Michael D Higgins, a bit to much to the left?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,182 ✭✭✭dvpower

CommuterIE wrote: »
    What is it about Irish Presidential elections that bring out all of the lefties?

Anyway, this is the same Michael D who in the 60's went to America and couldn't comprehend how some people in a nation use the term "white thrash". Maybe he hadn't heard the word "knacker" over here?

He said something stupid in the 60s:eek: - put him the pile with Norris.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,923 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

Who cares what his leaning is. What has your cock and balls hangin to the left in your trousers got to do with how good he'd be as President. Gee has been king in Aras now for too long.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Who cares what his leaning is. What has your cock and balls hangin to the left in your trousers got to do with how good he's be as President. Gee has been king in Aras now for too long.

Agreed.

Gay Mitchell is your man then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

he is too far to the left and too old for the job

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

too old for the job

Its never struck me as a job which might be considered particularly demanding TBH :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

All politics in Ireland has come down to two headings. Pro-traitor and non-traitor. Since he doesn't belong to the FF/FG party I'll be putting him down as non-traitor for now.

Might as well vote for him so. Geriatric lefty in a posh suit. Well he might just fit in with this pointless office.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Biggins wrote: »
    * I'm still open minded as to how extreme Higgins is, as some put say he is.
    I'm personally not saying Higgins IS extreme.

You only have to look through this thread to see that the type of people who scream about him being 'extreme'... aren't exactly 'middle of the road' themselves.

For instance, the idea - as shat out by FlutterinBantam - that a (hypothetical) President Higgins will lead US multinationals to relocate is frankly laughable. Preposterous nonsense altogether. They're here, not because we allowed torture victims to be transported through Shannon Airport, but because they don't like paying tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭Eviledna

You'd think at his age he'd be taking it easier given his age, but last winter during the freezing cold days of the General Election campaign he was the only politican to call to my door, not send a lacky, and he was campaigning for his sucessor! He stayed a while and answered my (challenging) questions honestly and genuinely.

He's an intellegent and well educated gentleman. I hope he gets it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

charlemont wrote: »
    She saw the light eventually.

(Sorry - couldn't resist.) :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,242 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

RayM wrote: »
    You only have to look through this thread to see that the type of people who scream about him being 'extreme'... aren't exactly 'middle of the road' themselves.

For instance, the idea - as shat out by FlutterinBantam - that a (hypothetical) President Higgins will lead US multinationals to relocate is frankly laughable. Preposterous nonsense altogether. They're here, not because we allowed torture victims to be transported through Shannon Airport, but because they don't like paying tax.

but the ideals of right wing economics are low tax, small goverment and low spending (i.e. decreased welfare and the privatization of services), as pointless as the office of the president is , its the left that have caused those companies to leave with the ever increasing tax needs , so the last thing we need is more of them with a voice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

Sean Gallagher is a very successful businessman with decent leadership qualities whos running as an independent candidate , hed be a center/right aligned and would really do rather well for Ireland if people would give him a chance, hed be the best for bringing business and jobs into Ireland , which is what we need right now

He should be disqualified purely because he has no neck, eyes and is from Cavan.

my golden bollix pal!!

This geezer got his degree, if I am correct from an American University, Oklahoma possibly, and once he has used the system, he hasn't stopped critisising the US ant every hands turn.

This guy pays more attention to Iraqi/Palestinian politics because it generates more travel and expenses,rather than the Gort floods a few years back when he was nowhere to be seen.

Amongst his own people friend.

Go figure that one out mate.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

A pious, unctuous little bollix whose vanity knows no bounds.

And far too old.

Sean Gallagher is a very successful businessman with decent leadership qualities whos running as an independent candidate , hed be a center/right aligned and would really do rather well for Ireland if people would give him a chance, hed be the best for bringing business and jobs into Ireland , which is what we need right now
    * Leadership qualities? What has he previously lead politically? I ask because being a president is not the same as running a business as far as I know.
    * Independent candidate? Thats debatable too.
    * "He'd be a center/right aligned" - Aye Fianna Fail again in all but name.
    * "If people would give him a chance... - Gawd I hope not.
    * "He'd be the best for bringing business and jobs into Ireland, which is what we need right now" - Now this to his credit MIGHT be true but at what additional cost to the country in respect of the above previous and perhaps more that others might point out?

humberklog wrote: »
    A pious, unctuous little bollix whose vanity knows no bounds.

And far too old.

So much hate in so few words!

Kudos Humber, I'm jealous:mad:

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

So much hate in so few words!

