Travellers on the rampage in Meath

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Mod Note
    @Tonto86
    Why do you want the source? I purposely wanted it to remain anonymous. Don't want unnecessary hassle.

It is Navan btw.

If you are posting an article, or an extract from it, then a source is required
    Elba101 wrote: »
    Not really that hard to find to be honest

http://www.athlumneywood.ie/

Thank you.

Ps. Lets try not to tar all travellers with one brush here, there are good and bad in all commuities/groups.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

meath is a kip. like france

Idiot! Meath is nothing like France..... some parts of France are lovely:D

Oh yea, cream crackers on the rob and generally up to no good, what a shock, and in Navan of all places, is nowhere safe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

dj jarvis wrote: »
    oohhhh , i give this thread very little time
    as we all know we can slag of men aged 18 - 45 but your not allowed to make
    ANY comment about the following

travelers
    women
    gays
    blacks

or the biggest taboo black gay female travelers
    boards is now so afraid of the blood sucking lawyers and being sued that
    my following statement may get us all life

speaking the truth about these people will not be allowed
    In fairness when are straight white males the subject of ridicule. Whats the derogatory term for this demographic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Next time you are walking down the street and you see a travelling type up to mischief,go over to him and and give him a big hug

thats all they really want

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

In before the boulder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,031 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Dont like travellers call me what ya fecking like I just hate the bastards

EVENFLOW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭CorkMan

I was once followed by a black gay female traveller.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

You're quite right sir.
    Members of the settled community would never commit any act of robbery or indeed any other crime.

That's what separates us from the Travelers you see.

Nor do they claim such acts as part of their culture or ethnic make up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

CorkMan wrote: »

Did she have a disability?

CorkMan wrote: »

Why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭CorkMan

Did she have a disability?

Yes, she was an albino.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Why?

Twitter....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

The Holy Stump of Rathkeale needs to be moved up there, give em something to worship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,418 ✭✭✭JimiTime

Article wrote:
    The family of travellers involved are well know for stealing.

One of the most horrible lines I hear fairly regularly.
    Cars robbed: Person KNOWN for robbing cars
    House Burgled: Person KNOWN for Burglary
    Person attacked: Person KNOWN for being violent

There is something very wrong with the system if such people are known for such dreadful criminal activity, but are free to victimise more people! I lament.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

ejmaztec wrote: »
    In before the boulder.

Ha!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,540 ✭✭✭joseph brand

I can't understand why people say things like "Oh I met one traveller before somewhere for reason, and eh, he was ok, he didn't rape me, burgle me, beat me, break into my house or anything, . . he was sound, they all are".

How many settled people help you out through your life?

And the other one of how a traveller bought someone a pint. Sure isn't it your money he bought it with. You'll never have HIS money in your pocket. Which reminds me of Bertie Ahern. Bought a guy a pint, man was chuffed to bits, not knowing that this millionaire bought him a drink which he himself has paid for. HA.

The Holy Stump of Rathkeale needs to be moved up there, give em something to worship.

They could use the one in this thread:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056326299

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Lumbo

JimiTime wrote: »

There is something very wrong with the system if such people are known for such dreadful criminal activity, but are free to victimise more people! I lament.

Maybe they have previous convictions and have paid their debt to society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 arsefacefrmhel

indeed..

JimiTime wrote: »

We dont have enough prisons and the gardai have their hands tied most of the time, due to a judiciary that dont live in the real world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

I thought this would be about the feud.

http://www.meathchronicle.ie/news/navan/articles/2011/07/06/4005350-traveller-feud-tensions-ease-in-navan-say-gardai-/
    Long-standing bad blood between two Traveller families, the McDonaghs and Nevins, reared its head again last week when, on Wednesday night 29th July, a grenade exploded at a house in Reask Green, apparently in revenge for an earlier beating of a man who had to be hospitalised.

At around 2pm on Wednesday, a member of one family in his 20s was involved in a confrontation on the Commons Road. The man and a family member got out of the van he was driving and got into a fight with two members of the rival family.

The driver of the van was beaten so badly, he had to be hospitalised with what is believed to be a broken arm, head wounds and other arm and leg injuries.

A group of around 20 people congregated at the scene of the melee and several weapons were produced. The three other men were also hospitalised in Our Lady of Lourdes Hospital, Drogheda, with various injuries and range in age from 17 to early 40s. Two members of each family were hospitalised and the van also sustained damage, including a hammered-in windscreen.

Gardai calmed building tensions in the area after the incident but, at 12.05am, what was initially thought to have been a pipe bomb but which turned out to be a grenade, exploded at the home of a member of one of the families, blowing in the windows but causing only minor damage.

The fact that no-one was home means the grenade was most likely intended as a message rather than an attempt on the residents' lives. A youth dressed in black was reported to have been seen running from the house.

The following day, Thursday, a petrol bomb exploded at the same address after a similar flare-up at around 10pm. The petrol bomb was thrown through a window and exploded inside the house. Fire units were called to the scene but damage was slight. Again, no-one was hurt in the attack and gardai on both occasions conducted door-to-door enquiries and forensic tests.

