Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Moving to Oz!

• Registered Users Posts: 20 geminiii

Thanks Markymark21 and Cupcake- I havent got to ten posts yet so I cant "thank" your replies! Im thinking of leaving work at the end of September so I should have three months of unused tax credits- im dying to know how much I will get back!

Probably booking my flights in the next two weeks- exciting times!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭lima

Hey Y'all,

Arrived last Thursday after 9 fun days in Thailand. It's pretty chilly alright so I'm just glad I brought my favorite scarf! I've had it lucky, I've been crashing with friends for free and just found my self a room in an apartment owned by an Aussie guy of similar age in Elwood/St Kilda.. moving in later today actually :-)

Opening a Bank Account was so easy compared to the nightmare of London. Got 3 accounts set up with ANZ, a normal one, a saving one and a term deposit one as I am looking to stay here longer than my WHV (either through getting sponsored or going for the Skilled Worker Visa).

Anyway, great to be here, and even though I'm in St Kilda, all my friends are either Swedish or Aussie so to me it's not like what some people say.. although I walked by a new pub called 'The Craic' yesterday and walked in for the laugh and it was hillarious - guy playing Whiskey in the Jar and everyone gulping pints - in the middle of the arvo! :-) As long as I can watch a Dublin match in there it'll be grand though :-)

So, now to get a job...

oh, and anyone in St Kilda want to meet for a coffee? just pm me

Cheers

• Registered Users Posts: 6,240 ✭✭✭hussey

lima wrote: »

Opening a Bank Account was so easy compared to the nightmare of London. Got 3 accounts set up with ANZ, a normal one, a saving one and a term deposit one as I am looking to stay here longer than my WHV (either through getting sponsored or going for the Skilled Worker Visa).

Highjacking your thread here but if you want term deposits/savings accounts have a look at rabo/uBank - they should be about 1-1.5% higher
    http://www.canstar.com.au/term-deposits/
    The linked accounts are handy, but not competitive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

I signed my contract for Melbourne and faxed it today. Company have started the Visa application. Barring disaster, I'll be making the short (8 hours!) hop to Melbourne from here for the start of September!

Seems to be lots of us about to arrive or recently arrived - Boards Beers (Melbourne Edition) in September anyone??

• Registered Users Posts: 47 Cupcake.

Lima - fantatsic - well done on making it over in one piece !! Pity the weather isn't a bit nicer for you this week post thailand but sure there's plenty of shelter in the cafes/bar in st.kilda :) amazing to find a place that quickly too!

Myflipflops - congrats on signing your contract! Nice to have the jo bit sorted before you come over!:cool:

Hussey - hijacking is encouraged - all tips on settling in welcome! thanks for that - once the paychecks start rolling in i'll be looking for a saving ac too.

• Registered Users Posts: 256 ✭✭bigdogbarking

Hi folks, just seen the thread and thought i'd contribute something useless to it:D
    just arrived a couple of weeks ago and melbourne has to be the most incredible city i've ever seen, and i'd consider myself very well travelled!
    Congrats to anyone who took the plunge and made it over safely and to anyone else who is thinking about it -DO IT!!

A few tips for anyone coming out are to definitely pack a hoodie, not baltic conditions but pretty cold at night and days are akin to your average late spring day at home, nice when the sun comes out but stay out of the shade!! nighttime can be chilly too. Although some aussies tend to over exaggerate a bit by wearing ear-muffs, scarfs and leg warmers. I was happy enough walking around in tshirt and jeans although i was questioned by a few locals who thought i was insane!!

Transport around the city is second to none. so easy to navigate and use! No tips really here for that, even a boardsie could understand it!

