Michael D Higgins, a bit to much to the left?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

In what way Sir.

Im just curious as to peoples views of left and right, I dont think people fall neatly into left and right for instance. Some people consider capitalisim right wing but I dont.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

CommuterIE wrote: »
    Biggins, are you on the left? Marxist even!?!!?
    LOL :pac:

I like you, your funny! :D

See point (c) in this thread link: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=73584512&postcount=2834
    - Especially the last line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 462 ✭✭CommuterIE

Biggins wrote: »
    LOL :pac:

I like you, your funny! :D

See point (c) in this thread link: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=73584512&postcount=2834
    - Especially the last line.

Just seems like you don't like the idea of free enterprise anymore, or am I missing something??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Just seems like you don't like the idea of free enterprise any more, or am I missing something??
    Gawd yes, I'm all for enterprise, its what helps build nations too and puts money in folks pockets.
    I definitely AM NOT extreme left.
    I most certainly will not be voting Higgins for reasons I've bored others with already in other threads. :)

Whats Higgin's problem with America anyway?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

he is.....too old for the job

Only three years older then Norris and I don't remember anyone calling him old

steddyeddy wrote: »

Anyones guess, but to come out with the tripe he did in the 60's when this country was defunct and way behind the times is embarrassing, gob****e should've stayed there and not come back to this hell hole back then like everyone else back then!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    Its never struck me as a job which might be considered particularly demanding TBH :confused:

There is a lot of travel involved and if he got in he will be 77 in his final year of presidency. I want a sharp, charismatic, energetic president. When visiting other countries we need a president that gives off a sense of these traits and gives the impression that Ireland is a sharp, charismatic and energetic country. Its not inconceivable that a man of his age could have these traits but Michael D Higgins doesnt. He is an old 70. When i hear him talk, i tend to drift away from what he is saying, he tends to ramble a bit. Queen Elizibeth and the Duke of Edinburgh are 15 and 20 years older than him respectively but they are a lot sharper than he is and you honestly wouldnt even remotely think they are the ages they are. Ive nothing against Michael D Higgins, he just isnt the man for the job IMO.

Anyones guess, but to come out with the tripe he did in the 60's when this country was defunct and way behind the times is embarrassing, gob****e should've stayed there and not come back to this hell hole back then like everyone else back then!!!!

I didnt know that tbh. Its not really a good idea to p1ss off our american friends when we have an eighteen billion deficit and are dependent on foreign investment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Probably didn't get enough 'dollahs' offf them when acting as a visiting professor.

Now rightly or wrongly ,someone like the 'lovable elf' who uses every opportunity to castigate the US surely should have the balls and chutzpah to ignore their gateway to the 'visiting professor' gravy train.

Now don't give me, the auld favourite, "I love the people, but I hate the policy" crap.

That auld shite has been hackneyed down the ages and if you are so opposed to the country stay away from it.

The 'lovable elf' would break this country if he were elected, in my opinion.

Bunch of academics shunting out hot air and waffle at John Q Taxpayers expense, achieving nothing, and just puffing themselves up with their own 'importance'.

Nice if you can get it:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

As long as he's gay who cares

We need a gay president dammit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭patsman07

The left and right are two political terms that should be done away with. Can anyone give me exact definitions of what they consider to be left or right?

Left-Concerns itself with the promotion in the living standards and the rights of groups, particularly groups who they perceive as being disenfranchised, exploited or more in need of help due to inequalities in society. e.g. Trade Unions, minorities, social welfare recipients.

The right concerns itself with the rights of individuals, they believe inequalities in society are natural due to individual differences e.g. individual work ethic etc.

patsman07 wrote: »
    Left-Concerns itself with the promotion in the living standards and the rights of groups, particularly groups who they perceive as being disenfranchised, exploited or more in need of help due to inequalities in society. e.g. Trade Unions, minorities, social welfare recipients.

The right concerns itself with the rights of individuals, they believe inequalities in society are natural due to individual differences e.g. individual work ethic etc.

Thanks, Well im the second one to some degree I think but I suppose I have som views which would be considered left.

patsman07 wrote: »

What a load of crap

Left = Lets all be friends, pay each other the same and be happy :) (doomed to failure)

Right = Get of your ****ing arse, innovate and promote competition to better our society... yes some will make millions or billions out of it, but so what? They've worked for it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

I know, lets turn this into a big 'Left versus Right' debate thread......

Anyone?......

