My solution to single mothers & social housing ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Monty. wrote: »
    There are lots of very empty hotels out there, with leisure centres etc., that would be glad to keep them as well.

I bet you're the type of person who was sad to see the Magdalene Laundries close.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

There are twenty nine thousand fathers on lone parents allowance in Ireland
    Just to throw this in seeing as the thread title and OP ignores this

And I know people scoff at "there but the grace of God go I" but considering hundreds die in road accidents every year, anyone could find themselves a single parent suddenly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭rebecca 30

Originally Posted by rebecca 30
    But how do you know they are getting single person allowance ????
    It was my job to know what their income was.
    Quote:
    why do you not report them if your so sure ???
    I did, several times.
    Quote:

your the one who said it was your job to know their income

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,651 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

rebecca 30 wrote: »
    But how do you know they are getting single person allowance ????
    It was my job to know what their income was.
    Quote:
    why do you not report them if your so sure ???
    I did, several times.
    Quote:

your the one who said it was your job to know their income
    Correct. It was part of my job to know what their income was.

I don't see the problem here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭Monty.

I bet you're the type of person who was sad to see the Magdalene Laundries close.

Hotels ? I bet you're the type of person that likes to try and twist peoples words but is not very good at it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,331 ✭✭✭RichieC

I've rarely seen a so called "single" mother with a council house who doesn’t have their partner living with them on the sly, paying no rent and claiming all the benefits. "Cock Lodgers" I believe they are called.

What do you mean you've rarely seen? do you conduct polls or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭naasface

This thread makes me sad.

Can't believe some of the things I'm reading. What we need is more regulation, not forcing families to share houses.
    There is a lot of stigma attached to coming from a single parent family and we should do everything to remove this stigma not make it worse. I'm saying this as a child of a single mother im an adult now though obviously :)

RichieC wrote: »
    What do you mean you've rarely seen? do you conduct polls or something?

Polls ? You should have went to specsavers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

Mmmm

I am a single mum, 2 kids, have mortgage , feck all support from kids Dad, training to be an accounted , how .ucken dare ye talk about all single mothers like that , we are not all like that . Get over yourself

whats the rate for an accounted these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭looky loo

whats the rate for an accounted these days.

Don't be obtuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭carlybabe1

Phase out childrens allowance altogether, so the lower classes can't afford to breed like rats.

seriously, if ye dont know WTF you're shltin on about, dont ask for a slap by displaying your ignorance, it just makes you look.......:rolleyes: thick..everybody gets childrens allowance, regardless of income...
    dublin daz wrote: »
    Sure we might as well just open up the convents / industrial schools. That would reduce the housing list by 100%

While I don't agree with fraud, I think the family, in any form married or unmarried deserve to live with dignity.

+1, no-ones circumstances are the same, not all "lone parents "were single mothers, theres an unhealthy amount of blokes who think nothing of walking away from thier off spring without so much as a glance over the shoulder :(
    Rabidlamb wrote: »
    It's their choice whether or not they leave mammy, same as anyone growing up.
    Most houses will have an incumbent so let them decide from the 3 candidates near the top of the list

:D:D ahhh, the idealist who has never fallen on hard times, nor has any-one close to them....there but for the grace of god go I
    chucken1 wrote: »
    Wow!

indeed
    El Weirdo wrote: »
    Rent Allowance/Supplement needs to be cut in order to make it more financially feasable for people to take offers of social housing.

At present many families are better off in private rented accommodation with the state paying their rent than they would be in social housing paying (max) ~€75p/w in rent.

hahahahha again, such ignorance, the council charge you 15 % of your income, the rent allowance pay considerably less, and if you try to work a few hrs during the week, you lose euro to euro what you earn over 55 e per week, ditto if you are doing a "fas" course, or indeed anything to improve your circumstances....so nooooooo, rent allowance traps you in a hole, it certainly doesnt make life easy, if anything its quite the opposite

Ive a friend working in Limerick corpo housing section and shes told me stories of people refusing houses. I dont understand that at all.

I was in a caravan with 2 small children for over 5 years(simply because in the 90's,landlords refused to rent to a one parent family..small town Ireland) before I was offered any house and I jumped at the 1st one I was allocated.

Its been home for many years now :)

while yes, i understand your confusion, you cannot condemn some-one for not taking a house when you dont know the circumstances, if you dont know the area
    Zebra3 wrote: »
    I think that all those retired politicans, all such patriots, who are on generous state pensions should have a lone parent and her kid(s) move in with them.