Kudos Humber, I'm jealous:mad:

:), now I'm proud. Or as Micky Twee himself might say- "My pride was bursting, like the clouds pregnant with rain."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,702 ✭✭✭squod

Sean Gallagher is as independent a a back bench Fianna Fail TD. Really hope he falls off the earth with the rest of them. If there was anything I could reasonably do to convince the general public not to vote for him I'd do it.

squod wrote: »
    Sean Gallagher is as independent a a back bench Fianna Fail TD. Really hope he falls off the earth with the rest of them. If there was anything I could reasonably do to convince the general public not to vote for him I'd do it.

AH really has to get this chip off their shoulder about FF , they didnt cause it all , and not everyone in FF is bad, biffo was shíte , a lot of the ministers were shíte politicians , sean gallagher has never been proved to be taking backhanders or corrupt in any way , if this is the reason you wouldnt vote for him then its a bit pathetic really

Well personally, seeing as FF have shown themselves to be into one thing - and thats themselves and looking after their fans mostly, I want nothing more to do with them. Be they as open FF or as quiet hidden ones.

If that makes me 'pathetic' so be it - rather that then let them back in any way shape or form, big or small, into political office.
    I can live with myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 462 ✭✭CommuterIE

So wait a second... what exactly is wrong with slamming those who hypocritically support dictators whilst harping on about "freedom" in other parts of the world?

Fair f*cking dues to him I say. We need a president who will "dare" to call people out on their BS when required, unlike MacAleese when Bush was here who had the opportunity to put him on the spot about Rendition and instead only noted "concern" about it.

Do you want a strong spokesman for this country, or a pushover???

What about those who would denounce freedom in light of their left wing, socialist politics which can only lead, as history has proven time and time again to collapse?

His views aren't worth the steam off my piss tbh, if society gave into his marxist way of thinking, his precious society wouldn't last half a century! He'd also have to open gulags and the like to keep it going even that long

humberklog wrote: »
    :), now I'm proud. Or as Micky Twee himself might say- "My pride was bursting, like the clouds pregnant with rain."

Well deserved Humber, a post brief and pregnant with bile.

Like most good posts.

Good man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Well personally, seeing as FF have shown themselves to be into one thing - and thats themselves and looking after their fans mostly, I want nothing more to do with them. Be they as open FF or as quiet hidden ones.

If that makes me 'pathetic' so be it - rather that then let them back in any way shape or form, big or small, into political office.
    I can live with myself.

Jaysus Biggins,

Fianna Fail - OUT
    David Norris - OUT

If it keeps going this way you'll have feck all left to vote for before long! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

my golden bollix pal!!

This geezer got his degree, if I am correct from an American University, Oklahoma possibly, and once he has used the system, he hasn't stopped critisising the US ant every hands turn.

This guy pays more attention to Iraqi/Palestinian politics because it generates more travel and expenses,rather than the Gort floods a few years back when he was nowhere to be seen.

Amongst his own people friend.

Go figure that one out mate.

Can I view that strange and, if you don't mind me saying, rather disjointed reply as a tacit admission that you're not really silly enough to believe that 'President Higgins' would result in all the multinational corporations leaving Ireland?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,702 ✭✭✭squod

True, it takes more than one t.....to ruin a country. He's made his allegiances like.

I can live with myself.

were on different sides of the fence but heading the same direction , for me , seeing as labour and left wing independents have shown themselves to be one thing - and thats themselves looking after people on social welfare and civil servants and burning anyone who dares make any money or run a business in this country , I want nothing to do with them, Be they open labour, or sneaky lefty independents.

Can I view that strange and, if you don't mind me saying, rather disjointed reply as a tacit admission that you're not really silly enough to believe that 'President Higgins' would result in all the multinational corporations leaving Ireland?

They wouldn't leave, and people who are naive enough to think that are just well, naive!

The point about future investment by these companies is what is at stake

No,just a bit of 'poetic license ' there mate.

However ,the lovable elf has spent so much time lambasting the US that someone who carries a bit of 'clout' in that jurisdiction might tell him to' f'cuk off' ,in diplomatic terms ,of course.

D should stick to the nebulous waffle of chronic academia,in my opinion, and even the sterile office of the Irish president would be much to practical for him.

Plus the country couldn't afford the G4 to be in the air to the Middle east constantly:cool:

were on different sides of the fence but heading the same direction , for me , seeing as labour and left wing independents have shown themselves to be one thing - and thats themselves looking after people on social welfare and civil servants and burning anyone who dares make any money or run a business in this country , I want nothing to do with them, Be they open labour, or sneaky lefty independents.
    Fair enough. :D

We can friendly agree to differ (and I CAN see where your coming from to in fairness also). :D

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Jaysus Biggins,

Fianna Fail - OUT
    David Norris - OUT

If it keeps going this way you'll have feck all left to vote for before long! :pac:

Wadia mean IF?
    There IS feck all left! :pac:

Fair enough. :D

We can friendly agree to differ (and I CAN see where your coming from to in fairness also). :D

Biggins, are you on the left? Marxist even!?!!?