Are we finally appreciating the value of Spanish Students?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

It's the "stand in massive groups at the bus stop, taking up the entire footpath forcing people to walk out on the road" that pisses me off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

antodeco wrote: »
    Can you speak Spanish? Fecking huge turnon so it is!

Spanish with a Dub accent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

Noopti wrote: »
    It's the "stand in massive groups at the bus stop, taking up the entire footpath forcing people to walk out on the road" that pisses me off.

You've never had 50 of em get on a bus when you're already late for work. I got so angry one day I nearly wrote a letter to Griffith college to ask if they'd consider getting a private bus service to ferry them about as due to the vast amount of them they were adding an extra 10 to 15 minutes onto my journey between talking and looking for lost bus cards.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,722 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Eve_Dublin wrote: »

Hmmm...

/strokes chin

EDIT: My own chin!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Barna77

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,540 ✭✭✭joseph brand

The amount of them that get caught stealing in Penneys, (the wife works there), ye wouldn't think it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

In fairness I've never heard him say a bad word about anyone from Equatorial Guinea.

Don't even get me started on those cnuts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 449 ✭✭Emiko

Barna77 wrote: »

+ Juan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

No nationality of summer student pisses me off more than the Spanish. Loud, rude, obnoxious little runts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭Chairman Meow

If they want to get thier tits out around me, fine. Theyre welcome. Other than that tho, **** them. Irritating bunch of gob****es.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

No doubt they are a tad bit annoying like all teenagers but are very well behaved. Could you imagine if we sent our runts over to spain for the summer, there would be carnage. Its bad enough when adults go to spain and smash the place up but our teenagers would be a lot different to the Spanish that come over here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

They would be fine if they were forced to go everywhere in groups of no more than 3. Most of them are like a pack of loud, thick, slow moving sheep once they go outdoors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭booboo88

You think a grown man shagging a kid is alright? If you're a kid, grand. If you're not, the get off Boards and get a life. Convince yourself it's alright. It really isn't. I work with these chidlren. They're kids.

in fairness, he highlighted the part he was referring to, i.e not moving out until in their 30's:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

It's a great pity that by the time these kids reach their early twenties, they've all got faces like crocodile-skin handbags from being out in the sun too long. One minute they look 16 and the next 75.

booboo88 wrote: »
    in fairness, he highlighted the part he was referring to, i.e not moving out until in their 30's:rolleyes:

...and I apologised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭plein de force

It seems like getting on any form of public transport in a civilised fashion is an alien concept to them.

they're as tight as a nun's cnut too. one 2ltr bottle of coke between about 20 of them

french, german, portuguese etc. they're grand though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Most of them are like a pack of loud, thick, slow moving sheep once they go outdoors.

Just like any bunch of kids of any nationality visiting any country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,557 ✭✭✭the_monkey

Don't think it's adding much business to the economy to be honest, I know how tight they are - I worked with a guy here who spent €30 (yes thirty) a month - FACT.

The rest he saved - stuck in a bank.

He lived at home - no rent/mortgage (they don't give ANYTHING to their parents here even if they earn more :mad::mad::mad:)

His food - again all made my Mammy - he didn't have to pay.

Parasites

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

the_monkey wrote: »
    Don't think it's adding much business to the economy to be honest, I know how tight they are - I worked with a guy here who spent €30 a month - FACT.

The rest he saved - stuck in a bank.

He lived at home - no rent/mortgage (they don't give ANYTHING to their parents here even if they earn more :mad::mad::mad:)

His food - again all made my Mammy - he didn't have to pay.

Parasites

I remember reading a piece about a 32 year old Spanish guy who tried to sue his parents for kicking him out of the family home. He argued that it was the parent's responsibility to provide him with food, shelter and finance as they had brought him into this world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I remember reading a piece about a 32 year old Spanish guy who tried to sue his parents for kicking him out of the family home. He argued that it was the parent's responsibility to provide him with food, shelter and finance as they had brought him into this world.

I see his point but it was him that won the race to the unfertilised egg and that was no accident.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

Also, I should add that recent research shows that the Irish aren't in fact Celtic but rather from northern Spain! I know many have suspected this for a while bt it seems we're no longer Celts lol.

What about Los Celtinas?

ejmaztec wrote: »
    It's a great pity that by the time these kids reach their early twenties, they've all got faces like crocodile-skin handbags from being out in the sun too long. One minute they look 16 and the next 75.

Yeah, the Spanish are bet down by the time they hit 20 :confused:

This is a nation of rides, my friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,731 ✭✭✭✭entropi

ejmaztec wrote: »
    There's a saying I heard from my mam "Do You look at the fireplace when You're poking the fire?" :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Barna77

they're as tight as a nun's cnut too. one 2ltr bottle of coke between about 20 of them
    Botellón :D
    In fairness I've never heard him say a bad word about anyone from Equatorial Guinea.
    They are ruled by a dictator... Is that good or bad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 tommieob

Does anyone know exactly how much these students parents pay to send them here for a month? I think local families get around €650 pm to take them but how much are the facilitators getting? I can't imagine they are bringing them here for the good of their health.

tommieob wrote: »
    Does anyone know exactly how much these students parents pay to send them here for a month? I think local families get around €650 pm to take them but how much are the facilitators getting? I can't imagine they are bringing them here for the good of their health.

Spanish salaries are crap. I'm working in a Summer camp in Spain and will be getting about 1400 before tax and I'll be taxed 200 of that. These guys would be getting even less I reckon (because board and food would be included) and as far as I know, you might have to pay for your own flights in a lot of cases.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 Google Gold

I would not like to see ten's of thousands's of foreign students come full time no matter what. We would dishonour our country by doing so. They've imo always been a grand lot, Not on boards long so iv'e yet to read a
    negative word about Spanish students.
    They do contribute. But this is the only way for non-national students to do so.
    Come one summer & leave the same.
    What sane person would like to see Ireland turn into an international hub for student's :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

I would not like to see ten's of thousands's of foreign students come full time no matter what. We would dishonour our country by doing so. They've imo always been a grand lot, Not on boards long so iv'e yet to read a
    They do contribute. But this is the only way for non-national students to do so.
    What sane person would like to see Ireland turn into an international hub for student's :confused:
    I don't mean to alarm you but quite a few foreign students come here full time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 tommieob

Spanish salaries are crap. I'm working in a Summer camp in Spain and will be getting about 1400 before tax and I'll be taxed 200 of that. These guys would be getting even less I reckon (because board and food would be included) and as far as I know, you might have to pay for your own flights in a lot of cases.

Hi Eve_Dublin, thanks for the reply. However, I am more interested to know how much the Irish people who are responsible for the Spanish students while they are here get. I have no problem with them coming here, but I reckon someone must be making a packet of money from this. As an addition, they generally come from very wealthy backgrounds so I don't think money is a problem. The parents of the guy we have are a vet and a solicitor. As for them spending money, they guy we have is certainly keeping the local shops in business with the amount of junk food he buys!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

Eh, what?