Snobbiest comment you've ever heard?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    Some of the comments I see online about Irish Americans made by Irish people. Great job encouraging them to visit lads, really well done.

Point me in the direction of those MFs and I'll arrange my posse to call and have tea when next in Ireland :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

"I don't carry cash"

whats wrong with that one?

much safer and more economical

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,226 ✭✭✭Solair

A mate of mine was on a train from Dublin to Bray. As the train was passing a field where some men were playing Cricket he turned to his girlfriend and said "oh look honey, Protestants!"

That's not snobby, that's just kind of strange and sectarian and also making wild assumptions that because you play cricket you're a particular religion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭heyheyhey1982

Heard a woman (south side snobby type) in Henry street once remark "you really feel your mixing with the natives over here"

At a Leinster cup match against Blackrock in Donneybrook a few back and the fans who where chanting "how does it feel to be poor" i could see parents at the side line laughing to each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

stovelid wrote: »
    Not so much a phrase but a lad (from a very wealthy family) I knew in TCD went into convulsions of laughter about how scuffed my shoes were. Actual holding-sides-and-near-to-pissing-pants laughter.

Suffice to say that when the chance came up to ride his ex at a party a year or two later, I jumped at the chance.

Nothing like drooling over someones left overs to show them who's boss eh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭heyheyhey1982

I've seen snobbery from snobs to snobs. One time at a party where most of the lads where Saint Marys lads (myself from a public school) the parents of the fella having the party says "Johnny you better watch the cutlery with all these Ternenure boys around", ensue laughter from everyone but me. Posh pricks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,037 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Jeeves, fetch me my hunting rifle, I'm going out to shoot some Peasants.

Don't you mean Pheasants Sir?

.....Errmmm.....Yes, of course.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Nothing like drooling over someones left overs to show them who's boss eh!

Maybe we have a different take on the meaning of ride.

FYP

Haven't heard from you for years.

No hard feelings about your mot eh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Siuin

*woman walking along the quays in Cork*
    "Jesus, it's like Out of Africa round here"

Also, after telling a TCD student that I'm going to UCD
    "Ah well... I guess we can still be friends... what do you study?"
    "Arts"
    "Oh gawwwwd!"

Maybe we have a different take on the meaning of ride.

No, but i do think we have very different takes on the meaning of revenge!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

jme2010 wrote: »
    Biitch at work in her best Cork-born, turned D4 resident accent...

In front of two northsiders: "Oh, I'd never move to the northsoide"

Then listed ridiculous reasons why.

what the poor girl didnt realise is that there are more run down areas south of the liffey then north

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

Heard a woman (south side snobby type) in Henry street once remark "you really feel your mixing with the natives over here"

At a Leinster cup match against Blackrock in Donneybrook a few back and the fans who where chanting "how does it feel to be poor" i could see parents at the side line laughing to each other.

wonder was she ever up camden street?

No, but i do think we have very different takes on the meaning of revenge!

Let's just forge a gentleman's agreement to get over the grievous hurt that this has caused and somehow move on with our lives, however hard it may be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,366 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

My answer would be red, white or Buckfast. There's no substitute for class.

Don't forget Thunderbird !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

bonzodog2 wrote: »
    Don't forget Thunderbird !

Never heard of it, wine is a bit much so I'm a big fan of Stella Artois instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

Pretty much anything an Art or Food Critic has ever said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Member of the Doyle family: "Theres one thing the Doyles have, and that's plenty of money"
    ronan45 wrote: »
    about 5 years ago was having a BBQ one of my snoby guests saw me arriving back with the Lidl bags. " Oh you shop in Lidl? I just dont like the food there its not on par with M and S. Just dont like it."

