Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Eircom apprenticeship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭Max Moment

gline wrote: »
    I hear yah.

There is 4 types of position available:

Customer Service Delivery and Assurance Technician
    Network Build Technician
    Engineering Field Force Technician
    Service Management Centre, Technical Support – Office Based

What I'd like to know is do you get a choice which area you'd like to go into, if you get chosen for the apprenticeship? Or will they put you "where you are most suited"?

From what I understand there is an initial 8 week induction period and then you are assigned to each of the 4 positions for a few months and see how you get on. When the two years are up you will be offered the position that you performed best at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 Watching

I hear yah.

There is 4 types of position available:

Customer Service Delivery and Assurance Technician
    Network Build Technician
    Engineering Field Force Technician
    Service Management Centre, Technical Support – Office Based

What I'd like to know is do you get a choice which area you'd like to go into, if you get chosen for the apprenticeship? Or will they put you "where you are most suited"?

You will work in all four areas over the first two years, Eircom will choose which area you go on to build a career in, based on your ability to perform. Whichever one you're best at really.

same here but I have 5 years experience in tech support up to level 2 already and I'd rather do Network Build Technician or Engineering Field Force Technician to learn something new and get into a new field.

How old are you? Just out of interest?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 713 ✭✭✭newuser89

just wondering, the people that got phone calls already, do yous have family members working with eircom at the moment , i felt the part of application were you say employee refered you and you enter there emplyee number. that shouldnt be required

newuser89 wrote: »
    just wondering, the people that got phone calls already, do yous have family members working with eircom at the moment , i felt the part of application were you say employee refered you and you enter there emplyee number. that shouldnt be required

Hiya,

Nope, I certainly have no connection to Eircom anyway. I'm actually from England. You'll find that nearly every company that you apply for a job with will ask you if you have family working for the company. It's a standard question. Most companies don't like family members working together, same way you're not allowed to serve family members if you work on a checkout in a shop.

Being referred by a family member will not have any impact on your chances of getting on to the course. Equal opportunities for all.

Without being rude, take a look at your spelling & grammar. If that last post was anything to go by, it might give you a clue as to why nobody has contacted you!

Regardless though, best of luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭gline

Watching wrote: »
    How old are you? Just out of interest?

im 27

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭newuser1

Equal opportunities for all.

Except people with degrees;)
    People with degrees don't need apprenticeships, that's just greed?

Hiya,

Nope, I certainly have no connection to Eircom anyway. I'm actually from England. You'll find that nearly every company that you apply for a job with will ask you if you have family working for the company. It's a standard question. Most companies don't like family members working together, same way you're not allowed to serve family members if you work on a checkout in a shop.

Being referred by a family member will not have any impact on your chances of getting on to the course. Equal opportunities for all.

Without being rude, take a look at your spelling & grammar. If that last post was anything to go by, it might give you a clue as to why nobody has contacted you!

Regardless though, best of luck!
    my keyboard has issues sometimes lol.
    i only did the aptitude tests Thursday so i Wouldnt expect anything as yet.
    just hope to get to talk to them at least, currently working in airport patching phone lines around the place which Eircom supply to us, so i would think i should at least get to talk to them with couple years experience in communications.i am only 21 so age wont count against me but i think it will for others as i was talking to a guy from Eircom the other day and he said most people are over 50 in the company and they are looking for young people

my keyboard has issues sometimes lol.
    i only did the aptitude tests Thursday so i Wouldnt expect anything as yet.
    just hope to get to talk to them at least, currently working in airport patching phone lines around the place which Eircom supply to us, so i would think i should at least get to talk to them with couple years experience in communications.i am only 21 so age wont count against me but i think it will for others as i was talking to a guy from Eircom the other day and he said most people are over 50 in the company and they are looking for young people

Yes, that's quite true RE: Old lads working at Eircom, I don't doubt for a second that they are looking for young people. After all it will cost them just under €2M in wages alone over the first two years to train these guys, then you have the expenses of delivering the qualification itself. They're not going to fork out that money to train somebody that will either:

A: Have a higher chance of leaving the company for a higher paid position once recession is over (Those with degrees)
    Or
    B: Be retiring 10 or 15 years in to the job. (The old fellas)