Family off the waiting list.

Patriotic politican continues to serve country.

Taxpayer saves money.

Win, win, win!!!!!

I think Im in luuuuuurve :D
    Mmmm

I am a single mum, 2 kids, have mortgage , feck all support from kids Dad, training to be an accounted , how .ucken dare ye talk about all single mothers like that , we are not all like that . Get over yourself

+1, we're not all "spongers"
    Well you choose him, are you not going to take some responsibility for your own choices ?

wish there was a YAWN smilie, you're ignorance is becoming boring...of course it smacks somewhat of misogyny but hey,its all the womans fault for opening her legs....just for semantics, whats your view on abortions?? :D
    Good for you & I admire you're work.

In most cases, though, single mothers raise kids who will be nothing but a problem for other people to deal with & pay for..

i strongly disagree with this, though I can see why most peoples opinions are similiar...however, how come its the single mothers that are being blamed for being a drain on the government when even after the melt-down and the gov mortaged us up to the hilt, the bank staff were still getting bonuses?? there was sweet f8ck a;; about that outrage on boards..or the fact that the banks, on the promise of the floater was supposed to take extra consideration against people losing thier homes.....but they wouldnt commit, and were given the bailout anyway,only to evict people anyway :eek::eek::eek: dont remember any threads on that......:rolleyes: pissed off with this whole 'social abuse' shlte on here when in reality, its a pittance in comparison to what these **** have cost us......pickin on the woing demographic lads..and thats by design......all together now "bahahahahhah". bleat like sheep :D

looky loo wrote: »
    Don't be obtuse.

why do you think i should not be of use

Hotels ? I bet you're the type of person that likes to try and twist peoples words but is not very good at it.

Almost as good as you are at making ill-judged and ignorant comments about single mothers and where they should be kept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,651 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

carlybabe1 wrote: »
    hahahahha again, such ignorance, the council charge you 15 % of your income, the rent allowance pay considerably less, and if you try to work a few hrs during the week, you lose euro to euro what you earn over 55 e per week, ditto if you are doing a "fas" course, or indeed anything to improve your circumstances....so nooooooo, rent allowance traps you in a hole, it certainly doesnt make life easy, if anything its quite the opposite
    I worked for a housing association and several times I had families refuse housing as they were better off staying where they were and claiming RAS.

So please excuse my "ignorance".

Polls ? You should have went to specsavers.

That should read "Should have gone to Specsavers"

It's financial suicide for any young couple to ever get married now, they would loose out on a nice cheap state provided and maintained house, and hundreds of thousands of state benefits over the years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭B_Fanatic

Sounds like the first stages of genocide. Isolate a portion of society in these huge ghost estates. Sounds a little too much like forcing people to live somewhere they don't

That should read "Should have gone to Specsavers"

Your not back then

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭chucken1

Your not back then

I smell a troll

I know plenty of people who claim to be single mothers or deserted mothers but still living with their partners, its a win win for them,

I know some who at the start of the boom baught a house in one name availing of the 1st time buyers grant (ooooo the good times) and bought a 2nd in the other persons name availing of the 1st time buyers grant twice,

then bought there own house as a couple using the collateral from both properties and getting the 1st time buyers grant for a 3rd time,

their clever fookers most of them, a resource not being tapped into by the powers that be.

I smell a troll

Change your clothes then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭dyl10

Jesus, you'd swear that these 'rogue parents' were threathening our sovereignty or something...
    Give me a break :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

It's financial suicide for any young couple to ever get married now, they would loose out on a nice cheap state provided and maintained house, and hundreds of thousands of sate benefits over the years.

A lot of my sisters friends have kids and live with the father but are pretending they are single mothers and they are making a living out of it. I'm not saying it's the same in 100% of cases but there are definitely people gaming the system to their advantage because it's so easy.

She has gotten into arguments with a few of them because they tend to use the phrase "when i get my house" to describe all the stuff they'll demand from the council when they hit the top of the housing list. Roughly half of them turned down the first house they were offered because it wasn't new. They all got their houses fully furnished and got to pick their fitted kitchens and wardrobes before they moved in.

Most of them live in the one estate in the town that had houses going for €250,000+ in it a few years ago. I feel sorry for the mugs living beside them that are locked into a 35 year mortgage.

El Weirdo wrote: »
    I worked for a housing association and several times I had families refuse housing as they were better off staying where they were and claiming RAS.