On Friday, after search warrants were granted, gardai carried out searches on three houses in Reask Court, several outhouses and two caravans and confiscated slashhooks, golf clubs, clawhammers and iron bars. Navan Gardai, the Regional Support Unit, Trim and Kells Gardai and the Meath Traffic Corps were all involved in the searches.

On the back of those searches, a 19-year-old from Reask was arrested under Section 30 of the Offences Against the State Act and was held overnight in relation to the petrol bomb attack and two further arrests were made. A man also volunteered to go to Navan Garda Station, which is thought to have gone a long way to calming tensions.

Incorrect rumours circulated around Navan over the weekend that trouble would return either on Cemetery Sunday, or on Monday or Tuesday of this week (4th and 5th July), but thankfully never materialised.

Gardai are keen to emphasise that the groups involved are a "tiny minority" of Traveller groups they work with and that people living in the Reask area have nothing to do with "two groups who can be problematic when things boil over".

Councillor Joe Reilly, who works with Traveller groups in Navan, said "what's happening is wrong".

He added: "The attacks are wrong. The intimidation of both families is wrong. There needs to be a long-term solution because it is not fair to the people of Reask, Navan or the Travelling community. This does nothing good for the Travelling cause and mature heads are needed for a long-term solution, and local authorities and gardai will have to be part of that," he said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,224 ✭✭✭barone

ive seen far worse down in galway, pitched battles akin to the mulingar ones a couple of years back, braveheart battle scenes the judge called them,in between housing estates throwing knives,saw blades,rocks back and forth,at gardai, then the shots go out..

and if it goes to court a 'truce' will be declared between the warring factions and all will be let off with a caution.

they have so much contempt for settled people its dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    In fairness when are straight white males the subject of ridicule. Whats the derogatory term for this demographic.

there is no all encompassing term for this group , but it is the only group that does not have a " support group " of some sort
    the worst offender is the current advertising standards that paint all white male 30 somethings as stupid , lazy , violent , sex crazed selfish monsters

if this was done for women,blacks,gays or travelers it would not make the air

i know your trying to make a point mute as it is but if your really trying to say that it is a level playing field when it comes to allowing debate the you are kidding yourself

i could start a thread called " stupid fat men drivers " and no one would bat an eyelid - but call it " stupid fat bitch " or " black fecker cut me up " ect ect it would be closed quicker than a hotel lobby at a travelers wedding :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭Norma_Desmond

Thanks for putting that up OP,
    My parents live in Navan and I just told them to keep an eye out and to be careful with their stuff and not to leave anything outside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭theboss80

So one guard on a push bike escorted 16 travelers in two vans out of the estate?

What a legend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭Tehachapi

I have only ever had bad experiences with travellers so naturally will form my opinions based on that.

Can't say the same for settled people, the majority of my dealings with them are positive.

dj jarvis wrote: »
    there is no all encompassing term for this group , but it is the only group that does not have a " support group " of some sort
    the worst offender is the current advertising standards that paint all white male 30 somethings as stupid , lazy , violent , sex crazed selfish monsters

if this was done for women,blacks,gays or travelers it would not make the air

i know your trying to make a point mute as it is but if your really trying to say that it is a level playing field when it comes to allowing debate the you are kidding yourself

i could start a thread called " stupid fat men drivers " and no one would bat an eyelid - but call it " stupid fat bitch " or " black fecker cut me up " ect ect it would be closed quicker than a hotel lobby at a travelers wedding :eek:
    Why do you need a support group. How are you being repressed. You're right for this demographic there is no equivalent for words like nig, fag, gypo, slut. Nasty words used to dehumanise people and feel superior to them.

You think black people, gays, and travellers dont get stereotyped in the media. Are you serious. According to film and tv, black people all talk in ebonics and live in the hood, gays are super flamboyant and love fashion, travellers all live in caravans and are criminals. I'll concede that women have a fairly broad representation in the media and arent really stereotyped, but neither are white, hetrosexual males.

I agree with you that PC has been abused by certain groups, which I think is wrong because it prevents discussion. However, if you start a thread saying that a white man raped a woman due to the fact that he is a white man. People will rightly call you out for it. If you start a thread saying a black man killed someone, no one will have a problem with that. People will have a problem if you attribute the murder to the fact the he is black.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Alter-Ego wrote: »
    Are you worried that the cream crackers will hunt you down through boards?
    Idiot! Meath is nothing like France..... some parts of France are lovely:D

Oh yea, cream crackers on the rob and generally up to no good, what a shock, and in Navan of all places, is nowhere safe!

Banned.

Any more use of the term "knacker" will result in more bans. Even if you use stupid rhyming slang to cover it up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

irish-stew wrote: »

Ps. Lets try not to tar all travellers with one brush here,

lol at tar.

There's a rake of nice travellers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,646 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

This is why the traveller community gets a bad name. im from navan and this made me ridiculously angry, especially as that estate has alot of young children in it.