Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where do ya's draw the line.....

• 23-07-2011 1:20am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,614 ✭✭✭

as regards dance music?

is there a genre/genres ya just wish ya could bury? what are your musical limitations, not preferences?

just got the idea from the hardstyle thread tbh, and am very curious if the lot of you are really staunch house and techno heads.

probably crash and burn in its 1st day this thread, but ya never know do ya?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,614 ✭✭✭es-cee

not the biggest techno fan myself (prob get slated but what the hell yeah) :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

Psyhouse is only played live by arseholes. Very few people on a night out ever want to hear it. There's a certain amount of crowd pleasing that should be done, and being a genre-snob only gets you labelled as a shit DJ. Of course, I'm not saying that only top 40, deadmau5 and rubbish dubstep should be played, but really, there is a certain amount of selling out that must be done if you plan to earn any money at it, and you must play a few songs that the audience likes. Nothing worse than a DJ on stage who is only entertaining himself.

tbh mate, i hate people tellin me what i should and shouldn't listen to, old or new!

i fcukin love late 80's house! acid house is what got me into dance at about 7/8 years of age, so i have alot of love for it no matter what any1 has to say.

other than that, i suppose trance after late 96, would be a big no from me, got very cheesy in late 97 early 98!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,616 ✭✭✭milltown

es-cee wrote: »
    tbh mate, i hate people tellin me what i should and shouldn't listen to, old or new!

Same here.

I've said it before and I'll say it again, this forum is like Royston Vasey a lot of the time. A techno place, for techno people.

I really don't see why people get their noses out of joint about it though when, generally, there'll be a couple of people in agreement even if the bulk of replies are negative or slagging. Take a look in any football forum for a comparison. 90% of people are likely to support 5 or 6 teams and the other 10% will be in for a rough ride defending their choice of team. There's a world of statistics available to settle most football arguments yet people still won't always agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Dance to Tipperary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭dubsbhoy

Personally I'm sick to death of all these new sub categories.....

dub step....fidget....and now ****ing swing house

go and take a swing out of me bollocks

i don't give a monkies what genre i play, the track is either **** or **** hot after that i couldn't give a flying **** but i like to keep myself around 125bpm to 132bpm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭VinylJunkie

Its all music, however I do think its a bit sad holding onto the past. Sounds have moved on, finding new sounds that I like is what its all about for me.

i think your right in one sense, and in another i don't. while i embrace new tunes, ya can never forget what went before, for the simple fact that ya wouldn't have what ya have now only for the pioneers of the day that made it possible.
    i love oldskool anything really, don't think theres a genre of oldskool i don't like, but if it wasn't for oldskool ya wouldn't have what you listen to now, so in that sense i think oldskool is fcukin cool man.

any1 agree?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,264 ✭✭✭Billy Mays

Hard house, trance (post mid 90s) and hard trance (no offense Asylum faithful) can all get the boat as far as I'm concerned

• Registered Users Posts: 174 ✭✭jeddie20

Bruno Mars.. the other chart ones are bad enough but hate his stuff..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭CiaranMT

Bruno Mars is Electronic?

News to me...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

CiaranMT wrote: »
    Bruno Mars is Electronic?

News to me...

Yeah, apparently he's a cyborg used by the reptilians to mass brainwash society. There's a whole thread about it in the conspiracy theory forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

jeddie20 wrote: »
    Bruno Mars.. the other chart ones are bad enough but hate his stuff..

Thats that dildo 'today i swear im not doing anything'!!!!!!!

If we agree its electronic then yes, he should be fúcking buried.

Never said anything about electronic? But if you want to make a bit of money at this then as someone said before me you have to play some chart songs.. Just giving an opinion like anyone else..

Fair enough, this is the Electronic Music forum though, bit like posting a Rap in an Indie thread ;)

ah ya i know, but when i was on the fourm that fella came on the radio and i just had to go and turn it off so i thought id just throw it down here for the sake of it, no harm done :pac:

No, No harm done, very worthwhile excercise establishing Bruno mars is defo a ****ér:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭stomprockin

as regards dance music?

is there a genre/genres ya just wish ya could bury? what are your musical limitations, not preferences?

just got the idea from the hardstyle thread tbh, and am very curious if the lot of you are really staunch house and techno heads.

probably crash and burn in its 1st day this thread, but ya never know do ya?

