Travellers on the rampage in Meath

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭rocco.

charlemont wrote: »
    Travelling folk, we're the greatest people in the world...:pac:

Is that why ya keep it in the family boss?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭BEASTERLY

super-rush wrote: »

Banned.

Any more use of the term "knacker" will result in more bans. Even if you use stupid rhyming slang to cover it up.

Are you serious? Respect has to be earned. As a community they deserve none, until they change their ways we should be aloud to call the theiving bastárds whatever the fúck we want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

[QUOTE=pragmatic1;73277326]Why do you need a support group. How are you being repressed. You're right for this demographic there is no equivalent for words like nig, fag, gypo, slut. Nasty words used to dehumanise people and feel superior to them.

You think black people, gays, and travellers dont get stereotyped in the media. Are you serious. According to film and tv, black people all talk in ebonics and live in the hood, gays are super flamboyant and love fashion, travellers all live in caravans and are criminals. I'll concede that women have a fairly broad representation in the media and arent really stereotyped, but neither are white, hetrosexual males.

I agree with you that PC has been abused by certain groups, which I think is wrong because it prevents discussion. However, if you start a thread saying that a white man raped a woman due to the fact that he is a white man. People will rightly call you out for it. If you start a thread saying a black man killed someone, no one will have a problem with that. People will have a problem if you attribute the murder to the fact the he is black.[/QUOTE]

i dont need a support group - and neither do the groups i was talking about
    i am a citizen of this country and have a certain set of rights
    as do these other groups - they are protected by the same laws and rights as i am - so whydo they have the support groups and lobby groups ???
    last week a famous feminist from the 60/70's (whos name i cant remember ) stated that feminism is dead and should be becasue woman are as close to equal as worth shouting about - so no need for these groups , they should quit being "victims"

as for traveler rights - dont get me started - they have the same right as me , same choices and chances
    the reason i don't get barred from pubs clubs hotels is i don't ****ing wreak the place every time i have a beer , i dont drive around housing estates stealing peoples property - they make life hard for themselves

and i know this because i live NEXT DOOR to a settled traveler family
    perfect neighbors , delightful family , all the kids in school , kids polite
    healthy and happy - you should listen to the father of the family slag the travelers - he got himself from the side of the road , into a house and got his kids healthy and happy - they can improve their lot if they want but choose not to in most cases ,
    and they want ethnic minority status ??? ****ing joke if i ever head it

my starting point was if you read it that on boards recently if you start a thread about them or have views that question the validity of their " special status " the thread gets locked or you get kicked

in my opinion the above groups do get special status - and unwarranted
    the law is for all not just for the few

im racking my brains trying to remember the comic who done a entire sketch based on the fact that 30 year old white men are the only ones that you can get away with abusing because no one gives a **** about them - easy targets

and on your point "If you start a thread saying a black man killed someone, no one will have a problem with that"
    yes they would and yes they should - hes a man his skin color should have nothing 2 do with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭aligator_am

dj jarvis wrote: »
    oohhhh , i give this thread very little time
    as we all know we can slag of men aged 18 - 45 but your not allowed to make
    ANY comment about the following

travelers
    women
    gays
    blacks

or the biggest taboo black gay female travelers
    boards is now so afraid of the blood sucking lawyers and being sued that
    my following statement may get us all life

speaking the truth about these people will not be allowed

You forgot Israel :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭nicechick!

In my area of work I now have an intense dislike for the travelling community I dislike this trait in myself as I really don't want to ''paint everyone with the same brush'' but sadly time & time again they encourage this dislike by there behaviour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

and they want ethnic minority status ??? ****ing joke if i ever head it

my starting point was if you read it that on boards recently if you start a thread about them or have views that question the validity of their " special status " the thread gets locked or you get kicked

Do you think they're just regular Irish folk like everyone else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

BEASTERLY wrote: »
    Are you serious? Respect has to be earned. As a community they deserve none, until they change their ways we should be aloud to call the theiving bastárds whatever the fúck we want.

