TV3 Ireland's Biggest Beggars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭oranbhoy67

EarlERizer wrote: »
    The Irish who arrived ready for work and set about doing it too! and not without the discriminations they endured and little to no rights .....however,while I dont have the statistics to hand I think you will actually find that the Asian communties are the largest minority (there's a contradiction) in the UK followed closely by Jamacian with the Irish somewhere down in the 'other minorities' pool.

http://www.statistics.gov.uk/pdfdir/meg1202.pdf

Population
    • The size of the minority ethnic population was 4.5 million in
    2001/02 or 7.6 per cent of the total population of the United
    Kingdom. Indians were the largest minority group, followed by
    Pakistanis, Black Caribbeans, Black Africans, and those of
    Mixed ethnic backgrounds.

Now,there ya go bhoy, lesson learned,do some background reading before making bold statements!

Oh & case you want some proof to back up my bold statement then look up http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/pathways/citizenship/brave_new_world/immigration.htm
    particulary the part that reads "Even in the 1970s the Irish remained the largest immigrant community in Britain" now you do some background reading next time..lesson learnt?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

this is another reason why we need to tell the EU where to go, because as soon as we try to deport any of these lowlifes, they go all human rights on us.

Firstly,it's okee dokee :rolleyes:

Now just because you happen to have been born in the UK to Irish parents doesnt make you an expert nor the leading authority on the subject.

There are rough estimates saying there are 6 million UK citizens with approx 25% Irish ancestory , that doesnt make them Irish. There are infact (according to the census report of 2001) 690,000 Irish born residents in the UK or 1.2% of the population.

Here's more reading material for you
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ethnic_groups_in_the_United_Kingdom

:D Those are actual facts,right!
    Again you have presented statistics of ethnic races & not nationalities...
    i loathe to use wikipedia to defeat you in this argument but seeing as you have then go to http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Irish_migration_to_Great_Britain

now look under- History...
    it states "Irish people have been the largest minority group in Britain for centuries, regularly migrating across the Irish Sea. "
    Now take some of your own good advice & do some research next time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭EarlERizer

oranbhoy67 wrote: »
    Again you have presented statistics of ethnic races & not nationalities...
    i loathe to use wikipedia to defeat you in this argument but seeing as you have then go to http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Irish_migration_to_Great_Britain

now look under- History...
    it states "Irish people have been the largest minority group in Britain for centuries, regularly migrating across the Irish Sea. "
    Now take some of your own good advice & do some research next time.

Pat yourself on the back,I'll give you the victory in your pointless argument as it's 1.50am and I cant be ar$ed to play any longer.

In hindsight I should've originally replied with "whats your point" rather than stringing you along with me stirring your pot.

The point been made was the fact that we (the Irish living here in Ireland) have learnt fook all from watching the mistakes made by our nearest neighbour in regard to uncontrolled mass immigration and the problems that manifest from it.

Surely as an Englishman you can agree with that atleast?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭wonderfulname

I feel incredibly conflicted in judging an entire ethnic group but every single one of my experiences with the romani was bad, every first hand account and news story the same, I have never once met a romani working, and given that they are confused with the romanians, who appear to be very proactive when it comes to employment, I don't think discrimination can be blamed for that.

Has anyone ever stood outside the church on the quays just before mass ends? They come forth like a zombie apocalypse and block off the exit from just inside, hounding the elderly as they attempt to leave, it's a disgusting image, pure abuse of those who have a reputation for genuine charity.

My favourite experience of these guys was in Berlin, they were hunting out the obvious foreigners, of which it seems I most definitely am one. Every one of them had the same poorly written, poorly photocopied sheet, with a sob story about their disabled child, what are the odds eh? After a few encounters I started pretending I didn't speak English, they had the story down to a tee in French, Italian and Spanish, not Irish though, standing through the same story, with the same wording 4 times in a row is totally worth it to see the murderous facial expression when you claim to only speak a language they have never even heard of!

Come to think of it I used to have fun with the romani before I just became pissed off with the whole charade, I once lectured one on the dietary requirements of pregnant women for a considerable length of time when she asked me to buy her a coffee, "for the baby", think I might go back to driving them mental...

