Do The guards do their jobs anymore?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Tbh if it was happening outside my door I wouldn't put up with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭KindOfIrish

Gary4279 wrote: »
    In my experience 99% of Gaurds do their job very well.
    Probably they do. In an Irish way. But if you want to see how REALLY their job has to be done, go to Germany and play loud music. I can guaranty, police will be at you in about 45 seconds. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

tweedledee wrote: »
    Its very true that some Gardai don't want to deal with any public disorder,they are very afraid to get into a scrap, no spine.
    Unfortunately this is probably as they run the risk of criminal prosecution if the force they use is deemed excessive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

I thought your issue was the fighting. As previously mentioned by numerous people the gardai cannot do anything about noise complaints. You have been told the steps to take as regards the noise issue

yeah, thats why i didnt ring them again. as you said what can they do about noise. the noise was still going on very loudly, it was anooying, but as said unless i go down certain channels not much can be done.

the guards had said they cant do much about the kids either as they have to see it hapening, or have to whitness it. they were still roaming around alright, but didnt have more trouble with them later in the night.

Gary4279 wrote: »
    In my experience 99% of Gaurds do their job very well.
    Probably they do. In an Irish way. But if you want to see how REALLY their job has to be done, go to Germany and play loud music. I can guaranty, police will be at you in about 45 seconds. :rolleyes:
    In that case the law must be different. The gardai can only act within the confines of existing legislation

DOC09UNAM wrote: »
    Honestly, you just sound like a whiner tbh

fair enough. i am sure your fine with it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Diceicle

It would not take much for a squad car to stop by the house party on the night in question to have a word with the adults who are supposed to be responsible for the youths in their charge (ignoring the fact that they were enabling underage drinking), and much of the nuisance activity could have been nipped in the bud by the sounds of things.

At the end of the day people have the right to quiet enjoyment of their home. And people have the right to entertain their friends, but I dont believe that that right extends to shouting into microphones at the early hours of the morning, creeping onto private property or spoiling for a ruck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭anewme

The following are a summary of behaviours defined as prosecutable offences under the Criminal Justice (1994) Act:
    ■ Intoxication in a public place; ■ Disorderly conduct in a public place; ■ Threatening, abusive or insulting behaviour in a public place; ■ Failure to comply with the direction of a member of An Garda Síochána; ■ Entering a building, etc., with intent to commit an offence; and ■ Failure to surrender intoxicating liquor, etc.

Now in my mind, a number of these would appear to have been committed by the party goers. It is not true to say the Gardai were powerless to Act.

And to say the OP is a whiner because he does not want to put up with this crap. The mind boggles sometimes:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

anewme wrote: »
    And to say the OP is a whiner because he does not want to put up with this crap. The mind boggles sometimes:confused:
    Youre a whiner too

Diceicle wrote: »
    It would not take much for a squad car to stop by the house party on the night in question to have a word with the adults who are supposed to be responsible for the youths in their charge (ignoring the fact that they were enabling underage drinking), and much of the nuisance activity could have been nipped in the bud by the sounds of things.

At the end of the day people have the right to quiet enjoyment of their home. And people have the right to entertain their friends, but I dont believe that that right extends to shouting into microphones at the early hours of the morning, creeping onto private property or spoiling for a ruck.

Voice of reason here. My friend had to complain about a party, same kind of thing and this is exactly what happened. Gardai had to come twice, 2nd time the party was given 15 minutes to "shut down"

However, the Gardai received over 15 complaints from the neighbours each time.

There is strength in numbers OP - if they are annoying you, they are annoying the rest of your neighbours (I cant imagine the guy who had to come back from work was impressed)[PHP][/PHP] so even make a complaint collectively through your Residents Association.

CiaranC wrote: »
    Youre a whiner too

yes, we all must be wrong because we dont want to be paying a mortgage on a house then have people roaming around looking for a fight. i must go to your next house party, it would be a grat craic i imagine. if you think this type of this is fine i could imagine what we could get up to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,064 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Youre a whiner too

Wow! You've really raised the bar there!:rolleyes:

Youre a whiner too

Did you have to get help to think that one up.

I post links and excerpts to the official Garda website and also excerpts from a A Report by The Institute of Criminology, Faculty of Law, University College Dublin for The National Crime Council and that's your argument in response.

Bet you had great exam results!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭emul8ter25

Fozzydog3 wrote: »
    Did it occur to you that they were busy stopping crimes ?

lol that def never occurred to me

when im in the city center i see loads of junkies and dealers with the guard just idly standing around. makes me sick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭cosanostra

My old neighbors had a party one night and played Bridge over troubled water all night on repeat full blast. So the following weekend I and stuck the Barney theme tune (the "I love you you love me" one)on full blast and went away for the weekend when i came back they had moved out!

Moral of the story get even!

Did you have to get help to think that one up.

I post links and excerpts to the official Garda website and also excerpts from a A Report by The Institute of Criminology, Faculty of Law, University College Dublin for The National Crime Council and that's your argument in response.

Bet you had great exam results!!!

Give Joe Duffy a call on Monday and complain about some kids singing at a party and the destruction of wider society, he laps that **** up.
    Emul8tor wrote:
    when im in the city center i see loads of junkies
    Its not illegal to be a junkie standing around. Jesus such a bunch of whingebags on this forum.

Give Joe Duffy a call on Monday and complain about some kids singing at a party and the destruction of wider society, he laps that **** up.