No-one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

Right = Get of your ****ing arse, innovate and promote competition to better our society... yes some will make millions or billions out of it, but so what? They've worked for it!

lol, you haven't a clue. you are very amusing......keep it coming

haha, tell me which system has brought more innovation to the world and has not died after nearly 3 centuries??? lmao

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭round tower huntsman

i dont think anyone involved with the labour party in ireland could be considered to left...........tbh i think most of em are too to the right.

haha, tell me which system has brought more innovation to the world and has not died after nearly 3 centuries??? lmao

what type of nonsense are you on about now? are you telling me that there is a direct correlation between a(any) political system and innovation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,934 ✭✭✭goat2

i also see a thread that says dana is entering the race also, so we have gallagher and dana, it is starting to get promising, any of those two would do good for our image

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Better to have a left-leaning liberal like Higgins than a conservative, religiously-motivated dinosaur like Gay Mitchell.

Personally I would prefer Higgins to Seán Gallagher or Mary Davis but at the end of the day any of those three would be better than Gay Mitchell.

what type of nonsense are you on about now? are you telling me that there is a direct correlation between a(any) political system and innovation?

I am talking about Capitalism, which isn't a political system, it's an ideology... what nonsense are you talking about?

goat2 wrote: »
    i also see a thread that says dana is entering the race also, so we have gallagher and dana, it is starting to get promising, any of those two would do good for our image

were is the smilie :D.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

The 'lovable elf' would break this country if he were elected, in my opinion.

'Break this country'? What's this? More 'poetic licence'?

I still find it amazing that Higgins (who comes across as being a decent sort of man) has the capacity to inspire such invective from those of a very right-wing persuasion. In this thread, he's been described as a geriatric, a gobshite, pious, vain and an unctuous little bollix. Seriously...

I'm not a big fan of Sean Gallagher, but I'd never resort to making unpleasant comments about him. Even if he does bear a striking resemblance to a big toe with a face drawn on it.

I am talking about Capitalism, which isn't a political system, it's an ideology... what nonsense are you talking about?

Do you even read your own posts?

I,m off to bed now, keep them coming... I like a giggle in the morning.

RayM wrote: »

I still find it amazing that Higgins (who comes across as being a decent sort of man) has the capacity to inspire such invective from those of a very right-wing persuasion. In this thread, he's been described as a geriatric, a gobshite, pious, vain and an unctuous little bollix. Seriously...

I'm not a big fan of Sean Gallagher, but I'd never resort to making unpleasant comments about him. Even if he does bear a striking resemblance to a big toe with a face drawn on it.

I supported Mary Robinson and Mary McAleese for the presidency, I am right wing but not foolish enough to vote for extremes like Michael D who will only damage the country even further with his mouth... however a little bit of the left is fine with me, brings some balance as I support other view points... but Michael D, no f***in way

Do you even read your own posts?

I,m off to bed now, keep them coming... I like a giggle in the morning.

erm ok, good night so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

RayM wrote: »

No horse, it's reality here.

This little gimp would support every fly-blown cause even though he is supposed to be politically neutral.

If I want a waffler and hot air merchant to be my President, I'll elect a helium balloon.

In my opinion Higgins is a pompous overbearing buffoon who has engrandised himself at John Q taxpayer expense for far too fcuking long.

FAR TOO FCUKING LONG

Take a hike Mike:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

In my opinion Higgins is a pompous overbearing buffoon who has engrandised himself at John Q taxpayer expense for far too fcuking long.

Still at the old ad hominems I see? You're hardly in the position to call anyone a pompous buffoon.

Michael D. Higgins is a principled man, who doesn't sit on the sidelines and actually voices his opinion. He's a much more suitable candidate than any other. The only other candidate worth a vote is Davis. Not that any of this matters to you - You see someone on the 'left', and immediately look for ways to attack their character. I'm sure President Higgins will survive without your petty vote.

dlofnep wrote: »
    Still at the old ad hominems I see? You're hardly in the position to call anyone a pompous buffoon.

Michael D. Higgins is a principled man, who doesn't sit on the sidelines and actually voices his opinion. He's a much more suitable candidate than any other. The only other candidate worth a vote is Davis. Not that any of this matters to you - You see someone on the 'left', and immediately look for ways to attack their character. I'm sure President Higgins will survive without your petty vote.

He is a person who'ld voice his dangerous anti-american rhetoric alright! This country does not need that type of drivel right now... least from a so far left winger, he is a marxist, and in this democratic Republic, to have him in that office is an offence to me and most of the country