Less amusing anecdote: B*stard nicked my phone, nabbed it from in front of me whilst pretending to sell the big issue, which it turned out he had beaten the homeless guy who used to sell them outside powerscourt for. He rang home off the phone, I retrieved the number and informed his family he had come to Ireland to be a worthless criminal, they probably knew that already but it felt good to know something had been done as the guards weren't particularly interested in the whereabouts of a cheap little phone.

I have many more but I'm sure everyone has experienced similar, the complete negativity of this thread has to come from somewhere. What do we do with them though? They are extremely persecuted, Hitler tried to wipe them out in his own special way, most of Europe seems to have gone for the lighter approach of kicking them out at one point or another, us kicking them out won't achieve anything and they will be back at some point, how tough could we get on organised begging? Would we be able to operate a strict zero tolerance policy on their actions without it being discrimination? Tightening up social welfare for non nationals would probably do a lot, but you'd have to do it in a way that wouldn't hurt all those who've paid their taxes and have as much right to draw the dole as everyone else that has been laid off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

They had the right idea in Belfast

Pat yourself on the back,I'll give you the victory in your pointless argument as it's 1.50am and I cant be ar$ed to play any longer.

In hindsight I should've originally replied with "whats your point" rather than stringing you along with me stirring your pot.

The point been made was the fact that we (the Irish living here in Ireland) have learnt fook all from watching the mistakes made by our nearest neighbour in regard to uncontrolled mass immigration and the problems that manifest from it.

Surely as an Englishman you can agree with that atleast?

Well seeing as im the offspring of immigrants & am now an immigrant to this country..(but not from England- didnt you know there was more than one country in the UK? ) well im not gonna be too anti-immigrant am i?

My point is that yes there is a culture that exists with romanys that i dont want in this country however im very wary of your argument which
    was getting a bit close too "send all foreigners home" territory for my liking

If countries (especially the UK) done that with our (Irish) immigrants them we`d be in a much deeper sh1tehole than we already are in.. immigration works both ways you know..

However the topic here is romanis & i agree that they are one exception to the rule... what we do about it well i dont know ,but as far as im concerned open borders is still a good thing despite these scumbags.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

I was down in Killarney a few weeks ago and have been there a good few times and all the roma have gone from the town compared to years ago, i think it was the tought garda action and locals giving them a beating;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭Pdfile

LighterGuy wrote: »
    Romanian gypsies are scum. Through and through.
    I have worked with regular romanian people and as the op said, they hate them as much as everyone else.

They should be thrown out. Simple as. Create some BS law or ruling (for face) while in reality just getting them out.

same here, i have quite a few Romanian friends and they are great people, the gypsies are trained conditioned criminals, nothing short of it.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

Must be frustrating for Romanians getting lumped in with this group. My mate's boyfriend is Romanian and his name has become Lucas-He's-Romanian-NOT-A-GYPSY when she's telling people about him!

Just hate their ridiculous behaviour. I'm often on the bus at 8/9pm home from college and there's always a few. Hardly heading out to the suburbs to beg at that time, are they :rolleyes: My friend caught a girl robbing her phone from her bag. Mate grabbed the girls hand as it was in the bag "what the fcuk are you doing" etc and the girl just says she's doing nothing! Eh, you have your hand in the bag. Scummers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,014 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

oranbhoy67 wrote: »
    If countries (especially the UK) done that with our (Irish) immigrants them we`d be in a much deeper sh1tehole than we already are in.. immigration works both ways you know..

big difference, i don't see the Romani actually working and building half the country like the Irish did when they arrived in Britain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

The Government should read this thread... along with Social Welfare inspectors.

I'm not entitled to any money as I'm a student. I'm living off 100 quid since I came back for the Summer. Fair enough, rules are rules, but I have worked for the past few years. I can't find a job atm in Dublin to help me get through the Summer but I am living with my parents which makes it easier, but they're not bringing in much either. Sickens me that I'm spending cash to get an education (studying in the UK) to help this country, yet f*ckers like those gypsies are getting e400+ a week without any contributions?

Disgrace!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

Burn them!!!!

This was even by TV3 standards, the laziest, most inane piece of McJournalism of the year. Totally populist, badly researched, badly executed. Who were the security firm that got free advertising for the ****ing camera?