Yes i am very serious.

If you want to continue this discussion then you can pm me. Do not derail the thread please. Last warning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

barone wrote: »
    ive seen far worse down in galway, pitched battles akin to the mulingar ones a couple of years back, braveheart battle scenes the judge called them,in between housing estates throwing knives,saw blades,rocks back and forth,at gardai, then the shots go out..

Castlepark and Hillside?

I think I remember that court report. And Judge Mary Fahy doesn't hold back if she has something to say
    and if it goes to court a 'truce' will be declared between the warring factions and all will be let off with a caution.

Paddy O'Gorman, roving reporter for Pat Kenny show did a report on Galway court last year. Cases go to court and the boyos refuse to speak up. So the case gets dropped and everyones times is wasted.

They won't use the courts, they sort out issues themselves

they have so much contempt for settled people its dangerous.

In Galway, they call settled people buffers :(

Do you think they're just regular Irish folk like everyone else?

no they are not - but do they deserve ethnic minority status? , no way
    again i draw the conversation back 2 my original point
    recently on boards certain subjects are getting heavy policed .

the truth is the truth is the truth - just dont speak the truth about certain groups

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

i dont need a support group - and neither do the groups i was talking about
    i am a citizen of this country and have a certain set of rights
    as do these other groups - they are protected by the same laws and rights as i am - so whydo they have the support groups and lobby groups ???
    last week a famous feminist from the 60/70's (whos name i cant remember ) stated that feminism is dead and should be becasue woman are as close to equal as worth shouting about - so no need for these groups , they should quit being "victims"

These groups werent always afforded a certain set of rights. There was a time when they could be discriminated against and the law offered them no protection. Thats why support groups were set up. Theres no derogatory terms for white, hetrosexual men in this country because people dont hate you simply because you're a white, hetrosexual male. Unfortunately the same cant be said for the other groups. You're not going to get verbally abused or battered because of who you are. People arent going to make assumptions about your character.

Edit: Actually if you were living up north 20 years ago you probably would be discriminated against.

in my opinion the above groups do get special status - and unwarranted
    the law is for all not just for the few

Imagine going to a job interview prior to the enactment of equality legislation and the boss is a stone cold racist. You're sound no need for legislation to protect you. The next man is black, the boss says get out you fcukin nig. The black man has no recourse. Would that be an acceptable scenario for you.

im racking my brains trying to remember the comic who done a entire sketch based on the fact that 30 year old white men are the only ones that you can get away with abusing because no one gives a **** about them - easy targets

Dont know about that mate. The gay kid in my class at school got a fairly horrific time of it and no one seemed to give a fcuk. We had three asylum seekers from Nigeria in my 6th year and monkey noises followed them wherever they went. I'd say they could be classified as easy targets.

Funnily enough, a comedian I admire would have a response to the discrimination faced by 30 year old white men.

and on your point "If you start a thread saying a black man killed someone, no one will have a problem with that"
    yes they would and yes they should - hes a man his skin color should have nothing 2 do with it

If you said a white man done the crime and his skin colour was the main reason, people would also call you out on it.

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    These groups werent always afforded a certain set of rights. There was a time when they could be discriminated against and the law offered them no protection. Thats why support groups were set up. Theres no derogatory terms for white, hetrosexual men in this country because people dont hate you simply because you're a white, hetrosexual male. Unfortunately the same cant be said for the other groups. You're not going to get verbally abused or battered because of who you are. People arent going to make assumptions about your character.

Edit: Actually if you were living up north 20 years ago you probably would be discriminated against.

your post talks of the past - laws in this land a sufficient for most if not all
    im talking about Ireland today - compared to a lot of other country's Ireland is rights rich in my opinion

again ill say my point was you cant say jack about the earlier mentioned groups with out sanction - but you can say what you want about a 30 something white guy because no one will say anything
    and your post " Theres no derogatory terms for white, hetrosexual men in this country because people dont hate you simply because you're a white, hetrosexual male." - you have not read many of the female orientated groups or threads have you :D

no they are not - but do they deserve ethnic minority status? , no way
    again i draw the conversation back 2 my original point
    recently on boards certain subjects are getting heavy policed .

the truth is the truth is the truth - just dont speak the truth about certain groups

I'm not sure about ethnic status myself because sometimes I think it has the potential to do more harm than good i.e. it creates a kind of us-and-them dynamic.