There are a million things to do whether you are backpacking or moving with wife and kids etc and a huge Irish presence in st Kilda albeit most of them are young singletons living it up big time but its a great place to visit and get talking to "paddys" for plenty of advice on where to vist etc

Unless you are earning aus$ then drink can seem extortionate which may be why there isnt as huge a drinking culture as back home. $10 for a pint of guinness or beer!! Spirits are scarily priced too! although there are lots of places that do happy hours and deals on different nights of the weeks (hence why a fact-finding trip to the backpackers in st kilda pays dividends)

For anyone looking to stay long term and planning on long term rentals, my advice is to not expect too much too soon.I've been looking for months before we left and every day here, so finding a place could take a few weeks unless you get extremely lucky as the market is pretty cut throat due to demand exceeding supply. Also it can be pretty expensive to live inner city too and some of the properties look like they leapt from a time-warp from mid 80's, browny flowery walls and carpet and mahogony coloured wood everywhere although there are some nice new build and renovations popping up from time to time, Also photos can be very misleading- definitely wait to see a place in person before making any offers. i know of two people that put deposits on a house before they arrived and were horrified and disgusted at what the actual property looked like in real-life.

If anyone has any questions feel free to pm, also a boards.ie meet up would be pretty cool!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

... Also photos can be very misleading- definitely wait to see a place in person before making any offers. i know of two people that put deposits on a house before they arrived and were horrified and disgusted at what the actual property looked like in real-life.

LOL, Every village has one!

• Registered Users Posts: 71 ✭✭blondie82

Great thread.

bigdogbarking, thanks for the useful info, will be arriving in Melbourne myself on 29th August. Have the hoodie ready to go in the rucksack ;)

Have meeting lined up with an agency to do childcare work. Will be looking for a room in share house /apt. Hoping close to CBD but like you say depends on cost. Hope to god I can start work fairly fast, the crap euro exchange rate is worrying me a bit.

Would def be interested in a boards beers to help settle in!Jesus $10 for a beer! I actually hate beer, prefer wine, any chance that's cheap?!:p

Hello :)

I just received a large welcome pack with lots of info that would have been helpful to me a few weeks ago!....It may be of use to people moving over :) ....some of it is stating the very obvious..I've just put the renters section as a start.

Renter’s Checklist

1. Look through the popular rental property (domain.com.au and realestate.co.au) to see what properties are available in your price range
    2. View properties
    3. Carefully read your new lease, make sure Lease includes names and signatures of all tenants & the landlord. All parties should receive a copy.
    4. If applicable ask your employer to take account of the rent in calculating you Living Away from Home allowance
    5. Arrange utilities - telephone, electricity and gas – at your new property
    6. Organise contents insurance to protect your personal belongings
    7. Collect the keys to your new home. Make duplicates from the originals as needed
    8. Check the new property’s condition report, noting any faults or pre-existing problems with the property, such as the condition of the carpets. This must be returned within 7 days
    9. Find out when rubbish and recycling are collected.

For more rental tips, please see the following website:
    http://www.nsw.gov.au/moving.asp
    http://www.aussiemigrant.com

Arrange utilities

Electricity http://www.connectnow.com.au
    Gas/electricity https://agl.com.au
    Gas/electricity http://www.energy.com.au
    Telephone http://www.telstra.com
    Telephone http://optus.com.au

Furniture

Fantastic Furniture http://www.fantasticfurniture.com.au
    Freedom http://www.freedom.com.au/
    Harvey Norman http://www.harveynorman.com.au
    Ikea http://www.ikea.com/

Electrical

Bing Lee http://www.binglee.com.au/
    Retravision http://www.retravision.com.au/

• Registered Users Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Munster_Gal

Cupcake. wrote: »
    Hello :)

I just received a large welcome pack with lots of info that would have been helpful to me a few weeks ago!....It may be of use to people moving over :) ....some of it is stating the very obvious..I've just put the renters section as a start.

Renter’s Checklist

1. Look through the popular rental property (domain.com.au and realestate.co.au) to see what properties are available in your price range
    2. View properties
    3. Carefully read your new lease, make sure Lease includes names and signatures of all tenants & the landlord. All parties should receive a copy.
    4. If applicable ask your employer to take account of the rent in calculating you Living Away from Home allowance
    5. Arrange utilities - telephone, electricity and gas – at your new property
    6. Organise contents insurance to protect your personal belongings
    7. Collect the keys to your new home. Make duplicates from the originals as needed
    8. Check the new property’s condition report, noting any faults or pre-existing problems with the property, such as the condition of the carpets. This must be returned within 7 days
    9. Find out when rubbish and recycling are collected.