So please excuse my "ignorance".

I seriously doubt that, as i went through the system as a "single mother". I couldnt work as it would have cost me more, as i , I would have to pay child-minder, also I would lose 1e for1e over 55 per week, even the officer was astounded that I would be worse off tryin not to "sponge" off the system...so yeah, Im callin shenanigans on your "quote"
    It's financial suicide for any young couple to ever get married now, they would loose out on a nice cheap state provided and maintained house, and hundreds of thousands of sate benefits over the years.

:D:D seriously, if i didnt think you were trolling, i might be offended...nice cheap state provided house, where you son comes running in terrified at 4 in the morning cause your neighbours house is getting smashed up by a psycho, and your 4 yr old is the first to hear it, and doesn't sleep for over a week...yeah thats reeeeeal nice ....how long do you reckon you would last in a place like that???? :eek:...nice it AINT, but then, if ye aint lived there, ye dont know....but hey...you're entitled to an "opinion"...

Im glad I've learned not to judge, humility etc

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

:D:D seriously, if i didnt think you were trolling, i might be offended...nice cheap state provided house, where you son comes running in terrified at 4 in the morning cause your neighbours house is getting smashed up by a psycho, and your 4 yr old is the first to hear it, and doesn't sleep for over a week...yeah thats reeeeeal nice ....how long do you reckon you would last in a place like that???? :eek:...nice it AINT, but then, if ye aint lived there, ye dont know....but hey...you're entitled to an "opinion"...

That can happen in regular, non-state provided accomodation as well. Expect the person is stuck there because of the whole mortgage thing and all.

Im glad I've learned not to judge, humility etc

Ahh I see, you fancy a transfer to a brand new house instead of cleaning that 2 year old one. It will work too. Don't forget to sue the state as well.

A lot of my sisters friends have kids and live with the father but are pretending they are single mothers and they are making a living out of it. I'm not saying it's the same in 100% of cases but there are definitely people gaming the system to their advantage because it's so easy.

She has gotten into arguments with a few of them because they tend to use the phrase "when i get my house" to describe all the stuff they'll demand from the council when they hit the top of the housing list. Roughly half of them turned down the first house they were offered because it wasn't new. They all got their houses fully furnished and got to pick their fitted kitchens and wardrobes before they moved in.

Most of them live in the one estate in the town that had houses going for €250,000+ in it a few years ago. I feel sorry for the mugs living beside them that are locked into a 35 year mortgage

Im sorry, but to me this is pure myth, this shiiiiiiiite doesn't happen. If you're on a council list, all houses are the same, ALLL of them. This is pure hate mongering, and is soo untrue

you dont get a council house in the middle of a private estate, you just dont, maybe in an estate behind/beside/infront, but deffo not inside the same one....and noooo they dont get the same fitted wardrobes/kitchens yada/yada...:confused:
    its this kind of unfounded hate-mongering that is really annoying, because its untrue

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭CorkMan

dublin daz wrote: »
    Sure we might as well just open up the convents / industrial schools. That would reduce the housing list by 100%

While I don't agree with fraud, I think the family, in any form married or unmarried deserve to live with dignity.

Who knows how bad this recession will get.

Im sorry, but to me this is pure myth, this shiiiiiiiite doesn't happen. If you're on a council list, all houses are the same, ALLL of them. This is pure hate mongering, and is soo untrue

you dont get a council house in the middle of a private estate, you just dont, maybe in an estate behind/beside/infront, but deffo not inside the same one....and noooo they dont get the same fitted wardrobes/kitchens yada/yada...:confused:
    its this kind of unfounded hate-mongering that is really annoying, because its untrue

You’re being screwed then. Our local council has bought lots of houses in nearly new private estates over the last few years. No nasty 250k mortgage, estate management fee, or maintenance to worry about, unlike your neighbour. You should demand one. It’s your entitlement.

Ahh I see, you fancy a transfer to a brand new house instead of cleaning that 2 year old one. It will work too. Don't forget to sue the state as well.

yeaahhhhhh..that must be it...cause i dont give a shlte about movin my kids around, them havin to make new friends/the horror of being the new kid in the school/ how far away from family they are now....god im dozing off reading that shlte....:rolleyes:
    That can happen in regular, non-state provided accomodation as well. Expect the person is stuck there because of the whole mortgage thing and all.

I have no doubt that it can, and does. I wouldnt know because i dont live there, but you cannot tar all with the one brush is my point