Would you lot not agree with me when I say that It's better from Eircoms point of view, for them to train up people that are totally unskilled, so that they have no other option than to work for Eircom for the rest of their days?

newuser1 wrote: »
    Except people with degrees;)

If I had my way ;) lol

Yes, that's quite true RE: Old lads working at Eircom, I don't doubt for a second that they are looking for young people. After all it will cost them just under €2M in wages alone over the first two years to train these guys, then you have the expenses of delivering the qualification itself. They're not going to fork out that money to train somebody that will either:

A: Have a higher chance of leaving the company for a higher paid position once recession is over (Those with degrees)
    Or

Would you lot not agree with me when I say that It's better from Eircoms point of view, for them to train up people that are totally unskilled, so that they have no other option than to work for Eircom for the rest of their days?
    I totally agree with ya.
    The thing is i am not skilled , just two years experience with my company.
    i have been told there is no apprenticeship in data which is what we do , which is why i would like this job.
    also i am on minimum wage so the money is similar ha.
    so many applicants , it will be so tough to get position but best of luck to all

I totally agree with ya.
    The thing is i am not skilled , just two years experience with my company.
    i have been told there is no apprenticeship in data which is what we do , which is why i would like this job.
    also i am on minimum wage so the money is similar ha.
    so many applicants , it will be so tough to get position but best of luck to all

Let's hope you done well on your Aptitude Test!

Best of luck to yourself too. Keep us posted!

Or

People that have no other option are not the people any company would want. Fair enough, people with degrees might have other options but they want and choose this career. They have proven already that they can complete a course that will take a couple of years.They have proven they have ambition by deciding to go to college. The people we are talking about are probably all under 35, so a long career is still possible.

People that have no other option are not the people any company would want.

So answer me this; If there was no recession & the country was booming, you've finished your Degree and are looking for work. Are you going to go straight in to a management position, which was standard when it came to Graduates, or are you going to apply for an apprenticeship for a job which only needs a qualification two levels lower than the one you already have? Hmmm, It's a bit obvious?

Many people with Degrees have no choice these days, in fact, most applicants to this program will be in the position of "No Choice". It reverts back to my original point, who is more likely to stick at the job after the hard times are over? That's the question Eircom will ask themselves. It has nothing to do with ambition, we all have ambition, that's why we're here applying for it. Do I not have ambition because I don't have 3rd level education? Do I not have the ability to complete two years of college? Answer to both questions is no. I have a lot of ambition, obviously I can't speak for others, but, I am able to disagree with your statement as it is simply not true, and if I'm honest, a lot of people would take offense to it!

If I had the means to put myself through college, I would do it no problem. I don't have my parents around to pay for it though, unlike the majority of graduates that had the bank of Mum & Dad paying the fees, which is the sole reason why I don't have the education. I was one of the most intelligent pupils that my school has ever seen (Head teachers words, not mine), but I now have no choice but to apply for things like this to further my education.

To summarise:
    I will be overly PISSED if they give any of these places to somebody that has already got a higher qualification than the one that is on offer. lol

Best of luck with it anyway, it is what it is! :cool:

So answer me this; If there was no recession & the country was booming, you've finished your Degree and are looking for work. Are you going to go straight in to a management position, which was standard when it came to Graduates, or are you going to apply for an apprenticeship for a job which only needs a qualification two levels lower than the one you already have? Hmmm, It's a bit obvious?

Many people with Degrees have no choice these days, in fact, most applicants to this program will be in the position of "No Choice". It reverts back to my original point, who is more likely to stick at the job after the hard times are over? That's the question Eircom will ask themselves. It has nothing to do with ambition, we all have ambition, that's why we're here applying for it. Do I not have ambition because I don't have 3rd level education? Do I not have the ability to complete two years of college? Answer to both questions is no. I have a lot of ambition, obviously I can't speak for others, but, I am able to disagree with your statement as it is simply not true, and if I'm honest, a lot of people would take offense to it!

If I had the means to put myself through college, I would do it no problem. I don't have my parents around to pay for it though, unlike the majority of graduates that had the bank of Mum & Dad paying the fees, which is the sole reason why I don't have the education. I was one of the most intelligent pupils that my school has ever seen (Head teachers words, not mine), but I now have no choice but to apply for things like this to further my education.

