NEED to buy this guy a drink!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,331 ✭✭✭RichieC

comeuppance is always great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 Mr_Man!

Harcourt Diner do a great garlic chip n' cheese.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,791 ✭✭✭up for anything

Eever wrote: »
    On this occassion being a woman would not have helped. The scummers were already kicking women wearing heels in the first place, and when one woman tried to stand up for her friend, she got slammed up against a wall. Being a woman wouldn't have given you a free pass to intervene without a finger being laid on you in this particular situation as the OP has made it clear that the lads were already being physically abusive towards women.

I'm in no way saying that being a women is free pass in stopping a fight but the OP was there with her friends. If they'd gone over and stood in the scummers' way or intervened in some way it may have helped. I don't fight and have never fought but injustice or unfair behaviour winds me up no end. Maybe someday I'll get a smack for my trouble but I know that with the feeling that wells up in me (adrenaline rush perhaps) when I butt into situations like that, the smacker better run. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,024 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

I'm in no way saying that being a women is free pass in stopping a fight but the OP was there with her friends. If they'd gone over and stood in the scummers' way or intervened in some way it may have helped. I don't fight and have never fought but injustice or unfair behaviour winds me up no end. Maybe someday I'll get a smack for my trouble but I know that with the feeling that wells up in me (adrenaline rush perhaps) when I butt into situations like that, the smacker better run. :D

They had already just roughed up one girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

I know that if I was this ginger dude, and some random chick contacted me claiming to have been there and asking me if I wanted to meet for a pint, I'd be fierce skepital about it. I'd probably think it was some kinda trick, and pass it up to avoid trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

deathrider wrote: »
    I know that if I was this ginger dude, and some random chick contacted me claiming to have been there and asking me if I wanted to meet for a pint, I'd be fierce skepital about it. I'd probably think it was some kinda trick, and pass it up to avoid trouble.

But he's ginger, this could be his one chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

But he's ginger, this could be his one chance.

Pah, superheroes get all the chicks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭Tilt Gone

Yeah, helped themselves into a box in the jaw probably. If they didnt give a toss pushing the other girl why would another random girl make any difference.

As for your other comment, yes as sad as it is, one day you will get a smack in the mouth. You won't deserve it but it will happen. Terrible as it is, these are the times we live in.

Fair play to the Ginger Ninja all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Jess16

But he's ginger, this could be his one he still has no chance.

FYP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Firstly, type properly. Use full and correct words. Txt speek may be kewl with ur besties, but its rather tiresome here.

Secondly, you did exactly what everyone else did. There was no point in you wading in, getting a few slaps, and getting in the Ginger Ninjers way, and giving yet another target to protect.

from the person who spells "sophisticated"...."sofiztikated"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

Scumbaggery of the highest order. I haven't seen anything like that here in Spain. Really, where else in Europe would you get lads beating the crap out of a bunch of girls and nobody being all that shocked by it? I've never seen anything CLOSE to this happening anywhere outside the UK and Ireland. And lads come on here complaining about Irish women while choosing to remain completely oblivious to the fact that there is just as much scummy behaviour from their own gender. I haven't been verbally abused on a Saturday night by lads since moving out of the country 7 years ago but of course, the usual moaners choose to come on here and not see the two sides of the story.

You know what it comes down to? People drinking themselves into a stupor. When stuff like this happens, to call is just cringeworthy is an insult. This is shameful. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Storminateacup

also de guys that looked out of the diner and went back in shud be ashamed of themselves!

Says you, standing across the street watching the whole show.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    Scumbaggery of the highest order. I haven't seen anything like that here in Spain. Really, where else in Europe would you get lads beating the crap out of a bunch of girls and nobody being all that shocked by it? I've never seen anything CLOSE to this happening anywhere outside the UK and Ireland.

In other parts of Europe the scobes are housed far away from the rest of the population maybe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

In other parts of Europe the scobes are housed far away from the rest of the population maybe?

As in prison? Or ghettos?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,299 ✭✭✭sdanseo

rite so i had an account here b4 but dont use the email anymore.

Please could you forget this account too. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,791 ✭✭✭up for anything

Tilt Gone wrote: »
    Yeah, helped themselves into a box in the jaw probably. If they didnt give a toss pushing the other girl why would another random girl make any difference.

As for your other comment, yes as sad as it is, one day you will get a smack in the mouth. You won't deserve it but it will happen. Terrible as it is, these are the times we live in.

Fair play to the Ginger Ninja all the same.

The difference is the OP wasn't just one girl. She had friends with her. There is strength in numbers.

If I get a smack in the mouth one day so be it but at least I'll know I didn't stand there wringing my hands like a maiden in days of yore. I'd sooner get hurt from intervening than stand and watch in horror. Someday it could be one of my children and I'd like to know that somebody would step in to help them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 seeyounextweek

ok got a warning for my words so ill be as good as possible.

i got in contact with him and he is ok. he said he doesnt need the drink as its something anyone should do. still spamming him with praise!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 ReReginald

guessing op is really male, mid height, mid weight, ginger, ucd student and .... member of the sci-fi club.

and failed to score in whatever hotel, harcourt st.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Storminateacup

I just don't get why a male - any male - is expected to jump into a fight, to defend someone he doesn't know.

