Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Oslo bombed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

and that would have made things different today??????;)
    Get a grip mate
    I am an atheist too
    I rather die as a warrior and end up in valhall(joke)

:confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:

Em.....I was merely pointing out that that would have helped fundies help recruit people to their cause by making it easier to portray Norway as an nation filled with 'evil' people who didn't regard 'faith' or religion as important.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

You'd want to be a confused Jihadi to Jihad for Gadaffi, it has to be said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

I have full sympathy for the Norwegian people tonight. It must be a really dark and distraught time for them. Having been caught up in a bombing before, i can fully understand the horror of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

Press conference is go on Sky News

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭smilerxxx

KeithAFC wrote: »
    I have full sympathy for the Norwegian people tonight. It must be a really dark and distraught time for them. Having been caught up in a bombing before, i can fully understand the horror of it.

Oh god I can't even imagine. Glad your ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Sounds like a great speech from the Norweigian PM there, judging by what the translator translated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

Lars1916 wrote: »
    ...jumps on the bandwagon about Islamic terrorists..

There's very good reasons for jumping on this particular bandwagon.

InTheTrees wrote: »
    There's very good reasons for jumping on this particular bandwagon.

Yup apparently some Group for Global Jihad have claimed responsibility according to Sky News. Although they could still be chancers, some of those lads would claim responsibility for a cat running across the road.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,900 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

Man arrested on island is confirmed as Norwegian

Also several children still unaccounted for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

They've confirmed the shooter is Norwegian.

They're emphasising that it was a political attack.

Great speech, especially as they're bound to be shook up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

XrwwP.jpg

Reports are saying several people died trying to swim to the shoreline.

That's just made me cry.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,900 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

Confirmed 7 dead in Oslo and 10 critically injured

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

FouxDaFaFa wrote: »

Where did you hear this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭WesternNight

Tabnabs wrote: »
    Also several children still unaccounted for

Hopefully they're just hiding somewhere.. seemingly lots of people hid in buildings and bushes and up in trees, but he went after some of them. Can't imagine how terrifying that must be.

prinz wrote: »
    Sounds like a great speech from the Norweigian PM there, judging by what the translator translated.

Translator is actually fairly inaccurate, from the parts of the actual speech that I have heard. Still though, you get the gist. It's still a very strong speech.

Yup apparently some Group for Global Jihad have claimed responsibility according to Sky News. Although they could still be chancers, some of those lads would claim responsibility for a cat running across the road.

Indeedy.
    2124:
    A terrorism expert tells the BBC that Ansar al-Jihad al-Alami, or the Helpers of the Global Jihad, a terror group that claimed responsibility for the explosion in Oslo, was not behind the attack.
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-14254705

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

FouxDaFaFa wrote: »

So is it connected to the bombing?

Or a coincidence(???).

Where did you hear this?
    I'm watching BBC live. Of course, the fact that he's Norwegian doesn't automatically mean he's not affiliated with an international group.

Or a coincidence(???).

They said that the perpetrator was Norwegian, but I'm not sure if they were indicating the shootings, the bombing, or both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭WesternNight

Or a coincidence(???).

Police have said that the information they have points towards a connection between the two, but obviously they can't confirm conclusively.

*edit* This is on the basis of witnesses reporting having seen a man dressed in Police clothing acting suspiciously near where the bomb went off a couple of minutes before it did. They seem to think it was the same man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

Or a coincidence(???).

Would be a really unusual coincidence. And a suspicious man dressed as a police officer was spotted near car bomb location shortly before it went off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Or you know, just a nutbag. Jesus wept, 'false flag' me hole.
    Yes, It stinks of Mossad type people.

Jaysus some of the reporters could do with a dose of cop on.

.............. honestly don't have a come back for that kind of thing.

Jaysus some of the reporters could do with a dose of cop on.

Who, where, wha...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Didn't the translator say the shooter was NOT Norwegian ?

Whilst Mossad have a track record when it comes to this sort of attack think i'll wait and see all the same.

Nodin wrote: »
    Who, where, wha...?

Some reporter there at the PM/Minister of Justice interview asking questions as if it was days after the event ... 'who are you looking for now/are you still looking for more people involved' that kind of thing, right after he had said it was too early to discuss and he wasn't going to speculate.

I heard that too.But I definitely heard them say earlier that he was.:confused:

That's what i thought unless the translator fcked up.