For more rental tips, please see the following website:
    http://www.nsw.gov.au/moving.asp
    http://www.aussiemigrant.com

Arrange utilities

Electricity http://www.connectnow.com.au
    Gas/electricity https://agl.com.au
    Gas/electricity http://www.energy.com.au
    Telephone http://www.telstra.com
    Telephone http://optus.com.au

Furniture

Fantastic Furniture http://www.fantasticfurniture.com.au
    Freedom http://www.freedom.com.au/
    Ikea http://www.ikea.com/

Electrical

Bing Lee http://www.binglee.com.au/
    Retravision http://www.retravision.com.au/

Good woman! I knew there was a reason I wait for updates from ya ;)
    6 Weeks til I'm on the way :D

• Registered Users Posts: 256 ✭✭bigdogbarking

blondie82 wrote: »
    Great thread.

bigdogbarking, thanks for the useful info, will be arriving in Melbourne myself on 29th August. Have the hoodie ready to go in the rucksack ;)

Have meeting lined up with an agency to do childcare work. Will be looking for a room in share house /apt. Hoping close to CBD but like you say depends on cost. Hope to god I can start work fairly fast, the crap euro exchange rate is worrying me a bit.

Would def be interested in a boards beers to help settle in!Jesus $10 for a beer! I actually hate beer, prefer wine, any chance that's cheap?!:p

Cheap wine everywhere, you'll love it lol

If you need anything just drop me a pm

• Registered Users Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Gregsor

Cheap wine everywhere, you'll love it lol

The only reason i am heading back :D,*Cough*

Great info guys,keep it coming....

I have WAY too much stuff!!!!!
    I need someone to pack my things for me and stop me from taking stuff that I really don't need! :(

• Registered Users Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Gregsor

I have WAY too much stuff!!!!!
    I need someone to pack my things for me and stop me from taking stuff that I really don't need! :(

That was me 2 weeks ago,i even managed to get the Christmas tree and the Frying pan in!
    The removal guy just kept saying "Anymore?"
    I just kept bringing it :D

Gregsor - Fair play haha love the christmas tree!!

Munster Gal - I was the same!! BUT Oz is a first world country so you'll be able to get stuff here even if it is a bit more expensive :) I always keep big items at the top of my suitcase and if needs be I'll wear them onto the plane!!...

An alternative would be to ship items...there's lots of threads on shipping...not sure how cost effective it is for small stuff...but worth a look maybe?

Cupcake. wrote: »
    Gregsor - Fair play haha love the christmas tree!!

Munster Gal - I was the same!! BUT Oz is a first world country so you'll be able to get stuff here even if it is a bit more expensive :) I always keep big items at the top of my suitcase and if needs be I'll wear them onto the plane!!...

An alternative would be to ship items...there's lots of threads on shipping...not sure how cost effective it is for small stuff...but worth a look maybe?

Did you get a job sorted Cupcake?
    I'm trying to figure out what I need to bring with me for work wear! :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 newyorker87

You guys are going to love Aus! I studied in Melbourne in 2008, and just had to go back. I lived there again from May 2009 - May 2010. Miss it dearly!

Got my visa and my flights are booked- whooohoooo! How is everyone getting on???!

• Registered Users Posts: 852 ✭✭✭CrackisWhack

waiting for my car to sell before I book tickets, come on someone hurry up and buy the thing!

geminiii wrote: »
    Got my visa and my flights are booked- whooohoooo! How is everyone getting on???!

Excitement!!! When are you travelling??

• Registered Users Posts: 812 ✭✭✭rightyabe

Bags packed!!!

all set for wednesday night, leaving home at midnight for a 7:30 flight in Dublin.