Just because they have balls? C'mon.

Those scum could have had knives, syringes, god knows what. And yeah, it was extremely good of that ginga ninja to get involved, however, branding those who walked back into the diner as cowards... whut??

If you were so concerned, why didn't you help out, instead of standing the far side, giving boards.ie a running commentary.

What makes you, or your safety, more important than those men who chose to not get involved?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 ReReginald

its b.s

he's been watching too much sci-fi (of all things).

he kicked 4 guys asses after having been knocked down himself, then shot a fireball out his hands and did this spinny kick in the air, then a big jumping uppercut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,037 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Hero guy found, he's OK, doesn't want drink and OP is happy (well done nice detective work and thankfully there are Heros left in the world)

^^^^
    Unfortunatley only the skeptics (he didn't really do it) and the naysayers (why didn't you do something) will use this thread now.

/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Mr. Denton

This man who fought off the scumbags wasn't a hero.

He is a silent guardian, a watchful protector. A dark knight if you will.

Exactly. Probably happened something like this.

Thank you Batman! Dublin is forever in your debt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Mr. Denton

deathrider wrote: »
    Pah, superheroes get all the chicks.

It's true. Especially this guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

Plazaman wrote: »
    Easy to say from behind the comfort of a screen and keyboard. In the cold harsh reality of a violent situation confronted by a bunch of scummers it's a different story. Only surmising, but as the OP said she was in heels and out for the night then presumably she was in a dress too (or dressed up), so I'm sure it would have been quite clever to march over to a bunch of lads (or even antagonise them from across the street) who are so brave to pick on girls in heels.

Well done to Ginger Chan Man for kicking lumps out of them, hope they're hurting in their tracksuits today.
    its true,what you say,a lady.by my first post i didnt know that she was a lady,after that i did say from across the street =just shout that you called the cops.oh oh by the way,i have had a broken leg,elbow,ribs from helping
    people i dont know that are bein picked on.so i do know what i would do,and fyi im 6 foot and only 11 stone,an no i have no training in any
    fightin.i just cant stand gangs,be it 2 or 5 pickin one one poor person.
    but thats just me.i have to try to help,i try first by talkin them out of it.
    but sometimes they just try to jump you anyway .thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,995 ✭✭✭take everything

Plazaman wrote: »
    Hero guy found, he's OK, doesn't want drink and OP is happy (well done nice detective work and thankfully there are Heros left in the world)

^^^^
    Unfortunatley only the skeptics (he didn't really do it) and the naysayers (why didn't you do something) will use this thread now.
    /

I'm still waiting for the po-faced "he should be done for assault" crowd to weigh in tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Those scum could have had knives, syringes, god knows what. And yeah, it was extremely good of that ginga ninja to get involved, however, branding those who walked back into the diner as cowards... whut??If you were so concerned, why didn't you help out, instead of standing the far side, giving boards.ie a running commentary.What makes you, or your safety, more important than those men who chose to not get involved?

+1, plus there are two important things to add about that

1. The crowd in the diner, I am going to assume were after a night out, could well have a lot of drink on board. You are not going to come out on top if you are plastered. You won't be as well able to defend yourself, even from the ground if you get knocked down. How often have we heard about drunks hitting their heads off the wall/path/curb and doing serious damage? I have gotten involved into situations like the OP describes but if I was after a big night out I'd be a hell of a lot more wary if I had drink on board. Also it could easily impair your judgement of what's going on, who's fighting who, who's the aggressor etc.

2. The people in the diner it sounds like didn't have the luxury of the OP in seeing how the incident kicked off. They came out, saw a group going at, and left them at it. If I wasn't at least reasonably sure how a row like this started again I'd be much slower to intervene, have heard plenty of stories of people intervening in situation only for both parties to turn on them (including a friend who got between a fella and the girl he was beating on one night only for the girl to scratch his face to ribbons, including eye damage).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,077 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

Someday a real rain will come and wipe all the scum off the streets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Seven feet tall he was, with arms like tree trunks. His eyes were like steel:
    cold, hard. Had a shock of hair, red, like the fires of Hell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭donalg1

jive wrote: »
    Girl or not it's ridiculous that you left him there getting kicked in the head when you genuinely 'thought he was dead'. I'm not one for jumping in on fights that have nothing to do with me and if someone wants to start a fight with people it's their own problem but under no circumstances, scumbag or not, would I leave them for dead. If I saw anyone getting kicks to the head I'd jump in and I'd expect anyone else to do the same for me. This especially applies given the context above considering the scumbags were in the wrong (as usual).

Tis easy to say that sitting at home on your laptop but doing it when its actually happening in front of you is a different story altogether. And if it was my girlfriend on her way to the chipper and witnessing this i would kill her if she tried to step in and help, the fella that stepped in was obviously very brave seeing as there were four lads and one of him so i wouldnt expect a couple of girls to rush over and help him out and risk getting kicked in the head themselves now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭tightropetom

My brain hurt reading that without capital letters... :o