To summarise:
    I will be overly PISSED if they give any of these places to somebody that has already got a higher qualification than the one that is on offer. lol

Best of luck with it anyway, it is what it is! :cool:

This is a once in a lifetime opportunity. Candidates that are applying now would not have had the chance to apply at 18. They should not be punished because eircom so rarely recruit.
    I actually know a few going for this with jobs already and other job offers. If they want this career they are as entitled to apply as you are.
    Im not sure why you want so many clones working together with the same backrounds. Would you feel inferior to these people with degrees;) That is more of an issue for you than eircom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭jeddie20

did ye do all the tests?

This is a once in a lifetime opportunity. Candidates that are applying now would not have had the chance to apply at 18. They should not be punished because eircom so rarely recruit.
    I actually know a few going for this with jobs already and other job offers. If they want this career they are as entitled to apply as you are.
    Im not sure why you want so many clones working together with the same backrounds. Would you feel inferior to these people with degrees;) That is more of an issue for you than eircom.

That is a perfectly valid point you make, they would not have had the opportunity to do take up the position at 18. Though on the Eircom website there are many positions vacant for grads, with higher pay also. (Well, there was when I done the test anyway) that's all I'm saying! To be honest too, I wouldn't feel inferior at all, 90% of my friends have either a Bachelor or a Masters degree and I have a lot of respect towards them for it! :cool: I'm just saying that if you have a degree you could easily walk straight in to Eircom & land a job without having to do the apprenticeship. They are advertising all the time! Contrary to popular belief, Eircom aren't doing too bad as a company. Their accounts show over €360M in cash alone sitting their bank account as of last month. not to mention assets etc.

Like I said to the other lad, maybe will end up meeting and we can argue some more ;) nothing wrong with a good old debate! haha :D

jeddie20 wrote: »
    did ye do all the tests?

Can't talk for everybody, but I did yes. Did you? I ran out of time before the last question on one or two.

I ran out of time on 2 of them, haven't done the measurement of numeracy yet tho.. going to attempt it now :o

Numeracy wasn't too difficult, all fairly basic stuff that the average person should know. As long as you have a calculator you'll be fine. Well, it's only easy if you know the answer but hey,

Good luck anyway! :)

Numeracy wasn't too difficult, all fairly basic stuff that the average person should know. As long as you have a calculator you'll be fine. Well, it's only easy if you know the answer but hey,

Good luck anyway! :)
    Done and dusted! Battery on the scientific calculator died just as I needed it for the diameter questions tho :mad:!

The parable of the unlucky git! lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 kellsbells75

well im 35 workin in the telecomms game the last 10 years or so for a lot of contract companys for eircom.nothing happening down here the last year so i jumped on this chance,found the q hard enough thou im praying my 10 years exp will at least get me to the interviews stage,love my job and hope to continue doing it as i dont want to do anything else but if this doesint happen think ill be leaving for ozz,plenty of work there still and i got a family to think of now!good luck to you all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭knotknowbody

Hey guys, when you submit your application is there a time limit on how long you then have to complete the aptitude test, I only found this today and have submitted the application but have to go out now, does aptitude test also have to be finished by 5pm, if so I'm screwed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,271 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

Anyone else get called for a phone interview yet? The called me today to arrange one for tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,902 ✭✭✭Macker1

Is the aptitude test done on-line ??? Just wondering as its for my son who is away from home at the moment camping.

Macker1 wrote: »
    Is the aptitude test done on-line ??? Just wondering as its for my son who is away from home at the moment camping.
    yes it does online, i think everyone usually gets it emailed to them straight after they submit there application.the email explains what to do. suppose to be completed tomoro by 5 pm but it may have been extended as the application process was extended to wednesday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭deaglan169

havent heard anything back since i completed test online last week, however got invited to a hub day with BT in Antrim

Hey guys, when you submit your application is there a time limit on how long you then have to complete the aptitude test, I only found this today and have submitted the application but have to go out now, does aptitude test also have to be finished by 5pm, if so I'm screwed.

Who knows? :confused:

deaglan169 wrote: »
    havent heard anything back since i completed test online last week, however got invited to a hub day with BT in Antrim

They're calling people for at least another week, I wouldn't worry. Who invited you to BT? Out of interest? :pac: