Your unpopular opinions

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

What?! Teachers are exceptionally well paid in this country. The hourly rate for a graduate teacher starting out would give them an annual salary of €60,000 if the worked a normal year (9 to 5 with 21 days holidays).

I'm not going to turn this into another teacher's pay debate. It's an unpopular opinions topic and I've said my piece about how I think they get what they deserve to be paid. People should realise you get what you pay for and if you want your kids to have a great education (as imo all parents should), then you've got to accept higher wages are nessecary to get the best teachers involved. RE this part though:

(Edit: I love the number of 60k you've pulled out of your ass btw. You know how much I made last year as a graduate teacher starting out? 220€, because starting out, teachers have to beg and plead for the most basic of chances to prove yourselve. Regardless, even if I had got a job where I was working in a school part time, as you really have to to start out, I'd be nowhere near 60k of a starting salary. Far closer to half that would be closer to the truth and even then it would be overlooking the rings gradtuate teachers have to jump through to get a job nowadays...)
    If we want to improve our education system we can start by changing the outdated holiday entitlements they have (the long holidays were originally given to allow children to help their parents with the harvest - something which we have moved on from). Teachers should be running summer schools, and after school clubs as part of their job. All our expensive education infrastructure is lying idle for almost half the year!

...this brings me to another unpopular opinion which you've summed up perfectly.

Some parents see teachers as paid babysitters who should take care of raising their kids for them. It strikes me that some people believe they should have to spend as little time as possible with their kids and that teachers should be minding them 24/7 at as low a cost as possible. It strikes me these people want all the benefits of having kids and getting them educated without having the annoyance of having to actually deal with and raise them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

py2006 wrote: »
    Some Irish women are sexist, materialistic and up their own hole!

I agree, some are but so are some men, you could say the same thing about women (and men) in many other countries, it's not particular to Ireland. That just a simple statement of facts isn't it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

mikemac wrote: »
    After seeing the predictions of
    Eddie "preach financial responsibly while pimping property in Cape Verde" Hobbs
    Brendan "Irish banks are very well regulated, Irish banks are sound" Burgess
    Mark "The best is yet to come" Coleman in 2005

Many of the so called experts don't know much more then the man on the street
    So why do journalists go to them for quotes and opinions all the time?

These people are well known and you might say popular if people are listening to them.
    I don't want to hear from them again

Brendan Burgess popular? You gotta be kidding. Apart from the deluded and asre licking cretins (that still respect Brendan's wish to NOT have his house put on the line), his IT organ AAM has lost over 50% of it's membership since the heady days of 2008. This may not be unconnected with his austere mods who act like they've been deselected at Templemore.
    Hobbs is merely a cute hoor that some people believe. The everyday advice which he churns out is common sense - nothing more.
    And the word expert is really a euphemism for someone that gives the impression that he knows more than the average Joe.

To answer your question, the journos chase them for soundbites because they (the journos) know fcuk all about most things. They spin a story (quite often at their editor's whim) and after a while believe it. Very few produce anything more than recycled horse manure. But if that's what the audience want ........ that's what the audience gets. :)

My own rant? Sorry, I've just had a large bowl of Sherry Trifle and the world seems a very agreable place. Peace everyone!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

Some parents see teachers as paid babysitters who should take care of raising their kids for them. It strikes me that some people believe they should have to spend as little time as possible with their kids and that teachers should be minding them 24/7 at as low a cost as possible. It strikes me these people want all the benefits of having kids and getting them educated without having the annoyance of having to actually deal with and raise them.

i heard its gone like that,back in the ye olde days when classmate was sick usually a parent was at home to pick em up,of course now john and mary are working to pay off that big mortgage and argue who shall get the takeaway on the way because both are too tired to cook.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,418 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

cats are vermin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Fozzydog3

bring corporal punishment into prisons , prisoners should be considered slave labour I.E tarmac the roads clean up rubbish and with that close down 90% of toll booths

also being on the dole is more noble than being a clamper or toll booth attendant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭SparKing

that peoples devotion to Christianity is based on an unnatural fear of their of their own mortality. Grow up, you will die, enjoy your life.

that there are many of people living comfortably on the dole. (not all people)

that being on the dole is preferable in many cases to a minimum wage job.

that my opinions are obviuosly truer/greater than other peoples because I actually put some thought in to (some of) mine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

replies :D

With regards to the underage thing - a 19 year-old and a 14 year-old having sex is quite wrong, imo. Someone who hasn't even done thsir Junior Cert with somone who could be in their second year of college - that's not healthy, imo. The 20-25 age gap is grand, because both are adults and would be a lot closer in terms of maturity also, sexually, physically and mentally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭kincsem

Cyclists are great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

baz2009 wrote: »
    With regards to the underage thing - a 19 year-old and a 14 year-old having sex is quite wrong, imo. Someone who hasn't even done thsir Junior Cert with somone who could be in their second year of college - that's not healthy, imo. The 20-25 age gap is grand, because both are adults and would be a lot closer in terms of maturity also, sexually, physically and mentally.

The thing is,what cartman described is the same type law they have in germany/canada.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭Knight who says Meh

Atheists and atheism should still be socially unacceptable with openly atheist people shunned in rural communities and read from the pulpit.
    Their opinions should not be allowed on state air ways or in national news papers as this is a catholic country.
    Thus atheism would not be the new cool thing.

Jar Jar Binks was the finest character in all 6 Star Wars movies.

Socks with sandals is grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

A large proportion of people who travel to Australia for a year make this country a better place while their away.

I have more sympathy for taxi drivers whose pension became worthless overnight with deregulation then with people in negative equity who paid too much for overpriced houses and are every bit as resposible as ff, developers, bankers etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

leggo wrote: »
    Eastern European girls are VERY overrated, and quite easy too. Their culture appears to be quite old fashioned in that their main aims are: look good, cook well, work hard. Nothing wrong with that...there's just very little else going on there from what I've found. They live to serve, not challenge or inspire, men.

Perfect candidates to pick up where the good old Irish mammy left off though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

fixed that there for ye

Don't you ever get bored writing bitter misogynistic things about women?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭stanley 2

abortion is child abuse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭SparKing

In my opinion, people who consistently make basic spelling errors should be made to pass an online spelling test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 833 ✭✭✭barbarians

I don't think cannabis should be legalised.

Pubs should be allowed stay open 'til 2.30 instead of 12.30.

The death penalty is barbaric and must never be brought back into Ireland. Instead life imprisonment should mean exactly that. If you take somebody else's life you should spend the rest of yours is prison.

Roy Keane is a legend.

The Gerry Ryan sympathy and defense of his lifestyle by some was utterly ridiculous.

People who vote for the same political party all their life are idiots.

People who use text speak on Internet forums or in texts themselves are idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

The people that got huge mortgages, shiny new SUV's and had 2 or 3 foreign holidays a year, and blame it all on the government because they lost their job and are now in mountains of debt drive me mad.

It was YOUR fault that you got yourself into debt, not the Bank's or Bertie's. They didn't force you to take that mortgage or loan at gunpoint. You took it because you were greedy, you wanted to keep up with what your neighbour's had, and you were too thick to realise that it was impossible for the boom to last forever!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 383 ✭✭HUNK

I feel that WAY too many people (on Boards in particular) have a hard time understanding that a criticism on your opinion, idea, belief or ideology is NOT a personal attack on you.

I also feel that "I have lost/little faith in humanity" is a silly and pointless statement to make.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭Artur Foden

As an atheist, I don't hate the catholic church (or any church/religious organisation). I'm happy for those who have religion and wouldn't make it a personal crusade to see all religions ruined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,595 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

leggo wrote: »

Eastern European girls are VERY overrated, and quite easy too. Their culture appears to be quite old fashioned in that their main aims are: look good, cook well, work hard. Nothing wrong with that...there's just very little else going on there from what I've found. They live to serve, not challenge or inspire, men.

Stop talking shít.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭Knight who says Meh

The people that got huge mortgages, shiny new SUV's and had 2 or 3 foreign holidays a year, and blame it all on the government drive me mad.

It was YOUR fault that you got yourself into debt, not the Bank's or Bertie's. They didn't force you to take that mortgage or loan at gunpoint. You took it because you were greedy, you wanted to keep up with what your neighbour's had, and you were too thick to realise that it was impossible for the boom to last forever!

Amen to that . I built a tiny 3 bed roomed modest one jax bungalow in 2002 and the bank were trying to throw money at me and i just kept refusing. I now have 2 kids and it is just fine. A friend in the same job as i and with slightly less income bought a house with 6 bed rooms, all en suite and her kids have all left home. She is now in bother.
    Im not;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭Tehachapi

mrsbyrne wrote: »
    Ill see your unpopular opinion and raise you this one. I think that People who think that religous people are absolute retards are, in fact, total retards.

lol, you are in a thread titled "Your unpopular opinions". The amount of people getting defensive on a personal level to a comment like "religious people are retarded" is astonishing.

I didn't attack your specific religion or belief.

I didn't attack you personally.

There are many "unpopular opinions" on this thread I disagree with (hint: the clue is in the thread title) but obviously this isn't the place to get into discussions about them. It's just a place to air those opinions. Otherwise this would just be a gigantic unorganized mess of a thread with 100's of different arguments on different subjects taking place alongside each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭giles lynchwood

Publician´s are legalised drug dealer´s.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,139 ✭✭✭-Trek-

Some people here on Boards need to get out more.

and I actually think U2 are good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭leggo

Aidric wrote: »
    Stop talking shít.

Haha why do sensitive people who aren't prepared to have their opinions challenged click on a thread entitled 'Unpopular Opinions'?

Chill out dude. You can still enjoy them all you want. It's just one guy's opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

bronte wrote: »
    Perfect candidates to pick up where the good old Irish mammy left off though.

Apart from the look good, cook well and work hard part ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 977 ✭✭✭eurokev

Stop nepotism. You cant get into the gaurds, army etc... without knowing someone already there

Get rid of pointless college course which have no real benifit to the economy

Segregate children into different schools at the age of 12 by doing a test, so they can be in an enviorment with students of same standard. Retest at 15

People who have bad criminal records should not be entitled to benifits. More prisions should be built to house scumbags

All Roma should be exterminated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

Irish women have zero class and no matter how much make up or fashionable clothes they wear it will not turn them into Audrey Hepburn or Grace Kelly. That includes you too Grainné.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭omerin

Obama seems to be a big let down.

Enda Kenny seems to be the great white hope.

It would appear that all that glisters is not gold.

While this country has so many faults, I still love it.

Facebook and twitter are ****e. What I mean is, they are both populated by people who want to show off, stick pics of themselves up and post stupid rubbish that no one else cares about. Get a life, read a book or take up a hobby, do a course, anything that's more constructive then writing your autobiography.