They should all be deported - TV3 'reporters' that is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

If they beg at me, I play the six year old and copy them, actions and words. If they pull out the card with the photograph I take it and then play the "You didn't give me anything" game. They're not begging, lads, they just wanna play! They're very good at it, too, you'd swear they were genuinely frustrated at how annoying I got.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 27,498 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

If people did not give them money they would stop.
    It's quite simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭bigpoppa

Few years back I found them hassling a neighbour of my parents who was quite old and told them to leave only to be spat at. I called the cops who arrived in minutes to take them away.

My second delightful experience was they called to a house I lived in and I was like no thanks and on the way out they marked my car with a marker. Problem was I saw them and was furious. Again cops arrived (and had other reports previously) and they were taken away.

Point is when you see them intimidating people call the cops, yes the might not come but report it anyway.

As for that TV3 show , piss poor as always, spot the subtle product placement by the covert camera company (q: can you stick a cherrypicker in any street and attach a camera to a pole in a utility box?). I especially liked how they interviewed journo Tallant (who is on 50% of tv3 shows now) only to contradict her articles later on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,113 ✭✭✭optogirl

no doubt some lobby group would march to the streets to oppose that :rolleyes:.

I should hope so - you don't get to deport a nationality, especially if they are European citizens and have the right to be here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

spurious wrote: »
    If people did not give them money they would stop.
    It's quite simple.

thats just wrong.... they would simply change tactic.... get money from a different source.

it has already been mentioned that Roma Gypsies are trained criminals - and we've seen from recent Sunday Newspapers on Roma thieving copper from building sites and abandoned buildings - putting their lives at risk to get the copper.

Roma have been a blight in every country even as far back as the 16th century - they cannot be deported because they have no country to call home (they are not all from Romania).

Personally I think its time to call a referendum on the Lisbon Treaty - and we vote NO again....we can call another vote on it.

Then we can begin to remove unwanted sectors of immigrants - personally I'd ship everyone with a criminal conviction back to the country their passport is from....the Irish passport holders go directly to mountjoy or a similar prison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

optogirl wrote: »
    I should hope so - you don't get to deport a nationality, especially if they are European citizens and have the right to be here

thats one of the problems with the LISBON treaty - we need to have another referrendum and remove our agreement to it, so we can begin to remove unwanted elements of society and cleanse it with immigrants that are willing to behave within the laws of the state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭Bartyman

Fart wrote: »
    The Government should read this thread... along with Social Welfare inspectors.

I'm not entitled to any money as I'm a student. I'm living off 100 quid since I came back for the Summer. Fair enough, rules are rules, but I have worked for the past few years. I can't find a job atm in Dublin to help me get through the Summer but I am living with my parents which makes it easier, but they're not bringing in much either. Sickens me that I'm spending cash to get an education (studying in the UK) to help this country, yet f*ckers like those gypsies are getting e400+ a week without any contributions?

Disgrace!

I loved the phrase " Welfare Wonderland ", If you lose your job, you get a year unemployment benefit and then your means tested, OH was made redundant afeter working for 27 years, got benefit for exactly a year and then was told you have to be means tested, because I'm lucky enough to have a job and a few euro for a rainy day, you get nada, yet these people get €420.00 a week plus extra's for contributing nothing. FFS :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

Well I have always said that immigrants should be made welcome IF THEY WORK!! I have lived abroad for many years in countries where, if you don't have a job then you can't stay - simple as that! Yes I know the EU says they are entitled to stay here etc etc but some of it is ridiculous. We need to put a stop to it.

There is a family at the end of a road near me - don't know where they are from - the house is in bits - it used to be lovely, garden is full of cats, they have left to go home for the summer (2 months) but they will be back next week to sign on again and claim their child benefit etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

We have no true centre-right parties so nothing willl ever be done about them and we shall obey brussells and the loony left until we do get a centre right party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,646 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Show last night made me angry, I hate those bastarding ROMA gypsies. Im not racist but they just do not contribute to society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Alopex wrote: »
    ireland signed up to free movement in the eu. so that would be like suggesting dublin city council deport culchy beggars to their home county.

Freemovement is conditional. It is not a free reign to do whatever you like
    Ally Dick wrote: »
    Unfortunately we're all Europeans now and we are honoured to take them. (Thank You Bertie Ahern, and your insistence of passing the Nice Treaty)

We're obliged to take EU citizens. We're not obliged to keep all EU citizens.
    Ally Dick wrote: »
    The stupid Irish people voted in the Nice Treaty at second time of asking, wihout understanding the implications in it regarding migration of people from poorer parts of the EU. Bertie Ahern neglected to explain it to us as well. He knew the score

Stupid like the stupid people who don't understand European migration and residence laws yet still feel the need to complain about the treaties?
    this is another reason why we need to tell the EU where to go, because as soon as we try to deport any of these lowlifes, they go all human rights on us.

The same EU which gave us free movement of citizens also gave us the mechanism to legally deport EU citizens in certain circumstances. It is our governments fault that this is not used.
    PCPhoto wrote: »
    thats one of the problems with the LISBON treaty - we need to have another referrendum and remove our agreement to it, so we can begin to remove unwanted elements of society and cleanse it with immigrants that are willing to behave within the laws of the state.

It has nothing to do with the Lisbon Treaty. Under EU law we already have the right to deport EU citizens in certain circumstances. The problem isn't with Brussels, it's with Dublin.
    optogirl wrote: »

You don't get to deport a nationality. You do get to deport individuals. As many as you want once they don't meet the criteria for staying here.

Why does this have to be pointed out over and over, and over...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Why does this have to be pointed out over and over, and over...

try writing it in huge letters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭loveisdivine

We were in Paris a while back and we went into McDonalds to get a drink and to rest our feet for a few minutes, anyway while we there a Roma Gypsy came in with a baby in her arms and started going round each table begging.

It was horrible, she asked us and we said no but she just stood there still asking and staring at us, I just kept saying no till she left.

Then she went over to one table where the guy got up and started shouting at her, I couldnt understand all of it cos my french isnt great but I made out "No its nothing to do with your baby, its not for your baby"
    Then she left quickly!

Its one thing being hassled as you walk past in the street but a whole other story for them to actually come into shops/fast food places etc and harass you while you are sat eating/drinking.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Bartyman wrote: »
    yet these people get €420.00 a week plus extra's for contributing nothing. FFS :mad:

I must say, this made me nauseous :mad:

The piece should have been scrapped if they couldn't come up with anything ground breaking.. it was a huge disappointment imho.. it went nowhere.

Was the presenter actually trying to pull at our heartstrings by the end of it :confused: what was the conclusion?

He went on to say that some were only getting as little as a tenner a day begging, nay, hassling people for money? God love them.. And they're still getting Social Welfare.. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Too many in agreement in this thread, where the feck is Nodin to liven things up a little?... :pac:

Oh, I agree with 99.9% of opinion expressed in this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

And these people are our leaders? How did they get it so wrong when the Nice Treaty was being debated?

Oh there was a lot more but the main ones

" I estimate that fewer than 2,000 will choose our distant shores each
    year." [P.De Rossa, I.T. Letters, 20/8/2002 ]

"Efforts have been made to foment fears that migrants from the new member
    states could flock to Ireland. This is not only unpleasant but plainly
    wrong." [Brian Cowen, Sunday Business Post, 7/7/2002 ]

" The second myth is that the Nice Treaty will mean mass immigration from
    the new EU member countries in Eastern Europe. This is probably the most
    odious of the myths propagated by some in the "No" campaign." [Minister
    Willie O'Dea, Sunday Independent,Summer 2002]

prinz, don't quote me and say I'm here and don't understand treaties and laws and so want to complain about them.
    Just how did these people and some of them MEP's with access to every report going get it so wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭D1976

xzanti wrote: »
    I must say, this made me nauseous :mad:

The piece should have been scrapped if they couldn't come up with anything ground breaking.. it was a huge disappointment imho.. it went nowhere.

Was the presenter actually trying to pull at our heartstrings by the end of it :confused: what was the conclusion?

He went on to say that some were only getting as little as a tenner a day begging, nay, hassling people for money? God love them.. And they're still getting Social Welfare.. :mad:

Well said xzanti, the end bit was crazy. They were only short of playing the sad violin piece for the poor roma beggar.