Looking forward to it now but had a scare 2 weeks ago me girlfriend was in a fairly bad car accident, very lucky to still be alive! I'm starting to see things in a different light now, we're very lucky!!! Just going to treat it as an adventure now, as a trip in the back of a ambulance fairly gets your priorities in order!!!

Think we have friends picking us up at Perth airport when we land so feel better now and my dads cousin is meeting us the week after if we're still in the city:D

Looking forward to watching the Donegal game on the 28th, although I seen on Rosie O'Gradys website there now charging to get into watch GAA games due to demand:eek:

rightyabe wrote: »
    Bags packed!!!

all set for wednesday night, leaving home at midnight for a 7:30 flight in Dublin.

Looking forward to it now but had a scare 2 weeks ago me girlfriend was in a fairly bad car accident, very lucky to still be alive! I'm starting to see things in a different light now, we're very lucky!!! Just going to treat it as an adventure now, as a trip in the back of a ambulance fairly gets your priorities in order!!!

Think we have friends picking us up at Perth airport when we land so feel better now and my dads cousin is meeting us the week after if we're still in the city:D

Looking forward to watching the Donegal game on the 28th, although I seen on Rosie O'Gradys website there now charging to get into watch GAA games due to demand:eek:

Jesus sorry to hear about the accident! Thank god ye're both ok! Best of luck with the trip! Make sure ya let us know how it all goes for ya :)

• Registered Users Posts: 47 joanofarse

Hi Guys, seen as ye are all almost ready to go, quick q for ye? Are any of ye heading to Australia on a 175 skilled visa? If so, did ye get a migration consultant to help with the getting of said visa? Any thoughts will be greatly appreciated!

• Registered Users Posts: 812 ✭✭✭rightyabe

joanofarse wrote: »
    Hi Guys, seen as ye are all almost ready to go, quick q for ye? Are any of ye heading to Australia on a 175 skilled visa? If so, did ye get a migration consultant to help with the getting of said visa? Any thoughts will be greatly appreciated!

IMO i think alot of people on this thread are on WHV's maybe i'm wrong. A migration consultant would be a good idea but I hear from other forums people also do it themselves and save a few €.

Try BritishExpats.com or Pomsinoz.com for more detail on Skilled visa's etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 47 joanofarse

rightyabe wrote: »
    IMO i think alot of people on this thread are on WHV's maybe i'm wrong. A migration consultant would be a good idea but I hear from other forums people also do it themselves and save a few €.

Try BritishExpats.com or Pomsinoz.com for more detail on Skilled visa's etc.

Awesome, cheers

• Registered Users Posts: 574 ✭✭✭Caked Karen

finishing work on friday and then have 2 weeks at home before setting off on the adventure...off to america roadtripping before hitting the north island for the end of the world cup and then onto Sydney...

am expecting to be pretty broke by the time i get there so all going well will pick up some work ok (in it/support...if anyone can advise it would be class!) but either way i seriously cant wait to get out there. i have talked about it for years and im 29 this year and just thought screw this lets get outta here for a while!!

whats peoples thoughts on settling in Sydney? was thinking (seeing as i will prob be broke) to settle for a few months there and then do the east coast and make a decision on doing the farm work for my second year visa...

either way its going to be epic :) i just want it to be 5pm on Friday!!

Congrats on getting to 5pm Caked Karen!

Im leaving Ireland at the beginning of October. Will be travelling for a while and am arriving in Melbourne on the 2nd of November! Can anyone recommend a hostel to stay in for the first week or so? We want to stay somewhere fairly lively as the we want to get to know new people! They do seem pricey enough though...

Less than two months now- I cant wait!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭GiftofGab

The new lonely planet east coast of Australia was released yesterday in case any of you are travelling the east coast. Extremely useful guide, I picked up a copy myself

25 Days!!!!
    That is all!:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭massdebater

13 days for me!!! :eek::D Thought I'd be more nervous by now, it'll probably hit me at the airport!! :o