11walqd.jpg

2en865l.jpg
    Dubstep please go away! i hate you so much :pac:

Have tried to like it but it's not happening..

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,016 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

other than that, i suppose trance after late 96, would be a big no from me, got very cheesy in late 97 early 98!

do ya think so?I actually thought it got quite good from 98-2002 and then went downhill but thats just my opinion :)

Well its all relative really, i though it was all going shít about 1998 meself & was major dissapointed with creamfileds 2000.

chemical brothers were the only saving grace of that festival.

11walqd.jpg

2en865l.jpg
    Dubstep please go away! i hate you so much :pac:

Have tried to like it but it's not happening..

What Dubstep have you listened to? I'm very interested to hear...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

Genres I like

House & most sub-genres
    Techno
    Dubstep/garage/bass etc
    Drum & Bass

Genres I don't like

Psytrance
    Trance
    Heavy dubstep (Datsik etc)
    Heavy techno (Surgeon etc, although I imagine I might grow into it)
    Disco
    Electro-house
    Hard house/oldskool/gabber etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭was.deevey

The only Line I draw is between what I will play and what I wont play :D

That line consists of Good or Bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,245 ✭✭✭old gregg

I was spacing away at some half arsed dj at Knockanstockan around 5am on sat morning when he put on the Beatles. The line drew itself pretty snappy on that caper :p

other than that, not keen on trance, dubstep and gabber. am pretty fond of the old techno though

• Registered Users Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Eddie Ere

Genres I like

House & most sub-genres
    Techno
    Dubstep/garage/bass etc
    Drum & Bass

Genres I don't like

Psytrance
    Trance
    Heavy dubstep (Datsik etc)
    Heavy techno (Surgeon etc, although I imagine I might grow into it)
    Disco
    Electro-house
    Hard house/oldskool/gabber etc

WHS, except I like heavy techno of the Ben Klock et al kind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

chemical brothers were the only saving grace of that festival.

You obviously missed Dave Clarke and Darren Emerson

What Dubstep have you listened to? I'm very interested to hear...

Do i know you? why would you be interasted in what i like and don't like?

you don't see anyone else here "questioning" other peoples likes and dislikes? in other words i know where your going with this :pac:

EDIT : Can you genuinely recommend some quality dubstep, I have tried but just didn't do for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,504 ✭✭✭francois

old gregg wrote: »
    I was spacing away at some half arsed dj at Knockanstockan around 5am on sat morning when he put on the Beatles. The line drew itself pretty snappy on that caper :p

other than that, not keen on trance, dubstep and gabber. am pretty fond of the old techno though

a rather large line-unless though it was

then i'd be hunting out "the man" :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

I used to dislike a load of genres, but digging deeper i found stuff from all of them i quite like.

Still not fond of psytrance though.

you don't see anyone else here "questioning" other peoples likes and dislikes? in other words i know where your going with this :pac:

EDIT : Can you genuinely recommend some quality dubstep, I have tried but just didn't do for me.

Labels like Swamp81, Hotflush, Hessle Audio, NMBRS, Deep Medi, Black Box, Nonplus+, Punch Drunk. They all release quite different music, but it all mostly goes under the really broad label of dubstep. There's definitely something in there for everyone.

Cheers man, I will definitely go through some of them.

Try having a listen to a few of the tracks on the whatpeopleplay topseller chart for each label, that'd be a decent enough overview. Like here.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

I'd also recommend Box Clever (Black Box's little brother label), Earwax, Skull Disco, Fortified Audio, Wheel and Deal, Tempa, Tectonic, Boka, Argon and Hyperdub.

Loads of different stuff out there under the Dubstep banner as has been pointed out. To be honest and this point there is probably something for every.

Like what the others were saying above, those labels are well worth checking out.