Its not illegal to be a junkie standing around. Jesus such a bunch of whingebags on this forum.

Yep, all must be whingebags.

The standard of your responses and their intellectual content indicate that you must live in an area where fighting, trespass and disturbance of the peace and junkies congregating on every street corner is the norm and acceptable behaviour. Anyone who objects must be a whinger!!

If you'd been in Tottenham over the past few weeks, you'd have probably complained about the whinging shopkeepers who gave out about the locals borrowing 42 TV's and dropping matches accidently on the floor!

jesus, your full of help today. i am sure we could go all the way to enda kenny if we want.

again, if you read back over old posts, you would see that the singing, while annoying, was not my real greivence.

cosanostra wrote: »
    My old neighbors had a party one night and played Bridge over troubled water all night on repeat full blast. So the following weekend I and stuck the Barney theme tune (the "I love you you love me" one)on full blast and went away for the weekend when i came back they had moved out!

Moral of the story get even!

as sais, dont mind so much the music, just dont like teens coming over to me trying to square up. if i hit one of them i would be the worst in the world.

yeah i like the idea though, have a very loud party some night on a friday or something with loads of kids. or just go cutting my grass at 7 in the morning.

allibastor wrote: »
    as sais, dont mind so much the music, just dont like teens coming over to me trying to square up.
    Maybe you shouldnt have been calling the police on them at 10pm on a Saturday night like some curtain twiching busybody then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭RustyNut

Voice of reason here. My friend had to complain about a party, same kind of thing and this is exactly what happened. Gardai had to come twice, 2nd time the party was given 15 minutes to "shut down"

I would think noisy party's at the weekend are not a priority for hard working cops as annoying as they can be.

I wonder what powers they intended to use to "shut down" the party and what would happen when it didn't shut down ?

Maybe you shouldnt have been calling the police on them at 10pm on a Saturday night like some curtain twiching busybody then.

i suppose then being outside my front door and shouting thier heads off while i have two small children asleep up stairs, both of which i moved out of thier normal rooms by the way so i didnt have to worry about them being disturbed by the noise.

i suppose thats fine then is it, lads yelling outside my house, then when i ask them to keep quiet they try and start, yeah that seems very unreasonable out of me. jesus, should i let them in next time to just go up and yell in my kids faces altogether?

RustyNut wrote: »
    I would think noisy party's at the weekend are not a priority for hard working cops as annoying as they can be.

I wonder what powers they intended to use to "shut down" the party and what would happen when it didn't shut down ?

There had been a bit of a history of Thursday - Sunday parties and ad hoc complaints. Started as a once off but then got a bit out of hand.

Gardai must have got a bit of a pain in their backside especially when they are getting 30 calls in an evening about the same thing. Had to act as Local Councillors etc getting involved and residents getting stroppy (understandable)

Think they told the person renting the house that they would have to speak to the Landlord/ptrb etc.

End of. No more messing.

Maybe they shouldnt have been drinking. Maybe they shouldnt have been outside of the premises shouting their heads off in a residential area. Maybe they should act like civilized people and not underage drunken morons.

allibastor wrote: »

i suppose then being outside my front door and shouting thier heads off while i have two small children asleep up stairs, both of which i moved out of thier normal rooms by the way so i didnt have to worry about them being disturbed by the noise.

i suppose thats fine then is it, lads yelling outside my house, then when i ask them to keep quiet they try and start, yeah that seems very unreasonable out of me. jesus, should i let them in next time to just go up and yell in my kids faces altogether?

This has turned from a load of 15 year old kids shouting in to a microphone at 10pm and one or two getting slightly aggressive and subsequently controlled by their friends (which you laughed off) in to complete social unrest with marauding groups of teens frightening your kids and looking for trouble.

A party got a bit out of hand before midnight on a saturday, get over it

There had been a bit of a history of Thursday - Sunday parties and ad hoc complaints. Started as a once off but then got a bit out of hand.

Gardai must have got a bit of a pain in their backside especially when they are getting 30 calls in an evening about the same thing. Had to act as Local Councillors etc getting involved and residents getting stroppy (understandable)

Think they told the person renting the house that they would have to speak to the Landlord/ptrb etc.

End of. No more messing.

Had something of a similar situation when i was renting in Dublin City, a very young couple moved in to a flat a couple of doors down. Parties would start at 3:00 am on thurs / fri / sat. The music was thumpin'.

Went down a couple of times, they were mashed off their heads so didnt give a sh1t at the time. Ended up getting on to the landlord who was less than impressed (he doesnt want the hassle of irate neighbours ringing him), so they were out on their ear and back to mammy and daddies.

baby_crying_closeup.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭s20101938

This is what the "Gardee" (most ridiculous and internationally embarassing name of any police force on earth) do:

Stroll in to the Spar for a free roll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,017 ✭✭✭✭yoyo

s20101938 wrote: »
    This is what the "Gardee" (most ridiculous and internationally embarassing name of any police force on earth) do:

Stroll in to the Spar for a free roll.

The Gards get free lunches :eek::eek: . And is this paid for by the tax payer by any chance? I heard they get petrol free for the garda car, fair enough but thats ripping the piss :eek::eek:

Nick

s20101938 wrote: »
    (most ridiculous and internationally embarassing name of any police force on earth)

OMG this is like so embarrassing. I can just picture all the rest of the world rolling around laughing at the name...

Wait, no.. No I can't.