senorwipesalot wrote: » Well any dealings Ive had with them(car tax,passports ect.) I found most of them to a sound bunch.Are you a guard?
allibastor wrote: » Hi All, Not sure if this is right place for it, so please move if required.thanks. Just wanted to ask if anyone feels the guards do thier jobs anymore? not a huge problem on my end, have very very ignorant neighbours who had a massive party last night for teenage son. had really loud music all night with microphones for them to shout into. then a load of the teens headed around the estate looking for someone, not sure who, but stopped outside my house and shouting thier heads off. told them to clear off and a few tried to fight, just laughed it off and two of the other lads pulled thier friends back. rang the guards then about the party, said they would look into it. rang them again about an hour later and said the would look into it again, other neighbours also rang as was talking to them outside. rang again at around midnight, guards said they called up but the people didnt turn down the music. then said there was nothing they could do about it, nothing about the loud noise, the fact that 15-17 yr old were drinking, the fact they were running around the estate looking for fights. just wanted to know if anyone else feels the guards dont really do much. you always see reports of how people have rang the gurads and there is nothing done about it. thanks.
senorwipesalot wrote: » Last year I was involved in a minor collision with another car and the guards were called.The investigating ban garda agreed at the scene that the other party was at fault and this was agreed by the other driver.The bangarda asked us both to call to the station later to make a statement. When I called to make my statement the bangarda greeted me with"Oh,Ive been speaking with my colleagues and we agreed it was 50/50" . When I politely reminded her of her initial comments and your mans admission she completly denied it and started coming down heavy. She "advised" me to drop it and sort out my own repairs.Now either the other party got a few strings pulled or that bitch couldnt be arsed doing her job. WTF? nyway ,its my only negative experience of the local gardai.
hondasam wrote: » It's a minor collision, civil matter between you and the other driver. What did you want her to do?
senorwipesalot wrote: » I think you missed my point.She said I was in the right initially then completly backtracked .
hondasam wrote: » she is not in a position to say who is right or wrong,perhaps this was pointed out to her by a senior officer.
Now either the other party got a few strings pulled or that bitch couldnt be arsed doing her job.
CiaranC wrote: » Its not illegal to be a junkie standing around. Jesus such a bunch of whingebags on this forum.
senorwipesalot wrote: » Perhaps she made the wrong call at the time but she made me out to be a liar when it was her mistake.It left a bad taste and my opinion of the guards took a nosedive at the time but sure tis in the past.
Chief--- wrote: » If you cant work it out with the other driver you go to your insurance company and they do it for you. The Gardai are only there to make sure everybody is licensed and insured and that no offences took place.
allibastor wrote: » Hi All, rang the guards then about the party, said they would look into it. rang them again about an hour later and said the would look into it again, other neighbours also rang as was talking to them outside. rang again at around midnight, guards said they called up but the people didnt turn down the music.
irelandspurs wrote: » Just petrol bomb the house that would work
Seanbeag1 wrote: » There is no offence of simply being intoxicated in a public place.
allibastor wrote: » Hi Guys, the last time i rang is when the guards said there were up already but the people didnt want to turn down the music or didnt say who was out on the street.
hondasam wrote: » This surprises me, they didn't want to turn the music down, the guards can do them for anti social behaviour.
anewme wrote: » ehhhhh......you should get your facts right. I think you will find that actually it is an offence.Section 4 of the Criminal Justice (Public Order) Act 1994 deals with the offence of being intoxicated (that is, drunk) in a public place. While the maximum fine for being intoxicated in a public place in Ireland is €500, the section gives the Gardai the power to seize the intoxicating substance (normally, the alcohol) where they suspect that an offence of being intoxicated in a public place is being committed.
Seanbeag1 wrote: » There is no offence of antisocial behaviour.
hondasam wrote: » Are you saying a person cannot be done for Anti social behaviour?
Forest Master wrote: » they had more important things to be doing than looking into a non-violent, non-disruptive party?
allibastor wrote: » had really loud music all night with microphones
allibastor wrote: » stopped outside my house and shouting thier heads off
allibastor wrote: » they were running around the estate looking for fights.
Seanbeag1 wrote: » Yes I am. There is no criminal offence of anti-social behaviour. There is what is known as an anti-social behaviour order that can be administered by the Gardaí in some cases but it is a civil order.
hondasam wrote: » If you do not comply with a civil order issued by a court then you are committing a criminal offence.
hondasam wrote: » Seanbeag1 wrote: » Yes I am. There is no criminal offence of anti-social behaviour. There is what is known as an anti-social behaviour order that can be administered by the Gardaí in some cases but it is a civil order. If you do not comply with a civil order issued by a court then you are committing a criminal offence.
Sofa King Great wrote: » Not to get too technical but the offence would be failure to comply with a specific court order rather than anti social behaviour. However, in this case there is no court order so the gardai are powerless