What some people might call dubstep could be anathaema to others who listen to a different variety (hence my original query :P ) I can only assume that what you don't like is the chainsaw fart wub wub sound propagated in the main by American brosteppers like Skrillex, Datsik et al.

Stuff like this is far better:

If this is the stuff that you're familiar with, and you don't like it, then I shall pester no more :D

Like what the others were saying above, those labels are well worth checking out.

What some people might call dubstep could be anathaema to others who listen to a different variety (hence my original query :P ) I can only assume that what you don't like is the chainsaw fart wub wub sound propagated in the main by American brosteppers like Skrillex, Datsik et al.

Stuff like this is far better:

If this is the stuff that you're familiar with, and you don't like it, then I shall pester no more :D

likin this stuff, can ya recommend any decent mixes please mate?

Loads, in fact there's a show tomorrow evening starting at 8 on Boiler Room, some huge names playing. Kode9, Martyn, Jon Convex are all on and they should be excellent. They'll be streaming live on http://boilerroom.tv/live/

Oneman's recent Rinse FM Podcast is great, here's the link. (Right-click and 'Save as' to download)

Two Boiler Room sessions I go back to occasionally are Addison Groove's and Boddika's from BR42, they're toward the bottom of this page.

Loads, in fact there's a show tomorrow evening starting at 8 on Boiler Room, some huge names playing. Kode9, Martyn, Jon Convex are all on and they should be excellent. They'll be streaming live on http://boilerroom.tv/live/

Oneman's recent Rinse FM Podcast is great, here's the link. (Right-click and 'Save as' to download)

Two Boiler Room sessions I go back to occasionally are Addison Groove's and Boddika's from BR42, they're toward the bottom of this page.

cheers mate, will have a listen to em tomorrow ;)

No worries! Enjoy, hoping I'll be home myself in time to catch that show.

Any of the mixes on this site will do it: http://boilerroom.tv/

I'm a fan of Rust & Reecha, they're great DJs, Oneman, Ben UFO and Jackmaster are regarded as the best dubstep DJs around, so their sets are essential listening.

And if you want a proper education in everything from reggae, through d'n'b to modern dubstep, have a look at this, David Rodigan at Sonar.

http://boilerroom.tv/david-rodigan-%E2%80%98live-from%E2%80%99-%E2%80%93-red-bull-music-academy-pres-sonardome/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

Once it has dirty piano chords in it I'm game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭EarlERizer

Es m8 , ya know where I stand on the whole 'genre-junkie' 'genre-snob' et al ......

3 types of music ;) **** , **** hot ........and Country! :D

And whats this I see? you finally getting a taste for that dirty hybrid noise known as "Dubstep"? ....about fookin time!! I been trying to tell ya for ages.....like all other genres,there's some woeful stuff but there's wuite a lot of good sounding Dubstep too.

As for what 'style' of dubstep...........couldn't fookin tell ya I treat it as with all other music, whatever sounds good to me.

remember me shoving this one under your nose? jaysus I can remember when this only had a handful of views.

:eek: a Canadian mixing UK dubstep , "how very dare you ohh"

few good releases on this label too
    images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQM7fl_tv3muluJjgldbq088hTOmkEllIjtvV_X7gueCkvIemAv6g

and just on the 'whoa-bee' tip .... here's a couple of 10p mix bags to chew on b root ya teeth! :D

and finally, my fav chilled out 'dubstep' tune ..... I couldnt give two fooks what others call it.

:cool: "cooler than a polar bears pi$$" :cool:

yeah man, some of the stuff is pretty decent alright, still prefer me dnb tho lol.

but yeah, some nice stuff i've been put wide to in recent days thanks to a this thread.

yeah man, some of the stuff is pretty decent alright, still prefer me dnb tho lol.

but yeah, some nice stuff i've been put wide to in recent days thanks to a this thread.

Absofookinlutely m8 , always always going to be dnb first n foremost, like I've said on manys an occasion,for me it's oldskool hardcore,breakbeat,Jungle,DnB .....and then some
    .......but I was 'exposed' to the pleasures of some dubstep over the past few years and it kinda gets under your skin n grows on ya!

Here's another Skream tune, one of my all-time favourites (any excuse to post it):

• Registered Users Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

Dubstep and drum and bass. Utter sh1te. Being in Sydney Ive a load of mates from the south of England always trying to drag me to these sh1te nights (New Zealanders and people from anywhere south of Birmingham are, litreally, the only people who seem to rate this rubbish. I dont know one Irish or north of England/ Scot who would be seen dead at one of these). Ended up going to one once (only because I thought the other room would be playing electro house) and it was a load of lads yoked up swaggering around with their hoods up and hands in their pockets nodding their heads....WTF. Id already dropped and wasnt going to be coming up to this sh1te- ended up going down the road to meet some other mates in some chart cheese club- it was still a better buzz!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,245 ✭✭✭old gregg

ya Kant beat a bit of wob wob wob wob wob wob wob wobble :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Android 666

Anything like gabber that's going to give me heart palpatations when it's playing. I'm a rather delicate creature. And any of that brostep nonsense - music for rap metal spastics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,504 ✭✭✭francois

I really really hate anything with a ****ing autotune in it, mainly R'n'B ****e

Dubstep and drum and bass. Utter sh1te. Being in Sydney Ive a load of mates from the south of England always trying to drag me to these sh1te nights (New Zealanders and people from anywhere south of Birmingham are, litreally, the only people who seem to rate this rubbish. I dont know one Irish or north of England/ Scot who would be seen dead at one of these). Ended up going to one once (only because I thought the other room would be playing electro house) and it was a load of lads yoked up swaggering around with their hoods up and hands in their pockets nodding their heads....WTF. Id already dropped and wasnt going to be coming up to this sh1te- ended up going down the road to meet some other mates in some chart cheese club- it was still a better buzz!

Each to their own n all that but ....What a load of sh!te!!! ....... for one,ya cant class Dubstep & Drum n Bass in the same league,they're poles apart.....I wouldnt be one for going to a Dubstep night, I'm select in what 'dubstep' i like and at that its limited....Drum n Bass is a different kettle of fish altogether, the early or 'oldskool' DnB tunes are the bogs dollox and are appreciated the lenght & bredth of the UK & here......just slightly north of Brummiesville DnB has a hugh following from Liverpool right across to Newcastle and everywhere inbetween,with a plethora of clubs playing oldskool dnb nights to large crowds,ffs you need only look at the amount of oldskool nights & festivals popping up all over the place.

I don't know what kinda place you went to, would love to know what era of DnB they were playing alongside dubstep :confused: , I'd have sooner gone home and listened to tunes n enjoyed the effects of whatever it was you took than try passify myself by going to any aul cheesefest of a club.

My sympathies are with ya on your bad night out n all that but come on man, ya had a better night on narcs listening to cheesy chart hits?? thats some statement!

can I ask, what genre of music is it that usually floats your boat?

EarlERizer wrote: »
    Each to their own n all that but ....What a load of sh!te!!! ....... for one,ya cant class Dubstep & Drum n Bass in the same league,they're poles apart.....I wouldnt be one for going to a Dubstep night, I'm select in what 'dubstep' i like and at that its limited....Drum n Bass is a different kettle of fish altogether, the early or 'oldskool' DnB tunes are the bogs dollox and are appreciated the lenght & bredth of the UK & here......just slightly north of Brummiesville DnB has a hugh following from Liverpool right across to Newcastle and everywhere inbetween,with a plethora of clubs playing oldskool dnb nights to large crowds,ffs you need only look at the amount of oldskool nights & festivals popping up all over the place.

I don't know what kinda place you went to, would love to know what era of DnB they were playing alongside dubstep :confused: , I'd have sooner gone home and listened to tunes n enjoyed the effects of whatever it was you took than try passify myself by going to any aul cheesefest of a club.

My sympathies are with ya on your bad night out n all that but come on man, ya had a better night on narcs listening to cheesy chart hits?? thats some statement!

can I ask, what genre of music is it that usually floats your boat?