What to do about a socially inept friend ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

Let him notice and then tell him what the problem is. He cant change if he doesnt know theres a problem or what it is. Dont let him ruin his social standing not knowing why, be a prick if ya have to and tell him outright that people are sick of him talking about the same things over and over. He'll more than likely take offence and think your a cúnt.

He might be embarrassed and avoid the social scene for a while but then tis up to you to get him back into it too. You'll have to go out of your way to coax him out and hopefully by then he wont be too eager to talk about war, E or his dad. The whole thing will blow over and everyone will be mates again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

Blast him with piss?
    Then he'd probably just talk about war stuff, the time he tried E, his dad, and the time his mate blasted him with piss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Blast him with piss?
    Let me guess .......your who the OP has in mind .:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 ReReginald

secretly record him banging on about those 3 things.
    spike his drink.
    tie him to a chair.
    attach electrodes.
    switch on a tv.
    randomly play audio of his three topics over the tv - electrocute him each time.
    chloroform.
    a+e department.
    tell him he was in a coma.
    mention his favorite topic.
    hit him in the nuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

get him laid

it sounds like he needs it

and it will at least give him a 4th topic of conversation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭IsMiseDaithair

Lock him in the cleaning room with Father Dougal.

Lock him in a room with Father Austin Purcell !!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

buy him a prozzy and a bag of coke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,236 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

So what the hell are these three things?
    Is it football, the blacks and national socialism?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Fozzydog3

So what the hell are these three things?
    Is it football, the blacks and national socialism?

war in general , the one time he tried E and his unimpressive dad

Set him up on a date with the a Jedwards .He will be so in awe of all their shyte talk to .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Blast him with piss?

blast him with sh1t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

I had the exact same problem.

Nice guy, killed fun. Invited himself along when I was meeting mates and I felt like I was at fault for bringing him along.

I got him involved in a club in college and he made friends there, haven't seen him in months and from what I've seen on Facebook he's having great craic with his new friends (they constantly go travelling to different counties for piss-ups).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭Sweatynutsack

He's obviously not drinking enough
    You need to make sure he gets properly pIzzed, so much that he wont be able to talk, just an odd mumble through his vomit filled mouth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

I know a guy like this. He eventually found a girlfriend who is brilliant. She literally kicks him in the leg if he starts going on too long (you would not believe how long this guy can talk about amazingly boring rubbish). Anyway, he's a million times nicer to be around now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭spider guardian

You don't really have much options here. How many ways are there to convey to a person that they are annoying and tedious when socialising? You may as well just tell him straight out. Yeah, it's going to be awkward, and it'll be really hard not to come across as a dick, but just maybe it will make him think. Maybe he will hate you and never speak to you again, or he may work on his social skills and not be such a bore on nights out.

Either is a win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

hondasam wrote: »
    who said he needs help, he sounds like most people do when they are drinking.
    What, after four cans? That amount of drink just tends to oil the conversation. It's only when everyone nears the blackout stage that ridiculous three-topic loops start to happen.

Lock him in a room with Father Austin Purcell !!!:D
    The toilet
    I know a guy like this. He eventually found a girlfriend who is brilliant. She literally kicks him in the leg if he starts going on too long (you would not believe how long this guy can talk about amazingly boring rubbish). Anyway, he's a million times nicer to be around now.
    The bruises on his legs did the trick .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

on a side note:

friends(i mean mates,not true friends in the sense of the word) in college should never live together unless there is a proven track record that you can put with each others extended periods of ****e talk for long periods of time..... as the mask just slips!

also i'm not in the business of cheering housemates up about there first world problems ad nauseum and THEN they refuse to do anything about it :rolleyes: , **** SELF LOATHING unless you have a terminal illness or can't find food to eat, you're doing pretty damn well for yourself! :)

they say if you want to know the true nature of a person:
    Eat and live with them

Boring rubbish talk doesn't annoy me as much if the person who expresses it with some animation/energy and geunine interest/enthusiasm , i've met engineering students speak about the working of atoms and made me laugh with their observations! :oreally:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

Whenever he repeats a topic just punch him in the nuts.

He'll soon catch on.

:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

Fozzydog3 wrote: »
    war in general , the one time he tried E and his unimpressive dad

How is his dad unimpressive? Does he compare him unfavourably to your impressive paters?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Karona

I have a friend who is also socially inept. If you bring her out she justs sits there with a face on her, when asked if something is wrong she says no and to stop asking her, she will barely talk never mind strike up a conversation.

She is 26, never had a boyfriend and hangs around with a 40 year old woman and her 4 kids, she has no other friends apart from me an your one.

Its sad to see her like this, her mother basically rules her life. She has to ask can she go out and her mother will usually say no.

If I was her I'd tell my mother where to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭jugger0

He might have assburgerz brah

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭coco_lola

OP, on a more serious note.. What happens if you try to change the topic of conversation? Have you tried saying (as diplomatically as possible) "I remember you telling me about that before alright"... and then just say "why don't we talk about something else?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Put him and his unimpressive dad on a plane to afghanistan with a bag of yokes, he should come back with a few more stories

coco_lola wrote: »
    OP, on a more serious note.. What happens if you try to change the topic of conversation? Have you tried saying (as diplomatically as possible) "I remember you telling me about that before alright"... and then just say "why don't we talk about something else?"

i have said in a polite way "oh yeah yeah i remember you telling me about that '' (in fact ive said it so many times he should really have gotten the point by now) this only serves as fuel to the fire really , and i havent the heart balls to say why dont we talk about something else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭EL_Loco

I find with friends you can be blunt, that's why you're friends, or at least, it's a sign that you are.

"stop talking about that, it's all you talk about, I and people you know have heard it before, so, what do you think about...."

add a book
    a song,
    a band
    a story on the news
    a country
    debt crisis
    what's he doing next week
    he chatted to any girls lately
    he playing any new computer games
    his other hobbies
    his plans for the summer
    summer holidays
    his bike
    his car
    his dog
    his aspirations for owning a bike, car or dog
    the nice tan he got during the good weather
    the lack of tan he didn't get during the good weather

jesus christ if you can't steer him off it you become as culpable as him for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

That sounds like my cousin, all he talks about is;
    • Football and how Man United are great
    • Music and how grunge/early nineties stuff is the only stuff worth listening to
    • Films

Now fine there is lots there but if anyone else tries to talk about something different he will give a one sentence answer and go back to Soundgarden.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

At least he talks to people, I have one or two friends who go places and just sit in the corner and "text" (look at their phones) unless they see me or another one or two friends of theirs and then they just follow...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 rs mivec

ReReginald wrote: »
    secretly record him banging on about those 3 things.
    spike his drink.
    tie him to a chair.
    attach electrodes.
    switch on a tv.
    randomly play audio of his three topics over the tv - electrocute him each time.
    chloroform.
    a+e department.
    tell him he was in a coma.
    mention his favorite topic.
    hit him in the nuts.

surly this is the first thing that springs to mind :D

No seriously tell the guy!

All great stories lads for a socially inept guy it seems everyone knows him !

now does anyone have any suggestions on what to do ?