, the section gives the Gardai the power to seize the intoxicating substance (normally, the alcohol) where they suspect that an offence of being intoxicated in a public place is being committed.

OP, if you think it will be an issue in the future, you should speak to your neighbours and approach the local seargent/Community Garda together. At least then, if it turns out to be more than a once off, your concerns will be noted.

Whilst I would not complain if it were a once off party, I would certainly complain if there were people going around the estate and making threats of wanting to fight. Even once is too much for that messing in my opinion.

Young lads have a tendancy not to be able to control themselves with drink and there are numerous cases of teenagers being stabbed, died from hitting their heads on the pavements in messy fights, etc. Either they will stab someone or they will square up to the wrong person and get decked. Stupid incidents like this start out of nothing and happen in an instant and should always be prevented. Anyone on this thread who cannot see the danger in such messing would want to cop on. How many times has it happened in this country. I also see nothing wrong with a person wanting their children to sleep at night, or indeed enjoy their Saturday night without worrying who is outside shouting, fighting or messing in their back garden.

Perhaps if some parents took more of an interest in their children's behaviour ("they are all out of step except my Johnny"), then the Gardai would not have to waste their time and resources on this sort of thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

Hi Guys,

look, for those who cant seem to read the posts. my neighbours have some sort of party or something nearly every weekend. i never once said anything to them, even asked one weekend if they needed extra chairs.

lasts night was a bit different, they had an outdoor tent, with club size speakers set up in the back garden, not the house. during the day i asked them to just stop shouting into the mic as my little lad was asleep in his room, at the back of the house. i didnt mind the music, just the shouting into the mic.

the only reason i got involved was because they were outside MY HOUSE shouting thier heads off. i asked them if they could just keep it down, they had started to move on when one of them shouted back something to me, i just looked at him and he came up to fight me, i laughed at him cause he was about half my size, then his friend joined in. laughed at him also, then told thier friends to take them home, which they did. i will not put up withsomeone trying to fight with me outside my own house.

i rang the guards then after that. it was then my neighbours came out and started to talk about the lads being in their back gardens. i rang again later when the same lads were running around shouting later. the last time i rang is when the guards said there were up already but the people didnt want to turn down the music or didnt say who was out on the street.

i didnt ring anymore. and as i have said before, the thread title was a poor choice, but i cant change it now.

as has been said before, why should i have to put up with that, having a party is fine, but when people start acting like assholes outside my house it becomes my problem.

again, sorry about the thread topic, on the whole i think the guards do alright with what they have, but i felt let down last night.

Hi Guys,

the last time i rang is when the guards said there were up already but the people didnt want to turn down the music or didnt say who was out on the street.

This surprises me, they didn't want to turn the music down, the guards can do them for anti social behaviour.

There is no offence of antisocial behaviour.

anewme wrote: »
    ehhhhh......you should get your facts right. I think you will find that actually it is an offence.

Section 4 of the Criminal Justice (Public Order) Act 1994 deals with the offence of being intoxicated (that is, drunk) in a public place. While the maximum fine for being intoxicated in a public place in Ireland is €500, the section gives the Gardai the power to seize the intoxicating substance (normally, the alcohol) where they suspect that an offence of being intoxicated in a public place is being committed.

Perhaps you should check your facts sir. Did you read the offence? A person must be intoxicated "to such an extent as would give rise to a reasonable apprehension that he might endanger himself or any other person in his vicinity." There's a fairly big diference between that offence and just being drunk.

There is no offence of antisocial behaviour.

Are you saying a person cannot be done for Anti social behaviour?

Yes I am. There is no criminal offence of anti-social behaviour. There is what is known as an anti-social behaviour order that can be administered by the Gardaí in some cases but it is a civil order.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭JustAddWater

they had more important things to be doing than looking into a non-violent, non-disruptive party?

Eh? Did you even read the OP??
    had really loud music all night with microphones
    stopped outside my house and shouting thier heads off
    they were running around the estate looking for fights.

Yup! Sounds EXACTLY like a non-violent, non-disruptive party to me :rolleyes:

Yes I am. There is no criminal offence of anti-social behaviour. There is what is known as an anti-social behaviour order that can be administered by the Gardaí in some cases but it is a civil order.

If you do not comply with a civil order issued by a court then you are committing a criminal offence.

The offence is breaching the order. You still can't get done for being anti-social.

EDIT: Also that takes months and months of antisocial behaviour to get as far as a court. Not just refusing to turn the music down. And to my knowledge, none have ever gone to court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

Not to get too technical but the offence would be failure to comply with a specific court order rather than anti social behaviour. However, in this case there is no court order so the gardai are powerless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Not to get too technical but the offence would be failure to comply with a specific court order rather than anti social behaviour. However, in this case there is no court order so the gardai are powerless

No, have they not the power to set the wheels in motion to get the order issued. Obviously not on one offence, but the OP states that the parties are quite frequent.

On citizens advice website, it actually mentions the exact scenario that the OP is experiencing. The wording below is taken from that exact site.

What is anti-social behaviour?

Anti-social behaviour occurs where a person causes or, in the circumstances is likely to cause, to one or more persons who are not of the same household as the person:
    • Harassment or
    • Significant or persistent alarm, distress, fear or intimidation or
    • Significant or persistent impairment of their use or enjoyment of their property.
    So, for example, if a neighbour is continuously playing loud music which was causing you annoyance and interfered with your peace and quiet this may amount to anti-social behaviour. Similarly, if large numbers of people are continuously gathering outside or near your property, or indeed your local supermarket, and their behaviour is causing you alarm, distress, fear or intimidation then this behaviour may amount to anti-social behaviour.