What's unusual though is how people say 'Travellers? they're not like us' and then say 'no way' to granting ethnic status.

By calling them Travellers in the first place we kind of single them out as being different to 'us regular folk' akin to an ethnic group so it seems contradictory to deny them ethnic status.

I'm kind of neutral on the issue though. (Because I can't sort it out in my head).

i give up

i was only saying that you cant mention certain groups on boards because the pc screaming queens come screaming - but you can slag other groups no prob , not right

your breakdown of social imbalances and prejudices is informative but missing the point - you talk of the past a lot in your last post , im talking about Ireland today - different universe to the one you are basing your argument on

we have law that all citizens should follow - we have rights that are afforded to all

speak it as it is - not as it should be

I'm not sure about ethnic status myself because sometimes I think it has the potential to do more harm than good i.e. it creates a kind of us-and-them dynamic.

What's unusual though is how people say 'Travellers? they're not like us' and then say 'no way' to granting ethnic status.

By calling them Travellers in the first place we kind of single them out as being different to 'us regular folk' akin to an ethnic group so it seems contradictory to deny them ethnic status.

I'm kind of neutral on the issue though. (Because I can't sort it out in my head).

what should we call them ? because you have a title in the community does not afford you special status , im a dub , should i not be called that
    we have titles for EVERYONE , and lets face the fact its not just the title that gives them the " uniqueness " they want less attention then stop alienating the rest of the community - people would not give a crap what ethnic living they got up 2 if it was not so destructive and violent and lets not mention criminal - settled people have this life style also but dont hear them looking for special rights

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

i give up

i was only saying that you cant mention certain groups on boards because the pc screaming queens come screaming - but you can slag other groups no prob , not right

your breakdown of social imbalances and prejudices is informative but missing the point - you talk of the past a lot in your last post , im talking about Ireland today - different universe to the one you are basing your argument on

we have law that all citizens should follow - we have rights that are afforded to all

speak it as it is - not as it should be
    I'm not overtly pc. I'm very pro freedom of speech and I dont think any word or discussion should be banned.

I used examples of why support groups were needed in the past and now because you're of the opinion that they arent needed. People do get assaulted and verbally abused in 2011 for who they are. Irish people also went through periods of discrimination and we set up groups to protect ourselves too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    Theres some bag eggs alright, but many are the friendliest, most loyal, genuine people you can meet. I remember one time I got myself into a bit of bother and some travelers where passing by, they came over, and tbh because of the prejudice which most Irish people have inbuilt I was very wary, but they helped me no questions asked and made sure I was ok.

You can be sure as fcuk the divine settled folk wouldn't have lent a hand.
    You where lucky. I've never meet an honest traveller yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

rocco. wrote: »
    Is that why ya keep it in the family boss?

Hey Boss Yur hurting me feelings Yup Im 2 upset to go fighting nicking n thieving
    2 nit Ill hafe to get Philomena up the duff insteed ..:D

Honestly this so called culture/ ethnic group thing has to end, They are the bloody same as any of us but the main problem is prison doesn't frighten travellers at all, Some travellers just love trouble, Most dont.

Iv had friends that were travellers and there was absolutely nothing culturally different about them. In fact they use the K word to describe the same type of travellers that cause trouble and leave a mess wherever they go..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭bayern282

I think you'll find that this thread is racist. Travellers are their own ethnic group and as such it is unfair to expect them to align themselves with the cultural norms of settled society.

Or something.