Yeahhhh and where is Miss M AND S shopping now with her jeep? Yeah you guessed it ! LIDL And Aldi
    I can honestly say I prefer lidl to m & s. Anything I got in m&s is overpriced, tasteless and more money gone into fancy packaging than content.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭Collumbo

responding to two earlier ones:

A lady whose husband is a judge, said to my sister that "Lidl is for knackers and refugees". The same day she told me this, I had been in Lidl - it was a Saturday morning about 4 years ago. I met two of my neighbours there that day. Both were (and still are) barristers. And one of them was stuck in some conversation with another barrister friend of his (who I didn't know), talking about the toolset on offer for 39.99.

Maybe the lady should have said "Lidl is for knackers, refugees and barristers". :P

And on a side note talking about the Poles and Nigerians not going to the Gaeltacht, true to a point perhaps, but given our abysmal record at learning foreign languages, I'd be careful about that one! A Polish friend's 12 year old boy speaks perfect Irish. In a Norn' Irish accent to boot (he lived in Derry for 7 years...). Trilingual at the age of 12. The one referred to in the OP's post better hope he doesn't want to go to the Gaeltacht! :D He put my Irish to shame...

Let's just forge a gentleman's agreement to get over the grievous hurt that this has caused and somehow move on with our lives, however hard it may be.

I'll try. God knows i don't want you riding my ex :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

That kind of thing always makes me ashamed to be there.

So stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,226 ✭✭✭Solair

Lidl/Aldi + M&S is actually a great combination for those of us who actually shop based on the quality of the food + price rather than some kind of pathetic badge of social class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

Best Aldi story ever:

Sister in law sitting at my table giving out about Aldi and it's "shopping experience" and the meat is sub par, food is horrible, low class blahblahblah -
    Me sitting there watching her stuff her face with 100% Aldi bought food.
    Her uncle also watching her stuff her face with steak bought from Aldi that had all been supplied by his farm!

Husband waited until she polished off every morsel before striking up a conversation with his uncle right in front of her about how it was brilliant that he got the gig for our local Aldi as supplier and it's a shame that his niece doesn't think much of his meat!

Face on sister in law - priceless!! (although I was expecting a reaction like that puking character on little britain!:pac:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭Irishchick

Face on sister in law - priceless!! (although I was expecting a reaction like that puking character on little britain!:pac:)

<iframe width="425" height="349" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/NhmsI3Yv_ao" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭Kevin Bacon

Not so much as heard but seen, but anyway, some lad, friend of my auld lads, was working on an extension on a house in D4 area.

One day, some of the lads forgot their cups for tea on lunch break. They went into the house and asked the woman who owned the house could they borrow some cups. So got the cups and had their lunch, and gave her back the cups everything grand.

Then about an hour later one of the lads seen the same woman throwing the cups they used into the bin outside the house.

Feck sake, was she gonna catch commoner cotties?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

"OMG I can't wear the same clothes twice!!" - Girlfriend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭rocco.

I was going to ride him but he is a commoner and everyone knows commoners have more diseases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 CopperPipe

Walking into a shop with a "Closing Down Sale" sign in the window:

"Smell of redundancy in here"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Whilst skiing with a mate, I go ahead on the chair lift and he goes behind me. He is sitting beside some stranger who turns to him and says "I wonder what all the common people are doing right now"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,002 ✭✭✭bijapos

About three years ago I was in Dublin Airport waiting on a flight when I heard an Irish woman in her 50's say in a put on D4 accent

"But we all know only the little people pay taxes".

The look she gave people in the queue as she said this whilst passing was one of mocking and contempt. If anyone had ever thumped her I genuinely would not have stopped them, the comment was more provocative than anything else. I know the quote is originally attributed to Leona Helmsley but its thrown around in "high places" a lot.

Was on Georges St one Sunday evening and hailed a taxi, another woman and her husband tried to get in front of us but I said apologetically "Sorry, but we were here first", she then said in a put-on Hyacinth Bucket accent "well thats only a Japanese car, I don't travel in anything less than a Mercedes or BMW".... I got in to the car turned around and sad to her "Its a long fucking way from Mercs that you were raised missus, you can see from a mile off that you were raised in a bog, the same as meself, and drop the put-on accent, you're only making a fucking show of yourself and your husband". The look on her face made my day, still get a smile out of it.