Don't see their argument for separate ethnic minority status, they're not anything other than Irish, they're travellers not Romanis or gypsies of any sort, despite the fact they've intermarried and have particular surnames.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭aligator_am

We should probably rebrand them as "non tax payers of no fixed abode".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

I love these threads and the grossly mis-leading generalisations about travellers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Ethnicity is something you have little or no choice over. I don't accept that the traveller lifestyle is one that cannot be easily left behind if one chooses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭Craebear

Being from Meath myself I ask, what's the big deal? This "incident" sounds like a fairly normal evening round these parts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭Pete M.

Ok so Travelers are definitely different.
    But proportionally they get in more trouble than most groups.
    Except for other people who are socio-economically challenged.
    Settled scumbags like.

Most law abiding citizens fear both groups because if they think they can get something out of you, they will try. And why shouldn't they?
    Society is so fcuked up that this kind of makes sense.

I know and work with plenty of Travelers and wouldn't trust one of them.
    That's not to say I don't respect them or treat them any differently to anyone else (well I tend to speak a bit faster).

Then again there are lots of settled people I wouldn't trust either.

Had a buck with me in national school and one day when I said to him 'Eoineen you know that you're an itinerant right...' and he said 'Pete, I'n no Itinerant, I'n a knacker'.
    He's dead now, poor fcuker.

Anyhoo, lock up your wives, lock up your children (and their bikes), because if the Travelers don't rob your valuables, then there'll be a gang of Dubs round your way soon :pac::pac::pac:

Seanbeag1 wrote: »
    Ethnicity is something you have little or no choice over. I don't accept that the traveller lifestyle is one that cannot be easily left behind if one chooses.

If you're talking about travelling - as in intineracy - then I don't think they have much choice.

As for being Travellers why should they want to not be Travellers?

There are plenty of perfectly peaceful Travellers who do nobody any harm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

I read the rest of the residents website, I'd hate to live there, sounds like alot of busybodies , and would probably turn out like sandford from hot fuzz.

The pikeys probably do it for the crack

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭In The Sticks

Taken from the Residents association website.
    Community Council Alert
    Posted on 12/07/2011

If I contact Pavee Point will they 'Sort em out'?

And people think travellers are terrible? I can't imagine a family of settled people going on a family day out in a van, to terrorise residents and children in an estate, trying to have a football tournament. The Garda probably can't do anything because the travellers have their 'rights'. Sweet Justice.

I don't think there is a county in the country that hasn't been affected by the onslaught on a Traveller invasion. By all accounts what is happening on your estate needs to be nipped in the bud before it gets out of hand.
    It's not fair on those living on their own / oap's etc who are now in fear of their lives.
    I would highlight your plight in your local paper and radio, use private cctv cams if people have them, You can't be prisioners in your own home and should not stand for it. And the Gardai are wondering why the Padraic Nally's around the country are taking the law into their own hands. No doubt the 'Do Gooders' will say that I am a racist, I would say that I am a realist..best of luck guys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

Talk to joe,there where yobs in tipp town getting away assaults until residents rang in to embarrass the guards,proof here-

http://www.nationalist.ie/news/local/savagery_on_the_streets_of_tipperary_1_2242710

Then jailed- http://www.independent.ie/national-news/courts/four-men-jailed-for-attacks-on-parade-revellers-2086243.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭In The Sticks

If you're talking about travelling - as in intineracy - then I don't think they have much choice.

As for being Travellers why should they want to not be Travellers?

There are plenty of perfectly peaceful Travellers who do nobody any harm.[/QUOT

Why would the want to change their life styles now??? How many of them would survive in a house if they had to pay rent, open a bank account, pay PAYE, work in fulltime employment, tax, insure and NCT their cars vans etc... sure they are laughing their heads off at us mugs who are trying to work and pay bills etc, how many of us who are umemployed can afford 11-reg cars of vans and spend tens of thousands on a wedding reception.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

mikemac wrote: »

In Galway, they call settled people buffers :(

I thought this was what the townies called country people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Kasabian wrote: »
    I love these threads and the grossly mis-leading generalisations about travellers.
    I dont think they're grossly mis-leading. I'm speaking from experience.